Canton, TX 
Cherry Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NateDogg Hole #13 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 168ft.   3 / 214ft.   3 / 247ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    7/23/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Circusgary
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
Pros: Back 9 gonna keep you on your game. Can't wait to get back. Front nine clean and simple in the park.
Cons: A little confusing on tee placement. I have it now but took a couple times through. Don't write on the baskets!
Other Thoughts: Played another 45 holes out there today. Ran into a group of guys adding another 18 baskets with like 6000 feet. Long wooded fairways! Can't wait!
G$

surprisingly fun

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some real fun holes- the red is great for kids- The back nine is fun
Cons: A walking trail circles through the course and places some walkers in dangerous proximity of a disc- on one hole the walking trail cuts through the fairway.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A course for everyone

5+    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that I truly love about this course is the fact that it truly caters to everyone. The front 9 is fairly open with trees strategically throughout making it playable for any level. This is the opportunity that an experienced player would want to capitolize on to get his score down. Once you go into the back 9 you better be buckled in. This is as difficult, clever, and beautiful a finishing touch that a course could possibly hope for. When you think East TX back woods, thats what you get. Tall trees, tight lanes, and beautiful routes. Strokes can add up.
Cons: When your in the country as this course is, your gonna get some poison ivy, to me, thats a part of DG, but not everyone thinks that way. Oh yeah, dirt tee pads arent my favorite.
Other Thoughts: Other than the dirt tee pads, this is a top level course and I take advantage of any chance I can to get out there and play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Clean Fun

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: BHelms62
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have alt tees and pins. Shade trees, fun, not busy. Clean, Light roughs on back 9. Mostly flat. Easy course for beginners. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Dirt pads but nice.
Other Thoughts: Nice course. I will be back to play again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cours upgrades

5+    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: cherrycreek12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: 10 new Alt Pin placements with 4 more to come in the near future; baskets are moved every 3rd so the course is a new venture.
New steps were installed on holes 12 and 17. Widow makers were cut down, the City is currently grinding down the stumps. T-box on hole 8 is no longer an up hill slope. you have to come see it. PDGA tournaments are on the course schedule every 3 months thru October, Oct. B-tier Breaking Chains Open.
Cons: If you don't live in Canton, then your missing out on a great home town course. If you make the drive, you will know its well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Friendly family atmosphere, Course visitors come often on Sunday's, but the course is not packed, Welcome sign is updated often with lots of pictures and information. If you haven't been to Cherry Creek what are you waiting for.

Also Texas Chain Chicks is a new women's group that meets 2nd saturday of the month at 10 a.m.

Weekly infomation is posted on Canton disc golf, divine disc sport, dds fb page

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Cherry Creek

2-4    1/15/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: denglish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Course is a blast, The back nine is pretty crazy at some points. A LOT of fun shots. the course is VERY well maintained. Loved the fact that the blues are totally different from the whites. makes the course look entirely different. There are tee signs on each whole along with a huge course map at the start.
Cons: Watch out for the widow-maker trees you'll hear a snap often from the limbs. A few of the holes were luck shots the fun factor was still there though.
Other Thoughts: Normally not a big fan of natural tees, but on this course it really works out well. There seems to be a very active group of players for this course. the people who run/play the minis are very friendly and seem to have fun while playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very fun course!

1    3/20/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: cYpHeR
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulling up the course, you pretty much can tell you are going to have a blast. It is tucked away in a nice off the beaten path area. The park is clean, and well taken care of. There was no trash, and the bathrooms were decently clean (real restrooms, not a portable).

The first of the course was pretty easy, and you had the decent possibility of a birdie on 7 of the first 9. (9 of 9 if you have a pretty big arm). The second half of the course was much tougher. Some of the holes were just crazy with the lines you had to try.

Fun factor was off the charts, and the course was clean, and semi cart friendly.
Cons: Some of the holes were just a little crazy. You know the ones that its kind of a crap-shoot. Say a prayer and throw? There were a couple of those on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Get your birdies in early....if you want to keep your score decent, you will need them. From the blue tees, I went into the back nine down three, I ended up plus two at the end.

Make a drive to play this course. Make plans to play the whites first, and then the blues. It is like a new course.

It's worth the drive!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'm impressed

