Duncanville, TX 
Crossroads of Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: araytx Hole #8 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top 5 in DFW

2-4    1/28/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1: hitting your lines on holes #1 thru #4 is a confidence booster. If the course isn't crowded and/or you didn't do so well, repeat these holes before heading off to the rest of the course (high fun factor)
2: upcoming holes provide challenges such as steep drop offs on putting greens on #6 & #9, and awesome elevation changes on holes #12 and #14
3: holes #10, #11, #14 (OB flags left), #15 (super long and narrow) & 16 require pin-point accuracy. If you struggle with distance and accuracy, put the driver back in the bag and use the mid-range disc to cut down on the frustration
4: clean, well maintained course (a 180 from the west Fort Worth course, name not mentioned)
5: very good drainage. I played just a few days after a massive rain and flooding.
6: close proximity to other top courses
Cons: Minor:
1: concrete tee-pads on the majority of holes are a bit too short
2: teeing off on #5 across the parking lot can be problematic. (mando sign posted to lessen the chance of hitting cars)
Other Thoughts: If any of the reviews have kept you away, do yourself a favor and go enjoy what Crossroads has to offer. The final result may be a high score, but the fun factor is through the roof. This course is a 'must play' for all locals and a true destination for anyone visiting the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!!

1    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: JJustinB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a great course!! The first few holes snake along the creek are really cool and make you cross a lot of wooden bridges. They are tricky, but if all else fails, you can get to the creek to retrieve a disc. Hole 5 begins a group of holes which are more open and a little longer. Holes 14 and 15 really test your arm. Overall, the course is really well designed and takes all kinds of shots. They did a really good job of using existing concrete for pads, and luckily, the hole signs show where the next box is (its not always real clear).
Cons: The tee boxes are a little short, but there were a lot of "threading the needle" shots, which didn't require a run up. A few of the holes/baskets are a little close. If you don't pay attention to the previous sign, it is sometimes hard to find the next tee box. The walking paths need to be fixed/rerouted along the creek on 3.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great course and will ALWAYS play it when driving back into Dallas from Cedar Hill. It is kept very clean, and you don't have to worry too much about "hoodlums".

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress, but already showing tons of promise!

5+    10/14/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Amenities - quality concrete tees and color signs on every hole, many showing directions to next tee. Ample parking in the church parking lot (just make sure you don't park on the "in" side of the mando on Hole 5). Stairs and bridges where needed. Many trash cans throughout the course with places to sit on several holes.

The Design - a good mix between tight/technical and open/long with some longer technical shots that really challenge the player. The hilly terrain on the property is used well, giving players a chance to throw up- and down-hill. Several holes that could be "signature" quality including a long downhill empty-the-bag shot (Hole 14) followed by a brutal wooded par 5 that can do serious damage to the scorecard (the "Tunnel Of Death"). Most holes seem well though-out and reward accurate throws while punishing errant ones. Lots of birdies throughout the course, but also plenty of opportunities to take bogey or worse. A good competition course that makes it difficult for any single player to simply run away with a win.

Hole Highlights: Holes 1-4 fall into the short and technical category with thick woods and a winding shallow creek in play. These holes can provide up to 4 birdies to an accurate thrower (with Hole 4 being a very difficult but reachable birdie), but can add 4 strokes to the score just as easily. Holes 6-11 are all moderately wooded with elevation in play on the first 3 and 2 reasonable birdie opportunities (Holes 7 and 9). Holes 8, 10 and 11 are all tunnel shots to some degree, with 11 being a personal favorite. 12 through 14 play up and downhill behind the church building and provide a bit of relief from the woods before finishing on several tightly wooded holes. Hole 15 is THE signature hole in my opinion - with a fairway that is lined with trees on both sides (and several in the middle), an OB road to the right, and over 800ft of distance, this monster rewards an accurate thrower who has good control over the discs landing. Being greedy and going for big distance, especially on the tee, can spell disaster if done improperly...double-digit scores are possible. Hole 16 is another tightly wooded hole, but unlike the last, it has a hard dogleg setting up to a tree-dotted green with 2 mandos.
Cons: Many of my original criticisms of this course's design have been addressed recently, and this course is shaping up very nicely. However, there is still one major thing I see that's worth mentioning: the layout is very cramped in a few spots and could be dangerous during tournament play. This is especially true on holes 2-4, 6-8, and to a lesser degree on 12-14 (the latter are more open, making it easier to see an oncoming throw). Other than this, I only see small, nitpicky things that will most likely be addressed down the road by the designer or naturally from getting more play and foot traffic (this is a new course, after all). These include clearing brush/limbs within 10ft of the baskets (*cough* hole 2 *cough*), cutting a safer trail along the creek on Hole 3, and better marking the artificial OB lines on a few holes. I also feel that Hole 5 is a bit of a filler hole / afterthought and that some of the concrete tees could be longer, but those are highly subjective.

