Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

2-4    11/14/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 74  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety throughout, plenty of interesting lines
- Good, if aging, baskets and great tee signs
- Part of a large, pay-to-play complex comprised of 4 courses and a clubhouse with pro-shop, concessions, and bathrooms
Cons: - Tee pads are a bit too short
- Fairways run close together in multiple locations
- Lacks some of the hazard variety present at other courses on site (water, dangerous greens/fairways due to elevation change)
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake's Red Course continually vies with Silver/Gold for my favorite course of the complex. It lacks the distance and overall challenge of its big brother, but it brings almost as much shot variety, and its more manageable length results in a round that is fun for a wide variety of skill levels. Red is a mostly wooded course, but the fairways are generous enough to not beat you into the ground on an off day, and there are enough open and longer holes throughout to keep you from getting bored of technical golf. You will throw just about every shot and disc in your bag here, and the course never gets boring. With the exception of the fantastic, top-of-the-world type hole 14 there is little elevation here, but the smaller and sporadic rolling hills that are present are put to good use. Not every hole here is great, 3 and 7 tend to annoy me a bit, but I don't find them (especially 7) as objectionable as many others seem to.

On multiple occasions, fairways can run quite close to each other. Those preparing to throw on hole 3 are at risk of being hit by shots cutting in early from hole 2. Errant throws from Hole 14 can threaten people on holes 2, 3, and 15. There are a couple of other problematic locations, so keep an eye and ear out for stray discs, especially if the course is crowded. Navigation is generally fine, but the close placement of some holes can cause a little confusion, and I usually end up, at least at first, taking the long walk to hole 8 when I forget which way to turn from 7's basket.

Like all the other courses at Lemon Lake, the DISCatchers are getting older, but still catch fine, and it is a great touch that they are painted the same color as the course name. The tee signs for the red course are new since my last visit, and are among the best I have seen with a great, colorful picture of the hole geometry as well as the number and distance. I know Gold/Silver does not have these style signs yet, and was in a bit of a rush and did not see if White or Blue had been similarly upgraded. The tee pads are in good shape, but did not quite meet the needs of my tall friends and I. We found most of the pads to be a foot or so too short for our 6'+ frames to get in an adequate x-step or run-up. This issue was heightened by the fact that the ground behind and/or in front of the tee pads was frequently eroded away, preventing a comfortable run-up from starting behind the concrete pad.

The Red course is usually the first or second course I play every time I visit Lemon Lake. The fun factor is probably the highest of the course for me, and I wish I lived closer and could play all the courses on the complex more often. As it stands, my infrequent trips usually only allow me to play two, maybe three of the courses: Silver/Gold and Red usually being the two, as in my most recent visit. The clubhouse with discs and concessions adds great added value (when open), and helps make this a true disc golf destination. Do yourself a favor and take an entire day to play as much golf as you can at Lemon Lake, then drive over to Three Floyds brew pub for some great beer, and talk about all the awesome disc golf you just played with your buddies.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lemon Lake Red

1    7/3/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 127  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is truly excellent, by every meaning of the word.

-The disc golf community surrounding this course is fantastic. It's very apparent that people care about this complex by the cleanliness, lots of signage, and the clubhouse on site.

-The course itself is expertly designed. It has everything required in terms of variety of shots and difficulty. It has huge bomber holes and excellent tight shots that really require pin point accuracy. I feel like the course is also very fair for right handed vs. left handed.

-The signage and the flow of the course was very readable and logical, which is pretty important to me.
Cons: -In the middle of summer the bugs can get pretty ridiculous because it's right by a swampy area.

-The signature hole on this course, #5 (Iron Leaf), isn't really that spectacular. The thing that makes it memorable is if you happen to shoot a 4 or less that you beat Climo. ;)
Other Thoughts: I played this course alone in the middle of July in 100 degrees. The bugs were terrible and after 9 or so holes, I had this crazy nosebleed and I was already out of water. But the course kept me really interested and addicted and I kept chugging along like a champ. I would absolutely recommend a trip to Lemon Lake to spend the day disc golfing here. It was definitely a memorable trip and if I'm ever back in the area, I will definitely play here again, especially since I didn't get a chance to play the Silver course!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Are you "red"-e for disc golf?

1    7/9/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: numbernine
Played: 57  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off, let me apologize for that TERRIBLE pun as the title of this review.
Anyway...Red. Redheads are notoriously temperamental. And you all know that there are two types of redheads; gorgeous, breathtakingly beautiful ones, and the soulless, freckly gingers who are so ugly that they scare their own shadows. This is the red course. Amazing layout with holes that will crush your spirit if you dare wander off of the known trail. It can kiss you gently on the forehead, or kick you in the taint with a steel toed boot. Red is awesome.

tee pads - all pads were concrete as far as I can remember. And at most pads, there was a place to sit down and/or put down your bag. this isn't something I normally score for or against, but I loved having a place to rest my weary bones as I struggled to tame the wild red beast.

baskets - like white, all of the baskets on the red course were color coordinated...except for the pink basket on one. not super sure what this was all about, but I did skip to the basket merrily after I threw my drive. I felt like the course was trying to set a mood, and who was I to deny Red? She is a needy mistress.

