Disc Golf Store
Canton, TX 
Cherry Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: NateDogg Hole #10 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 184ft.   3 / 229ft.   3 / 260ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Bill Elling is a Beast.

1    11/27/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As soon as you pull in it looks like it's gonna be fun, and it never disappointed. We played on a very windy day which made the front 9 just hard enough, and the woods on the back 9 keep the wind out just enough. Leave your tomahawks an thumbers at home, but you'll use everything else.. Don't be afraid to think outside the box when choosing different lines through the woods. Not sure if it's on purpose, but the whole course is opened up nicely with risk/reward shots through multiple tree lines on each hole. Plays fast, lots of fun
Cons: Not many.. Maybe the red tees are too easy and the blues are crazy hard. Maybe. And it's in Canton. I don't know how big the DG community is in Canton, but we were the only ones on the course all day. Drove like 80 miles, but it was worth it
Other Thoughts: Must play, awesome course, seemed very well maintained. Our gps had us pass the course, so when it looks like you should pull in, do it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/28/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: dgdane
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: great course givin the amount of space they have to work with. Had a blast. With three different tees it can be anything from an ace race to a championship course
Cons: no cons
Other Thoughts: Get warmed up and your birdies on the front

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course!

1    11/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: cdadams1223
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 17.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many positives that I'm sure I'll miss some:
-Great basket arrangement/placement
-Excellent mix of easy to challenging shots
-Great signage and easy to navigate
-Love the fact that there's three tee pads to choose from
-Nice elevation changes throughout the course
-The back 9 is drastically different from the front and was more challenging, but very fun
-Love the bridges over the creek beds. No water there right now but when it's present it could make things more interesting. :)
-Good parking, nice bathrooms, etc.
Cons: Not many. As a matter of fact the only con I'd say right now is lack of concrete tee boxes. Currently it is a packed sand that is fairly loose. It could make for some unstable releases but I didn't find that to be the case today. It was well packed, probably from a previous rain.

Also, there's a significant amount of brush on hole 11 I think that somewhat interferes with one's shot, but my brother and I were able to circumvent it.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, this is a great new course that everyone should enjoy, beginners and pros alike. It offers easy to challenging holes w/ a variety of shots. The setting is absolutely beautiful with all the tall trees. There's a playground as well so you can bring your kiddos to play for a bit. It's not too far from the local Dairy Palace which I hear is good eatin'. :)

We'll be back for sure! Way to go guys at Life Disc Sports! You've built a darn good course!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Tale of 2 Nines (or 3??)

1    10/8/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -3 tees per hole, each fitting for it's level
-detailed signs
-benches on most (all?) holes
-makes great use of the land available
-fun open holes on the front 9
-incredible elevation changes on the back 9
-incredible wooded holes on the back 9
-incredible bridges over creeks on the back 9
-huge wow factor, back 9 is SICK!!!
-convenient double loop design
-great family park with playground, pavilion, bathrooms, picnic tables
-lots of shade for hot Texas days, especially on the back 9
Cons: -sand tees, some are okay and some are terrible
-front 9 doesn't compare in any sort of way to the back
-rough is very rough on the back
-poisonous plants in the woods
-a few places on the front where pedestrian paths come into play, not too much traffic though
-navigation is not bad but not obvious in a few spots on the front. it's worth looking at the maps at the start of the course (or taking a pic)
Other Thoughts: This course is set in a great city park with a family friendly vibe. The front 9 plays around a large open area spotted with many trees. The back 9 plays through thick, tight woods. All 18 holes have great detailed signs and 3 tees each.

The different tee levels are great, especially in the woods. Even on the front 9, the longer tees each add more than distance but a different looking tee shot. The front 9 has tees and baskets strategically placed near trees. The longer tees are placed not just further back but left or right so that new tree obstacles come into play and change the available lines. You might be disappointed at first glance at the front 9 but it is not as easy as it looks, especially from the blue tees. The front 9 is a great setting to bring the family or newer players. You can play the blues while the kids play the reds (or play on the playground).

The back 9 is a whole different beast, with the emphasis on beast. Right after you've entered the woods, hole 11 plunges you into a thick mess of trees that looks like pin ball hell. Don't get too discouraged though as hole 11 is probably the most "unfair" fairway. A series of amazing wooded holes follow with hole 12 being my favorite: a huge right turn from elevation through narrow openings in low hanging branches with the basket up 30' on a ledge.