Also - a minor Con in my eyes - this course can be very punishing to someone just starting out. The woods along the course are still very thick in some parts, making it easy to lose a disc, and the technical aspects of this course might prove very frustrating to a new player. The creek can also be difficult to tread, but easy to find :) However, if a challenge is desired, this is the kind of course where it can be found.

No bathrooms, but there is a gas station across the highway with a public restroom. Pretty sure the convenience store on 17 does NOT have a public restroom.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me very quickly over the last few months. At first, I felt it was too tight on many of the wooded holes, making reasonable approaches to the pin impossible. I also had a difficult time navigating the course at first. Now that signs/stairs/bridges have been installed and more clearing has been done, those initial concerns are no longer valid.

If you happen to meet Sean, the youth pastor/course designer, make sure to thank him for all the work he's done getting this course installed. He's a great guy to play with, and has some big plans for the course!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 location

1    9/15/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Lesson
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout it is very enjoyable
-short technical shots
-long distance holes
-fun use of parking lots/light pole for mando etc some things out of the ordinary
-difficult course would be very hard to shoot even 54
-very clean and enjoyable
Cons: -its far distance from my house
-its duncanville
-blind holes
Other Thoughts: it was very fun to play and look forward to going back. yes it is pretty hard your first game because there is blind holes and you may not make the right choices of discs or shots unless you walk the hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool

1    8/24/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Signs and Tee Pads for every hole
-the short birdie holes are not easy, they are technical holes in the woods.
- great hole #14, longest hole and right up there with the funnest tee box shot in Texas. The tee is from the top of the hill down to a sports field with lots of ob to cross and on the right of the hole.
-several 2 shot holes that making your 3 is going to be tough.
-Convenience store near tee boxes 15 and 17 is a lifesaver when you don't have something to drink and the temperature is 106.
Cons: -baskets are not marked (yet) so there are a few holes that can be confusing if you don't have a map.
- #6 fairway has #8's basket in it. It confused us and the group behind us played #8 basket instead of the correct basket.
- 2 of the holes are a little too close to some backyards. I see future problems on these holes if this course becomes popular.
- The course is still very new and very rough, lots of briar if you get off the narrow fairways on several holes. My legs can attest to this.
Other Thoughts: It is not very often you hear good things about a course on church property. This course is very good, even with the few small design flaws. The only reason I rate it a 4 instead of a 4.5 is that it is still very rough. I foresee this course being one of the best courses in DFW when it get broken in.

If you do go play here, remember it is Church Property, respect it and please don't drink on the course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Super fun course

5+    4/30/2012   8/20/2011
Review By: NDLB
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's nice to have a course in South Dallas with such diversity. Long holes for the big arms to air it out and short technical holes for those whose game favors the tighter, more accurate types of holes. Living so close to the course, I have played it well over 20 times. I can say that I have literally used every shot in my bag on this course. From hyzers to anhyzers, tomahawks to thumbers, spike hyzers, flicks, rollers, and even an occasional grenade. Love the tee boxes. At first they were a little short for some of the longer holes but they have come back and compensated for this by extending the boxes with pavers thus giving plenty of room for run ups. Signage is great as they have just recently put in permanent signs that are nice and big with all the details of the hole including distance and direction of the next tee. Elevation change is epic with the course playing up and down on multiple holes.

