Oil City, PA 
Oil City DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fleshgordon Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 504ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 NW PA's Hottest Young Course!

1    6/25/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some of the best flypad tees I've stepped off in quite some time. They're very nice and grippy--even during a dewy morning round.
- Signage is excellent; both in terms of the signage next to the tees and to navigate you between them. You'll notice the tall signs with the orange markers to show you where the next tee is. Almost impossible to get lost here. There's a nice map and info at the kiosk.
- Love the Gateway Titan baskets. Wish more courses used them.

Now on to the course itself:

- Brilliant shot variety. Elevation definitely plays a factor, and I'd have to say that there's an almost even balance between uphill, downhill, and level shots. Even on straight, level shots, the course uses its trees, the creek, the road, and (most definitely) mountain laurel to make you think about your shots.
- Holes #2, 4, and 18 come to mind as really excellent downhill shots that require both accurate anyhyzer and hyzer angles to navigate the trees. Holes #3, 5, 6 are nice uphill shots. #6 is straight up the hill and definitely has that potential to roll back down the hill with an errant shot.
- Back nine tends to have less elevation changes, but is more wooded, technical, and longer. Front nine has more elevation changes, but the holes are a little more open and a little shorter. To get to the front nine, you go to the left of the kiosk; go right for the back nine.
- Course does a really good job of avoiding the parkgoers and being secluded from the business of the park. There is one exception, however in the cons.
- Almost all holes are memorable. I'll let you read the other reviews on each hole. The only holes that are "eh" in my opinion are #1, 9, and 11, as they're not very long and don't reward skillful shots.
- Course ends well on the 18th hole. You have to throw down a pretty steep grade and find a narrow path to hold your line. Throw too far and you're on the road OB; throw too short and you'll hit a ton of trees. Very challenging and good way to end the course.
Cons: - I'm kind of skeptical on some of the par 5's. The only true one, IMO, is hole 15. The par 4's seem pretty accurate though.
- Little too switchbacky for my taste on the front nine. You have to cross paths often, like between 3 and 4 and between 7 and 8 to get to the tees. This isn't much of an issue on the back nine.
- Uneven terrain requires good shoes. You'll definitely appreciate them on hole #2, #6, and on many of the back nine ones.
- No real risk/reward putting holes. By this, I mean that despite having elevation, there's no holes in which you can go from birdie to bogie by making a bad approach or putt. #6 might be the exception to this rule.
- One hole gets in the way of a soccer field, I believe it's #16. I had to wait for the kids to run down to the other goal before I could drive off the tee.
- Otherwise I'm having a hard time finding faults with this course. I can't stress enough how enjoyable my round was.
Other Thoughts: Man, this course is on fire! And not because the oil is burning. I played here expecting an average course with a lot of "new course" issues (insufficient signage, excessive underbrush, no defined paths, unkept fairways, etc.) and I was treated with a quality course that's worthy of at least 4 discs. Clearly the designers put a lot of attention to detail and thought on the layout of each hole--not to mention the course in general. Sure, it could use a little more breaking-in, but it certainly on its way.

When I played the first nine holes, I just carried a few discs with me. When I got back to my car in between 9-10, I realized I was going to need a full bag. Simply put, this course is going to test your skills and require a lot of shots from your bag. Don't underestimate this quaint city park!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Young course with great potential!

2-4    7/9/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall this is a great course in the works. The front 9 is set in laurel throughout the park while the back 9 is more of tunnel shots through the woods. A great mix of shots are needed to navigate this course. Some of the holes that are memorable are hole 2, hole 9, hole 18. There is a nice mix of par 3's, par 4's, and par 5's. Navigation signs from hole to hole are now in place and the baskets are top notch. There is one teebox per hole with the basket able to be moved between two different spots. Overall another great course in Western PA.
Cons: The main con right now is the lack of signs at each hole stating the distance and par. I know these will be installed in the future so no biggy. Also some of the holes are between pars. I know for sure hole 15 in the short position is a par 4 but in the long position is a par 5. Also some of the other holes are easy in the short position but once moved to the long position will play a lot more true par. Some of the under brush and brush in general still could be groomed.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. I enjoyed playing it and will go back. There is still some work to be done but once all this is done this course will be a 4.5 or 5. Another great course in Western PA.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A great course

2-4    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: ScottyG
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: Great rubber tee pads, nice navagation signs, and very well kept grounds. Good mix of long open shots and tight shots. Excellent use of terrain for a course.take your time and enjoy the park.
Cons: Cons: Not many cons I can think of but one would be allthough most areas are well maintained, some places could use some clearing of brush. Hole 2 in particular which has an abundance of disc eating undergrowth
and shurbs to deal with .
Other Thoughts: The course and ciity are great, if your not from the area its a great weekend getaway. I can't imagine anyone not liking this course. It should appeal to beginners and seasoned players as well. Enjoy!


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DGC in my backyard!

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Slicktm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of holes. Some are small and have lots of trees to contend with others are long and fairly wide open. There are many problems to solve and think through before you throw. Over all a great course to hone your disc golf skills.

Cons: Pretty technical at points and there are a lot of slopes and hills to contend with. Also bring your legs for walking because its a hike to complete all 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and is only going to get better once more people are playing. The signs are being placed soon this fall and hopefully new tee blocks will be installed for beginner options on a few of the tougher holes.

Hole number 2 goes across a small valley that has quite a bit of under brush that is being taken care of that you have to be mindful about. After you throw, follow the path across the Bridge to get to the other side of the ravine.

Hole #4 follows the Ridge then cuts left to the opening and the basket is in the back of the open space. its Difficult the first couple of times but then it flow quite nicely.

#6 is up the hill to the right. be careful you dont roll down the hill into the stream.

#7 is up the hill to the left and #8 is parallel in the same direction so that you never throw in the direction of the picnic pavilion.

#9 at the tee you will be looking at a grove of laurel....the basket is on the other side of it to the right.

#10 is close to number #1 and follows the road

#11 is up a goat path to the top of the hill. Make sure you do not throw over the chain link fence into the cemetery.

#12 is straight with the basket a little to the left.

#13 is back by 11 but facing the opposite way. Stay away from the large not weed on the right about 60-70 feet from the tee. Its messy in there. The basket is down to the right about 40 ft.

#14 is down the sidewalk (yes there is a side walk in the middle of the woods) and to your left. When Throwing watch for the ravine from wash out in front of you that cuts perpendicular to the fairway. I did not see it the first time. The basket is on the ridge to the left.

#15 is down the path and across the 3 way intersection. Its a long hole with the first pin placement to the right of the long area with the ridge to the right. Watch the ditch to your far left.

#16 is up the stairs by the 1st basket placement.

#17 is down the stairs and dogs to the left.

#18 is across the road and dogs at a 90 deg. to the left and then back up the hill to the left. its basically in the shape of a backwards J

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.