Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lemon Lake Red course has a great shot variety with plenty of anhyzer shots for RHBH players, a wide variety of hole length ranging from 200 - 550ft. I especially like some of the longer wooded holes and the challenges they present. This course definitely forces you to hit your line go get birdies. This course is mostly wooded and shots lacking control and accuracy are usually punished leaving you struggling to get par. A few of the holes have good elevation changes that impact how you throw that hole.

While there aren't many elevation changes on the putting greens to make traditional challenging putting greens, a number of the baskets are well protected (but not unfairly) by trees which can make them tough.

The signage here is excellent making it very easy to navigate this course. The tee signs list the distance and have a good hole diagram which is very helpful, especially your first time here. The tees are a mix of concrete and grippy brick so I didn't have a problem with them.
Cons: The course seems a little crammed in some areas. In a couple places, my decent drive wandered very close to or on another fairway and I still had a long putt.

A couple holes have long and short baskets in the ground at the same time. I suppose this could be a pro or a con depending on your point of view. I didn't care for it because I threw at the first basket I saw when I'd rather play the longs if I'd known there was a choice, but local players probably know about it and like the choice.

When I was here the ground was very soft and muddy in places, but I understand it recently rained so I won't hold that against the course.

I wasn't a big fan of hole 7 which is a 300ft hole with a dogleg right. I like holes that make you shape shots and think about landing zones, unfortunately this hole is so short and tight it doesn't seem like golf shots to me. You pitch a putter 100-150ft off the tee so can turn 90 degrees right and throw it another 150ft. Because of the mando there's no risk/reward because it's basically impossible to go for it.
Other Thoughts: The Lemon Lake complex is most definitely worth going out of your way to spend a day or two playing here. While all courses here have nice variety on their own, as a whole the courses also compliment each other well. It's very cool that the baskets, posts for the tee signs and benches are color coded to match the course you're playing.

I see why this is the most popular course of the four here. The fun factor is huge and the challenge is definitely present.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long Yet Compact

1    6/10/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
At the same location as four other courses. Extremely well-stocked pro shop.
Cons:
A bit confusing at the start, as the most visible basket was pink - is it a practice basket, or is it basket-1? The second most visible basket, straight ahead, was actually number-14 long. After playing to the pink basket, we looked around the corner, and saw, hidden from view from the tee-1, a red basket with a "1" on it.
Other Thoughts:
The course very smartly weaves its way back-n-forth along the gently-rising terrain, through thick patches of mid-sized trees and small, grassy glades. The walk from basket to next tee is never long, but the thickness of the trees and bushes makes you unaware of how close the surrounding holes actually are - very well designed.

With distances ranging from175' to 615', averaging ~350', and nearly half the holes requiring some type of right-turn from the tee, you'll likely find yourself using a wide variety of discs for your first shot at each hole. Although a few holes (1,8,18) are open for nearly the entirety, most of the holes fall into two categories - long, grassy, but somewhat-narrow fairways defined by the bordering mid-sized trees, with the odd tree or two in the midst of the fairway, just to keep things interesting; Or, tighter fairways, more like wide walking paths, but the shorter distances keep them from being oppressive.

To me, this course really nails the length-to-tightness ratio, i.e. tighter holes with sharp turns should be on the shorter, while the longer holes should be more open. Roughly 2/3rds of these holes fall nicely in-between - 250-350', with challenging-but-fair lines to hit, and errant shots typically costing you a stroke - no more, and no less.

With five courses located at a single site, supported by a fine pro shop, Lemon Lakes is a destination which should satisfy a wide spectrum of players for an entire day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/14/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: NKlassy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great challenging course with many difficult wooded shots. A good test of your ability.
Cons: cant really think of any cons, other than if you have a bad through then you maight be searching through some pretty thick brush to find your disc
Other Thoughts: With so many trees it seemed that with alot of holes your mid-range game came more into affect than your drives.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    9/17/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off this course is located in a great county park that has 4 disc golf courses on site. There are lots of other ameneties available also, sand volleyball, basketball, a huge playground, great bathroom facilities, vending machines, large pavilions, walking trails and a fishing lake.