There is a great balance of lefty v. righty holes on the back 9. The 3 tee levels are all challenging but the closer tees offer easier lines and less distance through thick woods. Yellow discatchers are great in the woods and the bridges over a few creeks are top notch!

I can't say enough great things about the back 9 here. If you like wooded golf then it might be the best in North Texas. Epic holes!

The park amenities are great. There are bathrooms, picnic tables, a pavilion and I think I saw a grill or two also. The locals were friendly and I talked to one guy that said there were plans to add another 9 holes in the wooded area on the other side of the park. 27 holes here would be amazing and with 3 sets of tees already, it would be enough variety to keep you busy all day.

Definitely worth the drive from DFW. Stop here on your way to or from Tyler.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a BLAST!

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played the blue tees (three tees per hole) and needed every shot I know off of the tees. There are no boring holes on this course. Almost all of the tees are in the shade. Very technical! Elevation changes on the back nine. The course gets harder and harder. Very good signs.

Nice new restroom. Map of full course at the restroom. Awesome playground for the kids. Nice walking path around the front nine that really doesn't come into play. Very family friendly. Nice park in general.
Cons: Sand tees. I didn't really find them that bad, but concrete might be better.

Not close enough to my house. I might move.
Other Thoughts: It was worth the hour and ten minute drive from my house. I will be back. The fun factor is off the scale. There are enough trees to trip up even the best players. Close games can and will be back and forth in a game of inches on the back nine. Bring your friends, this course is too fun in competition to play alone.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Canton be Proud!!!

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this course has three sets of tees, and even with such a tough back nine, the 3rd set of tees makes it fair for even the newest disc thrower. The Front 9 is set within a walking track and has strategically placed tees and baskets to make it fun and technical. Thumbers, BH, FH even rollers are there and birdies can be made on the front. But, then the Back 9!! Very tough from the back tees. It is similar to Dogwood (Lindsey Gold/Tyler) or the Lakes Course in Nacogdoches. Very tight, tons of trees and even a small creek here and there. The Back 9 is definitely much tougher than the front.
Cons: Dirt Tees - I have terrible, I mean TERRIBLE knees and dirt tees make me nervous. I can't get the same rip on a BH on dirt as I do concrete and don't trust uneven surfaces, but I still play but with less power.

Back 9 - The Back 9 will be great once the trees get moved out that the storms uprooted. On a couple holes trees have fallen in the middle of fairways, but once they get moved out this con will definitely go away.

I believe hole 12 is the hole that has a huge tree down, it may not look like it but there is a line way right!!
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth the drive from Tyler for me. If you live within an hour or so I would definitely make the time to give this place a throw.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hell Ya East TX

2-4    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very sweet course with three tees for every hole. The different tees are set up well for the different level of players too. You will need every shot in your bag to score well. Get your birds on the front because you will need them on the back. The front isnt as open as the description states, and the back is very technical. Nothing boring here at all. There are multiple lines for every hole out here which makes it fun for all levels of players and favors nobody but the consistant player. The trees on the front are trimmed nice and there are no low hanging branches that hang or get in the way. Tees are clearly marked for every hole with painted wooden posts and 1 tee sign per hole. Nice natural sandy tees on the front make for a plus. Discatchers are new and nice as well. The yellow wedding band is a welcome sight in the woods. The park is well taken care of with restrooms, trashcans, and even a park for the non-golfers. There are very nice tee signs and maps right when you start to help with navigation.
Cons: Some of the back is still rough as it just went in the ground. Lots of underbrush still there and lots of hanging limbs/vines that havent been cleaned up yet. Some of the tees are rough as well but are in the process of getting taken care of. Rough can be rough if you are off the fairway. No bridges yet on a couple holes but you can see posts in the ground where they will be soon. The sidewalk/jogging trail comes close to a couple tee/baskets but not a big issue because the park isnt that busy.
Other Thoughts: Kind of in the middle of nowhere so not alot to do other then golf. No beer anywhere near here so plan accordingly. There is a huge park for the kiddos to play at while you golf. and of course, First Monday is available the first weekend of every month. Keep that in mind for spouses and that will be a very busy weekend in Canton. Very cool course with different level tees, you can play out here all day because of it. Enjoy, the City of Canton went above and beyond.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.