Grand Rapids (Kentwood), MI 
Old Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #16
3 / 253ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Putter Heaven

5+    5/24/2015   5/27/2015
Review By: Reniger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great Putting Practice*
Both a pro and con. Most holes are around 200' or less. Great for working accurate mids and placing putters.
*Well Maintained Baskets*
DISCatchers in good shape don't spit TOO many out.
*Good Layout*
Easy to follow course layout (mainly because it's so small) Begins and ends at parking lot.
Decent variety of wooded, open, water holes, L/R and R/L. Some elevation change, but, not much. This slight variety is a life-saver on such a small plot of land.
True, concrete restrooms with stalls and sinks. Not to be underappreciated!
Cons: *Painfully Short*
Great for putting practice, but, don't expect to drive more than a midrange disc more than twice.
Lots of crude graffiti all over signage and benches.
While they did a great job placing 18 baskets in such a small plot of land (and not having much overlap/risk from other players) it still backs up quickly as you have groups trying to push through a course that totals only around 4000'.
I hate to say it, but, the community is rough. Lots of kids who will try to steal discs or hassles you throughout the round to trade something they found for your premium plastic - Lots of groups of 6-10 who rarely let people play through and respond negatively when asked - Little respect.
Other Thoughts: While they did a good job fitting 18 holes into a small park, it is very, very short. The equipment is well maintained and the dirt pads are decent, but, the people who frequent the park are less than optimal.

My girlfriend loves the short course for practice (playing about 2-3 times a week) but for experienced players it grows boring quick and can be a hassle to grind through.

Lots of fun for competitive putter-only rounds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So many better options

5+    6/3/2014   7/18/2013
Review By: JamesEarl
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The only merit I see for this course is that it's a good place to bring buddies that are inexperienced or just not very good. I guess I could say that there are a few fun holes but not much else to write home about.
Cons: I find this course to be a total bore. Each hole is either too short, unimaginative, or just sloppy with no real line to the pin. I've also ran into some thuggish characters in the park and in the way non diskers. It would also seem that if you believe the post graffiti there's some amazing diskers that have aced every hole. smh.
Other Thoughts: I truly hate to give the park such a low rating. I'm sure there's people that enjoy its casual lack of difficulty.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Okay for putting practice

5+    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: michaeldarkrph@gmail
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of open, wooded, water, and hilly holes. Short course great for kids or girlfriends/wives that don't play much.
Cons: Painfully short. Good for moderate players who want to have fun. Better players will find it's like approach/putting practice.
Other Thoughts: Good place for picnics.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 after the wet time

1    4/25/2013   4/26/2013
Review By: mcnugget
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the change of course was amazing you get every thing here
Cons: it get very low and when there has been alot of rain between 45 its unpassable and very muddy across alot of the course
Other Thoughts: my wife and I are new to the sport and this was the first course we play together we had an awesome time here it was verry beautiful but soggy new shoe needed now :(

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

5+    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: dandther
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *I like some of the longer holes. The elevated basket surrounded by boulders on number 10 is especially creative. The 15th along the pond is really well done as well.
Cons: *Ugly and vulgar graffiti on the tee markers. It makes it look like most of the people who use this course are 13 years old.
*Most of the holes on the front nine are too short.
*Most of the holes that go through the woods lack any legitimate line. It's more luck than skill.
*Many of the longer holes simply go back and forth across a relatively flat open field.
*Dirt tee areas are muddy and potentially dangerous due to roots.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many times, because my mother in law's back yard touches the park. This is the only reason I would have played more than once. This is one of my least favorite courses in the area.

As of March, 2013, the tee sign for number 18 is missing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local reviewer

5+    9/5/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
+ COURSE FLOW: Begins and ends at the parking lot.

+ MAPS: Every hole has a nice map indicating the pin.

+ VARIETY: Play through the woods, several long open shots in the middle, water near the end.

- TEES: Natural tees. As always, these are a pain... roots, mud, etc.

- TINKLE: No restrooms. Plenty of woods though.

- CREEK: The creek that runs through the woods is shallow at best, often bone dry.

- FRONT 9: All short shots. Take this time to practice midrange. These are easy ones to get a few early birdies.

- DIRTY: Trash all over, graffiti on maps. C'mon people... Don't be a dbag and bring a trash bag...
Other Thoughts:
~ Hole 12 can be extended by following the path deeper into the woods and throwing from the concrete drainage tunnel (warning: newbies play the normal pad)

~Hole 18 becomes a bomber by throwing from the roof of the building to the left of the 17 pin.

~Later in the day = more discers at play

~Old Farm is far from perfect, but it provides a solid round of throwing plastic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Watch your step.

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -starts and begins at the parking lot
-good short and mid practice
-good signage
Cons: -dirt tees are really uneven and full of roots
-middle of course very unimaginative
-other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes
Other Thoughts: This was a short course without a lot of distance or variety. The middle of the course seemed like they just ran out of ideas (3 or 4 holes are just back and forth in a wide-open obstacle-free grassy area). The other golfers and park goers tend to get in the way of the tightly placed holes. It could have just been the day I was there but it doesn't seem like there's much respect for disc golf etiquette. My biggest problem with it would be the tee pads. They're dirt which isn't normally a big deal to me but these were so uneven and often had tree roots that became quite the tripping hazards. I wouldn't go too far out of your way to play this course but if it's close by it could be a good course to work on your mid and short range games.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 simply not very good

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -signs on every hole
-baskets on every hole
-beginner friendly
Cons: -tee pads are dirt and many have rough, uneven patches and a few were full of mud. The signs, while clear, are right in the middle of the "tee pads" on more than a few holes...
-the holes are almost too short and easy. The longer holes are so boring you will fall asleep on them. You may as well throw on a football field!
-navigation is difficult hole to hole and some of the signs are confusing. Considering some baskets are close to one another I threw to the wrong one a few times.
-on a few holes I needed to wait for the group in front of me to tee off on the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I tried playing here a few months prior and it was so crowded I could not get on. After playing it I was shocked it was so busy, because quite honestly, it is not a good course. Seems like someone just decided it would be fun to put baskets in the park without much thought to safety or sensibility. Jaycee park, right down the road, is a much better option (yet still flawed). They would have been better off eliminating nine holes and making nine good holes as the terrain has potential. If you skip it you are not missing a thing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/16/2011   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice signage
good for a quick round
variety of wooded and open holes
3 holes are wide open bombers
Cons: first 6 holes are pretty short and unimaginative
dirt tees
Other Thoughts: being close to Jaycee makes it ideal for a quick run of both courses. Back 9 is much better than front nine, probably due to limited size space. good for a quick round and course wont intimidate a newbee too much

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Field, and water close

5+    8/3/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First hole is a nice straight shot
There are picnic tables, tennis courts and basketballs courts.
Course is designed well so that at the end of the game, you'll be back to where you began.
During the summer its nice to disc here with friends just hanging out.
Cons: Theres a hole with a close pond of water nearby.
Also disc can get lost in a creek on the second hole, so watch your disc carefully.
Other Thoughts: People have gone fishing in this pond and found disc before, theres only one place for major water, but still disc get lost.
The creek on the second hole gets dry during the fall, so you dont have to worry about getting your disc in water.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.