Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: skitch Hole #15 (Taken 4/2013)
5 / 710ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Awesome and challenging course

1    9/7/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Tommy2am
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design. Concrete teepads, wonderful signage, multiple teepads, interesting and fun but challenging holes. Nice flow. This course is gorgeous. The creeks, rocks, trees, etc. make for awesome surroundings. Its a must-play if you live around dfw.
Cons: There are some very challenging holes. I don't recommend this for novices. Hole 15...I'm looking at you. (It is a 730 foot tunnel shot hole all the way, with a steep uphill section at the end with plenty of trees and rocks in front of the basket. On a hot 100 degree day, the lack of shade at certain points can be daunting. There is a blind spot where cars come down a hill by hole #7 and #12. Be careful.
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is partially in front of tee pad #5. If you don't want your car window smashed by a big drive...I recommend not parking near it.

It is a terrific course with everything us golfers look for. A bucket list entry for sure.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    5/20/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: jlh900
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of big long drives. in and out of trees. also a lot of specialty shots too. one of my favorite courses. chance to use every disc in your bag. mostly concrete pads one in parking lot. water comes into play. one hole you only need a midrange the very next you might need two drives to get to putting range
Cons: cant play before 2pm on sundays.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Gem

1    3/29/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 146  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Short technical shots to long open bombers. Some holes require driving to a landing zone, then making a great upshot to card a three. I have played quite a bit of courses but there were holes here that I have never seen before. My favorite hole on the course is hole 15. It requires two perfectly straight throws to get close to the basket and then a great approach to card a bird. One of the most challenging courses I have played.
Cons: There really aren't that many cons, but I do see a few holes where luck could come into play because the gaps really aren't there. Also, not really a con for me but maybe for others, no benches. It wasn't that busy when I played so it may be fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a definitely a must play when in the Dallas area. Be prepared for a challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/28/2015   3/3/2015
Review By: Chains1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The locals call holes 1-4 "The Gauntlet". SO BEAUTIFUL!!! Starting hole #1 is a short technical shot over the creek that is uphill bending slightly right to left requiring a methodical shot as many holes will require course managment. Hole #2 requires another skill shot over the creek making it another technical hole that is short but no "gimme" as there tends to be hardly any "gimme's" here. You have to earn a bird at "the Roads" Hole #3 yet again is a longer technical shot over the creek fading left with the basket maybe 15 feet in front of the creek challenging you to layup on your approach or go for the gusto. Hole #4 is the longer technical shot of the 4 unless the basket is in the short position. The line requires you to thread the needle "so nice" and can be unforgiving if you miss your line. Hole #5 means you have survived "The Gauntlet" and rewards a right backhand with an open hyzer shot. However this is no time to loose focus as there is a mando to the right and if you go to far left your back in the abyss... keeping you on your toes. Hole #6 is finally your chance "BOMBS AWAY". Hole #7 Elevation change!!! A down hill beauty with a chance for bird. Hole #8 A Tunnel of trees straight up hill will dare you to try to reach the top but a smarter shot might be a mid range and stay in the middle. Hole #9 is a blind shot over the hill with a tight fair way the bends left to right. GORGEOUS!! Hole #10 can be played with different lines and approaches depending on your game plan. #11 Keep it long and straight and your in good shape! By now it is evident how well maintained this course is. #12 has some nice elevation throwing from the top of the hill. #13 is an island green that can be a challenge to reach in a strong head wind. #14 a signature hole that beckons you to throw your hole bag!!! "On Top of The World" and the basket some 900 ft. is incredible. #15 "The Green Mile" So beautiful no matter the time of year. This hole is a beast par 5 with a tight fair way that finishes uphill. No shame in taking a 5 or 6 here. #16 more trees and tight fairways another beautiful and challenging hole. #17 is chance to lick your wounds and even the score with a good birdie. #18 Make it out of the trees and jump for glee!! The line is left to right with a steep hill behind the basket.. nice finish!
Cons: None... the only thing i can think of is some folks have rated the course low because it is challenging but that is the beauty of it!!
Other Thoughts: Support the course by playing the minis to fund future course work!!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    9/9/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety
- Challenging for all skill levels
- Front 9 holes are exceptional
- Great parking
- Fairly easy to navigate
Cons: - Not fond of some of the holes on the back 9 (the combined distance and accuracy needed on some of the holes seem unrealistic)
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the church for providing this for public use. It's a very fun course and worth visiting when in town. Play it every time I'm in Dallas.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Warming up to it

5+    7/31/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Grooming has gotten better over the time I have played. Good signage. Bridges over creek. Variety of holes. Mostly easy to follow the flow. Multiple pin positions on several holes.
Cons: Some people have a tough time finding the tee box for 1. Some long pin positions unrealistic-Just long for long sake (and I am not talking about 14 or 15). Watch for snakes and some poison ivy if you are allergic but not a big issue even at that.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course. I hated this course when I first started playing but played it quite a bit because it was close to me.
The care of the course has improved and so has my game which has improved my view of it quite a bit. The rough is still very rough, but there is less of it. An errant throw on most holes will be severely punished, but not as bad as it used to be. Great variety and most holes require a pretty good line. Some require almost a perfect line-1-4, 9, 15 with options, 16, 17. 18 beginning. 14 is an elevated 700 mostly open monster. The killer is 15. 700+ through trees with an elevated pin. It will kill you.
Good course that should be visited in the area. It will challenge you. I think the three courses at Cedar Hill and this course should get together and make one of the most awesome tournaments anyone has ever seen.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

