Lake Linden, MI 
Torch Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: torihanus Hole #6 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    5/27/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: torihanus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.) First course I ever played on, so I have to mark this as a bonus. Torch Lake DGC will always hold a special place in my heart.

2.) Navigation is relatively easy to figure out, especially when the course is mowed.

3.) One has the option of either playing 9 holes or the full 18. If you choose to only play 9, you can go straight from hole 7 to holes 17 and 18. This is a nice added feature. In addition, hole 18 takes you back to the parking lots, whereas when there were only 9 holes, it was quite a walk back.

4.) Course makes use of the limited amount of trees out there. If a hole doesn't have trees as an obstacle, the designers made it so distance can be a challenge. In addition, some holes have mandatory penalty shots, if your discs hit the path flowing through the course. This is another added challenge.

5.) A perfect course to work on your distance and empty your bag. The majority of the fairways are between 250-350 feet, with two being close to 450 feet.

6.) Buckets at most of the holes to put your trash in.

7.) The openness of the course is great for beginners who don't have the skills and/or experience to throw in such tight quarters.
Cons: 1.) For beginners, this can be a difficult course to start on, due to the distance of the holes. However when I played shorter courses after playing this one, I notice an improvement in my tee shot.

2.) The holes closer to the pond (holes 9, 12, and 13) tend to be muddy and have water holes, so be on the lookout for that. Hole 9 is always muddy, due to it being the fairway in confined trees, relatively close to the pond.

3.) Elevation and terrain doesn't change too much. It is pretty consistent throughout the entire course.

4.) Holes are all par 3, which is doable for non-beginners. This can be discouraging for beginners like me. Personally, some of the holes should be considered a par 4/5.

5.) Tee pads are dirt. When worn down, you can see roots and rocks. When it has rained, the dirt gets muddy, and you might slip. It is difficult to remain grounded before your tee shot.

6.) Many of the signs have been taken down recently or been ripped apart. I play Torch Lake DGC 1-3 times a week, so I know the course by heart; however, for newcomers, it might pose a challenge. I don't know if the signs are down to a recent thunderstorm we had in the area, or if people are tearing them down.

7.) Some of the signage states that there are pro tees; however, I have yet to see the tees out there.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Copper Country. Course is next to the Lake Linden Campground, and the "headquarters" of the campground (right across the street from hole 1) have discs you can borrow. Many locals walk the trail that the course runs through and bring their dogs. This course to great to bring your animals on. Poop bags are even next to the hole 1 tee pad. In addition, I would love to get in touch with the designers and find a way to help with the maintenance of the course, seeing as though I'm out there weekly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New signage, fun course

5+    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: glassila
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice signs have been added to all 18 holes which show the yardage and layout of the holes.
Although the course is mostly open, it makes very good use of the available trees. To my recollection, 8 holes are wide open and 10 have trees in play.
I played recently and noticed that "pro" tee boxes are being added on at least half of the holes which will provide different lengths and angles.
I think the course designers have done a tremendous job with the available trees and elevation changes to make this a fun place to play.
Cons: Currently the tee boxes are dirt with a 4 x 4 buried in the ground to mark the end of the box. Poured tee pads would be a great improvement, but I have no issue with dirt pads.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrible teepads, tough routing.

1    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.4 Years
Aesthetic--plays through a large open field behind a city campground. Camping is available onsite for $10 a night in a tent on rustic lots. Call 906-296-9911 to reserve. Even with 18 baskets, the field looks large and empty, there is a service road running through but I think thats your only non-dg obstacle.

Variety/elevation-- makes use of available elevation pretty well. throwing from a hilltop down and up to another..

Pin placement-- fairly unique placement behind trees and on overlooks by the lake.

Lines-- some interesting line choices here. multiple looks per hole help to jazz it up a bit.
Teepads-- huge negative. Rocky, rutty and unsafe. Red Muddy when wet. Kick strips help to point to the basket you're throwing at.

Teesigns-- It looks like they are working on them. some of the "placcards" have a light sharpied hole # on them. but other than that, no info exists. Teesigns would immensely hep the routing here. We found the first 9 without much issue but got lost after that.

