Sheridan, IN 
Biddle Memorial Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: MacDaddy Hole #14 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
In the land of the 2x9ís

2-4    11/11/2015   11/12/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Sheridan course includes nine decent Discatcher baskets and mature park trees to navigate in a lesser-used section of the community's multi-use park. The course starts beside the easternmost shelter, beside two handicapped parking spaces (the rest of us need to drive on down past the 1st basket and park by the small ball field there: not just past the basket!), and a nice, informative kiosk sign (which includes map, links to club websites, a guide to other area courses, and the Innova beginners' guide to disc golf info).

Lines of flight have some variety, but tend to favor the player who can throw Recreational distances low (working around branches), around fairly widely spaced trees, and, on at least four of the baskets, fading from left to right (favoring lhbh & rhfh throwers). The designers didn't have any elevation to work with, but did a decent job of putting in a small course that will challenge the casual to rec level players it's intended to serve.
Cons: Natural turf for tees, unmarked except to throw near the signs. Decent flow except where you need to cross the drive to get to 4/13 (take 'course map 2'). The course's extremely minimalist signage can become a little confusing, when the tees for 3, 12, 9 & 18 all run together near the start and the tees for 5, 14, 6 & 15 all line up against the woods line at the back. Now, four or five years since installation, some signs are missing. Other changes in that time include the outfield fence and scoreboard which now runs down the middle of the 4/13 fairway. It makes an interesting OB challenge on your right to work around, but makes it unsafe to throw there if there's a game on. The other unsafe spots are throwing long and hitting cars on 1/10 and the shelter just to the left of the 2/11 basket. Finally, the debris pile (park dump?) has grown and nearly overwhelms the 7th tee.
Other Thoughts: I've described this area as the land of the 2 by 9's because of the tendency to build nine hole courses with alternate tees and call them 18 hole courses. There are at least a half dozen such in the region. It's not bad to have 18 different shots. I'm just not sure I'd say they should be listed here as 18 hole courses.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yrs experience, rated 900+/-, played 244+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid small town course

2-4    3/31/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - 9 catchy Innova Discatchers.

Tees - 2 per hole making for 18 possible holes.

Signs - Signs are present but they could use a little updating. Only one sign per basket (set of tees).

Trash cans, shade, and benches on site.

Beginner friendly. Beginner/intermediate course.

Very peaceful.

Easy to save par on every hole.

Obstacles on every hole. Mostly large mature trees, a gravel path, a baseball field, and brush in out of bounds area on 4/13 or corn fields near 8/17 and 9/18.

Easy to get to.

Clean park.
Cons: Very short and compact course. Easy to overdrive on holes and can throw into other fairways.

Holes are very close to each other (can add to safety issues).

Natural tees (can be muddy). I love how there are 2 tees per basket but gravel, rubber, or concrete would help. Alternate tees (10-18) are of same difficulty to regular tees. Some are slightly longer and some are slightly shorter. Does not change the line.

Hole 4/13 could be dangerous during baseball games. Entire hole hooks around the outfield fence and ends in a narrow tunnel shot between trees and the fence.

Holes were repetitive.

Could use better signage.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to any beginners in the area or to any intermediate players looking for something new to help improve their game. It is a great course for a small town and is easy to get to. It would be far too easy for advanced players. It is way too short and way too easy for them. It does the job for a small town in terms of building the sport.

It took me longer to get to the course than it did to play. Keep that in mind. I did like the course. I have never had a bad experience here. Like I said it was in a peaceful setting. If you're up for the drive and don't mind short courses, then check it out.

I would compare this course to Sahm in Indy. Sahm is the more challenging of the two due to slight elevation, longer holes, and a blind shot.

Concrete tees and better signs would greatly improve this course. If I was in the area, I would definitely play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play in the Fall, Mix it Up.

2-4    9/9/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park, lots of big trees. Baskets are great. They have used the space they have available pretty well. Hole 4 is a nice challenge to keep the disc in bounds, and holes 16, 17 and 18 mix up the shots right at the end. Not alot of players means it is easy to play your pace and have fun.
Cons: No concrete tees. Not a wide variety of shots required. With 18 tees and only 9 baskets, playing 18 holes is almost like playing 9 twice. I would like to see some trimming to raise at least some branches because some tees there is almost no good line.
Other Thoughts: Decent course, great for a quick afternoon game after work. There are some space conflicts during little league season, but no problems during the fall. This is a decent course to add variety if you are from the North central part of the state. If you only have time to play just 9 holes, one at each basket, just for fun try the following, on 1/10 play tee 1, on 2/11 play tee 2, on 3/12 play tee 12, on 4/13 play tee 4, on 5/14 play tee 5, on 6/15 play tee 6, on 7/16 play tee 16, on tee 8/17 play 17, on 9/18 play tee 18. These are not always the hardest option, but I believe it gives you the most variety for 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but something needed

