Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 381ft.   3 / 381ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

5+    6/10/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: souldout4ever
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. The course has a good flow to it. It includes holes with shots for all players (backhand, sidearm) Tough course.
Cons: Grass is sometimes a bit high. Out of bounds is sometimes a confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really enjoyable course. It really will challenge the shots you have in your bag. Your going to need your "A" game if you play a tournament here.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course!

5+    6/7/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: zachhasswag
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is awesome! I go to church here and helped clear out some of the trees(hard to believe we cleared out so much and its still so tight Haha) I live in 5 minutes walking distance of this course and play all the time! Great variety of uphill and downhill shots as well as different distance changes and some accuracy holes.Really helps you learn how to play discgolf. played my first round of discgolf here and scored 28 over par now I'm scoring even!
Cons: The grass is kind of high every now and then. Hole 10 and 17 have some disc blackholes, luckily I've only lost 1 but I've found quite a bit Haha, there patches of burs on some holes
Other Thoughts: Great course, if you love discgolf you'll love this course

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite in DWF

1    4/12/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 157  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 10 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 concrete tees with mud scrappers, nice tee signs and baskets. Excellent hole design and variety in the use of land and available elevation. Sweet bridges to cross the creek. Good risk vs reward shots and lots of really fun shots!
Cons: Poison ivy and decent chance to lose a disc in rough. The grass was a little high when I played but not terrible. Disc hitting someone is possibility with other people on the course.
Other Thoughts: You start out throwing across a creek a couple times through some woods with some tight fairways, but I didn't have much trouble hitting the gap. I liked hole 3's basket position, my upshot went long and onto the creek bank. It took awhile to get down to my disc, but I made it while not getting poison ivy. My putt from there was almost straight up 15' and I couldn't see the basket from high bank. I managed to hit that putt for a sweet par save, and climbed back up the bank. I also really liked the basket position on hole 6 with the sloping green once I figured out I was shooting to the wrong basket. Hole 7 is nice little downhill ace run. Hole 8 was a tight uphill shot. Hole 9 has some sideways slope with a fast green. Hole 10 was a nice par 4 that requires some precision. Hole 11 is another decent hole. Hole 12 is nice downhill open hyzer shot that is ace-able. Hole 13 plays back uphill toward the building. Hole 14 is fun big downhill bomber with some ob to the right. There are some trees in the way to the left to throw a good distance shot which forced my throw to hit the trees on the right side some 500'+ away and knocked down just safe of the ob. Almost hit the basket on the second shot from about 200' and took an easy 3. Hole 15 is an absolute beast through a long long tunnel and then uphill a good bit to the protected basket. Reminds me somewhat of Iron Hill hole 17 without the bending fairway. I liked hole 16 with its fairway bending placing a premium on shot placement. Hole 17 and 18 were ok. I really liked the way the course plays out from hole to hole and feels like this course really has the best variety in the area.

This was my favorite and most memorable course on my trip to DWF. I played Lester Lorch before playing Crossroads and had a blast here after finally being able to unleash some discs. The use of elevation in the design is really what makes this course great here. The course may not play well when crowded or during tournaments. I was the only person playing the course at the time which gave it a nice serene quality. This is also probably one of the more pretty courses in the area. I would highly recommend any serious disc golfer to play this course. Really high fun factor with some challenging shots.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  A few updates

1    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: emtrick29
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: with the recent addition of bridges and with the underbrush at a minimum, this course has really come into its own. I would rate this course number 2 overall in the DFW metroplex. Super fun.
Cons: the flags on hole 6 and 12 are OB, sometimes hard to I D.
Other Thoughts: the dogs on the south side of hole 6 hate disc golfers but love discs, please be respectful to the residents here and stay out of their yards.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Super Sweetness