Upkeep-- long grass throughout, not sure if we caught it on a bad day or if they don't regularly mow this course.
Other Thoughts:
Kind of disappointing really. We ran into some locals that seemed friendly but the course was a bit of a disappointment other than we camped there.

Nice intermediate 18 holer

2-4    6/15/2013   5/19/2014
Review By: jeremyhilss
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite out of the way from park goers and campers, except for hole 2


Many wide open shots to let your drivers fly

Even with all the open fields, the course takes advantage of a large portion of the existing trees
Cons: Signage hasn't been fully kept up with, at least when I last played it

Although I enjoy open shots, there could've been maybe one or two more confined ones
Other Thoughts: Very good course for it's location, offering some good challenges but also not too much to turn away beginners

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nice young course with room to grow.

5+    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: bc88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Top of the line baskets (Chainstars powder-coated blue and gold). Spacious, natural course. Good flow. Nice variation of holes/challenges. Plenty of room to expand if they want.
Cons: Some of the natural tees are worn and uneven and hard to ensure a secure plant foot. Signage could use some work.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful spot for a course just on the other side of the Lake Linden-Hubbell campgrounds and Torch Lake. Student led project has evolved in just a year into a very nice course. All holes are par 3. Hole 4 downhill is a great place to let all your drivers go. Hole 8 at 440 ft. is quite a challenge to par and hole 9 has a number of ways to play it (the gap sure is tempting but 90% who do go for it end up in the trees). A great starting point for this course. Word has it they are looking to expand to 18 and possibly have poured teepads down the road. A promising course just in its infancy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit of everything, maybe not enough

2-4    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: truk
Played: 69  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Linden-Hubbell DGC is tucked behind the campground at the aptly-named Lake Linden Park. I wasn't sure what to expect, knowing it was a school project and all, but I'd give the kids an A+ for their work. Granted, this does not give it an automatic 5/5, but for a 9-hole course, it's got a lot going for it.


Excellent, new baskets. They catch great and the colors make them extremely visible.

Tees: dirt, but reasonably flat. Signs with distance and directions at every tee, garbage buckets and benches throughout.

Easy navigation with mowed paths and several "next tee" signs.

Good variety - Each hole has it's own unique challenge. A quick rundown:

Hole 1: Flat, slightly left of tee. Perfect RHBH warmup hole.

Hole 2: Throw across a field, basket tucked behind trees.

Hole 3: Uphill toss with multiple paths to basket blocked by trees.

Hole 4: Downhill wide-open shot. If nobody is behind you, a great hole to empty the bag.

Hole 5: Basket tucked onto a tree-guarded penninsula. You probably won't find the water, but it's nice to have a hole that makes you worry a bit.

Hole 6: Short, uphill blind RHBH hyzer shot. Toss it and hope for the best.

Hole 7: The basket is effectively level with the tee, but there's a hill in the way. Either hyzer over (and face the wind) or keep it low and straight and see if you can skim the hilltop.

Hole 8: Another open field toss, but helped by a basket tucked into some trees.

Hole 9: Fairly wide fairway through trees, but the basket is through a narrow, low-ceiling gap. Thread the needle.

Camping on-sight and a nice beach/lake to go jump in on hot days.
Cons: The open holes rely on narrow-cut fairways to add challenge. So far, the rough is fairly thin, so there is not much incentive for accuracy.

Tees (upkeep concerns): Yes, they're reasonably flat, but dirt tees tend to wear down and erode quickly. Along with the dirt, there were some loose pebbles mixed in. Also, the signs were laminated paper stapled to the post. One was already torn off and stuck to the garbage bucket hook.

The course ends away from the first tee, so playing twice for 18 involves a bit of a walk back to the first tee.

It's a 9-hole, so you're always left wanting a little more.
Other Thoughts: I see lots of open land that could have been turned into more holes, but I think they made the right choice sticking with 9. No completely wooded holes, but trees are put into play where possible.

The cons are minor (unless upkeep becomes a problem) and if the score was just based on courses in the Keweenaw County area, it would easily be a 5/5.

I wouldn't call this a destination course, but on the other hand, if you're there to camp and do other touristy things, the fact that there's a very competent 9-hole course on sight is a huge selling point.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.