Salina, KS 
Lakewood Park - South 9 Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
-- / --   3 / 350ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Stop off I-70

1    2/25/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
Pros: Tee signs 4
Tee pads 3
baskets 2.5
Course flow 3.5
Traffic (other golfers park users) 3.5
Proximity to other park stuff (pavilions) 1
Fun factor 4
difficulty 3.5
Cons: Some holes ran very close to one another. Fairways include several pavilions and playground and other fairways.
Other Thoughts: Great stop off the highway i played this course in 21 min. It had its challenges. I really enjoyed hole 8. Some would say hole 4 and 5 were tough to find but it you follow where 3 goes and 6 comes from then 4 and 5 are just around the corner. i drove through the park and scouted it out and had zero navigation problems. I have played Thomas park is the true stop but when traveling with wife and dog 9 holes was a great stop. I will be stopping by the north 9 on my way home.

 Awesome Course with a Few Flaws

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: -The Designers of this course did a really good job with the space they had available for it.
-Good distance, with many of the holes on the course having pin positions of at least over 300 or 400 feet, including hole 8 which is over 600 feet in its furthest position
-Great hole design as many of the holes have obstacles or doglegs on them which adds to the challenge.
-Course flow is easy to follow except for one spot (see below)
-Awesome tee-signs they clearly show all of the pin positions and give you distances on each hole.
-Concrete tee-pads on every hole and each hole has at least two different tee-pads on it
-Restrooms on site
Cons: -The biggest con of the course is the safety issues. They did a good job of fitting this course into the space they had but it leads to some safety issues. First of all, there are several holes that pretty much have picnic pavilions in the fairway or really close to the fairway, which if the park is crowded and in use could lead to some dangerous issues
-Several of the holes play really close to the road that goes around the park and you have to use caution around those holes
-There is a playground close to some of the holes that could lead to issues in case of an errant drive or throw
-It is a little hard to find the tee-pad for hole 4 we completely missed hole 4 and had to go back to throw it
-Minor quibble but I wish the tee-pads were a little wider and longer but at least they are concrete
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, it has some really well designed holes, but due to the many safety issues it also has its issues. I didn't get a chance to play the other course on site because we were in a bit of a hurry but hopefully I'll get back there someday to try it out. If you are in the Salina area and looking for some well designed holes definitely give this one a try, just be mindful of other park users

 Average and adequate

1    6/6/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Tony
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Good shot variety decent throwing lanes. Pretty well kept
Cons: Some caution needed as in most parks people are walking around. Luckily we spoke to some other discers that showed us the way to the 4th hole.
Other Thoughts: I enjOyed myself on this 9 hole course. Some long some short some tomahawk

 Lost

1    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This side of the park allows you stretch out your arm a bit. There are some nice long holes.
Cons: The course seemed hard to follow. I somehow lost a couple holes in the middle.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun, but with many other choices around, I wouldn't necessarily suggest this course.

 The better side of Lakewood

2-4    5/26/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Good signage and multiple tees and pins just like its sister course. Considerably more challenge to this one due to it being better integrated with the trees, and better risk/reward. Stay out of the woods and you'll score decent. Plenty of parking and not as many situations where you can hit a parked or moving car as the North course. Can be very challenging in its longest configuration at almost 4000', but still good for beginners.
Cons: Flat as a pancake for the most part. A few flow issues to find holes 4 and 5 (hint cross the bridge). Those two holes also play very close to one another and alongside a road, so this is probably the one danger spot in the course. Trees being on the left so much gets sort of redundant.
Other Thoughts: The better of the two Lakewood layouts, and once the most challenging in town, the South 9 has kind of taken a back seat to the new mostly wooded 18 holer up at Thomas. Still this course will provide for a nice "park golf" experience and complments the North course well. Worth a stop if you're in town and just want to get some holes in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lakewood Park South

1    6/27/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: one19
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice setting, with many mature trees and much vegetation. Bordered by a "nature preserve" that is kept thick and natural. . Very isolated with an "away-from-it-all" feel. Challenging in length & layout, as well as terrain, with out-of-bounds disasters just a flick of the wrist away. Signage at each hole
Cons: Throwing across road. Errant or short throws can result in concrete roadway landings. Having to cross road and hop over steel cables to access holes.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an above-average course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice and good variety

7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great design utilizing all available land and trees. Some signature holes, like a 550' with water in woods on right, park road on left and trees in middle forming a fairway. Great tee signs showing picture of the hole and lengths. Not much, if any, rough stuff.
Cons: Can be very windy (Pro?). Have to drive to play the other 9 holes, or walk a long way.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.