Grand Rapids (Kentwood), MI 
Old Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #11
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nothing Special

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *I like some of the longer holes. The elevated basket surrounded by boulders on number 10 is especially creative. The 15th along the pond is really well done as well.
Cons: *Ugly and vulgar graffiti on the tee markers. It makes it look like most of the people who use this course are 13 years old.
*Most of the holes on the front nine are too short.
*Most of the holes that go through the woods lack any legitimate line. It's more luck than skill.
*Many of the longer holes simply go back and forth across a relatively flat open field.
*Dirt tee areas are muddy and potentially dangerous due to roots.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many times, because my mother in law's back yard touches the park. This is the only reason I would have played more than once. This is one of my least favorite courses in the area.

As of March, 2013, the tee sign for number 18 is missing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Watch your step.

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -starts and begins at the parking lot
-good short and mid practice
-good signage
Cons: -dirt tees are really uneven and full of roots
-middle of course very unimaginative
-other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes
Other Thoughts: This was a short course without a lot of distance or variety. The middle of the course seemed like they just ran out of ideas (3 or 4 holes are just back and forth in a wide-open obstacle-free grassy area). The other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes. It could have just been the day I was there but it doesn't seem like there's much respect for disc golf etiquette. My biggest problem with it would be the tee pads. They're dirt which isn't normally a big deal to me but these were so uneven and often had tree roots that became quite the tripping hazards. I wouldn't go too far out of your way to play this course but if it's close by it could be a good course to work on your mid and short range games.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch+Putt Fun

2-4    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beginner friendly, with generous amateur tees.
-Adequate signage, obvious flow, and a fair balance between short wooded holes and somewhat longer drives across a grassy field.
-Good use of the little elevation available, including a basket raised a few feet by rocks.
-A pond and small creek come into play on a couple of holes, but only the most errant throw risks being lost.
-Mandatories add to the difficulty in several spots, although one sign was missing (thanks to Terry C for guiding!)
Cons: -Well-worn dirt/natural tee pads are fairly treacherous. Beware roots, they'll push you down and steal your lunch money if given half the chance.
-Located in busy multi-use park. Some trash and graphitti.
-Due to the close proximity of each hole to it's neighboring holes, the chance to be hit by a disc is very real. Exercise caution when busy.
Other Thoughts: -Pitch and putt except for a handful of moderate length holes.
-A fun little course for casual play or if you're in the immediate area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Midrange/Putter Course

1    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: brandi8326
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. At first when we drove up we thought the course was going to be pretty nice. If you are looking for a mid range or putting course it would make an awesome course. This would make an perfect beginners course.
Cons: Very short holes. Being a women and just starting not long ago these baskets are still not very challenging for me. I didn't feel challenged at all. I was able to drive it to the basket no problem and even overdrive it on some. Seriously I dont know why they have ladies tee pads at this course. Plus the baskets are right on top of one another so you have discs flying at your head the whole time. Could use some concrete tee pads.
Other Thoughts: If you are just starting this would make a great course to start at. It was a very busy course with people on top of you and discs flying at you the whole time. Other than that if you need to work on your short game this is a great course if its not busy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Brutal

1    5/19/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: RonRoc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: City keeps it up nice, nice baskets, good scenery, nice tee signs (need distances marked though)
Cons: Terrible design, many of the holes you end up crossing other fairways and you are always waiting for someone to throw from your fairway to a different hole. Tee pads are located right next to baskets so you always have to watch for discs flying at you. Very busy, with a mix of serious players and not so serious players so the rounds are very slow. You could play this whole course with a putter and a mid-range...very short. Its like they tried to put 5 lbs of cow patty in a 2 lb. bag.
Other Thoughts: There was nothing about this course that would bring me back to play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Knollwood of Grand Rapids, a little better!

1    3/14/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
Fun and quick. Technical with a good mixture of tight wooded holes and open fairways. Good variety with water and slight hills. Signs are sufficient and the holes are close together so it is hard to get lost.
Good baskets.
Nice scenic park, good landscaping on some of the holes, nice bridges.
Water hazards.
Cons: -
-Lot's of people.
-Busy park with people walking through fairways, playing basketball and lot's of golfers.
Dangerous set up of course.
-I was constantly looking behind me at the group coming up.
-Fairways are to close for my comfort on some holes with minimal protection and head on collisions possible.
Natural tee pads make spring and rainy days less enjoyable due to mud and slips.
Mando signs gives a big advantage for righties.
(sorry not a fan of mando's!)
Course favors righties.
Other Thoughts: -
Probably would not play course again. I imagine it is better in the summer when the ground is harder and your not worried about falling.
Try to shoot basket 18 from on top of the cement building for the longest drive of the course! (the kids will cheer you on!)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.