Layout - my god man. From super tight, wooded holes that will eat a disc like a fat kid in a donut factory, to wide open, downhill bomber holes that protects it's baskets with sentry like trees,Red has every thing except the kitchen sink (but you can go back to white for a bathtub). I think It's hole #3, pretty sure You tee off, and the trees literally form a path that curves to the right, with the basket sitting straight ahead, past the natural opening. I can't gush enough about how amazing this course layout is. Long....SUPER long, uphill shots...just great.

Cons: signage - as OK as the signs on white are, they just don't work well for red. the course is too long for the basic, simple signs they have over there. you have length, number and what equates to stickman drawings of the hole. it should be better for a course of this caliber. and that's it for cons.
Other Thoughts: I am in love with this course.
The biggest con is that this course is 3 hours away from me. I would love to live closer to Lemon Lake just so that I could go visit Red and hang out with more. I'd buy it a beer next time, but I don't know if she is old enough. Long, tall Red.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Red Most Popular at Lemon Lake

5+    10/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red course is most popular course at Lemon Lake. The land has some nice rolling hills and scattered with trees.

The baskets are in solid condition. They are Innova Discatchers that have been painted red. The last time I played several holes had a 2nd pin (kingpin).

There is a wide variety of shots and lines on this course. #4 & #18 have a long tee pad and most holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

Hole #14 is my favorite hole. Long downhill hole with a great basket placement.
Cons: Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are all some sort of concrete they are all a little different. Some were installed several years ago with brick and others are concrete. They are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

Some of the holes conflict with each other.

This course can get muddy in places after rain.

As the disc technology has changed this is a shorter course for the most part. If you throw mids and putters alot you'll love this course.

Hole #7 is my least favorite hole. Very short placement par 4 with a mando. Putter, Putter, try to get your 3.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    6/22/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red course appeared to be the most mature of the 4 courses at Lemon Lake. There was a good mix of open, moderately wooded, and then tightly wooded holes with thick rough. Many holes were flat, but a couple holes do have elevation as a factor. There is good variation in the length of each hole ranging from 200' to 570'. The basket locations are a definite strength of the Red Course, providing challenge to a course that is not super long overall. Navigation was not a problem, but I do recommend printing a course map before you come. And of course the concrete tees and nice signs were in excellent shape.

The baskets are one of the coolest features in this complex as they match the color of the name of the course. This also helps you to locate the different courses better when you enter the park, and it helps to spot the correct basket as the courses border each other in many places. (Imagine if the park just had 100+ yellow baskets...!)

The courses were just used for 2010 Worlds so everything should still be in great shape.
Cons: There were some holes that had multiple baskets in place (long and short), and they used different basket models, both painted red, to differentiate (Machs and DisCatchers I believe.) Sometimes this system was a little confusing because I don't believe all the holes had multiple baskets and there were some alternates that you can't see from the tee. The first time through you may just end up playing to the first basket you can see.

There were a couple of spots where there were holes really close together and safety could be an issue if the course was really crowded. I also played after some heavy rains and the course was very muddy in places and so soggy that they were not able to mow the fairways. This is probably not the norm, but be advised if you play during the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Obviously having 4+ courses in one spot is a huge bonus, especially when they are all good courses. (This course would be around a 3.5 if it was a stand alone, but gets a slight boost when you factor in the entire complex.) I like that each course has its own personality and degree of difficulty. (Ranking: easiest-White- Red-Blue-Silver/Gold-hardest) The Red Course for me was the one I enjoyed the most, probably because I played it the best, but it was also the most fun as it was challenging without being too difficult. Parking for the Red and Blue courses is the same- the first lot on the left.

There is a vehicle entrance fee, but the gatehouse was not always manned. Also, the park workers are extremely friendly and obviously take pride in their disc golf courses.

We had the chance to play these courses as they were making final preparations for the 2010 Worlds. I am sure the courses are in even better shape now since that event has past.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Super Fun, Moderately Difficult

