Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: skitch Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
4 / 593ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun Course

1    9/9/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Lots of variety
- Challenging for all skill levels
- Front 9 holes are exceptional
- Great parking
- Fairly easy to navigate
Cons: - Not fond of some of the holes on the back 9 (the combined distance and accuracy needed on some of the holes seem unrealistic)
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the church for providing this for public use. It's a very fun course and worth visiting when in town. Play it every time I'm in Dallas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Warming up to it

5+    7/31/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Well maintained. Grooming has gotten better over the time I have played. Good signage. Bridges over creek. Variety of holes. Mostly easy to follow the flow. Multiple pin positions on several holes.
Cons: Some people have a tough time finding the tee box for 1. Some long pin positions unrealistic-Just long for long sake (and I am not talking about 14 or 15). Watch for snakes and some poison ivy if you are allergic but not a big issue even at that.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging course. I hated this course when I first started playing but played it quite a bit because it was close to me.
The care of the course has improved and so has my game which has improved my view of it quite a bit. The rough is still very rough, but there is less of it. An errant throw on most holes will be severely punished, but not as bad as it used to be. Great variety and most holes require a pretty good line. Some require almost a perfect line-1-4, 9, 15 with options, 16, 17. 18 beginning. 14 is an elevated 700 mostly open monster. The killer is 15. 700+ through trees with an elevated pin. It will kill you.
Good course that should be visited in the area. It will challenge you. I think the three courses at Cedar Hill and this course should get together and make one of the most awesome tournaments anyone has ever seen.


5+    3/2/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: McChains
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not a better course in dfw. Beautiful course!! From ace runs to bomber holes, technical shots, elevation changes....whatever you're looking for its here... Unless you are not wanting a challenge...
Cons: Highly Addictive... Beware...If you have an addictive personality you might find yourself driving past several courses to hit "The Roads"
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge your game and make you a better all around player.... If your up for the challenge

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 tree's a crowd

5+    2/26/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: thaRoc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oh My GOSH!!! What a spectacular course. I have played this course so much as of late. It is such a gorgeous course. When you first pull up, the initial thought is, " this can't be as good as people say it is. There is no way a church course can be that good". Those were my thoughts exactly until I stepped to hole one. WOW! ! Then to hole 2 then 3 and 4. All add something different. So tuff yet so beautiful. These first four holes make you have to concentrate, focus and hit your lines. It is so much more open since the first time I played 3 years ago. This course will make you better. No lie. You have to have every shot I your bag and if you do not it will force you to get every sgotin your bag. The signage is very good and the floww from hole to hole is very good. Before it was a little challenging to navigate but now it looks like the trees have been marked to tell you where the next hole is. I Also heard from one of the course designers, ATrain I think, that they were going to add new pin positions. I saw new tee box positions (dirt pads with flags) also which add another dynamic to the course.I love that it is always changing. You then get to hole 5 which is a nice hyzer shot. Its good because you come out of the gauntlet throwing putters and mids to an open area to let the bombs explode. Then you get to 6 par 4 . BOOM!! This is a hole that the 400+ ft throwers will love. 7 is a down hill putter ace run throw ALL DAY. Hole 8 is nice and tight tunnel for the first 200ft then it opens up. Hole 9 is a bute and another Ace runner. But if you miss that Ace your ACE is in trouble haha. You will be trying to rescue a par. 10 is sweet. A big S shot over the trees. You can be to the right in the open field, which is where I like to be, or you can throw something that will turn over slightly down the pipe. I have had several Eagle attempts on this hole. I will get it one day. 11 is a tuff 3. If you don't get down the middle past a few trees, then you will be trying to save a bogie. Hole 12 and 13 are nice birdie holes. They are good to get especially if you just come out of hole 11 with a bogey or double. I have done that many times. That hole is my nemisis but I will conquer it. Hole 14 is a signature hole in my opinion, well there are a couple on this course hole 15 being one of them. 14 is a crushers delight. Or anyone that can throw at least 300ft. Its that feeling you get when you see a mountain or a huge hill and wish you can just pull over on The side of the road while driving and walk to its highest point and throw ALL your discs. That's the way hole 14 makes me feel haha. 15 is a freaking spectacular, eye throbbing, nouth drooling beast. I'm not going to talk about it, you just have to come out and experience that one for yourself. 16 is intimidating and juicy at the same time. Hole 15 and 16 are game changers LITTERALLY. 17 is CONVENIENT no pun intended. There is convenient store right behind the tee box. I like to start on hole 7 because when I get to 17 I can get something to drink and eat and I STILL have 9 holes left. 18 is another intimidating hole. If you don't hit your gap right off the box, you will be looking for gaps TOO hit because youwill be in a world of trouble. Great hole when you peer the pipe sucky hole when you dont.
Cons: Need longer tee boxes on holes that are holes that you really need a run up on like hole 6 (nice paving stones and rocks to extend the box), 8, 10, 13, 14 , and 15. But that about it. I mean everyone has their opinions and I understand that there was a lot of work put into it and continues. Every one has a say so and wants to play a course but doesn't want to contribute. Well most dgers. I say that because I was one of those.
Other Thoughts: If you live far from the coursen you should plan out a day that you can come a play the course a couple times. First round is a practice round so you can have a feel of the course and second round is when you take that lunch money (if you are playing against ssomeone). This course is a treat that you deserve to taste.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