This course is a mostly short and technical wooded course with a few mostly open, longer holes to break up the design (#9, #14, #18). All of the holes have very distinct fairways but the wooded holes leave you alot of options on what routes to take around and through trees.

There is a pretty good shot selection on this course. I used BH's, FH's, overhands, drivers and putters all from the tee box. Hitting your lines and staying in the fairway are important for picking up birdies on this course.

Everything on the Red course is in great shape. This might be leftover from worlds preparation but the tees, signs, fairways, and baskets were all in great condition. There are lots of benches and garbage cans on this course also. You can tell that alot of work goes into maintaining this course.

Multiple tees on some holes and multiple baskets on others. This was nice since I was playing with my wife I could play from the longer tees or to the longer basket while she played the shorter ones.

This course is short enough to be beginner friendly and is technical enough with low ceilings and necessary shot shaping to be alot of fun for more experienced players.

The course is beautiful. Lots of great trees, mowed fairways and good pin placements.

Navigation was really easy on this course. Really no confusion at all on where to go.
Cons: A litte bit short. I used a putter off the tee 6 times on this course and I am not a big arm player.

Hole #2 plays right over number 3's tee. Although the correct shot is a RHFH or RH anny that is not too close to the tee, it is very easy to put a disc right through #3's tee box. Although I like 2's pin placement in the trees it should probably be moved out for safety.

#7 is just a hole that I really dislike. 60 feet off the tee there is a 90 degree right turn that has a mando you must follow. Although it is an interesting hole, I think it is not very well designed.

Other than hole #14 there is not alot of elevation on this course.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake Red was probably the most fun of the 4 courses on site. Not very challenging, but fun to play with great variety of shots that can be played pretty quickly.

I really liked the multiple pins that I mentioned earlier. It really gave my wife a chance to play distances that she was more comfortable with while I could do the same with the longer pins/tees.

There are a couple of notable holes on this course but I personally really liked #14 which is a long downhill drive into a short narrow opening in some woods with the pin out in the open on the far side. I also appreciated #9 which plays through a nice narrow gap off the tee as well as over a little creek (gulch) to a pin gaurded by some bushes.

Just another great course in the great Lemon Lake complex. This park would be a worthwhile trip for any disc golfer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Most all-around fun course at Lemon Lake

5+    5/22/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Michler
Played: 232  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red course is the most popular and most all-around fun course at the Lemon Lake disc golf complex. Excellently manicured course with red Discatcher baskets. The cement teepads are nicely roughed to avoid slippage even in wet conditions. Red benches around the course are another nice touch that elevate this course beyond what you'll see at your average public park. The holes are more wooded than that of its Blue course counterpart. Its listed as a Par 59 and scores of around 51 have produced 1000 rated rounds. There are alot of deuce holes under 350 feet here, but they are not easy by any means. The course is favorable to players who have big overhand thumber/tomahawk shots. There are a few bomber holes to please the big arms as well. Again, a little bit of everything here makes for a great course on a great piece of property. If you only have time for 1 course when visiting Lemon Lake, make sure to hit the Red course!
Cons: Tee pads are a little short and not flush with the ground. A couple of the holes (9, 11, 12) are 'thread the needle' type deuce holes. Great if thats what you are looking for, not so great if the super-tight wooded holes aren't what you are in to. Again, having a big overhand shot can really pay some dividends on this course. I'd rather the tees were moved around a touch to take away some of these over the top routes.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for any level