5+    9/29/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lemon Lake's Red has an alluring mix of styles and lengths that offers challenges for players of all skill levels. Hole length ranges from under 200 to 500+ ft. The course weaves in and out of light woodland, with clearly-defined, neatly-trimmed fairways throughout. A few open grassy stretches allow bigger arms to air it out a bit, while the shorter-to-moderate lengthed technical holes offer rewards to those with the best accuracy. Protected pin placements, 90 degree turns of the fairway, pinball tree formations, and plenty of line-shaping exercises provide the thrills and spills.
- Several ace runs. Nothing boring or cheap. Some of the shortest holes prove to be monsters if you miss your line as you try to escape from tree prison without pinballing your way to tilt.
- Outstanding amenities: teepads, baskets, signage, benches, trashcans, brooms, restrooms, pavilions, nature/walking trails, playground fortresses, etc. Everything is in new or near-to-new condition and of quality material. Teepads are mostly trapezoidal, level, brushed concrete and among the best I've played on. Good, solid brick tees in one or two places. Descriptive signage with accurate illustrations of each hole's layout and distance. Keeping in theme with the rest of the complex, Red's baskets, benches, etc. are painted in red so there's never doubt as to which course you're currently on.
Cons: - Unfortunately, not much risk/reward generated by means of the terrain (unless you count trees as "terrain.") Slight elevation changes throughout, but not much here to get excited about.
- Some chance of play spilling over from one fairway into another. In a few places, the chance of a disc passing the basket and nearing the next hole's tee area exists, but is somewhat mitigated by brush and/or trees.
Other Thoughts: - I found this course quite pleasurable. Aesthetically pleasing, naturally beautiful, and in outstanding shape, Lemon Lake has a wealth to offer disc golfers of all stripes. As an casual player of modest skill, I found the Red course to challenge me without becoming either frustrating or boring at any point. The Gold course on site crushes players of my skill level, while Red intices us to return with the promise of a bounty of quality discing.
- $7 non-resident, $4 resident parking fee upon entry. $50 buys a yearly pass, an exceptional deal for the quantity and quality of disc golf and other amenities and facilities located on-site.
- 1st tee located near the information kiosk at the first parking lot on the left after entering the park.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Most Enjoyable Course at LL

1    9/14/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course, like the rest of Lemon Lake, is beautifully upkept. The fairways are clean, and the course is garbage free.

-The teepads were laid excellently.

-The Alternate teepads and pin positions really change the feel of the holes. Some provide totally different looks all together.

-Some holes have set ups that really punish bad shots, the ditch on 9 in particular.

-The wooded holes were tight and shorter, while there were some longer and more open holes aswell. They were great compliments to each other.
Cons: -Aside from a few holes, this is a very flat course. The major exception being the large downhill hole, which is a nice break from how flat the course is.

-Some holes short tees are tough to find. #7 in particular, if you don't know its there, you'll already be playing the hole when you find it.
Other Thoughts: This was the most enjoyable course at Lemon Lake for me. It is the most well rounded, good distance and technicality, without being too over the top in either. If I were to play another full day at LL, I would play blue first to warm up my arm, then go get beat up by silver/gold, then regain my confidence on white, then play red to see what I learned and improved that day.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good number of the holes in this course involve navigating around numerous small trees and keeping it out of low canopies. Plenty of different lines to be found; some are pretty much forced while others allow for some creativity. There are also some pretty tight fairways, so avoiding the trees and staying more or less straight can be tricky. Some holes in particular can be very, very tight, like #3 and #9.
- Other holes inside the forest are devoid of the groves of small trees. These rely on even tighter fairways and well placed mature trees to mix up the available lines, lots of good variety on these. #17 is a great example of this - a downhill shot around a cluster of trees, followed by a long uphill approach to a narrowing fairway.
- There are also holes that are much more open, with big fairways and longer distances. A few are especially tough with narrow entrances to reach the baskets. #8 is a bomber hole with a small opening left to the pin, and #14 is a long downhill shot through a small clearing in the forest. A few shorter holes mixed in too.
- Good tees, signs, and baskets. Pretty good signage to get around, some backtrack a little so keeping an eye open helps a lot.
Cons: - Really not that many cons come to mind with this course. There is a lot of flatness to the course with a few holes taken out. More holes had gradual slopes, as opposed to extreme hilliness.
- The terrain overall was pretty uniform, other than a small ditch on #9. The rough was pretty nasty in some spots, but there were no really dangerous hazards.
Other Thoughts: - Great course that uses a diverse forest to its full potential. A wide range of holes with a wide range of challenges. Shaping shots is key at all times, in a lot of different directions. Good mix of long and short holes as well. Chances are pretty good that any player will be using a multitude of discs and shot types to navigate the different holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sept 14 Update

5+    9/14/2013   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good variety of wooded and open holes. course is well manicured. Some new lines have been opened by clearing trees.
Cons: tee signs missing. Lack of trash cans throughout the course. Basket for 13 is pulled.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake is an amazing disc golf park. I highly recommend checking it out if you've never played there. The red course is a little difficult to navigate without the tee markers, especially for newcomers.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course

1    8/15/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully designed course, tucked in and out of some challenging wooded areas. Astonishing variety and truly a challenge for players of all throwing types. the first three holes are enough to discourage most rhbh throwers, and from there on out its a test of finesse until the daunting hole 8, which is a long drive that gets tucked away to the left into some trees. Hole 9 is a terrifying test of accuracy and will frighten all but the finest of throwers. holes 10-13 are mid-moderate distance shots that still test your accuracy, but 14 is just an amazing downhill shot with incredible distance, that funnels down into a 30ft wide tunnel of trees, so make sure that drive is straight. 15 and 16 are the last of the tight ones, while 17 steps up the distance, and rather dangerously. 18 is a nice open hole, so if you've got the arm, it won't be much of a challenge.
Cons: we had to play the short tees for the Indiana State tournament, and we didn't even know there was a short tee on hole 7 (it shares the long tee for 11?) so we got stroked. regardless, my friend and I still finished 1st and second
Other Thoughts: lots of shade, but the bugs were nasty. the roughage is THICK, beware.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.