1    6/3/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: realdealmcneal
Played: 82  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some challenging shots under low trees.
Signs are easy to follow.
Its a fun course.
Cons: If you out drive hole 1/10 by 25-30 feet your in a parking lot. Not cool to ding cars and get people mad at disc golfers.
On another set of holes (can't remember which ones) a baseball field comes into play. When I played the game just ended so no problem but when a game is going on a bad shot could end up in play. Again hitting kids playing baseball could leave a bad taste for people about disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Has a lot of potential but the 2/4 holes with cars are kids around make this course a let down for me.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Biddle Park

1    11/12/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of trees that can challenge your throw
quite location
baskets are easy to find
not many players around

Cons: poor signage
no trash bins
too many leaves all over the place so it's hard to find your disc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/29/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course set in nice park. It has 9 nice discatcher baskets and 18 tee pads. This is a shorter course with only a couple holes over 300ft so it's great course to introduce the community to disc golf. There's lot of big trees and minimal rough. Navigation was fairly easy. There are a couple spots where there are lots of tees clustered together but it only took a second to figure out where we were going. There are tee signs at each hole listing the distance and markers on the ground next to them indicating the tee area. The tees are dirt and I didn't have any problem with them at all. The second set of tees weren't dramatically different but some of them added a little variety to the shot.
Cons: There isn't much short variety here. Like other people have mentioned, there are lots of low hanging limbs. On a few holes it didn't feel like there was a real route to the basket because of all the limbs, just poke and hope even if you keep the shot low... hole 9/18 was the worst example of this. The basket for 2/11 is right next to a shelter but you can easily see if it's occupied. I already mentioned some of the alternate tees added variety to the course, but others do not, I'd say it's about 50/50.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a fun, enjoyable round. The course is great for casual players, families and locals, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stop here either.

On a side note, I've never run into so many "road closed" signs and detours in my life trying to get to and from this course. Obviously this isn't a knock against the course, but I hope they finish the road construction in the area soon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Diamond in the rough

5+    8/13/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Gnome Rancher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is set back off the main park so youwill not have much interferance from the community while playing. This is a new course and has some cleaning up to do but in my oppinion is more challenging than The Hill or Dillion. Very few wide open shots on 1st or second shot.
Cons: It is new, so has some "bugs" to work out. I here ther are Tee pads coming and possibly a second pin position. Road contruction at 31 and 38 cause some issues in getting to the course from the east.
Other Thoughts: I hope everyone is willing to give this course a try!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maximum Potential

2-4    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 190  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 21.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2015
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice little course in a multiple use park. Perfect for beginners to get introduced to DG. Course Starts by a shelter that has plenty of picnic tables a trash can and grill. Two sets of tees per DISCatcher. Low branches on all holes make for tougher drive/putt than most other area courses. Average hole length is 248', perfect for beginners and any other player either looking for ace runs or to work on their mid-range game.
Cons: Grass tees, Plans are to have concrete tees this Fall or next spring. Public park that is operated only by donations, no taxes. Hence concrete will take awhile to be done. The terrain is flat and looks like it holds water throughout the course. Could be muddy after a spring storm or the winter thaw. Bring bug spray in the summer.
Other Thoughts: A new kiosk, donated by the Hamilton Disc Golf Union, installed by the Pavilion. Info. Incl. everything for a true beginner to get into the sport.
After hole #3 turn right and #4 tee is by 1st base of the rarely used PRACTICE "T" Ball field. You will find #13 tee by 3rd base.
10 minutes from Hwy 31 & Hwy 38. A 9 hole round should take about 30 minutes.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: rnehrig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a quiet town. Lots of large trees in play on many of the holes.Might
be a shorter course, but it's very challenging for any skill level.
Cons: Brand new course, still needs some work but it's coming. Grass tees right now, concrete in the future. As of today no signs but holes are marked out on the posts. Grass a little tall because of the rain lately,but park maintenance will be on that soon.
Other Thoughts: I'm a little biased because I helped get it done, but for the locals that know Morse Beach it will be very equivilent to it. Come out and play and enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new course

1    6/25/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 32.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to. Nice, clean park with access to $, gas, food and drinks located just outside the entrance to the park. Lots of nice big beautiful trees, both hardwoods and conifers. Holes are long enough to challenge newer & intermediate level palyers. Advanced and pro players will have fun with lots of ace and birdie runs through some nicely shaped alleys. Nice baskets and signs make it easy to play and navigate. Small shelter at holes 1-10/9-18.
Cons: It's flat, but it's in north central Indiana, what are you going to do? Bring the bug spray, as those little critters like the shade as much as you do!
Other Thoughts: Nice recreational level course. Good course for kids, teens, families, new adult players and seniors. Pro's will not be challenged, but will still have fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.