Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Red Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good number of the holes in this course involve navigating around numerous small trees and keeping it out of low canopies. Plenty of different lines to be found; some are pretty much forced while others allow for some creativity. There are also some pretty tight fairways, so avoiding the trees and staying more or less straight can be tricky. Some holes in particular can be very, very tight, like #3 and #9.
- Other holes inside the forest are devoid of the groves of small trees. These rely on even tighter fairways and well placed mature trees to mix up the available lines, lots of good variety on these. #17 is a great example of this - a downhill shot around a cluster of trees, followed by a long uphill approach to a narrowing fairway.
- There are also holes that are much more open, with big fairways and longer distances. A few are especially tough with narrow entrances to reach the baskets. #8 is a bomber hole with a small opening left to the pin, and #14 is a long downhill shot through a small clearing in the forest. A few shorter holes mixed in too.
- Good tees, signs, and baskets. Pretty good signage to get around, some backtrack a little so keeping an eye open helps a lot.
Cons: - Really not that many cons come to mind with this course. There is a lot of flatness to the course with a few holes taken out. More holes had gradual slopes, as opposed to extreme hilliness.
- The terrain overall was pretty uniform, other than a small ditch on #9. The rough was pretty nasty in some spots, but there were no really dangerous hazards.
Other Thoughts: - Great course that uses a diverse forest to its full potential. A wide range of holes with a wide range of challenges. Shaping shots is key at all times, in a lot of different directions. Good mix of long and short holes as well. Chances are pretty good that any player will be using a multitude of discs and shot types to navigate the different holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sept 14 Update

5+    9/14/2013   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: good variety of wooded and open holes. course is well manicured. Some new lines have been opened by clearing trees.
Cons: tee signs missing. Lack of trash cans throughout the course. Basket for 13 is pulled.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake is an amazing disc golf park. I highly recommend checking it out if you've never played there. The red course is a little difficult to navigate without the tee markers, especially for newcomers.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great intermediate course

1    8/15/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: adwagner
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully designed course, tucked in and out of some challenging wooded areas. Astonishing variety and truly a challenge for players of all throwing types. the first three holes are enough to discourage most rhbh throwers, and from there on out its a test of finesse until the daunting hole 8, which is a long drive that gets tucked away to the left into some trees. Hole 9 is a terrifying test of accuracy and will frighten all but the finest of throwers. holes 10-13 are mid-moderate distance shots that still test your accuracy, but 14 is just an amazing downhill shot with incredible distance, that funnels down into a 30ft wide tunnel of trees, so make sure that drive is straight. 15 and 16 are the last of the tight ones, while 17 steps up the distance, and rather dangerously. 18 is a nice open hole, so if you've got the arm, it won't be much of a challenge.
Cons: we had to play the short tees for the Indiana State tournament, and we didn't even know there was a short tee on hole 7 (it shares the long tee for 11?) so we got stroked. regardless, my friend and I still finished 1st and second
Other Thoughts: lots of shade, but the bugs were nasty. the roughage is THICK, beware.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite of the 4...

1    6/24/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake Red is a scenic and challenging course. There are plenty of wooded tunnel shots to challenge accuracy. There are also a few holes that cater to distance players. I think the balance is very good in that the neither the finesse player nor the power player is given a significant advantage. I really liked that the baskets were color-coded based on which course you were playing. This was not done to clear up any confusion as it should be fairly obvious which basket belongs to which hole. However, it was kind of like the icing on the cake. I really enjoyed this course because of the demanding shot-shaping skills it requires. The tunnel shots didn't require the same old hyzer or anhyzer tee shot. There were a couple that challenged the midrange S-curve which is something I don't see often. Hole 3 comes to mind in this regard as an example. The groundskeeping was very good as well. Benches and trashcans were sufficiently placed.
Cons: I really only have 2 cons. First, the communal space that holes #2 and #14 occupy seems a little tight. If your disc hyzers at all through the gap on Hole #2 you will land in the middle of the fairway of Hole 14. Even if you can stay close to the left tree line, the hyzer approach shot that ensues does come very close to the tee pad for hole 3. This was really the only part of the course were I felt congested.

My second con is that it opened with a bland hole and ended with a bland hole. Hole #1 is a pretty straight-forward anhyzer with woods on the right and the pin tucked around the corner of the woods. It should be no worse than a 3. Hole #18 is wide open with a sparse tree or two. It is a long hole but lacks character. I am critical about these 2 holes on any course because I always remember a what I feel like when I get to hole 1 of a new course. And I always remember the feeling after wrapping up the round and 18 is usually the lasting memory.
Other Thoughts: We stopped by to play the courses at Lemon Lake while on our excursion. We had thought that since the Worlds would be there soon, that course conditions would be amazing. For the most part, this was true. This is an awesome complex and I am somewhat jealous of those who live nearby. The Red Course was my favorite, but I could see myself playing all of them regularley if I lived nearby. I think each course had a distinct character. I would describe the Red's character as challenging and traditional. All elements of the game were tested at least once by this particular course. Yet, it still gave me the feeling like it was a well-seasoned course even though, as I understand it, there have been some recent modifications.

