Canton, TX 
Cherry Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NateDogg Hole #18 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 158ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Pleasantly supprised

1    8/9/2015   8/19/2015
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 201  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 27.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 3 tee's each. Red White and Blue
Bathrooms and map at the start of the course and the course loops around so #10 is there too.
Open holes, but tree's are used very well
some of the holes had multiple Pin placements
Cons: Dirt Tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Did not have time to play the 18 holes from the map, and it was 100+ the day I stopped by. I played the front 9 only.

I had heard there were new holes in the woods and I saw at least 2 of the new baskets (different brand that the original 18 yellow band baskets)

I will be back to finish the 18 and play the woods holes someday.

Take the wife to Trade Days, you head over and play DG.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good combination of shots

1    5/23/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 341  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained and has adequate signage and multiple tees.
There is a good mix of short, moderate, and longer length holes as well as dog legs L/R.
The flow is logical and there are multiple pin placements.
There are lines to be shaped on many of the holes and the back 9 is a good technical challenge. Also there are low ceiling shots.
Some holes have ace run potential.
There was a small amount of water threat as well.
There are other amenities like a playground, restrooms, etc.
The front 9 is a moderately wooded park style course and the back 9 is more technical.
Favorite holes here were 14 and 17.
Cons: The walking path can come into play(more so on the front 9) so be aware before you throw.
Some of the tees were rutted a bit.
Some of the low lying spots that play by the creek area can be soggy at times.
If you get off of the fairway on the back 9 the thorns are pretty thick in spots. Stay in the fairway and you will be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that will challenge your overall game. The front 9 is a bit more forgiving in that there is some room for error. You will still need to shape your shots in order to score well. The back 9 is going to test your shot shaping abilities.
There is a good balance on this course. The front 9 will appeal to those players that like a park style course and the back 9 will be a technical players dream. I think they did an excellent job combining the 2 and making for an excellent course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

2-4    12/24/2014   12/26/2014
Review By: mark996
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets were all in tact and in good shape. White and Blue (Long and Medium) tee pads clearly marked. The flow of the course is quite nice, it loops you right back around to the parking lot. The foliage is pretty nice to look around and take in from time to time. Front 9 was very clean and maintained well. Easy access to at the time clean restrooms right near hole 1.
Tons of parking, playground on site as well.
Cons: Fairways on the front 9 are very compact and what I guess one could describe as "stacked". You go tee pad to basket to tee pad, which during peak hours I could imagine would be pretty interesting with larger groups, in conjunction with runners/joggers/walkers/children etc on the walking path. Seems the front 9 was a bit squished in to a pretty small area to make it fit.

The tee pad signs leave some to be desired I think when it comes to each hole, some were there, others were missing, some had been "tagged" and written on, and the red (short)tee pads were not marked, the ones that are were drawn in with a sharpie.
Back 9 was pretty trashy when I played there, it's more out of sight from the rest of the area so it obviously doesn't see as much traffic, or city crews for that matter.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice, closely stacked course. If you want to test your game against trees, the back 9 will do that for you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If I were closer, I would play it more often.

5+    10/26/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: Dulcet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mix of open and wooded holes.

Multiple tee boxes and alternate basket locations. Every course should have these.

The park is well maintained. Fairways are nice and clear of brush and the holes are fairly well marked.
There isn't a spot on the course were I thought "they need a bridge here". Where one is needed, there is one.
Some cities install the course, forget about bridges and signs and have you climbing in and out of ditches and creeks just to get from the tee to the basket (the Canton parks department could teach the Fate parks department a few things).

Tons of parking.
Cons: Dirt tees. I have been spoiled by concrete pads.

Alternate baskets aren't marked on the signs. Not a big deal but it makes the distances listed on the signs wrong.

The front 9 feels a little like it was forced inside the walking path of the park. There is plenty of room for them but on a few holes you occasionally have to wait on joggers, bicyclists or other muggles. Even though I have played this course a few times I find myself walking to the wrong hole or throwing at the wrong baskets on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: We played a few holes of the second course that is being installed and it looks awesome.

I wouldn't recommend playing any of them yet. My legs suffered the wrath of many thorns and I lost a disc in the heavy brush. Then we got lost trying to find a hole, and wandered in the woods for a bit before finding the park again (and I used to think I had a good sense of direction).