let jesus take the wheel

5+    2/10/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The xroads is a great course that will challenge golfers of all skill levels, although beginners may find it too difficult. there is a good mix of holes out here, long open holes, tight fairways, lots of trees and some great elevation changes (hole 14) that make things interesting. hole 15 is a monster and really can make or break your round. ive taken an 8, if anyone gets a 3 pm me and ill buy you a beer! the park itself is very clean and usually mowed. there are also some alternate pin placements for added replayability.when the tees are in all longs this course is at its best. crowds have never been a problem the times ive been. also worth noting is that there is an opportunity to stop in and grab drinks food etc at a conviently located convient store by the teebox to hole 17. the funkytown flyers did a great job with several bridges scattered about .
Cons: as far as the actual disc golf is concerned the only con would be for beginners. this course isnt that hard but a certain skill level is required to have an enjoyable round. the course closed wednesday evenings and sunday mornings. it is on church property so during certain times on wednesday and sunday the course is unavailable. i prefer secluded courses and while there are parts of the course that are, the highway and other sidestreets are in view on most holes.
Other Thoughts: one of the "big Dogs" in the dfw metrolex. if youre going to drink a few beers keep them hidden. its a church, please show respect so the park will remain open(use trash cans). xroads is also located a mere 15 min drive away from 2 great courses, Cedar Hill and mt lebanon baptist encampment!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Well designed and challenging

5+    2/3/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: kette_master
Played: 89  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee pads are big. The course flows quite well. Many risk/reward shots. This course will challenge all players.
Cons: Hole 5 - throwing over the parking lot with a mando.
Bushes within 10' of the basket on the fairway side should be removed - hole 4.
The fairways of 12, 13, and 14 need permanent OB lines to separate the fairways. I understand they draw these lines during tournament play.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth checking-out and is one of my favs in the DFW area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice big tee boxes. Most of the holes had signs showing the hole lay out. The course has a good mix of long and short holes as well as up and down baskets.
Cons: Course doesn't flow very good from hole to hole. Most of the holes I found myself looking around trying to find the next tee box. Hole #9 is missing the sign with the layout of the hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really liked this course and would recommend it. Would play again.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic, but tough

1    5/13/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: austinmford
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of a few ultra longs and a lot of technical shots
Mostly Wooded, few open holes
Great design
Well kept, it had just been mowed and trimmed
We saw no other Frigoers or pedestrians to avoid
Signs on all the tee boxes, all cement
Cons: Needs a community post board sign thingy
Sooo many trees
Lil bit tough to navigate
Traffic on 67 sucks
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the drive to go check it out, great course.
Good design, challenges you on all levels

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Crossroads

2-4    4/18/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It is extremely diverse in the sense that there are many heavily wooded shots and plenty of opportunities for wide open drives!
-The lengths fluctuate throughout the course but overall they lengthen as the course continues. (Starting in the 200-300 range and making it up to nearly 800).
-The elevation is nothing crazy but there are plenty of uphill drives as well as some long drives from some form of elevated landing.
-It is very challenging.
-It has some really cool nature elements within the woods.
Cons: -There are a few holes that are hard to find if you are not familiar with the course. For instance, the first time I played I didn't even find hole one's tee pad (it's down some stairs on the left side of the church)
-Some of the brush on a few holes are filled with thorns so you're going to want to stay out of those.
-Cars may come through parts of the course because there is a road that cycles through, but this is very minimal and I haven't ever experienced any real problem in this area.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex! REAL FUN.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Variety

2-4    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course with a lot of variety. The first few holes are short technical holes with a creek winding around. You get into some of your more standard holes, with a few really long ones thrown in (one near 600' and two over 700'). Hole 15 is a par 5 700'+ hole through the trees, and is one of the most intimidating holes I've seen.
Cons: This is not a beginner friendly course, don't let the fact it's on church property fool you. The early holes having newbies bouncing off trees or fishing in the creek. The long holes can really wear you down. Hole 5 throws across the parking lot, which really seems like a bad idea. Two hole (7 and 12) use a sidewalk/loading bay for the gym as the teepad. If some activities are going on (Not the regular Sun & Wed services, but socials and the like) there can be people or vehicles all over the teepad. I've never had to throw with a truck on the teepad before.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned earlier, closed Sunday mornings and Wednesday evenings to avoid conflcts with the church services. Also take note that at least one of the neighboring houses has a sign up telling you not to trespass. It was very clearly put there in reference to disc golfers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.