Lynden, WA 
Lynden DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 345ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This Course Is So Vanilla!

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is soooooooo vanilla it wouldn't qualify as a flavor at Baskins and Robbins.

Holes 3-9 are plain Janes and boring. # 1 and 2 do bring a little flavor to this otherwise bland course. I liked both of them. # 1 is a little peek-a-boo hole, maybe 275', tucked in a small grove of trees. It's kind of a typical disc golf hole. # 2 is interesting. It's very short, about 150' with a sharp right angle that you have to throw over a bamboo outcrop with touch. Both are pretty cool disc golf holes.
Cons: The course borders the town's sewage treatment plant so when the wind is blowing, the smell is pretty strong. I know these Lynden folks are used to the Bovine smells that permeate from the farms all over the countryside but the human odors wafting hereabouts, especially along the # 3 fairway are another fecal matter altogether.

Other reviewers have commented about the marshy aspects of the course. I played in August after the driest 70 days in history. But the evidence is there that this course would be plenty wet and marshy come rainy season.

Holes 3-9 are straight, wide open and more than a little boring. See my creative plan in Other Thoughts for spicing them up.
Other Thoughts: Note to Course Designers: If I'm wrong here, I'll apologize now for my following idea. You may have a very good reason why you haven't already implemented this plan.
On # 8, how about moving that basket halfway or more up the big dirt hill? And wouldn't the top of that hill be a great place for the # 9 teepad? If it's possible to use that hill, # 9 automatically becomes the signature hole on this course. And # 8 becomes a much more interesting and challenging hole.

I hope the hill can used. This primarily vanilla course could use some sprinkles!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Park 9 hole

1    8/27/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly big for an open park 9 hole. It is a fairly new park that shows steady improvement. 8 has a tree directly in front of the pin now and they are keeping up on the mowing. Tees are gravel and a little rough but not hazardous. They are good sized and have a paver with the number in the back corner. A nice touch I have never seen before.
A parking lot has been added on the north end of the park, not far from Tee 1.
Cons: No tee signs, garbage cans, or bathrooms. As noted on other reviews, 3 runs beside the local sewage treatment plant, explaining why this much land is available. The wind was blowing in from the west, which is common in this area, so it wasn't too bad.
It has been dry lately but I bet it is fairly swampy in winter and spring judging by the type of grasses growing.
Other Thoughts: I liked it. not a destination course but worth a visit if in the area. It looks like the parks dept is continuing to improve the park, nice to see.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lynden DGC

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: -Hawk-
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a technical course by any means with the exception of holes one and two. The tee boxes are still gravel, but the pics are not up to date, as there are now beauty bark trails around some of the newly planted trees, as well as around most of the park on both sides of the street. They however don't connect the holes together completely. Good place if ya want to work on straight shot drives, as no real obstacles in place. I believe it was hole 6 that has a 4x4 post erected to have you navigate around at the 50ish foot mark from the basket.
Cons: WET! There was quite the rain overnight last night as well as this morning, and it left this entire place with a few small exceptions, pretty mucky and marshy Especially if you cant keep the disk in the center of the fairway. There were 8 of us playing and I don't think one of us were with out squishy socks by hole 3. With this being a new course, this fall and winter will be a test as to whether this will be a summer only course or not.The signage could be better, but navigation through the course seemed alright, and things for the most part seemed to make sense for us.
Other Thoughts: Will certainly play it again if in town, and depending on the weather, will change footwear accordingly. I hope I have my drives down a bit better, being new to the sport, as there seemed to be not much else to challenge us other than let it rip as straight as you can.......and hope you don't have a splash landing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grazing Station Number 9, Number 9, Numb…

1    8/25/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that has an open field, with a few trees, flat, and new baskets. This looks to be a course that was put here with two small pieces of land divided by a road. There are maybe, 2 good holes here. Hole 1 has tall brush on the right of the basket and a big tree on the left. The basket is in a good spot here. The next hole is a blind dogleg right with the basket is out in the open. The tee pads were adequate and in decent shape. This might be good for beginners and it is close to Canada.
Cons: There are no bathrooms, trashcans, or tee signs. The tee pads do have a number plate on them. Hole-3 through 9 are flat and wide-open. There is no challenge at all after hole-2. The grass needed mowing or someone should bring a cow and let her hang out for a while. There is only parking, roadside.
Other Thoughts: I liked the first hole and maybe the second. The Fun Factor here was blah. I like that they put a course up here, as courses are few and far between in this area. Without going over the border, this will at least give the local area a place to play and MAY inspire someone to build something else nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lynden DGC - Perfect for its Intended Audience...Beginners