2-4    2/10/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! There is so much here and this course has alot to offer in shot selection and variety. You start off with a couple short, very tight shots and then they slowely open to a wide open hole 6. The elevation is used to the fullest here not only on the fairways but on the greens as well. The scenery is great and you dont fully expect it when you first drive up. Almost every shot you have to think ahead becuse if its not the elevation that will get you, there is something else guarding those pins. You will have to use all of those shots throughout the course too because of how the course flows and the variety it offers. There are many holes that are placement holes which I really enjoy instead of the drive and putt courses. You have to be able to throw to point A to get to B and sometimes C and then the pin. Doesnt really favor a righty or a lefty but also not very beginner friendly either unless you like getting your feelings hurt. Nice concrete tee pads and good signs on all the holes. The baskets are nice too.
Cons: Some of the course is very cramped and during a tourney or if the course is crowded, you have to keep your head on a swivel and watch out for not only other golfers but civilians. As others have said, 1-4 and 12-14 are the worst areas to watch out for. Navigation isnt too bad but there are a couple areas that might confuse a first timer like 8's pin is in the fairway and can be confused as 6's pin. Some of the pads are a little too short but they arent too bad unless you need a runway.
Other Thoughts: Man this is a great course that offers a good time for anyone but makes for a great day for the golfer who wants to be challenged not only mentally but physically too. With Cedar Hill being righ around th corner, there is even more golf if you do want to venture away from here!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

1    1/12/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Offers a variety of hole types. Some woodsy holes with water and a few wide open long ones... all combining to test your total skill level.
Cons: Starts off with a few "over the river and through the woods" holes which if not played smartly, can get you off to a not-so-great round. This course is as demanding as they come and will wear you out, physically and mentally if you're not prepared. Definitely not for beginners.
Other Thoughts: It's closed on Sunday mornings and evenings, as well as Wednesday evening for church services.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 in DFW

2-4    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 73  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1: hitting your lines on holes #1 thru #4 is a confidence booster. If the course isn't crowded and/or you didn't do so well, repeat these holes before heading off to the rest of the course (high fun factor)
2: upcoming holes provide challenges such as steep drop offs on putting greens on #6 & #9, and awesome elevation changes on holes #12 and #14
3: holes #10, #11, #14 (OB flags left), #15 (super long and narrow) & 16 require pin-point accuracy. If you struggle with distance and accuracy, put the driver back in the bag and use the mid-range disc to cut down on the frustration
4: clean, well maintained course (a 180 from the west Fort Worth course, name not mentioned)
5: very good drainage. I played just a few days after a massive rain and flooding.
6: close proximity to other top courses
Cons: Minor:
1: concrete tee-pads on the majority of holes are a bit too short
2: teeing off on #5 across the parking lot can be problematic. (mando sign posted to lessen the chance of hitting cars)
Other Thoughts: If any of the reviews have kept you away, do yourself a favor and go enjoy what Crossroads has to offer. The final result may be a high score, but the fun factor is through the roof. This course is a 'must play' for all locals and a true destination for anyone visiting the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!

1    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: JJustinB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a great course!! The first few holes snake along the creek are really cool and make you cross a lot of wooden bridges. They are tricky, but if all else fails, you can get to the creek to retrieve a disc. Hole 5 begins a group of holes which are more open and a little longer. Holes 14 and 15 really test your arm. Overall, the course is really well designed and takes all kinds of shots. They did a really good job of using existing concrete for pads, and luckily, the hole signs show where the next box is (its not always real clear).
Cons: The tee boxes are a little short, but there were a lot of "threading the needle" shots, which didn't require a run up. A few of the holes/baskets are a little close. If you don't pay attention to the previous sign, it is sometimes hard to find the next tee box. The walking paths need to be fixed/rerouted along the creek on 3.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course and will ALWAYS play it when driving back into Dallas from Cedar Hill. It is kept very clean, and you don't have to worry too much about "hoodlums".

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress, but already showing tons of promise!

