Louisa, VA 
Betty Queen Center Share
Uploaded By: FredVegasDGC Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: neilbert20
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes have tee pads now that are not shown in the pictures and signs at each hole.
The course is very easy to follow and we'll manicured and not too difficult to find discs if thrown off the beaten path.
Cons: Very short and not very challenging. No holes longer than 260. Not much variation between holes.
No practice basket that is saw.
Other Thoughts: Can be technical, need precise throws. Good for practicing your short game and a well put together course for the space that they have. There are clearly marked back tees but these only have flags and a little gravel marking them.
Took me a total of 20 minutes to play and was very easy to find my way around. If you are in the area I definitely recommend stopping in and playing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 course updated plays great

5+    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: jay1187
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: all tee boxes marked , brush cleared,well laid out , great for amateurs to learn on and pro to hone skills. im local and play often we play front 9 on beginner tees and then advanced tees as back 9 , free course too come play.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun short course

1    9/18/2011   9/18/2011
Review By: djcadence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New country course. Discatcher baskets.
The course is wooded, but not overgrown with bush.
Most holes are Birdie Runs, I even had an Ace on #7
The course only takes 30-45 min. to complete.
I like the use of elevation.
This place has lots of potential!

Cons: I was unable to fine the long tee pads, this may have been due to the rain!
Some of the tee pads were just mounds of gravel.
Other Thoughts: Nice, country 9 hole course in the woods.The course reminds me of Peaks View, as most of the holes are short "Birdie Run" type holes. It takes anywhere from 30-45 min.'s to play a full 9, and its easy to keep playing a few rounds, due to how its designed. I found it to be lots of fun even in the rain. I can see lots of potential here, hopefully they can expand to 18 one day!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Course in progress

1    7/16/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 207  Reviewed: 187  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice discatcher baskets, with zip ties pointing the way to the next tee. This made navigation very simple.
2 tee pads locations on each hole some with different looks, others with 50 feet in difference with foiliage coming into play differently.
good use of limited elevation.
Distances varied. I think we measured hole 3 at 286 feet, so these are not super frustrating tunnels, but they are not 90 footers either.
Course is away from other park activities tucked in to a patch of woods.
Cons: no tees or signs (may be coming, course is brand new). If flags are missing there would be no way to know where to start.
The tightness began to feel like I was playing the same hole over and over after the second round.
Hole 2 was a little overgrown, a little more foot traffic as more people come to play may help this out. The course is isolated, nearest other courses are a half hour away, so it would not be convinent for many roadtrips.
Other Thoughts: Course had the feel of the ultimate backyard course. I think this course is still in progress and am excited to see what it becomes. This course has tons of potential and is well designed (by the designer of former DGCR top 10 course Hawk Hollow)
Bring your best tunnel disc, you will get plenty of use out of it.
I would easily bump this rating up when clear tees are in, even if it is just tee signs and two painted rocks infront of worn out grass.
Here is a thread about the start of this course:
http://www.dgcoursereview.com...d.php?t=38805

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course lots of potential

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course in the woods. Located in a very nice park. The course is brand new & has no signs or tee pads yet but it was easy to navigate. Holes vary from tight to moderate between trees. I played from the short tees and control is a must. The long tees should be long enough to add enough challenge for the advanced players. I thought it was a good use of the area. Uphill & downhill shots. Hyzers & anhyzers and subtle control shots are needed. The bright new Innova baskets were easy to see.

Since there were no hole signs I won't comment on much on the length. The short tees were clear enough for beginners to see what to do and fun enough for Rec players like me.

The vegetation on the sides of the holes go from moderate to heavy. Not many briers, I didn't notice any poison Ivy or Oak.

Hole #1, 5,6 7, 8 & 9 if you kick deep in to the woods you could get in to some real trouble. #2- 4 a bad throw off the tee can be salvaged for par.

The majority of first few holes were straight shots, #1 being a straight down the middle throw. But strategic trees will challenge your ability to turn/flip a disc. #2 is a graceful anhyzer in to the woods.

Holes 4-9 are a good mix of anhyzers/hyzers. #7 is a smooth downhill anhyzer ace run. #8 is a sharp uphill dogleg left. #9 seemed like the longest hole, from the short tee it's a long downhill hyzer.

The trail from #9 leads you to the tee area of #1.

Because the course is in the woods with a good canopy it is a cool course to play in the summer. Today was low 90's but in the shade it wasn't bad at all.
Cons: I had fun playing this course. Because of the newness of the course the obvious cons are the natural tee pads and lack of signage. But they played fine and it wasn't too hard to navigate the course with the obvious paths.

Bring some Off spray with you because the shade of the woods is a haven for mosquitos. Also because the trails & fairways haven't been worked in check for ticks after each round. Also carry a towel or stick because spiders have a pesky way of building a web face height on some of the pathways.

If you park in front of the playground when you walk past the playground and get to the split rail fence look right for the entrance to #1. I missed it the first round and played #2 first.
Other Thoughts: When nicer tee pads & signs are installed it will dramatically improve the course. One problem for me was the paths and fairways still have a deep layer of fallen leaves and makes the ground spongy and made my legs very tired. But this will get better over use.

I liked this course mainly for the moderate length of the short tees. They were the perfect length for me. Some holes were birdie shots, some were pars and even an ace run.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.