Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: araytx Hole #11 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

5+    6/10/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: souldout4ever
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. The course has a good flow to it. It includes holes with shots for all players (backhand, sidearm) Tough course.
Cons: Grass is sometimes a bit high. Out of bounds is sometimes a confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoyable course. It really will challenge the shots you have in your bag. Your going to need your "A" game if you play a tournament here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 in DFW

2-4    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1: hitting your lines on holes #1 thru #4 is a confidence booster. If the course isn't crowded and/or you didn't do so well, repeat these holes before heading off to the rest of the course (high fun factor)
2: upcoming holes provide challenges such as steep drop offs on putting greens on #6 & #9, and awesome elevation changes on holes #12 and #14
3: holes #10, #11, #14 (OB flags left), #15 (super long and narrow) & 16 require pin-point accuracy. If you struggle with distance and accuracy, put the driver back in the bag and use the mid-range disc to cut down on the frustration
4: clean, well maintained course (a 180 from the west Fort Worth course, name not mentioned)
5: very good drainage. I played just a few days after a massive rain and flooding.
6: close proximity to other top courses
Cons: Minor:
1: concrete tee-pads on the majority of holes are a bit too short
2: teeing off on #5 across the parking lot can be problematic. (mando sign posted to lessen the chance of hitting cars)
Other Thoughts: If any of the reviews have kept you away, do yourself a favor and go enjoy what Crossroads has to offer. The final result may be a high score, but the fun factor is through the roof. This course is a 'must play' for all locals and a true destination for anyone visiting the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 location

1    9/15/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Lesson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout it is very enjoyable
-short technical shots
-long distance holes
-fun use of parking lots/light pole for mando etc some things out of the ordinary
-difficult course would be very hard to shoot even 54
-very clean and enjoyable
Cons: -its far distance from my house
-its duncanville
-blind holes
Other Thoughts: it was very fun to play and look forward to going back. yes it is pretty hard your first game because there is blind holes and you may not make the right choices of discs or shots unless you walk the hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/3/2012   7/30/2011
Review By: JFink2011
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The land sets up PERFECTLY for a disc golf course.
2. A wide variety of shots required.
3. Elevation changes all over.
4. Interesting and unique greens.
5. Every hole is different! (Fun to play!)
Cons: 1. Tee pads could've been a bit longer, but they are not unacceptably short.
2. Certain holes are a bit too close to other holes. (See below.)
5. Can't play at all times. (Not much of a con really, but it's closed for church events on occasion)
Other Thoughts: The course designer is EPIC! He drove his car down the course to ask us what needed improving and what we thought. It's so nice of him to work so hard to bring another course to our area! Thank him if you see him!

After finishing the round I wanted to give the designer a bit more feedback on the whole course...

Holes 1-4: These holes ROCK! Some of the best technical holes in the area.

Hole 5: A different hole, but it plays into the whole course nicely. Better get your bird.

Hole 6: I really like this hole for one main reason... The hilltop green! The only problem here is that you have to throw too close to another hole's basket on the drive.

Hole 7: Amazing hole just the way it is! You can go for your easy drop in deuce, or you can try for an ace and risk a long putt.

Hole 8: Very difficult hole, but it's a nice par 4.

Hole 9: Great! Just finished a par 4 and now you gotta throw a finesse shot up the gut on a 215' hole. Awesome design!

Hole 10: A lot of recent work was put into this hole and it paid off big time! Great par 4.

Hole 11: Another great hole! Nothing to change here, it's my personal favorite hole.

Hole 12: This hole is a bit blah for me... I think it needs something more. The elevation is nice, but maybe you could make this an elevated basket? Or perhaps you could do something like they do at the USDGC with the bamboo wall. (Obviously not with bamboo, but maybe with a fence, or something?) Or you could set up a mini wall around the circles edge so that you couldn't just throw for the skip?

Hole 13: Sweet hole! Great use of space!

Hole 14: Very good hole! Getting a three here is very possible even for some rec/int players.

Hole 15: Par 5... YEP! The tee is kinda short and there is no run-up available, but a clean drive is needed, so possibly no run-up needed. This hole is long and can get VERY frustrating, which is what I want from a par 5! There may be a couple trees that could go, but this hole is nice the way it is!

Hole 16: This hole has cleaned up to make for another great par 4.

