Disc Golf Center
Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #11 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Crossroads

2-4    4/18/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: ColtonV
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It is extremely diverse in the sense that there are many heavily wooded shots and plenty of opportunities for wide open drives!
-The lengths fluctuate throughout the course but overall they lengthen as the course continues. (Starting in the 200-300 range and making it up to nearly 800).
-The elevation is nothing crazy but there are plenty of uphill drives as well as some long drives from some form of elevated landing.
-It is very challenging.
-It has some really cool nature elements within the woods.
Cons: -There are a few holes that are hard to find if you are not familiar with the course. For instance, the first time I played I didn't even find hole one's tee pad (it's down some stairs on the left side of the church)
-Some of the brush on a few holes are filled with thorns so you're going to want to stay out of those.
-Cars may come through parts of the course because there is a road that cycles through, but this is very minimal and I haven't ever experienced any real problem in this area.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex! REAL FUN.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

2-4    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 52  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course with a lot of variety. The first few holes are short technical holes with a creek winding around. You get into some of your more standard holes, with a few really long ones thrown in (one near 600' and two over 700'). Hole 15 is a par 5 700'+ hole through the trees, and is one of the most intimidating holes I've seen.
Cons: This is not a beginner friendly course, don't let the fact it's on church property fool you. The early holes having newbies bouncing off trees or fishing in the creek. The long holes can really wear you down. Hole 5 throws across the parking lot, which really seems like a bad idea. Two hole (7 and 12) use a sidewalk/loading bay for the gym as the teepad. If some activities are going on (Not the regular Sun & Wed services, but socials and the like) there can be people or vehicles all over the teepad. I've never had to throw with a truck on the teepad before.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned earlier, closed Sunday mornings and Wednesday evenings to avoid conflcts with the church services. Also take note that at least one of the neighboring houses has a sign up telling you not to trespass. It was very clearly put there in reference to disc golfers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  love it

5+    7/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: radicl777
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses to play on. The first five holes will either make you or break you. The course runs with the stream pretty nicely on the first couple. Two is one of my favorite holes is you have a straight shot. Hole #6 is a long hole that stretches across a field entering back in the woods. Hole #7 is my favorite hole but can be a disaster if you hit any of the closer in trees or release to high. The next three pretty difficult but definitely manageable. Hole 12 shoots across another field and over an old volleyball court. Hole 14 is killer unless you can really rip into a deep shot. 15 is also dry difficult but the 2 following are relatively easy.
Cons: It is a difficult course. Very minor things that have been resolved. On some holes it is very easy to lose sight of your disc and lose it. The water hazard is usually shallow but can get annoying if it just raine


4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Hard isn't always good

2-4    12/19/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: BaggerBags
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2013
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Any disc golf course is a good thing. Gives the youth ay the church an activity on church property.
Cons: Strange out of bounds lines, blind shots. A lot of the shots are set up for a RHBH player.
Other Thoughts: The course seems to favor a RHBH player. A few holes are pretty tricky for a right hand side arm thrower and the left handed player to birdie. I personally prefer a nice mix to level the playing field for everyone. There are some really fun holes! If you are a RHBH player and can throw 400'+ you will probably love the church course. I recommend everyone to try it and come up with their own opinion. New pin positions shorten some holes and made a nice change to the existing course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging

1    4/12/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through mostly heavily wooded property with a few open field areas. A handful of longer holes out in the open provide a nice contrast to the technical tighter portions of the course. The rough throughout the woods is thick enough that you'll definitely pay for errant shots. Some elevation comes into play, with a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky greens.

You'll need a good variety of line shaping skills to score well here, with a nice balance of left and right turning holes. A few of the shots call for creative s-curves and other interesting lines. The distance variety is decent, with some ace run chances and some longer multi-shot holes.

The tees are a little on the small side, but the concrete is in good shape with fine grip. The baskets are new and in great condition. The signs are nice with distance and hole layout along with direction to the next tee.
Cons: A couple holes play over roads and parking lots, definitely a potential safety issue and one that could be avoided here. A volleyball court and baseball field also come into play, hopefully players are considerate enough not to throw over or through other activities. Several spots have multiple baskets in the same area, which is not only confusing for navigating the course, but could be a safety concern with multiple groups on the course.

