Oil City, PA 
Oil City DGC Share
Uploaded By: Slicktm Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not Quite Gold, but Still as Good as Black Gold

1    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a very nice, big, and picturesque park with amenities and other activities. This is a great park to bring your kids to with baseball and soccer fields, a pool, and multiple playgrounds. It is very well maintained as far as manicured grass and tees. I was pleasantly surprised to find a park of this quality here, not really near other quality courses
-Tremendous variety of holes throughout the course. The course transitions from wooded to open to wooded to open multiple times. Multiple chances to bomb some discs, as well as many tight and technical holes. Some very unique holes at this course
-The front 9 loop back to the parking lot and you enter through the same section of woods for holes 1 and 10, allowing for a break in your round.
-Rubber tee pads that are strategically located, very comfortable, and safely dug into the ground
-Two pin positions per hole, greatly changing the dynamic for most holes. Some fun pin positions with risk/reward putting
-Great navigation - this course probably has the most 'next tee' signs and of all the courses I've played
-New looking tee signs that show you where the next tee is
Cons: -Multiple holes play through highly trafficked parts of the park and can be affected by other park goers. This is especially true on 7-9 and 16 (see other thoughts)
-Most holes have a specific line to throw through, instead of a varying shot selection off the tee
-Although the tees were very nice, they were 2 or 3 feet too short for my liking. They do not allow for much of a run up as I had to start in the grass behind the tee on several of the holes.
-Oil City is a small town, there is not much in the surrounding area. It's a hike from any other quality course, so it's tough to add it to a day trip of playing multiple courses. I'd suggest playing this one twice through instead
-Some blind shots and chances to lose discs in the rough, but only on a few holes
-A lot of the pins are tough to see from the tee because the tees are purely colored silver, making them hard to spot in the sun or in the woods
-Only one tee per hole
-There are a few shaky places to navigate through to get to the next hole, some very steep and tight paths
-Some holes have extreme slopes off the fairways, making it a pain to retrieve discs from errant throws
Other Thoughts: This course is a prime example of one that, while the designers did a great job designing the course given the park's layout, is definitely affected by the park. By that, I mean that certain holes are forced to be a certain way due to some restrictions given by the park's layout. Again, the designers did a tremendous job, but this course is certainly one that you're often aware that you are in a public park. The best courses IMO are ones that cause you to forget where you are and have a complete course feel to it, not being disrupted by other park settings or activities. This was the greatest detractor of this course for me - if some of the holes on this course were located in a more secure area, I would bump its rating to a 4. I still had a very enjoyable round on this quality course with great hole variety.

Some holes worth special mention:
2- Extreme anhyzer with a good risk of landing in the rough if you don't throw hard enough or if your disc turns over too much. Definitely one of those "you just gotta go for it" holes
4-Starts out in the woods on a steep slope with a distinct line, the pin is on a beautiful green in the open
6-Plays short, but uphill and the pin rests on an extreme slope. If your disc doesn't land flat, it will roll up to 50 feet down the hill
7-Very cool pin position, throwing an upshot over a stream and onto a small plateau where the green is located
13- Starts out with a big opening and plays through a tight trail in the woods
15- A chance to really bomb it, but not without navigating through some obstacles, hole is 6-700 feet depending on the pin position
18- Par 5 in the woods with some tight turns

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Middle of NOwhere course

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of elevation changes and long and shorter holes. Has multiple pin positions. Great signage to direct you to the next hole. Great mix of woods holes and some out in the open where you can rip it.
Cons: Some of the signs were down (replaced with paper ones) . Very long walks in between holes.
Other Thoughts: This is just in the middle of nowhere with no other great courses near it. It is worth a short roadtrip but I think mainly it is great only if you live within 30 min of the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hidden gem

1    3/15/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Fantastic balance of shots, long short straight right left uphill downhill tight open. This may be the most balanced course I have ever played.
2) The people who made this course have put in a lot of man hours. Lots of old dead trees removed, small brush junk taken out, etc... Every hole looks like people really cared to put in the time to make a top notch spot.
3) Flypads that are level. I love flypads, and I especially love when folks take the time to make each and every one of them as level as possible. This included a lot of digging in some parts.
4) Great use of space. The front nine particularly travels through some great older parts of this park and really makes use of land in ways that sets up scenic throws.
Cons: The only real one I can think of is the repetition of tunneling holes on the back nine can be a bit abusive to those who aren't great at throwing it accurately. It is just a subtle thing that can beat up those newer to the sport.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome and really a neat hidden gem in a part of the state less frequented by disc golfers. It makes for a nice day trip

Hole 1: Nice opening hole. Teepad is surrounded by mountain laurel, throw goes out straight or right to a protected pin.