1    9/2/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
About 20 minutes from the border of Canada, Lynden DGC is located in a mostly flat and lightly wooded park. Designed in 2011, this course is best suited for novice to intermediate players considering most holes are wide open and straight forward with little to no obstacles. The two holes that do present a challenge are holes one and two, which are both doglegs right with dense brush on the right side of the fairways. Holes range from 145-435 ft. in length and throw toward brand new DISCatchers with numbers marked on the top. Holes six through eight play near a huge mural with cows in a pasture depicting everyday life on the farm in Lynden, giving this course some character.
Cons:
Although this course has some strengths, it is overshadowed by its weaknesses. It is obvious that the locals work hard to keep the course properly maintained, but the gravel tee pads are a major issue. The gravel sits about six inches above the ground and therefore makes it very difficult to have run-ups with fear of rolling an ankle or releasing at an awkward angle. A lot of the gravel bunches up in corners of the tee pad or gets knocked out of the box all together. This course could benefit greatly by installing rubber mats that could easily be moved if needed.

As mentioned earlier in my review, besides holes one and two, the course is wide open and presents little challenge in terms of obstacles. Fortunately, the course has a nice variety regarding length. This course is also ideal for players to practice putts, drives, and approaches. Players can work on flight characteristics without the fear of losing a disc or hitting an obstacle every 10 feet. Just beware of the nasty brush on holes one and two. They are full of thorns and stinging nettles, making poorly executed drives nearly impossible to retrieve if thrown too far off the fairway.

Last, the stinky water treatment plant that borders hole three seems to stick with you during the entire round and can be a bit distracting, especially on those warm summer days.
Other Thoughts:
Although the course is wide open and presents little challenge to more experienced players, it is ideal for its intended target, families and those new to the sport, and therefore serves a purpose in the disc golf community. Lynden is a beautiful town with wonderful people who are very welcoming to outsiders, and it is great to see that they have been so supportive of this sport. Perhaps in the near future they will entertain the idea of installing a second and more demanding course to compliment this one.

If driving through Lynden this course is worth a quick stop to get out of the car and throw. However, if you've only got limited time then I would suggest hitting Langley in B.C. about 20 minutes away. It is far more challenging and one of the best courses in all British Columbia. If not looking to cross the border then I would recommend Glacier near Mt. Baker.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Starter Course

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: albatron
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This would be a great course for any beginner disc golfers, as it is open and the shots are very straightforward. There are no huge shots, but none that are just putts, either.
Course is well kept from what I saw, fairways were mowed and the baskets were awesome. The tees are clearly marked and gravel, and it is obvious as to which basket you are throwing to, because the baskets show the hole number.
Cons: The course borders a sewage treatment plant, making for some quite stinky shots. Every time the wind picks up, you might want to hold your breath.
All of the shots are open, except for the first two, which are a dogleg-right type shot, with some trees to shoot around. After that, it's just a straight shot to each basket. If you're looking for unique shots, this course probably isn't the right one. The course is also very flat.
Other Thoughts: The course only took about a half hour to play, making it a fun break from whatever during the day. There weren't a lot of people on it when I was playing. Great course for beginners, if you ever wanted to get someone hooked on disc golf take them here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What Is That Smell?

1    6/30/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new Lynden DGC has brand new yellow DISCatchers greeting you to the course. So new that none of the baskets have any ugly ace markings on them but I'm sure this will change with age. Navigation is fairly simple, just look for the tee pad with a wood square, some of them have gravel in them, some of them do not at this point. This course is brand new and in a small town but already there were groups playing it while I was around late in the afternoon on a Thursday. Hole distances were very good for such an open course, not going too long and yet still staying somewhat challenging, yet any player who's played for a couple years should be able to reach these holes fairly easily. This could be a fun driving practice course and should entertain locals fresh to the sport fairly well.

Holes one and two were the lone bright spot with hole one being a slight left to right under the trees and I'm guessing somewhere in the 250 foot range but kind of fun. Hole two was a more dramatic left to right around some trees with danger lurking for players who go to long in a small stream and the road which I'm guessing/hoping is played as out of bounds. This hole is probably less than 200 feet long.
Cons: There just aren't enough obstacles here to really make it very interesting. There are a couple of skinny random trees spread around but didn't really make their way into design of the course. Also walking was a little harder with all of the uneven ground. A badly thrown disc could land in some tall stuff never to be seen again or worse yet land in horse poop.

The tee pads are just horrible here with some being gravel and others being dirt. The gravels ones aren't too horrible but with gravel they don't stay level very long and you lose most of the gravel over time and have to refill it anyway. The dirt ones were so uneven you couldn't even "stand and deliver" without one food being higher than the other. Overall some of the worst pads I have ever seen.
Other Thoughts: The course has a stinky neighbor in a water treatment plant that smells like ... well human waste. I usually wouldn't mention how a course smells but it is very noticeable and actually hard to get away from until you are on holes seven through nine which go to the other side of the park.

A little directional parking note for you is that you can park on 7th ave close to hole one in the gravel parking lot. Hole one is a couple hundred feet in front of that, look for the gravel tee box.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.