Oil City, PA 
Oil City DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fleshgordon Hole #6
4 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Quite Gold, but Still as Good as Black Gold

1    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 72  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a very nice, big, and picturesque park with amenities and other activities. This is a great park to bring your kids to with baseball and soccer fields, a pool, and multiple playgrounds. It is very well maintained as far as manicured grass and tees. I was pleasantly surprised to find a park of this quality here, not really near other quality courses
-Tremendous variety of holes throughout the course. The course transitions from wooded to open to wooded to open multiple times. Multiple chances to bomb some discs, as well as many tight and technical holes. Some very unique holes at this course
-The front 9 loop back to the parking lot and you enter through the same section of woods for holes 1 and 10, allowing for a break in your round.
-Rubber tee pads that are strategically located, very comfortable, and safely dug into the ground
-Two pin positions per hole, greatly changing the dynamic for most holes. Some fun pin positions with risk/reward putting
-Great navigation - this course probably has the most 'next tee' signs and of all the courses I've played
-New looking tee signs that show you where the next tee is
Cons: -Multiple holes play through highly trafficked parts of the park and can be affected by other park goers. This is especially true on 7-9 and 16 (see other thoughts)
-Most holes have a specific line to throw through, instead of a varying shot selection off the tee
-Although the tees were very nice, they were 2 or 3 feet too short for my liking. They do not allow for much of a run up as I had to start in the grass behind the tee on several of the holes.
-Oil City is a small town, there is not much in the surrounding area. It's a hike from any other quality course, so it's tough to add it to a day trip of playing multiple courses. I'd suggest playing this one twice through instead
-Some blind shots and chances to lose discs in the rough, but only on a few holes
-A lot of the pins are tough to see from the tee because the tees are purely colored silver, making them hard to spot in the sun or in the woods
-Only one tee per hole
-There are a few shaky places to navigate through to get to the next hole, some very steep and tight paths
-Some holes have extreme slopes off the fairways, making it a pain to retrieve discs from errant throws
Other Thoughts: This course is a prime example of one that, while the designers did a great job designing the course given the park's layout, is definitely affected by the park. By that, I mean that certain holes are forced to be a certain way due to some restrictions given by the park's layout. Again, the designers did a tremendous job, but this course is certainly one that you're often aware that you are in a public park. The best courses IMO are ones that cause you to forget where you are and have a complete course feel to it, not being disrupted by other park settings or activities. This was the greatest detractor of this course for me - if some of the holes on this course were located in a more secure area, I would bump its rating to a 4. I still had a very enjoyable round on this quality course with great hole variety.

Some holes worth special mention:
2- Extreme anhyzer with a good risk of landing in the rough if you don't throw hard enough or if your disc turns over too much. Definitely one of those "you just gotta go for it" holes
4-Starts out in the woods on a steep slope with a distinct line, the pin is on a beautiful green in the open
6-Plays short, but uphill and the pin rests on an extreme slope. If your disc doesn't land flat, it will roll up to 50 feet down the hill
7-Very cool pin position, throwing an upshot over a stream and onto a small plateau where the green is located
13- Starts out with a big opening and plays through a tight trail in the woods
15- A chance to really bomb it, but not without navigating through some obstacles, hole is 6-700 feet depending on the pin position
18- Par 5 in the woods with some tight turns

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Middle of NOwhere course

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of elevation changes and long and shorter holes. Has multiple pin positions. Great signage to direct you to the next hole. Great mix of woods holes and some out in the open where you can rip it.
Cons: Some of the signs were down (replaced with paper ones) . Very long walks in between holes.
Other Thoughts: This is just in the middle of nowhere with no other great courses near it. It is worth a short roadtrip but I think mainly it is great only if you live within 30 min of the course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Young Course

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I understand that this course is about a year old. As such, and having played with a guy who has multiple rounds here, I appreciate how much work has been done.

The next tees are generally easy to find. The layout has a good variety, with some tight holes and some wider open, with one hole in particular being quite wide open near a pool and DEK hockey court.

The nines loop around pretty well so you can park at the entrance and be nearby when you finish 9, 18, 27, etc.

The park seems to be under-utilized by children, families, etc. Why a "pro"? Because on the bright side you'll probably be out there by yourself.

Solid, and I mean solid, Titan baskets. These things are sturdy.

Multiple pin positions are nice. I'm not sure if they have any way of indicating where the pin is, though.

GREAT use of terrain. Many holes play along a slope or ravine that you do NOT want to mess with!

Course has a great flow. The holes offer variety and fit nicely together, requiring lots of shots in your bag.
Cons: Some of the baskets are tough to spot in the shadows. A fresh set of hunter orange paint or tape or something would make them more visible.

Local hooligans have left a lot of broken glass lying about. They'd bent one or two of the tee signs, too.
Other Thoughts: The roads aren't marked as OB but probably are. Same goes for a stream which wanders throughout the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hey, where's the oil?

