Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: araytx Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach (Right)



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hard isn't always good

2-4    12/19/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: BaggerBags
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2013
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Any disc golf course is a good thing. Gives the youth ay the church an activity on church property.
Cons: Strange out of bounds lines, blind shots. A lot of the shots are set up for a RHBH player.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to favor a RHBH player. A few holes are pretty tricky for a right hand side arm thrower and the left handed player to birdie. I personally prefer a nice mix to level the playing field for everyone. There are some really fun holes! If you are a RHBH player and can throw 400'+ you will probably love the church course. I recommend everyone to try it and come up with their own opinion. New pin positions shorten some holes and made a nice change to the existing course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

1    4/12/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through mostly heavily wooded property with a few open field areas. A handful of longer holes out in the open provide a nice contrast to the technical tighter portions of the course. The rough throughout the woods is thick enough that you'll definitely pay for errant shots. Some elevation comes into play, with a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky greens.

You'll need a good variety of line shaping skills to score well here, with a nice balance of left and right turning holes. A few of the shots call for creative s-curves and other interesting lines. The distance variety is decent, with some ace run chances and some longer multi-shot holes.

The tees are a little on the small side, but the concrete is in good shape with fine grip. The baskets are new and in great condition. The signs are nice with distance and hole layout along with direction to the next tee.
Cons: A couple holes play over roads and parking lots, definitely a potential safety issue and one that could be avoided here. A volleyball court and baseball field also come into play, hopefully players are considerate enough not to throw over or through other activities. Several spots have multiple baskets in the same area, which is not only confusing for navigating the course, but could be a safety concern with multiple groups on the course.

The rough is thick enough in many areas that it requires just a pitch out rather than offering chances for creative recovery shots. A couple holes run parallel to open areas, making the easiest line somewhere other than the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, and would definitely recommend a stop if you want an interesting challenge. Beginners might find it a little tight and punitive, and the longer holes could be a bit daunting. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different skills.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/2/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: abanana96
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The great variety of holes provide for a nice range in the level of difficulty. Elevation change, a creek, and areas of thicker wood make a challenging, but fun round.
Cons: Underbrush and grass can sometimes be somewhat overgrown. Bur patches come into play on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Do not let its difficulty keep you away. You would definitely be missing out. Its challenges prompt you to become a better player each time you finish a round. You will only want to come back for more of this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/10/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: souldout4ever
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. The course has a good flow to it. It includes holes with shots for all players (backhand, sidearm) Tough course.
Cons: Grass is sometimes a bit high. Out of bounds is sometimes a confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoyable course. It really will challenge the shots you have in your bag. Your going to need your "A" game if you play a tournament here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course!

5+    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: zachhasswag
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is awesome! I go to church here and helped clear out some of the trees(hard to believe we cleared out so much and its still so tight Haha) I live in 5 minutes walking distance of this course and play all the time! Great variety of uphill and downhill shots as well as different distance changes and some accuracy holes.Really helps you learn how to play discgolf. played my first round of discgolf here and scored 28 over par now I'm scoring even!
Cons: The grass is kind of high every now and then. Hole 10 and 17 have some disc blackholes, luckily I've only lost 1 but I've found quite a bit Haha, there patches of burs on some holes
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you love discgolf you'll love this course

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in DWF

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with mud scrappers, nice tee signs and baskets. Excellent hole design and variety in the use of land and available elevation. Sweet bridges to cross the creek. Good risk vs reward shots and lots of really fun shots!
Cons: Poison ivy and decent chance to lose a disc in rough. The grass was a little high when I played but not terrible. Disc hitting someone is possibility with other people on the course.
Other Thoughts: You start out throwing across a creek a couple times through some woods with some tight fairways, but I didn't have much trouble hitting the gap. I liked hole 3's basket position, my upshot went long and onto the creek bank. It took awhile to get down to my disc, but I made it while not getting poison ivy. My putt from there was almost straight up 15' and I couldn't see the basket from high bank. I managed to hit that putt for a sweet par save, and climbed back up the bank. I also really liked the basket position on hole 6 with the sloping green once I figured out I was shooting to the wrong basket. Hole 7 is nice little downhill ace run. Hole 8 was a tight uphill shot. Hole 9 has some sideways slope with a fast green. Hole 10 was a nice par 4 that requires some precision. Hole 11 is another decent hole. Hole 12 is nice downhill open hyzer shot that is ace-able. Hole 13 plays back uphill toward the building. Hole 14 is fun big downhill bomber with some ob to the right. There are some trees in the way to the left to throw a good distance shot which forced my throw to hit the trees on the right side some 500'+ away and knocked down just safe of the ob. Almost hit the basket on the second shot from about 200' and took an easy 3. Hole 15 is an absolute beast through a long long tunnel and then uphill a good bit to the protected basket. Reminds me somewhat of Iron Hill hole 17 without the bending fairway. I liked hole 16 with its fairway bending placing a premium on shot placement. Hole 17 and 18 were ok. I really liked the way the course plays out from hole to hole and feels like this course really has the best variety in the area.