I have a love/hate relationship with the first four holes. I really love the way that they are designed and the way that they play. However, I hate the way that my score looks most of the time :o). But that is what keeps me coming back for more. The green on hole 6 is beautiful and I love playing it. You will need a finesse shot to get it on the landing without going long and down the hill behind it. Hole 7 is soooo sick! The basket position is just begging you for an ace. Also, I really enjoy holes 14 and 15 because of their length and the fact that even though they run parallel to each other they play completely different. 14 is a wide open shot from the top of a hill with about 40' of elevation change and trees and asphalt on the right that are both O.B. and baseball field fence that everyone tries to throw over at about 550'. It is definitely possible to get a three here but a bad drive can push you up to a five real quick. 15 (as we call it at the roads "the Green Mile") plays just on the other side of the road back up the hill and through a 50' - 60' wide tunnel. It opens up with around 250' left but has a guarded basket. I have never seen anyone get a three here but fours are possible and fives are still a great score. This is a par five hole and make no mistake, unless you have two great shots back to back, you will not get a four. Play your buzzz or you favorite mid range for your fist 2 shots and you have a very good chance at 3ing the hole! But it will at times feel as if your walking to your exicution! Hole 16 is probably the hole that I give the most improved award to. When I first started playing the course, it was my nemesis and by far my least favorite. It was too tight with too many trees to get around and no definitive landing spot. However, great effort has been taken to widen the fairway and even the final approach to the basket, which before was virtually impossible to reach in 3. This hole is now one of my faves! Play it and you will see why. EPIC!!
Cons: Hole 2 could probably have a little more protection to the right of the basket. Disc come flying by you occasionally from golfers throwing from hole 4. Hole 10 could use at least a 10 ft ceilling as you get 3/4 of the way to the basket but that's majoring in the minors not a big concern. A 3 is very possible
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to being one of the best courses to play in the country! It has been beaten down so much, you owe it to yourself to come out and play it where ever you live. Play this course a few times and you will love it! It will eat your lunch at times but this is a course that leaves you wanting to come back for more because at the end of the day you know you can shoot better! One day you may be -1 and the next your 9+. Perhaps alternate pin placements in the future would be a nice addition. However, the current positions are really cool. This is definitely not a beginner course although there are holes that are beginner friendly. If you are wanting to expand your shot arsenal or just play a challenging but fun course then come on out and that's what keeps me coming back for more. This is by no means a" pitch and putt" course. -NDLB

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of DFW's top courses

1    12/4/2013   8/9/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Thank you to Sean and Charles.Technical holes that made great use of the land that is available on the church property.Mix of mostly wooded holes with some wide open shots too.New added shorter pin locations shortened up the course a bit for the church/beginner crowd.Hole 9 now has an added longer pin location straight down the hill from the original one makes the hole more fun. The short holes are technical enough to not be boring,Hooray!Plenty of shade for the 100 plus degree weather!Orange spray paint on holes 12-14 can be used as island/ out of bounds if you wanna play that way. The fairways have been cleared out tremendously not alot of ground cover .There is a creek and a road thats out of bounds which is marked on the very decently done signage on the first three holes.This course is still harder then Mt' Lebanon even with the new shorter pin placements.Added bonus to this course recently has been dual tee locations for the masses!
Cons: Some pins make the course a whole lot shorter and easier.Hole 16 in the short pin is not as exciting as the long placement,same with 9 and 10.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 is a real Chrushers Delight!You walk up behind a store for your convenience at 16.Spray paint lines/orange flags on 13-14 are O.B. like i said if youd like to play that way . There are drop zones for them spray painted in grass,13's is over the road in left corner area and 14's is near the light pole.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely challenging!!!

1    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: cdadams1223
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A multitude of different types of shots, i.e. up and downhill, blind shots, etc. I feel this course will eventually be a great course because there is a LOT of room to work with. I also liked seeing a trash can on almost every hole.
Cons: Where to begin...
The baskets in the trees (quite a few) are near impossible to par or birdie. There was an enormous amount of brush and debris throughout and near impossible to negotiate at times. The tee boxes seemed a little short, but still manageable.
Other Thoughts: I realize this course is still a work in progress and that changes will be made eventually. From what I understand the youth pastor helped build (or did build) this course which is a very cool thing! It would be nice to see numbers on the baskets one day. It would also be nice to see several of the first holes cleared out more.