In short, if you are anywhere close to the park, I highly recommend playing all 4 courses. The Red happens to be my favorite, but I would not be surprised to ask 4 different people and get 4 different answers. It truly is an amazing place.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red Course at Lemon Lake has great variety, it features five par four holes (four of which are on the back nine), a few short holes requiring nonstandard flight paths, and quite a few in the 275-325' range with thick rough off the fairway. Most of the course is made up of defined fairways cut out of the woods. There are some mostly open holes as well. All holes have Innova Discatcher baskets with the chastity belt painted red. Only a few holes have two tees. Most tees are concrete with a few made of brick pavers. Lots of fun drives, fairly well balanced in regards to righty/lefty friendly holes. The course has some elevation change, which is well used on such holes as the tough, downhill, par 4 hole 14, which is followed by the shorter but uphill hole 15. There are some interesting doglegs, most notably hole 7 which takes a 90 degree right turn about 100' from the tee followed by 200' of straight fairway framed by symmetrically placed tree rows. The finishing combination of par 4 hole 17 and when played from the long tee par 4 hole 18 are rough on those who can't through long controlled drives.
Cons: There are some safety issues here, especially where holes two and three cross paths. Hole 2 is a dogleg right but if you were to draw a straight line between its tee and basket, hole 3's tee would be on the line. There are some trees to protect golfers on 3's tee, but a bad shot could still easily hurt someone. Hole 1 and hole 18 (especially from the short tee) are kind of boring, open holes that take you to and from the parking lot. Some of the tees are located in such a way so that they turn into puddles after a heavy rain (especially hole 16). There was a lot of poison ivy out there, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Lemon Lake is a great disc golf destination. With 4 (or 5 if you count the gold and silver as separate courses) 18 hole courses in one 400 acre site, there is plenty of variety and challenge here. You will find holes ranging from tightly wooded ace runs to tricky par fours. There is a small fee to enter the park, but it is charged per car not per person. Over the years the facility has evolved from one 18 hole course into its present state. The majority of the original 18 now makes up the red course

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Most all-around fun course at Lemon Lake

5+    5/22/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red course is the most popular and most all-around fun course at the Lemon Lake disc golf complex. Excellently manicured course with red Discatcher baskets. The cement teepads are nicely roughed to avoid slippage even in wet conditions. Red benches around the course are another nice touch that elevate this course beyond what you'll see at your average public park. The holes are more wooded than that of its Blue course counterpart. Its listed as a Par 59 and scores of around 51 have produced 1000 rated rounds. There are alot of deuce holes under 350 feet here, but they are not easy by any means. The course is favorable to players who have big overhand thumber/tomahawk shots. There are a few bomber holes to please the big arms as well. Again, a little bit of everything here makes for a great course on a great piece of property. If you only have time for 1 course when visiting Lemon Lake, make sure to hit the Red course!
Cons: Tee pads are a little short and not flush with the ground. A couple of the holes (9, 11, 12) are 'thread the needle' type deuce holes. Great if thats what you are looking for, not so great if the super-tight wooded holes aren't what you are in to. Again, having a big overhand shot can really pay some dividends on this course. I'd rather the tees were moved around a touch to take away some of these over the top routes.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 some helpful comments maybe

5+    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: airspuds
Played: 99  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: some added length both with new tees and alternative pin placements , 6240 ft ish
adding some toughness
Cons: hole 2 just gets in the way . always a tough hole for me > but off 14 if u hyzer it , a side arm over 2 's t is a recovery shot choice
plus throwing over 3 's T on the drive is equally bad for flow
Other Thoughts: love the new t's for 4 and 18 , basket spot for 14 as well . little soggy when we played
bring garbage bags and pick up as u play , cans were not out yet,

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for any level

5+    9/6/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of challenging shots that leave you feeling satisfied. It isnt overly long like Gold and has a lot of holes that can allow beginners a chance. lots of woods if you are a fan of that. multiple pin placements on many holes which makes for a different feel. enough spread between holes that you dont have to be afraid of hitting someone on a different hole. there were some new tee pads going in so it will now have multiple tees as well. level concrete pads.
Cons: hole signs were in need of some repair. i believe the local crew was already in the process of putting some new ones in. a few spots could use some pea gravel or crushed lime stone to keep you out of the mud paths. a few holes you will find it hard to see where your disc is going which may cause some locating problems. the sharp dog leg right (hole 7 i believe) really takes a lot of shots out of your hand because of the mando. it is a long 2 if you get it.
Other Thoughts: great course, clean park. located near 3 (4 if you count silver/gold as two different) courses. lots of people in the area to help you out. good crew there to keep it in shape and fun to play. if you have a full day bring a group of people and some coolers with food and drinks and play all 4 courses...would be a great way to have a doubles tournament in the summer. the additions for worlds definitely make the course tougher, it will be interesting to see how well the pro's will do. it is now longer, but much more fun was added as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite Lemon Lake course