Hole 2: Beautiful big right turn over the creek. Pin sits on a nice land peninsula that makes for a more challenging green.

Hole 3: Straight down hill through old growth trees with a final hook left. Both pins are along a drop off to a creek.

Hole 4: This is a neat hole. It is a long, somewhat narrow tunnel then a big opening to the left. Really hit a big accurate drive here and you are on some birdie chances.

Hole 5: This is a nice shorter shot either straight into a hill side or right turn across a small creek. Road OB on the right.

Hole 6: This is one of the craziest holes I have seen. Big uphill sharp right turn. The fairway and pin play along a steep hillside to the right. If you are RHBH and throw traditionally at this, you better peg the pin or your roll away will be 40 feet below you. Better figure out how to match the flight plate to the angle of the hill for the landing.

Hole 7: This is a monster of a par 3 especially in the B pin. Nice straight shot through the old growth trees.

Hole 8: Two lanes here, one right one left through the old growth trees. Long par 3

Hole 9: This is a long straight throw to an opening tunnel through some mountain laurels to a protected pin. We saw the arrow on the tree and took it to mean the tree was a mando. Throwing through the path cut in the mountain laurel is pretty cool.

Hole 10: You have to go back over near where hole 1 was. This is slight left tunnel. If you pass out of the tunnel to the left side you will find a challenging upshot from the thick laurels.

Hole 11: This is another tunnel shot, with a bit of an awkward tee that appears pointed at a big old (probably dead) tree. It takes some skill to drive the tunnel by passing the tree on the right and still get the disc into a birdie spot.

Hole 12: This is another tunnel shot, a touch longer though. If you can sneak the disc by the guarding tree on the left side of the tunnel, you should be in a good spot.

Hole 13: This is a neat wide open front end that necks into a tunnel toward the end. Once in the tunnel, you are looking to make a sharp right to some protected pin placements hidden amongst the trees.

Hole 14: This is a slightly wider tunnel shot that bends right. This hole is fairly long, requiring two longer control shots. By this point the tunnelling had become a bit repetitive, but this is just how the land appears to go.

Hole 15: Hey you made it out of the woods. This hole is a beast of an uphill par 5 through some old growth trees. The basket looks like it is a mile away, especially in the B pin. But there is enough space to really hammer on some drivers here, which is refreshing given all the really accurate shots you just got done throwing.

Hole 16: This is a more traditional length par 3, kind of a wide space. If the pin is in B though you are going to need to negotiate a tight corridor to get access placing more emphasis on the landing of the opening drive.

Hole 17: This is great use of land. It is a lazy left turn through the old growth trees, but the road gets closer and closer to the pin toward the end from the right, and a hillside preventing flight to the left. Neat shots the whole way.

Hole 18: This is a downhill really sharp left turn. Much sharper than it appears from the teepad. Again there was an arrow on the tree we thought was a mando. If you can stay in the fairway you should be in a nice chance to score. Venture off the beaten path and get ready for recovery time.

This was a great course is a nice little community in western PA. I will be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Young Course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I understand that this course is about a year old. As such, and having played with a guy who has multiple rounds here, I appreciate how much work has been done.

The next tees are generally easy to find. The layout has a good variety, with some tight holes and some wider open, with one hole in particular being quite wide open near a pool and DEK hockey court.

The nines loop around pretty well so you can park at the entrance and be nearby when you finish 9, 18, 27, etc.

The park seems to be under-utilized by children, families, etc. Why a "pro"? Because on the bright side you'll probably be out there by yourself.

Solid, and I mean solid, Titan baskets. These things are sturdy.

Multiple pin positions are nice. I'm not sure if they have any way of indicating where the pin is, though.