5+    9/6/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of challenging shots that leave you feeling satisfied. It isnt overly long like Gold and has a lot of holes that can allow beginners a chance. lots of woods if you are a fan of that. multiple pin placements on many holes which makes for a different feel. enough spread between holes that you dont have to be afraid of hitting someone on a different hole. there were some new tee pads going in so it will now have multiple tees as well. level concrete pads.
Cons: hole signs were in need of some repair. i believe the local crew was already in the process of putting some new ones in. a few spots could use some pea gravel or crushed lime stone to keep you out of the mud paths. a few holes you will find it hard to see where your disc is going which may cause some locating problems. the sharp dog leg right (hole 7 i believe) really takes a lot of shots out of your hand because of the mando. it is a long 2 if you get it.
Other Thoughts: great course, clean park. located near 3 (4 if you count silver/gold as two different) courses. lots of people in the area to help you out. good crew there to keep it in shape and fun to play. if you have a full day bring a group of people and some coolers with food and drinks and play all 4 courses...would be a great way to have a doubles tournament in the summer. the additions for worlds definitely make the course tougher, it will be interesting to see how well the pro's will do. it is now longer, but much more fun was added as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 the gem!

1    9/24/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -so beautiful
-short and technical with an occasional let 'er rip hole
-trees perfectly used
-signs, benches, baskets, RED. Loved it.
-peaceful setting
-all cement tee pads
-variety
-a few mandos, if I remember correctly
Cons: -no pro pads
-just a few give away holes
-short, I wanted more!
-kind of a lack of elevation/risk reward basket placements
-MAY be a bit to easy for pro level players, but still fun
Other Thoughts: wow. SURPRISE! After so much talk and then eventual let down of the hype of the gold/silver course in this park I got to play the little gem that is the Red course! This is also what the locals were playing and still having fun with!

You start off on one of the two throw away holes. Basically in the open and to a basket by some trees. blah. then all of a sudden you turn and head into the amazingly manicured grove of bushes and perfectly spaced trees. This is when you know how cute this course is while still being technical.

shots include hyzers, bombs, layups, dinks, thumbers, you name it. probably one of the best laid out courses for the available land space I have played. Even hole 14 offers this illusion of bombing it down a huge hill into a great basket location (parked it).

I had a blast here and ended up shooting a -10 first time through, but that was with the help of locals helping me out with the best lines.. This might make it seem a bit too easy for skilled players but I know they will have fun the whole time playing it.

SUMMARY: PLAY THE RED COURSE. it will surely make you smile. is it the most technical or hardest at this park? Probably not. Is it the most fun, yeah, without a doubt.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 my "favorite"

2-4    6/20/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First visited this course not long after it was installed. I have loved it from day one and the trip with Texconsonite was my third time here. We all respected silver/gold as the toughest; then our opinions varied....I find this the second best course on this wonderful site...White is good; but short; Blue, a little too open (update note, that blue has had both length and toughness added); Red a perfect combination of blue and white. I believe it requires quite an assortment of shots to score well on Red. This is the course here that they have spent a number of years refining; and to me; it shows.
(Another update: A few new, long tees at red. Including, a gorgeous long tee on #18, which adds length to what was already a 435 ft. hole. Also, elevation; and a great tee area, surrounded by huge pines, which play a part in your disc exit to pin.
As of 11-19-09, blue and red courses considered to be in the placements intended for Worlds. Club has done this to allow players to play courses as they will be used in 2010.
Cons: When Red had expanded past it's original 18 hole format; a few nice hill/lake in play holes were added. These have become part of the blue course, and thus, are still in play. These are the only two things that would make red better. Instead, they make blue better. So, this isn't really a con; just a reply to red missing those two ingredients.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that set the bar for the remaining venues on this site; and imho; after playing red; you'll understand why the local crew has advanced to the point of hosting a worlds event.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 The Original

1    6/20/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the other three all will eventually, Red has all concrete tees with pretty good tee signs, and colorfully marked baskets.

As Red is the oldest course, it is the most polished of the four. The teepads, pin locations and signs are all set and accurate. The fairways are manicured and maintained here, as opposed to gold or white, where there is still much brush-clearing to be done.