The rough is thick enough in many areas that it requires just a pitch out rather than offering chances for creative recovery shots. A couple holes run parallel to open areas, making the easiest line somewhere other than the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here, and would definitely recommend a stop if you want an interesting challenge. Beginners might find it a little tight and punitive, and the longer holes could be a bit daunting. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different skills.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/2/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: abanana96
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The great variety of holes provide for a nice range in the level of difficulty. Elevation change, a creek, and areas of thicker wood make a challenging, but fun round.
Cons: Underbrush and grass can sometimes be somewhat overgrown. Bur patches come into play on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Do not let its difficulty keep you away. You would definitely be missing out. Its challenges prompt you to become a better player each time you finish a round. You will only want to come back for more of this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/10/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: souldout4ever
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. The course has a good flow to it. It includes holes with shots for all players (backhand, sidearm) Tough course.
Cons: Grass is sometimes a bit high. Out of bounds is sometimes a confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoyable course. It really will challenge the shots you have in your bag. Your going to need your "A" game if you play a tournament here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course!

5+    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: zachhasswag
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is awesome! I go to church here and helped clear out some of the trees(hard to believe we cleared out so much and its still so tight Haha) I live in 5 minutes walking distance of this course and play all the time! Great variety of uphill and downhill shots as well as different distance changes and some accuracy holes.Really helps you learn how to play discgolf. played my first round of discgolf here and scored 28 over par now I'm scoring even!
Cons: The grass is kind of high every now and then. Hole 10 and 17 have some disc blackholes, luckily I've only lost 1 but I've found quite a bit Haha, there patches of burs on some holes
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you love discgolf you'll love this course

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in DWF

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 108  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with mud scrappers, nice tee signs and baskets. Excellent hole design and variety in the use of land and available elevation. Sweet bridges to cross the creek. Good risk vs reward shots and lots of really fun shots!
Cons: Poison ivy and decent chance to lose a disc in rough. The grass was a little high when I played but not terrible. Disc hitting someone is possibility with other people on the course.
Other Thoughts: You start out throwing across a creek a couple times through some woods with some tight fairways, but I didn't have much trouble hitting the gap. I liked hole 3's basket position, my upshot went long and onto the creek bank. It took awhile to get down to my disc, but I made it while not getting poison ivy. My putt from there was almost straight up 15' and I couldn't see the basket from high bank. I managed to hit that putt for a sweet par save, and climbed back up the bank. I also really liked the basket position on hole 6 with the sloping green once I figured out I was shooting to the wrong basket. Hole 7 is nice little downhill ace run. Hole 8 was a tight uphill shot. Hole 9 has some sideways slope with a fast green. Hole 10 was a nice par 4 that requires some precision. Hole 11 is another decent hole. Hole 12 is nice downhill open hyzer shot that is ace-able. Hole 13 plays back uphill toward the building. Hole 14 is fun big downhill bomber with some ob to the right. There are some trees in the way to the left to throw a good distance shot which forced my throw to hit the trees on the right side some 500'+ away and knocked down just safe of the ob. Almost hit the basket on the second shot from about 200' and took an easy 3. Hole 15 is an absolute beast through a long long tunnel and then uphill a good bit to the protected basket. Reminds me somewhat of Iron Hill hole 17 without the bending fairway. I liked hole 16 with its fairway bending placing a premium on shot placement. Hole 17 and 18 were ok. I really liked the way the course plays out from hole to hole and feels like this course really has the best variety in the area.

This was my favorite and most memorable course on my trip to DWF. I played Lester Lorch before playing Crossroads and had a blast here after finally being able to unleash some discs. The use of elevation in the design is really what makes this course great here. The course may not play well when crowded or during tournaments. I was the only person playing the course at the time which gave it a nice serene quality. This is also probably one of the more pretty courses in the area. I would highly recommend any serious disc golfer to play this course. Really high fun factor with some challenging shots.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A few updates

1    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: emtrick29
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: with the recent addition of bridges and with the underbrush at a minimum, this course has really come into its own. I would rate this course number 2 overall in the DFW metroplex. Super fun.
Cons: the flags on hole 6 and 12 are OB, sometimes hard to I D.
Other Thoughts: the dogs on the south side of hole 6 hate disc golfers but love discs, please be respectful to the residents here and stay out of their yards.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.