GREAT use of terrain. Many holes play along a slope or ravine that you do NOT want to mess with!

Course has a great flow. The holes offer variety and fit nicely together, requiring lots of shots in your bag.
Cons: Some of the baskets are tough to spot in the shadows. A fresh set of hunter orange paint or tape or something would make them more visible.

Local hooligans have left a lot of broken glass lying about. They'd bent one or two of the tee signs, too.
Other Thoughts: The roads aren't marked as OB but probably are. Same goes for a stream which wanders throughout the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout but needs work

1    7/20/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 111  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, nice mix of open and tight wooded holes with lots of elevation changes. Adequate signage and most tee boxes in good condition. Nice baskets with multiple pin positions. Some pin positions present serious risk/reward choices!
Cons: The course needs steps and level paths along fairways that are on the sides of ravines.
Course maintenance/bad neighbors - my dad and decided that Hasson is a Delaware Indian word that means "path strewn with broken glass." I mean everywhere, especially on the wooded holes. Not pleasant to navigate while wearing Vibram FiveFingers (as I was).
Other Thoughts: The course is only a year old so there is plenty of time to improve it and it will wear in. I like the layout and the terrain, it just needs to be landscaped a bit to allow non-billy-goats to navigate it safely. Add those steps (and put a pin placement indicator on the tee signs) and it would get at least another half-disc added to the rating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hey, where's the oil?

1    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with Titan baskets and multiple pin placements and single rubber tees with tee signs. Nice elevation and terrain for disc golf. Navigation was decent.
Cons: No basket position indication. Some weird course flow and long mostly uphill walks. Plays a bit close to some other park activities in a few places especially hole 16 which seems more like a filler hole behind the pool and baseball field and not really park of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: There are some interesting and good holes here, but I felt like it could be way better. With all the hiking uphill it felt like drilling for oil but never finding it. There is a ton of elevation here but the way it is used is mediocre. You walk up some crazy hills which really builds an anticipation to play back down, you play a few uphill shots and then basically play flat the whole course except for hole 4 and 18. Hole 4 was a decent technical downhill shot. When I finally got to hole 18 I was ready to unleash a monster downhill bomb since I'd hiked all this elevation, but the hole curves too hard to throw a golf shot, I basically pitched a putter down to a landing zone and then played back uphill. Where's all the downhill holes? Or as the Hostess Shark says, "Hey, where's the cream filling!"

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course !!

1    7/2/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: psullivan9854
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Requires all your shots... hyzer, anny, low tunnel shots and some bombers also. Wished I had an overhand for a couple of the tee shots. Good signage to keep you on track. Keeps you away from most of the other parkgoers. Nice teepads.

Can't wait to go back the next time I'm in the area.
Cons: As always, I think evry hole should have something to sit on even if its just an 8 ft log. A little tough to find the park up on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: Nice butterfly loops that get you back to your car after hole 9 and 18. Public restrooms and plenty of picinic areas. Pool and playgrounds for the kids.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NW PA's Hottest Young Course!

1    6/25/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some of the best flypad tees I've stepped off in quite some time. They're very nice and grippy--even during a dewy morning round.
- Signage is excellent; both in terms of the signage next to the tees and to navigate you between them. You'll notice the tall signs with the orange markers to show you where the next tee is. Almost impossible to get lost here. There's a nice map and info at the kiosk.
- Love the Gateway Titan baskets. Wish more courses used them.

Now on to the course itself:

- Brilliant shot variety. Elevation definitely plays a factor, and I'd have to say that there's an almost even balance between uphill, downhill, and level shots. Even on straight, level shots, the course uses its trees, the creek, the road, and (most definitely) mountain laurel to make you think about your shots.
- Holes #2, 4, and 18 come to mind as really excellent downhill shots that require both accurate anyhyzer and hyzer angles to navigate the trees. Holes #3, 5, 6 are nice uphill shots. #6 is straight up the hill and definitely has that potential to roll back down the hill with an errant shot.
- Back nine tends to have less elevation changes, but is more wooded, technical, and longer. Front nine has more elevation changes, but the holes are a little more open and a little shorter. To get to the front nine, you go to the left of the kiosk; go right for the back nine.
- Course does a really good job of avoiding the parkgoers and being secluded from the business of the park. There is one exception, however in the cons.
- Almost all holes are memorable. I'll let you read the other reviews on each hole. The only holes that are "eh" in my opinion are #1, 9, and 11, as they're not very long and don't reward skillful shots.
- Course ends well on the 18th hole. You have to throw down a pretty steep grade and find a narrow path to hold your line. Throw too far and you're on the road OB; throw too short and you'll hit a ton of trees. Very challenging and good way to end the course.
Cons: - I'm kind of skeptical on some of the par 5's. The only true one, IMO, is hole 15. The par 4's seem pretty accurate though.
- Little too switchbacky for my taste on the front nine. You have to cross paths often, like between 3 and 4 and between 7 and 8 to get to the tees. This isn't much of an issue on the back nine.
- Uneven terrain requires good shoes. You'll definitely appreciate them on hole #2, #6, and on many of the back nine ones.
- No real risk/reward putting holes. By this, I mean that despite having elevation, there's no holes in which you can go from birdie to bogie by making a bad approach or putt. #6 might be the exception to this rule.
- One hole gets in the way of a soccer field, I believe it's #16. I had to wait for the kids to run down to the other goal before I could drive off the tee.
- Otherwise I'm having a hard time finding faults with this course. I can't stress enough how enjoyable my round was.
Other Thoughts: Man, this course is on fire! And not because the oil is burning. I played here expecting an average course with a lot of "new course" issues (insufficient signage, excessive underbrush, no defined paths, unkept fairways, etc.) and I was treated with a quality course that's worthy of at least 4 discs. Clearly the designers put a lot of attention to detail and thought on the layout of each hole--not to mention the course in general. Sure, it could use a little more breaking-in, but it certainly on its way.

When I played the first nine holes, I just carried a few discs with me. When I got back to my car in between 9-10, I realized I was going to need a full bag. Simply put, this course is going to test your skills and require a lot of shots from your bag. Don't underestimate this quaint city park!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Tournament Worthy

1    9/3/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: WillGrrr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-conceived course established by thinking golfers in a beautiful old park. It is brand new, and the recent ratings alone offer congratulations to the team that developed it, as it appears to be the only modern, serious golfing location for miles around.

The effort put into the course really shows, and it is a must-play if you're a disc golfer vacationing in a neck of the woods in NW PA that is well-known for it's affordable outdoor recreation.

As stated, bring your approach game. There's lots of shaping to practice on this challenging--and quite the hike!--of a course.

They have new, nice rubber tee pads They have multiple pin placements. From what I could see, they were in their long positions when I played.
Cons: They are clearly working on the signage and the landscaping, and one only expects that to improve; no bad marks for that. Just picking up a scorecard was awesome.

As the course winds through an old, terrific, and somewhat rundown municipal park, it follows too closely to the road and some still-used pathways and swing sets. #7 thru #9 are notable this way, so watch out for the civilians and check your drives through there.

Wear your real golfing shoes, because the water and some muck definitely come into play.
Other Thoughts: The park is not that easy to find, being very much up the slope from the center of a classic American town that is trying to revive. It was built when money was available for that kind of thing, and it's a park that seems still to be well-watched over. It's clean, with plenty of elevation change and a very nicely maintained landscape.

There are working water fountains at the start and turn, as well as restrooms--both big pluses to me.

I'm used to wooded courses by now, and the strokes they can add to your game on an off day. The birdies are out there because the course doesn't play very long (for one with a pair of two par 5's), but you need a good touch to be looking at par.

I could say more on behalf of the folks who put this together, but the bottom line is: Play it.
It's worth the drive that'll be out your way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: bigdogtoo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New cousre, has tee pads, and baskets at all 18 holes. Challenging, does require all your shots.
Cons: No hole signs showing basket positions.
Some holes basket over protected vegetation.
Some tee pads are too low allowing for flooding and standing mud. 5, 6 for sure.
The bridges crossing the creeks are a safety hazard they need to be anti-slip protected.
Other Thoughts: Measurements of some holes are way off.
The map on the scorecard was nice touch on the next printing could you add a T to show the tee.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.