Red is probably the most balanced of the four. It offers a nice mix of relatively open and more tightly wooded holes, though woods are in play on every hole to some extent.

This course likes to squeeze you, and give you stretches of trouble. For example, you give have to shoot through an open field, but the pin will be tucked back into a wooded area. Or you may have a sharp hyzer or narrow tunnel shot off the tee, but after that chokepoint it gets easier. Thus, this course will throw challenges at you, but more like a few hurdles on every hole than a maintained tightrope walk like some courses force.

This is nice, as it lets you break down the challenges a piece at a time, especially on the longer holes, where you will probably only throw through one kink in the fairway at a time.

Many baskets are blind off the tee, but odds are you probably saw the basket through the woods while walking down a previous fairway, and thus have some idea of where you're aiming, plus the good signage helps.

Also, because this course is so compact, it has great flow, so you don't spend much time walking. We played this course after Silver, and Red felt like such a relaxing break after 3 hours of abuse. Red is fun without feeling ridiculously hard, though it is still quite technical and challenging.

This course has tons of trees, and several of the holes will have you scratching your head off the tee, including some tough right curving shots.

This course boasts some nice elevation (up or down) on a few holes, and has a tricky thread-the-needle shot over a small creek as well, on top of trees everywhere.

This course also offers a nice mix of long and short. Holes range from several under 300 to a couple over 500ft in length. Deuce opportunities are balanced out by tough 3's, and any hole on this course has the potential to trip you up if you're not careful, as the hole scoring spreads within our group showed.

Several holes were of this mold: Thread a maze of scattered trees on the wide fairway to the pin with bushy shule behind and on either side of it. Each one poses a different puzzle of which gap you want to shape your drive through.

This is a nice, broken-in wooded course with many very interesting holes. Also, it has easily the best drainage of the four courses here, so on a wet day, this is your best bet.
Cons: Red is relatively flat course, other than the large open hillside that a few holes play on. This limits the course more than anything else, because as far as wooded holes go, it delivers the goods.

This course is amazingly compact, which is impressive considering its length and variety, but also has its downsides. It seems like several holes are almost too close together. As you can often see another fairway through a narrow band of trees, its very feasible that an errant shot could end up shooting through the trees onto another hole, which could potentially be dangerous.

Also, the open hillside that you start in and return through towards the end has several problems. Firstly, you can see several baskets off the tee, so it can be a little confusing to know which one you are shooting at sometimes.

Also, hole 2 curves along the treeline and curves right into the trees past tee 3. Though there are a few trees there, an errant drive right on 2 could hit someone teeing off on 3, which is a big problem. Both holes are great, but perhaps a sign or something downhill from tee 3 doubling as a shield from fairway 2 wouldn't be a bad idea here, for safety.

Navigation gets confusing in one spot. From basket 12, go to your right through the woods to get to tee 13. Its obvious once you find it, just not easy to see through the woods, and because 13 has no sign.

The holes here will challenge you, and this course is a blast to play, perfect for a nice relaxing round, if you want more distance than the white course offers. However, I believe that the designers at Lemon Lake really learned alot with each subsequent course they put in, steadily improving their designs.

Right now, this course is the only one with all concrete tees and a real "finished" feel to it. But, as the other 3 catch up in preparation for Nationals, they will all increasingly outshine this course, IMO.
Other Thoughts: According to a sign on this course, Matt "Homie" Lovasko, a dearly departed local DG legend, once aced holes 2 & 3 of this course in the same round. That is an amazing homie story. When you are here, ask the locals about him, he lives on through their continual dedication as well as their "homie" shirts and discs. Ask a dozen of them and you will hear as many different stories about homie, all of them good.

Its just something that really stuck with me when we played here, what a wonderful group the locals are, and how they honor their dead friend is very indicative of that. On top of the four wonderful courses here, the locals are what makes Lemon Lake such a special place, truly deserving of hosting Worlds. I would not hesitate to go back here for several days, to play each course several times and hopefully do them justice.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.