Canton, TX 
Cherry Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NateDogg Hole #16 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 291ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid Course

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: mark996
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets were all in tact and in good shape. White and Blue (Long and Medium) tee pads clearly marked. The flow of the course is quite nice, it loops you right back around to the parking lot. The foliage is pretty nice to look around and take in from time to time. Front 9 was very clean and maintained well. Easy access to at the time clean restrooms right near hole 1.
Tons of parking, playground on site as well.
Cons: Fairways on the front 9 are very compact and what I guess one could describe as "stacked". You go tee pad to basket to tee pad, which during peak hours I could imagine would be pretty interesting with larger groups, in conjunction with runners/joggers/walkers/children etc on the walking path. Seems the front 9 was a bit squished in to a pretty small area to make it fit.

The tee pad signs leave some to be desired I think when it comes to each hole, some were there, others were missing, some had been "tagged" and written on, and the red (short)tee pads were not marked, the ones that are were drawn in with a sharpie.
Back 9 was pretty trashy when I played there, it's more out of sight from the rest of the area so it obviously doesn't see as much traffic, or city crews for that matter.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, closely stacked course. If you want to test your game against trees, the back 9 will do that for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If I were closer, I would play it more often.

5+    10/26/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: Dulcet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of open and wooded holes.

Multiple tee boxes and alternate basket locations. Every course should have these.

The park is well maintained. Fairways are nice and clear of brush and the holes are fairly well marked.
There isn't a spot on the course were I thought "they need a bridge here". Where one is needed, there is one.
Some cities install the course, forget about bridges and signs and have you climbing in and out of ditches and creeks just to get from the tee to the basket (the Canton parks department could teach the Fate parks department a few things).

Tons of parking.
Cons: Dirt tees. I have been spoiled by concrete pads.

Alternate baskets aren't marked on the signs. Not a big deal but it makes the distances listed on the signs wrong.

The front 9 feels a little like it was forced inside the walking path of the park. There is plenty of room for them but on a few holes you occasionally have to wait on joggers, bicyclists or other muggles. Even though I have played this course a few times I find myself walking to the wrong hole or throwing at the wrong baskets on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: We played a few holes of the second course that is being installed and it looks awesome.

I wouldn't recommend playing any of them yet. My legs suffered the wrath of many thorns and I lost a disc in the heavy brush. Then we got lost trying to find a hole, and wandered in the woods for a bit before finding the park again (and I used to think I had a good sense of direction).

That's what we get for being impatient and playing a course that is still a work in progress.
I can't wait till it is finished, If the few holes we played are any indication it will be fantastic.

The addition of a second great course to this one will make the hour drive to the park much more agreeable.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/23/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Circusgary
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Back 9 gonna keep you on your game. Can't wait to get back. Front nine clean and simple in the park.
Cons: A little confusing on tee placement. I have it now but took a couple times through. Don't write on the baskets!
Other Thoughts: Played another 45 holes out there today. Ran into a group of guys adding another 18 baskets with like 6000 feet. Long wooded fairways! Can't wait!
G$

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

surprisingly fun

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some real fun holes- the red is great for kids- The back nine is fun
Cons: A walking trail circles through the course and places some walkers in dangerous proximity of a disc- on one hole the walking trail cuts through the fairway.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A course for everyone

5+    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that I truly love about this course is the fact that it truly caters to everyone. The front 9 is fairly open with trees strategically throughout making it playable for any level. This is the opportunity that an experienced player would want to capitolize on to get his score down. Once you go into the back 9 you better be buckled in. This is as difficult, clever, and beautiful a finishing touch that a course could possibly hope for. When you think East TX back woods, thats what you get. Tall trees, tight lanes, and beautiful routes. Strokes can add up.
Cons: When your in the country as this course is, your gonna get some poison ivy, to me, thats a part of DG, but not everyone thinks that way. Oh yeah, dirt tee pads arent my favorite.
Other Thoughts: Other than the dirt tee pads, this is a top level course and I take advantage of any chance I can to get out there and play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Clean Fun

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: BHelms62
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have alt tees and pins. Shade trees, fun, not busy. Clean, Light roughs on back 9. Mostly flat. Easy course for beginners. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Dirt pads but nice.
Other Thoughts: Nice course. I will be back to play again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Cours upgrades

5+    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: cherrycreek12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: 10 new Alt Pin placements with 4 more to come in the near future; baskets are moved every 3rd so the course is a new venture.
New steps were installed on holes 12 and 17. Widow makers were cut down, the City is currently grinding down the stumps. T-box on hole 8 is no longer an up hill slope. you have to come see it. PDGA tournaments are on the course schedule every 3 months thru October, Oct. B-tier Breaking Chains Open.
Cons: If you don't live in Canton, then your missing out on a great home town course. If you make the drive, you will know its well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Friendly family atmosphere, Course visitors come often on Sunday's, but the course is not packed, Welcome sign is updated often with lots of pictures and information. If you haven't been to Cherry Creek what are you waiting for.