1    1/7/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well planned. The front nine is inside a walking trail, mostly flat, with well placed baskets that get you good and warmed up. If you don't get par on most of these, it's your fault. Then you hit the back nine, which follows a creek through the woods. You've got several tunnels, several shots where the basket skirts the edge of the creek bringing a steep drop off into play with water, and several more that you need some precision and a lot of luck to get a good drive. As it says, every hole has 3 tees, all easily marked. The blue and white (we played white) are placed well and typically spaced apart, with the red being in some cases half the distance of blue. I can easily see this being perfect for wives or playing with your kids. Most of the reds are in Ace Race territory, so you could easily play a quick 9 from there after 18. The course isn't very long, but there are some hills on the back, so the walk is a decent workout. Signs are on every blue tee for distances and par. There's a nice bathroom as well.
Cons: This is a very nice park, so on a weekend you will have walkers and other players to deal with. The walking path does come into play in a few places, so be careful. The course was crowded for an East Texas course, but everyone was friendly. Several of the holes on the back 9 were not tunnel holes, but crazy luck holes. you might get a great drive, but then there are still 15 trees between you and the basket for your approach.
Other Thoughts: This course has had a lot of work go into it. The tees, signs, navigation and baskets are all great. You can tell on the back nine they've done a lot of clearing and burned the stumps in places. Someone has even gone through and painted orange some of the smaller stumps that you'd probably trip on. This course feels similar to UT Tyler's course, in that it's an simple, straightforward front 9 and a tough back nine. I can easily see this being the course to take your wife or girlfriend to, as the front nine is a great place for lower power throwers or people learning to play. I saw more women on this course playing than really any other course I've been to. There's a completely awesome playground at this park as well, that we had trouble staying off of because how awesome it is. Bring the kids, bring the wife, and have a really good day at Cherry Creek.
Update: a year and a half later played this one again. They've added a bunch of alternate tees that add a good challenge to many of the holes, but these are not marked on the tee signs. My niece played with us and the red tees are perfect for beginers or younger players, wish more courses had this.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Improvements Are Working!

2-4    12/17/2011   12/18/2011
Review By: NateDogg
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great for beginners and yet challenging enough for seasoned players. The 3 tee boxes on every hole (blue-white-red) also add to this beginner/seasoned abilities too!

2. Overall fun factor here is huge!

3. Front 9 is a great warmup and the back 9 is one heck of a challenge

4. Great amenities (especially the really nice bathrooms) and the double loop/figure 8 design of the course with those right in the middle of the loop make it very convienent.

5. The brush has really been cleared out lately making many off-the-fairway shots next to impossible now possible.

6. Great signage including a huge map for the front 9 right when you pull up and a full map on the restroom facilities of the whole course.

7. Enough shade on the front 9 and plenty on the back 9 for the hotter months.

8. Park is always very clean, and the locals we've run into are always very nice.

9. Bridges on the back 9 are great! The city built bridges to cross a couple of the major creek points on holes 16 and 17 which makes it really nice to get around these holes.

10. Pretty hard to lose a disc on this course, only a couple deeper creeks areas on 16 and 17, but elsewise retreivable everywhere else on this course.

Probably a lot more for me to list, but can't right now.
Cons: 1. Although the signage is great, it does seem that after finishing hole 2, it's a little confusing to newbs on this course as hole 6 (even though labeled) looks like it would be hole 3 tee boxes. Not really a huge deal by any means, nor really that big if of a "con" but worth noting if you are going to try this course for the first time.

2. Tee boxes - I love the 3 tee boxes setup with White being "regular", Blue as "advanced", and the Red being more "beginner" tees. My complaint though is they are all dirt, mostly sandy mix that is brought in for each which is nice and packs down a bit, but they are not level and your foot slides easily. I would really like to see concrete tee pads, but I know this is an expense the city will have to take on. The rubber test mat as mentioned in the previous review was "ok" but definitely lacking, I'll expound below.

3. Bring boots or hard shoes, you will stub your toe(s) everywhere on this course, especially the back 9. The clearing done for this course and especially the recent clearing (not a con) has left little stumps all about 2-3 inches sticking out of the ground. There are a few in the major walking areas spray painted orange, but it is a major pain in the butt.

4. I think this is hole 12 I'm referring too, those who have played it will know what I'm talking about. The tees are great and the basket at the top of the "ridge" makes it challenging as a layup for putts. My "con" is that after the recent rains, it seems that "bowl" in front of the ridge may become more of a small pond. Although this will definitely add to the challenge of this hole and be even more fun, I can also see the potentional based on throwing lanes for this to become a disc eater. For the most part Cherry Creek Park is a place that is hard to lose a disc at, and hole 12 may change that if we get the rain to fill up that bowl.
Other Thoughts: I love playing Cherry Creek Park! I look forward to it every time I get to make the trip from my house to go play it. Yesterday's play was amazing, we all played a round from the whites and then went back to play a "fun run" from the reds. After a tie between my brother and I on the fun run, we started playing the blue tees for a tie breaker and finished just before dark. This course is a must for anyone going east of DFW or living in the area. Easily enough of a course for beginners (especially the red tees) and challenging enough for expereinced players from the whites and definitely the blue tees. The fun factor here is HUGE and worth your time to make this a regular stop not far off of I-20. I highly recommend this course and when I can make the trip east I will every time!

For the previous reviewer, the rubber mat is a nice idea, but personally my vote is thumbs down. The mat itself is too short, not level, and in our Texas heat and summers I see it cracking and being replaced every few years. I would much rather see the city spend the money on concrete tee pads or perhaps host some tourneys or fundraisers to help offset the cost of the concrete pads. Just my $.02 :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Course improvements

1    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: npsteve5
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you haven't been out to the course before 12-3-11 you need to check it out. So much brush has been removed and it is finally wet enough to burn away fallen trees. We love it. Its only a weeks worth of work.
Other Thoughts: The city of Canton and the CDGC is 100% commited to the improvement of this park. We are placing a test rubber tee-pad on hole 1 in the next two weeks. If the players like it we will move forward installing them on all the tee-boxes. Look for this course to have a serious amount of attention for the next 3 months. you can not miss seeing the improvements.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.