Hole 17: This hole is the worst hole in my opinion. For anyone that can throw 350' you just have to let go of your disc straight and just pray that once it gets to the tree-line it magically misses like 10 trees and parks itself under the basket. I believe the "precision" part of the shot should be within the first 150' on a drive. Having a guarded pin is fine, but having an open field shot with the last 80 feet turning into a pinball machine is too much. I just think with the hole the way it is... About 80% of people would get a par, 18% would get a bogey, 1.99% would get a birdie, and apparently someone has aced it already which is unreal... but he would be that extra .01%

Hole 18: The precision part of the drive is right off the tee making this no gimme! This is an excellent hole and it is my second favorite hole out here. The drive is tough, the fairway is open allowing for a smooth anny line for rhbh, and the green is very tough if you decide to go for a long birdie attempt! PERFECT!

This course is one of the greats. One more championship caliber course in the DFW area!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best in DFW !

1    7/20/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: DavidMillerTime
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome new addition to the area. For being such a new course its pretty dang good. It has a lot of good elements of other DFW courses but my friends and I are all ready referring to it as the ''tour 18'' course because of great combination of styles all on one course. It has short wooded shots, over creek shots, elevation shots, tunnel shots, huge distance shots, and even distance tunnel shots.

Thing that excites me the most about this course is that in addition both cedar hill courses it could bring some good competitions and hope this is put in the tourny mix.
Cons: First con really isn't a con for me but something others dg'ers might need to prepare for especially in this texas heat. It is a very long course that if your in a group of about 3 or 4 will take well over 2 hours to play. So you really have to make sure and have the water and time for it.

2. Being a new course it still needs some clearing, paths and bridges but will come with time.

Other Thoughts: Cool seeing a church put in a course (and such a good one at that) that is open for the public. Make sure and thank the people working on the course. There was a family with their kids clearing out brush around one of the baskets and the youth pastor even came out to welcome us to the course half way through.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and well-designed ... Still in progress

5+    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: araytx
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Extremely good course to hone your game. Course has a variety of shots needed and includes many elements -- creeks, trees/obstacles over OB, protected baskets, true par 4s and a 5, birdie-able holes, elevation change, roller rewards, landing zones for longer holes, tunnel challenges, and risk/reward decisions. Trash cans throughout. Being a church should keep the behavior on the course kosher
Cons: The course is not yet tournament-ready but playable; work still being done on some tee boxes, some clearings, and flattening needed on a couple of holes. Temp signs are in. Not too friendly for disc golf newbies or beginners.
Other Thoughts: Sean is the youth pastor at this church and has done most of the work HIMSELF and is to be appreciated for designing and putting the course in. I know improvements are on the way and the temp course maps should be under the Links tab.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This is a AWESOME course!

1    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: BigE
Played: 104  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved the layout of this course. It has elevation and tight wood shots through out. It is only going to get better with time as they continue to clean it up and it gets foot traffic. Really good mix of holes to keep it interesting.
Cons: It still a little rough with some underbrush. I am not a big fan of using the sidewalk or parking lot for a tee box. I have only been out there once but there is one hole on the back side that could use a few trees taken out of the later part of the hole.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my new favorites in the area! I love all of the terrain we don't usually get to play in this area. With this terrain takes some time to clear but I don't mind I think as long as the grass and weeds stay down this will be a awesome addition to our DFW arsenal!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Still needs play though!

1    6/23/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: jdb7122
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have played this course multiple times and let me tell you its fun! First 4 holes play through a creek that is still in the process of having bridges put in and fairways cut out as well as walking paths that need to be trodden down. Next, the course opens up a bit offering long open turn overs funneling down through trees. The basket on hole 6 sits on a ridge which is quite beautiful but dangerous. This course offers a hole called the Tunnel of Death (TOD) in which you are throwing through a tunnel of trees about 500' then up hill another 200 to a basked tucked in some foliage, 4 is possible but good luck getting a 3! This course offers a great fun factor, wide range of shot selection, and for being as new as it is, really has a very good playability. Check it out, 10 minutes down the road from Cedar Hill so you can make a day out of the area.
Cons: I only really have one major con with this course and it would be the first hole. The tee pad sits on a downhill slope somewhat hard to get to with not much room for standing if you were to have a group over 3 or 4. However, there is still work being done so this could very easily not be a problem in 6 months or so. Also, hole 5 throws from the parking lot and could cause some trouble if the parking lot was full. I believe a mando will fix this problem in the future.
Other Thoughts: As of right now the course is still having a lot of work done, area around some baskets is being cleared, bridges being put in, and fairways being mulched down; however, it is a very fun and very playable course. Don't get the impression that this course is any where close to as bad as Gateway when it was put in. Sean really did a great job with this course so if you see him out there Thank him!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.