Oil City, PA 
Oil City DGC Share
Uploaded By: Fleshgordon Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Really!

2-4    9/1/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: caston59
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The only pro I have for this course is it is only eight miles from my home.
Cons: Insufficient signage. There are some directional signs here and there, but adding some numbers to them would be better. Also there are tall posts at each tee, but no numbers on them to identify them. Lastly holes 4 & 6 are going to leave someone with a serious injury, because of the extreme grade on which you are expected to make a throw.
Other Thoughts: Made up my own scorecard based on footage and pars listed on this website only to find printed scorecards at the course. The footage and pars did not match though. The footage increased by 261 total feet, but the par decreased from 68 to 63. Hole number 15 is listed as a par 5 with a footage of 472. The basket had been moved an additional 150 feet from where it was when we played earlier. Can someone please verify which scorecard is to be used.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This will be great when complete!

1    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For being opened so recently this has a great start!

I drove down from Erie with my pops to play and we were pleasantly surprised. The challenge factor is great and adding the elevation changes it's a fun "hiking-course" too.

To play this course well, you do really have to have every one of your shots down. Backhand, forehand, hyzer, anhyzer, s-curve... you will use all of them if you play it right, even a tomahawk on number 9.

I could tell where the alternate pins are and mixing them up regularly will provide a great combination of challenge and easy-fun.

The hole-to-hole signage is close to top-notch.
Cons: The lack of hole-signage is a huge one. It's impossible on some tees to see the pin at all.

The between-holes signage only lacked a couple of times. I got turned around after 5 and walking across the 3 roads to 15.

Other Thoughts: I love the use of the land and the need to use all of my shots!

I see that the other reviews say that signage is coming and that fact alone will take it up another half-point in my book, but I'm rating it as I played it... if I get a chance to replay it I'll alter my rating accordingly.

Hole 6 is just mean... but that's not really a con, just a whine. I'm excited about how many good courses have been installed in Western PA in the past few years! (Someone get on doing something in Erie.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Young course with great potential!

2-4    7/9/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall this is a great course in the works. The front 9 is set in laurel throughout the park while the back 9 is more of tunnel shots through the woods. A great mix of shots are needed to navigate this course. Some of the holes that are memorable are hole 2, hole 9, hole 18. There is a nice mix of par 3's, par 4's, and par 5's. Navigation signs from hole to hole are now in place and the baskets are top notch. There is one teebox per hole with the basket able to be moved between two different spots. Overall another great course in Western PA.
Cons: The main con right now is the lack of signs at each hole stating the distance and par. I know these will be installed in the future so no biggy. Also some of the holes are between pars. I know for sure hole 15 in the short position is a par 4 but in the long position is a par 5. Also some of the other holes are easy in the short position but once moved to the long position will play a lot more true par. Some of the under brush and brush in general still could be groomed.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. I enjoyed playing it and will go back. There is still some work to be done but once all this is done this course will be a 4.5 or 5. Another great course in Western PA.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellence in the Making

1    7/6/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed and tremendous job of using the terrain provided.
Unique placements of pins
Great mix of technical and tight with open and power.
The Gateway baskets are amazing! I love the three tier catching system.
Cons: Not too many. The course is not complete. Landscaping is a must. Especially on hole 5. Me and my partner both had drives land not 20 feet past the hole into a thicket of a bush that you would need a machete to get through.
The only other thing is that some of the pars might be off. Calling 15 a 5 in the short position is a bit of a joke in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I love the way the course progresses.
Hole 1 starts off with a short basket, but trees covering it, so you are left with the decision of an easy straight lay up or a RHBH late turnover for an ace run at it.

Hole 2 reminds me of a ball golf par 3 hole. One that doesn't have a fairway on the ground, but rather a green that you either make it on or don't. It's a fairly easy turnover hole, but beware! If you don't make it, the brush will eat your disc.

Hole 3 is the first hole where the creek comes into play and from the box it is not the easiest to see, so beware of the hidden creek that is about 2/3's the way down the fairway.

Hole 4 is one of the most unique downhill shots i've ever thrown. It's a wonderful par 4 hole that goes straight for awhile, then fades down to the left at a rapid pace and ends at a creek and hole in the woods that opens to a very large field. At the end of the field hugging the treeline on the right, is the pin.

hole 5 when I walked up the pad, I was really excited about it. It's the perfect distance for an aceable turnover RHBH for me. I threw probably about 10 feet to the left of the hole that was an absolute laser and landed just beyond the basket in a bush. Me and my partner both lost our discs to the most extreme bush I had ever seen.