Also Texas Chain Chicks is a new women's group that meets 2nd saturday of the month at 10 a.m.

Weekly infomation is posted on Canton disc golf, divine disc sport, dds fb page

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Creek

2-4    1/15/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: denglish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Course is a blast, The back nine is pretty crazy at some points. A LOT of fun shots. the course is VERY well maintained. Loved the fact that the blues are totally different from the whites. makes the course look entirely different. There are tee signs on each whole along with a huge course map at the start.
Cons: Watch out for the widow-maker trees you'll hear a snap often from the limbs. A few of the holes were luck shots the fun factor was still there though.
Other Thoughts: Normally not a big fan of natural tees, but on this course it really works out well. There seems to be a very active group of players for this course. the people who run/play the minis are very friendly and seem to have fun while playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very fun course!

1    3/20/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: cYpHeR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulling up the course, you pretty much can tell you are going to have a blast. It is tucked away in a nice off the beaten path area. The park is clean, and well taken care of. There was no trash, and the bathrooms were decently clean (real restrooms, not a portable).

The first of the course was pretty easy, and you had the decent possibility of a birdie on 7 of the first 9. (9 of 9 if you have a pretty big arm). The second half of the course was much tougher. Some of the holes were just crazy with the lines you had to try.

Fun factor was off the charts, and the course was clean, and semi cart friendly.
Cons: Some of the holes were just a little crazy. You know the ones that its kind of a crap-shoot. Say a prayer and throw? There were a couple of those on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Get your birdies in early....if you want to keep your score decent, you will need them. From the blue tees, I went into the back nine down three, I ended up plus two at the end.

Make a drive to play this course. Make plans to play the whites first, and then the blues. It is like a new course.

It's worth the drive!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'm impressed

1    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: chalos13
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well planned. The front nine is inside a walking trail, mostly flat, with well placed baskets that get you good and warmed up. If you don't get par on most of these, it's your fault. Then you hit the back nine, which follows a creek through the woods. You've got several tunnels, several shots where the basket skirts the edge of the creek bringing a steep drop off into play with water, and several more that you need some precision and a lot of luck to get a good drive. As it says, every hole has 3 tees, all easily marked. The blue and white (we played white) are placed well and typically spaced apart, with the red being in some cases half the distance of blue. I can easily see this being perfect for wives or playing with your kids. Most of the reds are in Ace Race territory, so you could easily play a quick 9 from there after 18. The course isn't very long, but there are some hills on the back, so the walk is a decent workout. Signs are on every blue tee for distances and par. There's a nice bathroom as well.
Cons: This is a very nice park, so on a weekend you will have walkers and other players to deal with. The walking path does come into play in a few places, so be careful. The course was crowded for an East Texas course, but everyone was friendly. Several of the holes on the back 9 were not tunnel holes, but crazy luck holes. you might get a great drive, but then there are still 15 trees between you and the basket for your approach.
Other Thoughts: This course has had a lot of work go into it. The tees, signs, navigation and baskets are all great. You can tell on the back nine they've done a lot of clearing and burned the stumps in places. Someone has even gone through and painted orange some of the smaller stumps that you'd probably trip on. This course feels similar to UT Tyler's course, in that it's an simple, straightforward front 9 and a tough back nine. I can easily see this being the course to take your wife or girlfriend to, as the front nine is a great place for lower power throwers or people learning to play. I saw more women on this course playing than really any other course I've been to. There's a completely awesome playground at this park as well, that we had trouble staying off of because how awesome it is. Bring the kids, bring the wife, and have a really good day at Cherry Creek.
Update: a year and a half later played this one again. They've added a bunch of alternate tees that add a good challenge to many of the holes, but these are not marked on the tee signs. My niece played with us and the red tees are perfect for beginers or younger players, wish more courses had this.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.