5+    10/14/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Amenities - quality concrete tees and color signs on every hole, many showing directions to next tee. Ample parking in the church parking lot (just make sure you don't park on the "in" side of the mando on Hole 5). Stairs and bridges where needed. Many trash cans throughout the course with places to sit on several holes.

The Design - a good mix between tight/technical and open/long with some longer technical shots that really challenge the player. The hilly terrain on the property is used well, giving players a chance to throw up- and down-hill. Several holes that could be "signature" quality including a long downhill empty-the-bag shot (Hole 14) followed by a brutal wooded par 5 that can do serious damage to the scorecard (the "Tunnel Of Death"). Most holes seem well though-out and reward accurate throws while punishing errant ones. Lots of birdies throughout the course, but also plenty of opportunities to take bogey or worse. A good competition course that makes it difficult for any single player to simply run away with a win.

Hole Highlights: Holes 1-4 fall into the short and technical category with thick woods and a winding shallow creek in play. These holes can provide up to 4 birdies to an accurate thrower (with Hole 4 being a very difficult but reachable birdie), but can add 4 strokes to the score just as easily. Holes 6-11 are all moderately wooded with elevation in play on the first 3 and 2 reasonable birdie opportunities (Holes 7 and 9). Holes 8, 10 and 11 are all tunnel shots to some degree, with 11 being a personal favorite. 12 through 14 play up and downhill behind the church building and provide a bit of relief from the woods before finishing on several tightly wooded holes. Hole 15 is THE signature hole in my opinion - with a fairway that is lined with trees on both sides (and several in the middle), an OB road to the right, and over 800ft of distance, this monster rewards an accurate thrower who has good control over the discs landing. Being greedy and going for big distance, especially on the tee, can spell disaster if done improperly...double-digit scores are possible. Hole 16 is another tightly wooded hole, but unlike the last, it has a hard dogleg setting up to a tree-dotted green with 2 mandos.
Cons: Many of my original criticisms of this course's design have been addressed recently, and this course is shaping up very nicely. However, there is still one major thing I see that's worth mentioning: the layout is very cramped in a few spots and could be dangerous during tournament play. This is especially true on holes 2-4, 6-8, and to a lesser degree on 12-14 (the latter are more open, making it easier to see an oncoming throw). Other than this, I only see small, nitpicky things that will most likely be addressed down the road by the designer or naturally from getting more play and foot traffic (this is a new course, after all). These include clearing brush/limbs within 10ft of the baskets (*cough* hole 2 *cough*), cutting a safer trail along the creek on Hole 3, and better marking the artificial OB lines on a few holes. I also feel that Hole 5 is a bit of a filler hole / afterthought and that some of the concrete tees could be longer, but those are highly subjective.

Also - a minor Con in my eyes - this course can be very punishing to someone just starting out. The woods along the course are still very thick in some parts, making it easy to lose a disc, and the technical aspects of this course might prove very frustrating to a new player. The creek can also be difficult to tread, but easy to find :) However, if a challenge is desired, this is the kind of course where it can be found.

No bathrooms, but there is a gas station across the highway with a public restroom. Pretty sure the convenience store on 17 does NOT have a public restroom.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me very quickly over the last few months. At first, I felt it was too tight on many of the wooded holes, making reasonable approaches to the pin impossible. I also had a difficult time navigating the course at first. Now that signs/stairs/bridges have been installed and more clearing has been done, those initial concerns are no longer valid.

If you happen to meet Sean, the youth pastor/course designer, make sure to thank him for all the work he's done getting this course installed. He's a great guy to play with, and has some big plans for the course!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 location

1    9/15/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Lesson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout it is very enjoyable
-short technical shots
-long distance holes
-fun use of parking lots/light pole for mando etc some things out of the ordinary
-difficult course would be very hard to shoot even 54
-very clean and enjoyable
Cons: -its far distance from my house
-its duncanville
-blind holes
Other Thoughts: it was very fun to play and look forward to going back. yes it is pretty hard your first game because there is blind holes and you may not make the right choices of discs or shots unless you walk the hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.