That's what we get for being impatient and playing a course that is still a work in progress.
I can't wait till it is finished, If the few holes we played are any indication it will be fantastic.

The addition of a second great course to this one will make the hour drive to the park much more agreeable.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

2-4    7/23/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Circusgary
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Back 9 gonna keep you on your game. Can't wait to get back. Front nine clean and simple in the park.
Cons: A little confusing on tee placement. I have it now but took a couple times through. Don't write on the baskets!
Other Thoughts: Played another 45 holes out there today. Ran into a group of guys adding another 18 baskets with like 6000 feet. Long wooded fairways! Can't wait!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

surprisingly fun

2-4    3/1/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: jtmoney
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/30/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some real fun holes- the red is great for kids- The back nine is fun and really difficult. It is heavily wooded but there are some great lines on many of these holes. The front nine is not easy and there are some trees here as well. The whites and the blues create different shots. The reds are perfect for kids or beginners. My twelve year old got some birdies on a few of the front nine from red and he was really excited.The playground is awesome here too for the little tykes. There is not a whole lot of traffic here and it feels really secluded. I got my first ace here and for someone more experienced I am sure would do great here. There are mutiple pin positions and three tees (blue, white and red) so you could play it several times and not get bored.
Cons: I don't mind the dirt tees but when I played there were some uneven tees, the back nine is in the woods- fire ants, poison ivy, mosquitos, be prepared.
Other Thoughts: This really is a must play for anyone in the area, it was a lot of fun , the back nine are great but the front nine are not bad either. Bring the family and have fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A course for everyone

5+    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: upshot87
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The thing that I truly love about this course is the fact that it truly caters to everyone. The front 9 is fairly open with trees strategically throughout making it playable for any level. This is the opportunity that an experienced player would want to capitolize on to get his score down. Once you go into the back 9 you better be buckled in. This is as difficult, clever, and beautiful a finishing touch that a course could possibly hope for. When you think East TX back woods, thats what you get. Tall trees, tight lanes, and beautiful routes. Strokes can add up.
Cons: When your in the country as this course is, your gonna get some poison ivy, to me, thats a part of DG, but not everyone thinks that way. Oh yeah, dirt tee pads arent my favorite.
Other Thoughts: Other than the dirt tee pads, this is a top level course and I take advantage of any chance I can to get out there and play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Clean Fun

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: BHelms62
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great to have alt tees and pins. Shade trees, fun, not busy. Clean, Light roughs on back 9. Mostly flat. Easy course for beginners. Easy to find your way around.
Cons: Dirt pads but nice.
Other Thoughts: Nice course. I will be back to play again.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Cours upgrades

5+    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: cherrycreek12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: 10 new Alt Pin placements with 4 more to come in the near future; baskets are moved every 3rd so the course is a new venture.
New steps were installed on holes 12 and 17. Widow makers were cut down, the City is currently grinding down the stumps. T-box on hole 8 is no longer an up hill slope. you have to come see it. PDGA tournaments are on the course schedule every 3 months thru October, Oct. B-tier Breaking Chains Open.
Cons: If you don't live in Canton, then your missing out on a great home town course. If you make the drive, you will know its well worth it.
Other Thoughts: Friendly family atmosphere, Course visitors come often on Sunday's, but the course is not packed, Welcome sign is updated often with lots of pictures and information. If you haven't been to Cherry Creek what are you waiting for.

Also Texas Chain Chicks is a new women's group that meets 2nd saturday of the month at 10 a.m.

Weekly infomation is posted on Canton disc golf, divine disc sport, dds fb page

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Cherry Creek

2-4    1/15/2013   1/21/2013
Review By: denglish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Course is a blast, The back nine is pretty crazy at some points. A LOT of fun shots. the course is VERY well maintained. Loved the fact that the blues are totally different from the whites. makes the course look entirely different. There are tee signs on each whole along with a huge course map at the start.
Cons: Watch out for the widow-maker trees you'll hear a snap often from the limbs. A few of the holes were luck shots the fun factor was still there though.
Other Thoughts: Normally not a big fan of natural tees, but on this course it really works out well. There seems to be a very active group of players for this course. the people who run/play the minis are very friendly and seem to have fun while playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.