1    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes with Titan baskets and multiple pin placements and single rubber tees with tee signs. Nice elevation and terrain for disc golf. Navigation was decent.
Cons: No basket position indication. Some weird course flow and long mostly uphill walks. Plays a bit close to some other park activities in a few places especially hole 16 which seems more like a filler hole behind the pool and baseball field and not really park of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: There are some interesting and good holes here, but I felt like it could be way better. With all the hiking uphill it felt like drilling for oil but never finding it. There is a ton of elevation here but the way it is used is mediocre. You walk up some crazy hills which really builds an anticipation to play back down, you play a few uphill shots and then basically play flat the whole course except for hole 4 and 18. Hole 4 was a decent technical downhill shot. When I finally got to hole 18 I was ready to unleash a monster downhill bomb since I'd hiked all this elevation, but the hole curves too hard to throw a golf shot, I basically pitched a putter down to a landing zone and then played back uphill. Where's all the downhill holes? Or as the Hostess Shark says, "Hey, where's the cream filling!"

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course !!

1    7/2/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: psullivan9854
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Requires all your shots... hyzer, anny, low tunnel shots and some bombers also. Wished I had an overhand for a couple of the tee shots. Good signage to keep you on track. Keeps you away from most of the other parkgoers. Nice teepads.

Can't wait to go back the next time I'm in the area.
Cons: As always, I think evry hole should have something to sit on even if its just an 8 ft log. A little tough to find the park up on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: Nice butterfly loops that get you back to your car after hole 9 and 18. Public restrooms and plenty of picinic areas. Pool and playgrounds for the kids.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Tournament Worthy

1    9/3/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: WillGrrr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-conceived course established by thinking golfers in a beautiful old park. It is brand new, and the recent ratings alone offer congratulations to the team that developed it, as it appears to be the only modern, serious golfing location for miles around.

The effort put into the course really shows, and it is a must-play if you're a disc golfer vacationing in a neck of the woods in NW PA that is well-known for it's affordable outdoor recreation.

As stated, bring your approach game. There's lots of shaping to practice on this challenging--and quite the hike!--of a course.

They have new, nice rubber tee pads They have multiple pin placements. From what I could see, they were in their long positions when I played.
Cons: They are clearly working on the signage and the landscaping, and one only expects that to improve; no bad marks for that. Just picking up a scorecard was awesome.

As the course winds through an old, terrific, and somewhat rundown municipal park, it follows too closely to the road and some still-used pathways and swing sets. #7 thru #9 are notable this way, so watch out for the civilians and check your drives through there.

Wear your real golfing shoes, because the water and some muck definitely come into play.
Other Thoughts: The park is not that easy to find, being very much up the slope from the center of a classic American town that is trying to revive. It was built when money was available for that kind of thing, and it's a park that seems still to be well-watched over. It's clean, with plenty of elevation change and a very nicely maintained landscape.

There are working water fountains at the start and turn, as well as restrooms--both big pluses to me.

I'm used to wooded courses by now, and the strokes they can add to your game on an off day. The birdies are out there because the course doesn't play very long (for one with a pair of two par 5's), but you need a good touch to be looking at par.

I could say more on behalf of the folks who put this together, but the bottom line is: Play it.
It's worth the drive that'll be out your way.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This will be great when complete!

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For being opened so recently this has a great start!

I drove down from Erie with my pops to play and we were pleasantly surprised. The challenge factor is great and adding the elevation changes it's a fun "hiking-course" too.

To play this course well, you do really have to have every one of your shots down. Backhand, forehand, hyzer, anhyzer, s-curve... you will use all of them if you play it right, even a tomahawk on number 9.

I could tell where the alternate pins are and mixing them up regularly will provide a great combination of challenge and easy-fun.

The hole-to-hole signage is close to top-notch.
Cons: The lack of hole-signage is a huge one. It's impossible on some tees to see the pin at all.

The between-holes signage only lacked a couple of times. I got turned around after 5 and walking across the 3 roads to 15.

Other Thoughts: I love the use of the land and the need to use all of my shots!

I see that the other reviews say that signage is coming and that fact alone will take it up another half-point in my book, but I'm rating it as I played it... if I get a chance to replay it I'll alter my rating accordingly.

Hole 6 is just mean... but that's not really a con, just a whine. I'm excited about how many good courses have been installed in Western PA in the past few years! (Someone get on doing something in Erie.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: rgusto
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of terrain and hole types in a mature park setting. Requires some thought on each hole as there are multiple ways to play them. Good tees and basket placements. Will mature into a challenging but playable course with increased play and maintenance.
Cons: Very new and still being groomed. Could use some beginners tees on a few holes, so as not to scare away younger players.
Other Thoughts: This is a very new course but has been well designed and implemented. I Like the variety of hole types, and I feel like I could never play each hole exactly the same way. I think that will keep me coming back to this one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.