Disc Golf Store
Lynden, WA 
Lynden DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This Course Is So Vanilla!

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is soooooooo vanilla it wouldn't qualify as a flavor at Baskins and Robbins.

Holes 3-9 are plain Janes and boring. # 1 and 2 do bring a little flavor to this otherwise bland course. I liked both of them. # 1 is a little peek-a-boo hole, maybe 275', tucked in a small grove of trees. It's kind of a typical disc golf hole. # 2 is interesting. It's very short, about 150' with a sharp right angle that you have to throw over a bamboo outcrop with touch. Both are pretty cool disc golf holes.
Cons: The course borders the town's sewage treatment plant so when the wind is blowing, the smell is pretty strong. I know these Lynden folks are used to the Bovine smells that permeate from the farms all over the countryside but the human odors wafting hereabouts, especially along the # 3 fairway are another fecal matter altogether.

Other reviewers have commented about the marshy aspects of the course. I played in August after the driest 70 days in history. But the evidence is there that this course would be plenty wet and marshy come rainy season.

Holes 3-9 are straight, wide open and more than a little boring. See my creative plan in Other Thoughts for spicing them up.
Other Thoughts: Note to Course Designers: If I'm wrong here, I'll apologize now for my following idea. You may have a very good reason why you haven't already implemented this plan.
On # 8, how about moving that basket halfway or more up the big dirt hill? And wouldn't the top of that hill be a great place for the # 9 teepad? If it's possible to use that hill, # 9 automatically becomes the signature hole on this course. And # 8 becomes a much more interesting and challenging hole.

I hope the hill can used. This primarily vanilla course could use some sprinkles!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park 9 hole

1    8/27/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly big for an open park 9 hole. It is a fairly new park that shows steady improvement. 8 has a tree directly in front of the pin now and they are keeping up on the mowing. Tees are gravel and a little rough but not hazardous. They are good sized and have a paver with the number in the back corner. A nice touch I have never seen before.
A parking lot has been added on the north end of the park, not far from Tee 1.
Cons: No tee signs, garbage cans, or bathrooms. As noted on other reviews, 3 runs beside the local sewage treatment plant, explaining why this much land is available. The wind was blowing in from the west, which is common in this area, so it wasn't too bad.
It has been dry lately but I bet it is fairly swampy in winter and spring judging by the type of grasses growing.
Other Thoughts: I liked it. not a destination course but worth a visit if in the area. It looks like the parks dept is continuing to improve the park, nice to see.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lynden DGC

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: -Hawk-
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a technical course by any means with the exception of holes one and two. The tee boxes are still gravel, but the pics are not up to date, as there are now beauty bark trails around some of the newly planted trees, as well as around most of the park on both sides of the street. They however don't connect the holes together completely. Good place if ya want to work on straight shot drives, as no real obstacles in place. I believe it was hole 6 that has a 4x4 post erected to have you navigate around at the 50ish foot mark from the basket.
Cons: WET! There was quite the rain overnight last night as well as this morning, and it left this entire place with a few small exceptions, pretty mucky and marshy Especially if you cant keep the disk in the center of the fairway. There were 8 of us playing and I don't think one of us were with out squishy socks by hole 3. With this being a new course, this fall and winter will be a test as to whether this will be a summer only course or not.The signage could be better, but navigation through the course seemed alright, and things for the most part seemed to make sense for us.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly play it again if in town, and depending on the weather, will change footwear accordingly. I hope I have my drives down a bit better, being new to the sport, as there seemed to be not much else to challenge us other than let it rip as straight as you can.......and hope you don't have a splash landing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Starter Course

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: albatron
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This would be a great course for any beginner disc golfers, as it is open and the shots are very straightforward. There are no huge shots, but none that are just putts, either.
Course is well kept from what I saw, fairways were mowed and the baskets were awesome. The tees are clearly marked and gravel, and it is obvious as to which basket you are throwing to, because the baskets show the hole number.
Cons: The course borders a sewage treatment plant, making for some quite stinky shots. Every time the wind picks up, you might want to hold your breath.
All of the shots are open, except for the first two, which are a dogleg-right type shot, with some trees to shoot around. After that, it's just a straight shot to each basket. If you're looking for unique shots, this course probably isn't the right one. The course is also very flat.
Other Thoughts: The course only took about a half hour to play, making it a fun break from whatever during the day. There weren't a lot of people on it when I was playing. Great course for beginners, if you ever wanted to get someone hooked on disc golf take them here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.