This was my favorite and most memorable course on my trip to DWF. I played Lester Lorch before playing Crossroads and had a blast here after finally being able to unleash some discs. The use of elevation in the design is really what makes this course great here. The course may not play well when crowded or during tournaments. I was the only person playing the course at the time which gave it a nice serene quality. This is also probably one of the more pretty courses in the area. I would highly recommend any serious disc golfer to play this course. Really high fun factor with some challenging shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A few updates

1    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: emtrick29
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: with the recent addition of bridges and with the underbrush at a minimum, this course has really come into its own. I would rate this course number 2 overall in the DFW metroplex. Super fun.
Cons: the flags on hole 6 and 12 are OB, sometimes hard to I D.
Other Thoughts: the dogs on the south side of hole 6 hate disc golfers but love discs, please be respectful to the residents here and stay out of their yards.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Super Sweetness

2-4    2/10/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! There is so much here and this course has alot to offer in shot selection and variety. You start off with a couple short, very tight shots and then they slowely open to a wide open hole 6. The elevation is used to the fullest here not only on the fairways but on the greens as well. The scenery is great and you dont fully expect it when you first drive up. Almost every shot you have to think ahead becuse if its not the elevation that will get you, there is something else guarding those pins. You will have to use all of those shots throughout the course too because of how the course flows and the variety it offers. There are many holes that are placement holes which I really enjoy instead of the drive and putt courses. You have to be able to throw to point A to get to B and sometimes C and then the pin. Doesnt really favor a righty or a lefty but also not very beginner friendly either unless you like getting your feelings hurt. Nice concrete tee pads and good signs on all the holes. The baskets are nice too.
Cons: Some of the course is very cramped and during a tourney or if the course is crowded, you have to keep your head on a swivel and watch out for not only other golfers but civilians. As others have said, 1-4 and 12-14 are the worst areas to watch out for. Navigation isnt too bad but there are a couple areas that might confuse a first timer like 8's pin is in the fairway and can be confused as 6's pin. Some of the pads are a little too short but they arent too bad unless you need a runway.
Other Thoughts: Man this is a great course that offers a good time for anyone but makes for a great day for the golfer who wants to be challenged not only mentally but physically too. With Cedar Hill being righ around th corner, there is even more golf if you do want to venture away from here!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

1    1/12/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Offers a variety of hole types. Some woodsy holes with water and a few wide open long ones... all combining to test your total skill level.
Cons: Starts off with a few "over the river and through the woods" holes which if not played smartly, can get you off to a not-so-great round. This course is as demanding as they come and will wear you out, physically and mentally if you're not prepared. Definitely not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: It's closed on Sunday mornings and evenings, as well as Wednesday evening for church services.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 in DFW

2-4    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1: hitting your lines on holes #1 thru #4 is a confidence booster. If the course isn't crowded and/or you didn't do so well, repeat these holes before heading off to the rest of the course (high fun factor)
2: upcoming holes provide challenges such as steep drop offs on putting greens on #6 & #9, and awesome elevation changes on holes #12 and #14
3: holes #10, #11, #14 (OB flags left), #15 (super long and narrow) & 16 require pin-point accuracy. If you struggle with distance and accuracy, put the driver back in the bag and use the mid-range disc to cut down on the frustration
4: clean, well maintained course (a 180 from the west Fort Worth course, name not mentioned)
5: very good drainage. I played just a few days after a massive rain and flooding.
6: close proximity to other top courses
Cons: Minor:
1: concrete tee-pads on the majority of holes are a bit too short
2: teeing off on #5 across the parking lot can be problematic. (mando sign posted to lessen the chance of hitting cars)
Other Thoughts: If any of the reviews have kept you away, do yourself a favor and go enjoy what Crossroads has to offer. The final result may be a high score, but the fun factor is through the roof. This course is a 'must play' for all locals and a true destination for anyone visiting the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.