Hole 6 is an incredible uphill shot that goes off the the right and is quite steep. Loved it.

Hole 7 is the beginning of the open field shots. They were refreshing after all the thickets and woods.

Hole 8 was a bit too much like 7. open field. straight. Don't hit the big trees. About the same distance.

Hole 9 is just beyond a Huge entanglement of bushes. Leaving you to decide whether or not you can clear the top of it by going straight and over or taking the safe path way down and to the left and going around it. Very interesting decision.

Hole 10 is by hole 1 and is the start of the really technical tight par 3's punishable by the massive hillside and thick but thin trees. Very fun to just launch putters and midranges down.

Holes 13 through 17 are all a lot more open with varying trees in the way.

15 is way too short in the short position, but i'm excited about playing the long some day.

holes 16 and 17 are kind of a wind down throw for drives, but then it really picks up at 18.

18 is a short downhill throw then a long dogleg left that goes through a semi narrow corridor of trees, but don't be fooled by the length of the corridor! half way down the corridor is another left turn that goes back up the hill 50-70 feet to the basket.

All in all an amazingly well designed course that just needs some clearing out for the truly thick areas.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: rgusto
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of terrain and hole types in a mature park setting. Requires some thought on each hole as there are multiple ways to play them. Good tees and basket placements. Will mature into a challenging but playable course with increased play and maintenance.
Cons: Very new and still being groomed. Could use some beginners tees on a few holes, so as not to scare away younger players.
Other Thoughts: This is a very new course but has been well designed and implemented. I Like the variety of hole types, and I feel like I could never play each hole exactly the same way. I think that will keep me coming back to this one!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A great course

2-4    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: ScottyG
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros: Great rubber tee pads, nice navagation signs, and very well kept grounds. Good mix of long open shots and tight shots. Excellent use of terrain for a course.take your time and enjoy the park.
Cons: Cons: Not many cons I can think of but one would be allthough most areas are well maintained, some places could use some clearing of brush. Hole 2 in particular which has an abundance of disc eating undergrowth
and shurbs to deal with .
Other Thoughts: The course and ciity are great, if your not from the area its a great weekend getaway. I can't imagine anyone not liking this course. It should appeal to beginners and seasoned players as well. Enjoy!


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DGC in my backyard!

5+    6/26/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Slicktm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of holes. Some are small and have lots of trees to contend with others are long and fairly wide open. There are many problems to solve and think through before you throw. Over all a great course to hone your disc golf skills.

Cons: Pretty technical at points and there are a lot of slopes and hills to contend with. Also bring your legs for walking because its a hike to complete all 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is new and is only going to get better once more people are playing. The signs are being placed soon this fall and hopefully new tee blocks will be installed for beginner options on a few of the tougher holes.

Hole number 2 goes across a small valley that has quite a bit of under brush that is being taken care of that you have to be mindful about. After you throw, follow the path across the Bridge to get to the other side of the ravine.

Hole #4 follows the Ridge then cuts left to the opening and the basket is in the back of the open space. its Difficult the first couple of times but then it flow quite nicely.

#6 is up the hill to the right. be careful you dont roll down the hill into the stream.

#7 is up the hill to the left and #8 is parallel in the same direction so that you never throw in the direction of the picnic pavilion.

#9 at the tee you will be looking at a grove of laurel....the basket is on the other side of it to the right.

#10 is close to number #1 and follows the road

#11 is up a goat path to the top of the hill. Make sure you do not throw over the chain link fence into the cemetery.

#12 is straight with the basket a little to the left.

#13 is back by 11 but facing the opposite way. Stay away from the large not weed on the right about 60-70 feet from the tee. Its messy in there. The basket is down to the right about 40 ft.

#14 is down the sidewalk (yes there is a side walk in the middle of the woods) and to your left. When Throwing watch for the ravine from wash out in front of you that cuts perpendicular to the fairway. I did not see it the first time. The basket is on the ridge to the left.

#15 is down the path and across the 3 way intersection. Its a long hole with the first pin placement to the right of the long area with the ridge to the right. Watch the ditch to your far left.

#16 is up the stairs by the 1st basket placement.

#17 is down the stairs and dogs to the left.

#18 is across the road and dogs at a 90 deg. to the left and then back up the hill to the left. its basically in the shape of a backwards J

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.