Jackson, TN 
Union University Share
Uploaded By: carrioke Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Enter woods across from 4th basket and look for dead patch of grass between two trees for tee spot.



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Course...Prepare Before You Go

5+    5/27/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: NothingButChain
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Open playing area that causes a low probability of lost discs
-Long hole distances compared to other courses in the area. Allows golfers a unique playing experience.
-Good, safe location
-Course is well maintained
-Normally not crowded, allows for quick playing
-Offers a variety of different hole types that require a wide variety of shots and distances
Cons: -No tee pads or signage. You need to do your homework beforehand to learn how to play the course. Suggest printing out a course map or going to play with someone that knows the course.
-Course is generally speaking low risk. Experienced players may not like that poor shots do not greatly hurt a golfers ability to score well.
-Course does not complete a circle so it is a decent walk back to your vehicle.
Other Thoughts: The school needs to add signage and/or tee pads to bring this course to the next level. If you only enjoy playing in wooded courses, you will not enjoy this one. However, this is a course that is good for players of any experience level. Of the courses in the Jackson area this is my favorite, but it still has its flaws. Do not try to play this course without a course map or knowing someone that knows the course, because you will likely not enjoy the experience. Hopefully Union will invest some money into the signage to really make this a great course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 No tees

1    3/20/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many: There are 18 baskets here spread throughout a nice campus. It plays across the fields and through some wooded areas and there is some elevation used. There is a lot of variety from hole to hole as far as obstacles, design, and length. I enjoyed the unique feature of the basket placed in the "U" logo made of shrubbery on the side of the big hill.
Cons: No tees, none- no concrete, no signs. Occasionally there was a worn spot or an orange flag possibly marking the intended spot. If you play here, either get a guide from somebody who knows or use the course map (a must for first timers) to approximate the tee area and then just pick your own spot.

The holes are very spread out with many long walks in between. Hole 18 finishes nowhere near hole 1. Though there was a good variety of hole design, too many of the holes were uninteresting. Add to that the frustration of trying to find the next hole, then figuring out a tee area, tipped the enjoyment meter to the negative side of the scale.

Not sure about the "19th hole". Maybe you play from 18 back to the car safari style, but that is just silly to call it a hole. The map only shows 18 holes anyways.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of good holes here, but I would not recommend this course unless you are in college here. The course at Muse Park is very close and is a great alternative course option for the Jackson area.

We parked at the bookstore building (lots of spots, free, no permit needed.) The restrooms in the front of the store were very nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where's the next hole?

1    7/26/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: carrioke
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in good shape. Lawn fairly well-kept. It is a good course to learn and practice on; especially for college attendees.
Cons: No tee pads marked, no directions to next basket, last hole is probably half mile from first (to walk from 18 back to your car at 1) - a quarter mile IF you know how to get back to 1... IF you get from 10 to finding 11...no bathrooms, no garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: This course is laid out in a long, crazy J like shape. It wraps along the campus and does not make a circle back to the start from the finish. If you are lucky enough to find the first 10 holes, hole 11 runs along between the road and the baseball field and then the rest of the course runs in a semi circle back to the right and towards the start of the course. We (myself and another player) did not play past hole 10 because we did not see the rest of the course, but we played our way back to 1 and then drove through the campus to see if there were indeed more holes. Please note that the pictures by me (Carrioke) may not be 100% true as there were no marked tee pads, so we made them up according to where the dead spots were in the grass. If the course had been wrapped better from finish back to start, and the tee pads would have been more evident, this course would warrant a better rating. HIGHLY SUGGEST PRINTING OFF THE COURSE MAP UNDER LINKS ON THIS SITE. (REALLY wish I had seen that before I played!)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and challenging

5+    6/18/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: kmvailes
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course requires a variety of shots from long to technical. If you play all the holes as par 3's the course is very challenging.
Cons: Hot in summer and long walks between holes. The tees are poorly maked.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.