2-4    10/31/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is my favorite of the four in this fantastic disc golf complex. The course primarily plays through hilly woods, with lots of tight shots and some fun elevation changes. Where there are good hills, they are used well to add interest and challenge to the course, as well as offering some nice views of the park. There is a great mix of open grassy fairways surrounded by trees and more technical holes where errant drives will leave you playing plinko in the trees.

This course has a great variety of lengths, from ace run holes to legitimate par 4 holes that will test your distance and shot placement. There are lots of different types of shots needed to score well here, birdies are available but you'll have to navigate lots of left and right turning fairways to get them.

This course feels the most polished of the four, as it's made up mostly of the original holes. All holes have concrete tees and signs showing distance and hole layout. The design of the course makes navigation pretty easy throughout, and keeps things varied and interesting throughout the round without a whole lot of repetition.
Cons: Though this course has better drainage than the silver and blue courses, it still can be a bit swampy after rains, and the wooded hillsides can get a bit slick. Some of the signs seemed a bit inaccurate, hopefully that gets taken care of before worlds comes to town.

There is some fun elevation, but there also were a few too many very flat holes in the mix that took away a little of the fun factor. The first couple holes don't seem to fit with the rest of the course, and would seem more at home on the blue course, I'm not a fan of filler holes to start the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, that offers challenges for any level of player. More experienced players will have a lot of fun shooting for birdies, and testing their accuracy on the wooded holes, while newer players won't be too overwhelmed here.

I recommend this course most out of the four here, and it would be worth a trip to play by itself. With the others onsite, this complex is definitely worth a drive to come play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/15/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: rudy1972
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: My home course! 2010 Pro Worlds! Nice mix of shots, some long, some technical. Good group of locals.
Cons: It's getting dark too early. We played a day/night (glow) doubles thing, fun! A lot of complaints e.g. bugs, poison ivy, lost discs, and parking fees are not an issue this time of year.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1: Hole is at new pin position now. About 305 feet tucked on the right guarded by a tree and high grass. The hole is more challenging/fun, I think.

Hole #2: Tucked on right off big fairway about half way up a good sized hill. Trees on right. Beware of drives from 14's tee at the top of the hill. Fun flick/anheiser. Putt for duece.

Hole #3: Short, narrow cool little shot. No problem, usually. Tree jail on left, prison on right.

Hole #4: Aceable short uphill. Trees if shot is high. New tee is available.

Hole #5: Big hyzer or thread down the middle. Many, many trees. Dueceable.

Hole #6: New hole placement. Now its a 300 foot hole with guard trees protecting the pin, which is tucked to the right. Requires decent drive and good putt.

Hole #7: Hard 90 degree dogleg right. Usually an easy flick, good approach, putt for three.

Hole #8: First big, open field bomber hole. Finishes left in trees. Tough three. Huge deuce.

Hole #9: Thread through trees over ravine. My buddy hit chains this year. Get it over, get a two.

Hole #10: Fairway becomes quite narrow with oaks in landing area for average arms. Calls for a big drive and good approach/putt. Straight and long. Trees in putting area.

Hole #11: Deuce hole, lots of trees. I usuall try a skip hyzer down right side finish left. Shorty hole.

Hole #12: My one and only ace! Five years ago. Tricky trees in fairway. Not very long. Sidehill green.

Hole #13: I flick this hole left side finish right. It wants a strong drive. Toughest putt on course. Sidehill lie. Guard trees. Skippy. Windy sometimes. Ugh!

Hole #14: Signature hole. Downhill with big fairway. Hole tucked in narrow glade in tree grove. I've it two-ed it once. A new (longer) hole position is poured and will be moved soon.

Hole #15: Short uphill I go right at with 2X Barry Champ Beast. Very two-able. Keep low to take trees out of it and maybe skip to basket.

Hole #16: New hole postion 30 ft longer and slightly right pin is now guarded with trees. I love this new position! It is a straight shot through a medium-wide fairway with many trees in that fairway.

Hole #17: Big long hole. Fairway narrows at top of uphill. The open again for a sometimes windy putt. Tough three. Don't five it!

Hole #18: Driveable 400+ hole in field with only a few trees. New hole position makes it 30 feet longer now. Duece or par and the round is over. Yay.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.