5+    2/19/2015   3/6/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 2/19/2015
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: New Pin locations on #7 #8 are AWSOME!!
Not a better course in dfw. Beautiful course!! From ace runs to bomber holes, technical shots, elevation changes....whatever you're looking for its here... Unless you are not wanting a challenge...
Cons: Highly Addictive... Beware...If you have an addictive personality you might find yourself driving past several courses to hit "The Roads"
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge your game and make you a better all around player.... If your up for the challenge

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 tree's a crowd

5+    2/26/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: thaRoc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oh My GOSH!!! What a spectacular course. I have played this course so much as of late. It is such a gorgeous course. When you first pull up, the initial thought is, " this can't be as good as people say it is. There is no way a church course can be that good". Those were my thoughts exactly until I stepped to hole one. WOW! ! Then to hole 2 then 3 and 4. All add something different. So tuff yet so beautiful. These first four holes make you have to concentrate, focus and hit your lines. It is so much more open since the first time I played 3 years ago. This course will make you better. No lie. You have to have every shot I your bag and if you do not it will force you to get every sgotin your bag. The signage is very good and the floww from hole to hole is very good. Before it was a little challenging to navigate but now it looks like the trees have been marked to tell you where the next hole is. I Also heard from one of the course designers, ATrain I think, that they were going to add new pin positions. I saw new tee box positions (dirt pads with flags) also which add another dynamic to the course.I love that it is always changing. You then get to hole 5 which is a nice hyzer shot. Its good because you come out of the gauntlet throwing putters and mids to an open area to let the bombs explode. Then you get to 6 par 4 . BOOM!! This is a hole that the 400+ ft throwers will love. 7 is a down hill putter ace run throw ALL DAY. Hole 8 is nice and tight tunnel for the first 200ft then it opens up. Hole 9 is a bute and another Ace runner. But if you miss that Ace your ACE is in trouble haha. You will be trying to rescue a par. 10 is sweet. A big S shot over the trees. You can be to the right in the open field, which is where I like to be, or you can throw something that will turn over slightly down the pipe. I have had several Eagle attempts on this hole. I will get it one day. 11 is a tuff 3. If you don't get down the middle past a few trees, then you will be trying to save a bogie. Hole 12 and 13 are nice birdie holes. They are good to get especially if you just come out of hole 11 with a bogey or double. I have done that many times. That hole is my nemisis but I will conquer it. Hole 14 is a signature hole in my opinion, well there are a couple on this course hole 15 being one of them. 14 is a crushers delight. Or anyone that can throw at least 300ft. Its that feeling you get when you see a mountain or a huge hill and wish you can just pull over on The side of the road while driving and walk to its highest point and throw ALL your discs. That's the way hole 14 makes me feel haha. 15 is a freaking spectacular, eye throbbing, nouth drooling beast. I'm not going to talk about it, you just have to come out and experience that one for yourself. 16 is intimidating and juicy at the same time. Hole 15 and 16 are game changers LITTERALLY. 17 is CONVENIENT no pun intended. There is convenient store right behind the tee box. I like to start on hole 7 because when I get to 17 I can get something to drink and eat and I STILL have 9 holes left. 18 is another intimidating hole. If you don't hit your gap right off the box, you will be looking for gaps TOO hit because youwill be in a world of trouble. Great hole when you peer the pipe sucky hole when you dont.
Cons: Need longer tee boxes on holes that are holes that you really need a run up on like hole 6 (nice paving stones and rocks to extend the box), 8, 10, 13, 14 , and 15. But that about it. I mean everyone has their opinions and I understand that there was a lot of work put into it and continues. Every one has a say so and wants to play a course but doesn't want to contribute. Well most dgers. I say that because I was one of those.
Other Thoughts: If you live far from the coursen you should plan out a day that you can come a play the course a couple times. First round is a practice round so you can have a feel of the course and second round is when you take that lunch money (if you are playing against ssomeone). This course is a treat that you deserve to taste.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

let jesus take the wheel

5+    2/10/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The xroads is a great course that will challenge golfers of all skill levels, although beginners may find it too difficult. there is a good mix of holes out here, long open holes, tight fairways, lots of trees and some great elevation changes (hole 14) that make things interesting. hole 15 is a monster and really can make or break your round. ive taken an 8, if anyone gets a 3 pm me and ill buy you a beer! the park itself is very clean and usually mowed. there are also some alternate pin placements for added replayability.when the tees are in all longs this course is at its best. crowds have never been a problem the times ive been. also worth noting is that there is an opportunity to stop in and grab drinks food etc at a conviently located convient store by the teebox to hole 17. the funkytown flyers did a great job with several bridges scattered about .
Cons: as far as the actual disc golf is concerned the only con would be for beginners. this course isnt that hard but a certain skill level is required to have an enjoyable round. the course closed wednesday evenings and sunday mornings. it is on church property so during certain times on wednesday and sunday the course is unavailable. i prefer secluded courses and while there are parts of the course that are, the highway and other sidestreets are in view on most holes.
Other Thoughts: one of the "big Dogs" in the dfw metrolex. if youre going to drink a few beers keep them hidden. its a church, please show respect so the park will remain open(use trash cans). xroads is also located a mere 15 min drive away from 2 great courses, Cedar Hill and mt lebanon baptist encampment!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed and challenging

5+    2/3/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: kette_master
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee pads are big. The course flows quite well. Many risk/reward shots. This course will challenge all players.
Cons: Hole 5 - throwing over the parking lot with a mando.
Bushes within 10' of the basket on the fairway side should be removed - hole 4.
The fairways of 12, 13, and 14 need permanent OB lines to separate the fairways. I understand they draw these lines during tournament play.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth checking-out and is one of my favs in the DFW area.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.