Hunter, NY 
Hunter Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
5 / 820ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    7/3/2015   7/21/2015
Review By: Carlos
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Disc golf is disc golf.
Cons: Not easy to find or follow. "Fairway" (Read: slope) unkept and therefore plays like rough. Lack of variation. Overall, very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I signed up for this site just to review this course. Let me start by saying I'm not from the area near this course and my friends and I found it so frustrating that we only threw eight holes (3-10). This review only accounts for those holes.
We arrived just after 5 p.m. on a Friday, so the pro shop was closed and therefore we could not get a map/scorecard. Another employee pointed us in the general direction, but failed to tell us exactly where to find tee #1. This is my first and possibly my big peeve about this course.

1. Despite the abundance of "local directions" on this page, that will get you to the mountain from every conceivable point in the northeast, there is no mention or direction on where to find the pro shop or the first tee. How thoughtless. Anyone can Google how to get to the lodge, but everyone coming for disc needs direction on how to find it. For the record, it's in the base lodge. Follow signs for the zip line tours. By pure luck, we walked in the right door. I still don't know exactly where Hole 1 is, but I think it's to the right aways if you walk out of the lodge to the base of the mountain. The first basket you'll see will be for Hole 10. Go right.

2. The course is not entirely comprehensible. We saw no signage for the first tee and ended up walking up the mountain unnecessarily. Luckily, once again, we came across another player who had a map he let us take a photo of. Even with the map, finding the tees was still a problem, which the other player agreed with.

3. The course seems like an afterthought. Just something to do with the ground until winter. Tees were barely labeled, holes mostly zig zagged up the hill from woods to woods, and the "fairway" was two-foot high grass. We were losing our discs ... on the fairway. I don't know if we visited on an off week or if they just let the grass grow wild until the winter, but it was awful. When we finally got to the big "pay off," Hole 9, we couldn't find the tee and were afraid to throw because we'd surely lose our discs. We threw anyway, from a random spot in the high grass, and literally celebrated when we found all our discs. The hill's grade was near dangerous to descend on foot. One false move and you could go rolling.

For the life of me, I cannot believe this course has the rating it has. Maybe the back nine are amazing. Maybe the course is better maintained every day but July 3. Maybe I'm a stickler. But I will honestly say, in my personal opinion, in my years of playing in many different states, including other courses on ski slopes, this was my least favorite disc golf experience. I like the sport enough to enjoy being out and having new experiences anywhere, but I was so underwhelmed that I had to say something about it in hope that someone like me will see this and either save themselves the time or, at least, know what to expect.

I wish you the best of luck.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain throwing

1    8/11/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: Jimbucket
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great downhill distance throws, technical throws, amazing view!
Cons: Very hilly, not for the weak of leg.
Other Thoughts: So happy they have a course here. The locals seem to love it and care for it well. Watch out for mountain bikers as many holes in the woods are on mountain bike trails.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy Elevation

1    6/9/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: This is a really challenging course with a lot of elevation to climb. It's got a great mix of holes that are out in the open, to holes in heavy woods, to steep up hills, to huge down hills. It flows pretty nice from one hole to the next.
Other Thoughts: I got to play this course during Mounty Jam, a 4 day music festival put on my Warren Haynes. So, several of the permanent holes where not playable, because they were on the festival grounds. But the festival promoted the course as one of the festival attractions, so I brought my discs. Glad I did. They had printed out Course Maps for just the festival. It was 12 holes. A couple of short holes to begin, and then then it hooked into the permanent course. Great for a festival.

  mountain man

1    7/29/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: popeye845
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Beautiful Scenery, fun Shots, Decent Variety. Loved The Long Open Drives, But The Baskets Were Still Well Placed. Decent Skill And Difficulty 18 Hole Course WIth An Excellent Course Map You Can Get From The Lodge
Cons: Bring Your Stamina, You Are Walking Up And Down A Ski Mountain. Some Thick Grass And under Growth In Some Places. The Tee Pads Could Have Been Slightly More Permanent
Other Thoughts: very Fun Course to Play. Suitable For All Levels. Sure To Please.