There were too many blind shots and holes that were just laid out poorly. I'll play it again eventually, but not any time soon.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/3/2012   7/30/2011
Review By: JFink2011
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The land sets up PERFECTLY for a disc golf course.
2. A wide variety of shots required.
3. Elevation changes all over.
4. Interesting and unique greens.
5. Every hole is different! (Fun to play!)
Cons: 1. Tee pads could've been a bit longer, but they are not unacceptably short.
2. Certain holes are a bit too close to other holes. (See below.)
5. Can't play at all times. (Not much of a con really, but it's closed for church events on occasion)
Other Thoughts: The course designer is EPIC! He drove his car down the course to ask us what needed improving and what we thought. It's so nice of him to work so hard to bring another course to our area! Thank him if you see him!

After finishing the round I wanted to give the designer a bit more feedback on the whole course...

Holes 1-4: These holes ROCK! Some of the best technical holes in the area.

Hole 5: A different hole, but it plays into the whole course nicely. Better get your bird.

Hole 6: I really like this hole for one main reason... The hilltop green! The only problem here is that you have to throw too close to another hole's basket on the drive.

Hole 7: Amazing hole just the way it is! You can go for your easy drop in deuce, or you can try for an ace and risk a long putt.

Hole 8: Very difficult hole, but it's a nice par 4.

Hole 9: Great! Just finished a par 4 and now you gotta throw a finesse shot up the gut on a 215' hole. Awesome design!

Hole 10: A lot of recent work was put into this hole and it paid off big time! Great par 4.

Hole 11: Another great hole! Nothing to change here, it's my personal favorite hole.

Hole 12: This hole is a bit blah for me... I think it needs something more. The elevation is nice, but maybe you could make this an elevated basket? Or perhaps you could do something like they do at the USDGC with the bamboo wall. (Obviously not with bamboo, but maybe with a fence, or something?) Or you could set up a mini wall around the circles edge so that you couldn't just throw for the skip?

Hole 13: Sweet hole! Great use of space!

Hole 14: Very good hole! Getting a three here is very possible even for some rec/int players.

Hole 15: Par 5... YEP! The tee is kinda short and there is no run-up available, but a clean drive is needed, so possibly no run-up needed. This hole is long and can get VERY frustrating, which is what I want from a par 5! There may be a couple trees that could go, but this hole is nice the way it is!

Hole 16: This hole has cleaned up to make for another great par 4.

Hole 17: This hole is the worst hole in my opinion. For anyone that can throw 350' you just have to let go of your disc straight and just pray that once it gets to the tree-line it magically misses like 10 trees and parks itself under the basket. I believe the "precision" part of the shot should be within the first 150' on a drive. Having a guarded pin is fine, but having an open field shot with the last 80 feet turning into a pinball machine is too much. I just think with the hole the way it is... About 80% of people would get a par, 18% would get a bogey, 1.99% would get a birdie, and apparently someone has aced it already which is unreal... but he would be that extra .01%

Hole 18: The precision part of the drive is right off the tee making this no gimme! This is an excellent hole and it is my second favorite hole out here. The drive is tough, the fairway is open allowing for a smooth anny line for rhbh, and the green is very tough if you decide to go for a long birdie attempt! PERFECT!

This course is one of the greats. One more championship caliber course in the DFW area!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best in DFW !

1    7/20/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: DavidMillerTime
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome new addition to the area. For being such a new course its pretty dang good. It has a lot of good elements of other DFW courses but my friends and I are all ready referring to it as the ''tour 18'' course because of great combination of styles all on one course. It has short wooded shots, over creek shots, elevation shots, tunnel shots, huge distance shots, and even distance tunnel shots.

Thing that excites me the most about this course is that in addition both cedar hill courses it could bring some good competitions and hope this is put in the tourny mix.
Cons: First con really isn't a con for me but something others dg'ers might need to prepare for especially in this texas heat. It is a very long course that if your in a group of about 3 or 4 will take well over 2 hours to play. So you really have to make sure and have the water and time for it.

2. Being a new course it still needs some clearing, paths and bridges but will come with time.

Other Thoughts: Cool seeing a church put in a course (and such a good one at that) that is open for the public. Make sure and thank the people working on the course. There was a family with their kids clearing out brush around one of the baskets and the youth pastor even came out to welcome us to the course half way through.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.