1    8/18/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course played up, down and across a ski mountain.
- Parking, pro shop, concessions, restrooms, etc. - all the amenities you could want due its location at a popular ski mountain
- Terrific scorecard with colored course map available for easy navigation
- For being temporary/removable, the tee signs at each hole are great, giving a good map, plus hole distance/par
- Great use of the mountain - you're not always going straight up or down, as many holes makes good use of lines across the ski trails, either directly across on some flatter portions or diagonally across
- While many tees and baskets are out in the open parts of the slopes, the design was done to ensure you have some tees and pins tucked into the trees that line the trails - hole #7 is completely in a wooded patch going uphill
- Deceptively difficult - even the really short holes (some measure less than 200') are difficult to get down in 2, due to the elevation - you really need to crank into your drive to get it up some of the hills
- Many holes give a number of options for how to attack the basket - hole #2 offers a tight tunnel through two patches of trees or you can throw a big hyzer around the right patch - hole #10 lets you choose to fight with a low fade or try to get a high anny/OH over the line of trees on the left - hole #13 (which was probably my favorite besides the two listed below) tempts you with a low, tight tunnel or you can go high over the treeline with a fade or tomahawk
- Hangtime - Hole #9 is something you must experience if you can - 800' down a fairly steep ski trail creates some "WOW!" drives, but keep your eyes on your disc, as the long distance and treelines (but apparently no more halfpipe) can hide your disc easily - Hole # 14 is also terrific - while it's not nearly as long, it's also a soraing downhill on one of the (smaller) trails and you tee off from the platform of a ski lift - these holes are just super fun to throw, even if your drive isn't perfect
Cons: While there are a few things here, they're totally understandable given the land to work with. I think for being on a ski mountain, this course is pretty much as good as it can get.
- Tees are a bit shaky, with all of them (except #14, I think) being gravel/dirt which can create some rough footing
- I tend to prefer wooded courses/holes, so the abundance of "open" holes on the ski trails can get a bit repetitive
- Not many spots where a bad throw is overly punished - no OB or water and apart from the relatively few holes with baskets tucked in/behind trees, you can easily recover from a tee shot that went way short or to the side
- Walking up and down the slopes can wear you out
Other Thoughts: - Baskets gets pulled for ski season (usually early-mid November to March maybe?)
- Hunter frequently hosts festivals/events during the summer, which can either close some of the holes, alter them or just create congestion - that being said, it was fun to finish the round amidst their Celtic Festival with good food/beer

This is basically just a real fun course. Skot has done a great job getting this in to a high traffic location with a varied, challenging design. If play a round with you, you'll have a blast.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety of open and wooded holes
2. Gravel tees
3. Tees signs show distance, par, and map
4. Makes excellent use of the natural elevation changes of the mountain
5. Unique holes
6. Scorecard with map provided
Cons: 1. Constant uphill and downhill walks
2. A bit difficult to find the first tee
3. Some long walks between holes
4. Tees are not uniform throughout the course
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. I played just after the rain and the mud was very minimal which was a plus. This course is located at a ski resort and the setup really lets you know where you're playing. Hole 9 is an experience you won't get at you're local DG course. Having the signs with maps helped a lot because you can't always see the basket. Offers a good mixture of short wooded and open to long wooded to open holes. Very unique holes. 9 was from the middle of a slope to the bottom. Another you teed off from a lift station. All pars are fair and very reasonable. This course is very good. I understand that with it being at a ski resort permanent tees would be difficult to have but definitely a good addition. Probably not the best course for beginners. I would play this course again and would recommend it to others.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unbelievable course

2-4    9/7/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 44.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The elevation changes are sick. People are tired of throwing frisbees on flat ground, what's the fun in that? The course starts at base camp and rises up the east face of Hunter Mountain, the holes up high are 300 feet higher elevation than the lower ones. The views are spectacular. Can you throw an 800 foot hole that drops 220 feet in elevation? Never know if you don't come to Hunter. Some of the holes are open, but some are in cleverly designed slick woodage, but always up or down hills. There is a pro shop and several other stores at the base lodge, they sell discs, bags, food, drinks, etc. Plenty of parking. It's a major ski slope and has all the amenities.
Cons: Tee pads are not the best, but they aren't too bad. Kind of a schlep from the Thruway, but what do you expect? It's a ski slope.
Other Thoughts: The guy below who gave it a 2.5 rating only played it when it was under construction. His review doesn't count.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

First Go-round

1    7/16/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2014
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, played on the side of a ski mtn. Brand new. Some trickiness in throwing up and down the slopes. Benches, nice pins, and gravel pads. A different course than most. Hole 9 is a bomber that needs to be experienced.
Cons: Only 9 holes, not much in the way of trees or obstacles. No water. Tough hike if you aren't in shape.
Biggest complaint: Hard to find. Directions said to go to Hunter Mtn, which was fine, but we had to search all over for the actual course start. Just needs better signage at the bottom.
Other Thoughts: Small but nice store in the lodge, very pleasant folks working there. Give it a go if you are in the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.