Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Nashville, TN 
Fontanel Mansion & Farm Share
Uploaded By: K_Woodcock Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Half the Course It Could Be

2-4    10/11/2012   1/12/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park offers great history gems & eatery. The front 9 is WIDE OPEN. Get ready to park a few & then throw your arm out on the rest. One hole is in a field 800ft+ pad to basket. The back 9 completely changes the character of the experience. When you're done, you might wanna play the back 9 again bc it features extreme elevation changes! One hole looks like the edge of a hang glider runway. In the fall, the course is beautiful.
Cons: In all seasons be careful not to lose your discs on the back 9. The brush & ravines will tax you on part of the course while the rest will be open, laborious, and boring. I kept saying to myself, "this course is half the course it could be." It's as if you go from throwing around in someone's yard to a 9 hole course. The sheer treachery of the back 9 is awesome.
Other Thoughts: I like warming up on holes 1-3 then playing the back 9 x 2. It's worth visiting if you like history. Check out the little town, Mansion, & gift shop. THIS COURSE HAS TONS OF POTENTIAL.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2 Courses in 18 holes

5+    6/1/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like the idea of being able to work on all aspects of your game in one round this is a good course for you. With a mix of long open bomber holes (1-8 and then 15-18) and short technical shots (9-14) you really do feel like you're playing 2 completely different courses. The course has great tee pads that only the pickest of players could complain about. Tee signs are seemingly accurate and aesthetically pleasing. Fairly easy course to navigate for the first timer as well. I've heard there is a pro shop inside the Farm but honestly I never checked so I don't know what type of equipment they sell. The big plus of this course is that with all of the other courses around town this is really the only one where you can rip some big distance. Combined with the wooded holes this is that rare course where you may actually be forced to use every disc in your bag.
Cons: The site of the wooded holes is literally on the side of the mountain meaning you have some very very steep inclines and declines which you throw and walk. This makes for some very treacherous walking/hiking.

For me the woods holes themselves leave a lot to be desired. Many of the fairways are very questionable to me in that there are not definitive lines. This makes for requiring more luck than skill to shoot well in my opinion.

The only other minor issue with the course, which is actually true for most of the nashville courses, is that it very easily gets water-logged. Not a big deal but after a heavy rain you may not want to go unless you've got some good water-proof shoes and lots of towels for your discs.
Other Thoughts: One of the great things about the nashville disc golf scene (being made better by their new disc golf club) is the number and variety of courses within 20 miles of downtown. While I am not a fan of the wooded holes the open holes are actually pretty good and I frequently would play this course when I just felt like crushing drives which you can't really do at many of the other courses. My recommendation is to just play holes 1-8 then skip to 15 and finish out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One or the Other

1    8/24/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: cardman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Nice park area with a restaurant and bar. Would not want to go in after a round, well I wouldn't mind but I don't think the other customers would like it to much.

We were the only people on the entire course which was extremely surprising considering it was a Friday afternoon.

The majority of the holes are wide open.

Has listed which holes are par 4's which makes it nice.

Grass is maintained.
Cons: Not very good signage from hole to hole. We took a picture with our phone of the map at the beginning and that sort of got us going in the right direction when we were confused.

This course is either one extreme or the other. Five of the holes are deep in the woods and on the side of a hill. With not much play the trails are not much and can make for a bit of an adventure. Thank god it had not rained or these 5 holes would be very dangerous.

You have one hole where you throw over a creek with no real landing area and no walking rocks in the creek which is not cool at all. We both threw 50' throws and laid up short of the creek to make sure we knew where our next throw was going. It was not worth loosing a disc as even a good throw was liable to hit a tree and bounce in due to no real landing area.

The other 12 holes or so are literally in a field with no obstacles what so ever. Sure you might have a tree here or a telephone pole there and thats about it. Like I said its either in the woods on the side of a hill or in an open field.

Carpet tee mats were a terrible idea.

Other Thoughts: An average course that needs some planning work. Potential is there.

Bring Climbing Gear

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2012
Pros: - Not terribly crowded, depending if there's a show later on

- Holes where you can let 'er rip, holes where you have to actually know what you're doing
Cons: - Some signage on tee pads contradicts main sign at the beginning of course (like hole #16 is marked par 4 when you get to the hole, marked par 3 at the start)

- Maps on individual signs show up to four holes at once; can get confusing.

- Signage doesn't necessarily show a "fairway", just a straight line from the tee pad to basket.

- Going from 8 to 9 is easy as long as you know to look for the port-a-johns. Going from hole 14 to 15 is very confusing, though. You have to walk back out of the woods (past the johns again) and walk down the main drive until you see the tee pad on your right.

- A good third of the tee pads have wooden borders around them - some both front and back. I can deal with the ones up front mostly, but the ones behind forced me into a non-running drive.

- There's an extra tee pad next to hole 13. It is not the tee for hole 14. The tee for hole 14 is just below the extra one.

- Hiking trail zigzags through hole 14

- Workers apparently park far down on hole 16, so if you have a good drive you need to watch for cars.

- Do I have space to write about holes 9 - 14? How much can I fit in here?...
Other Thoughts: It's pretty disheartening when you have a good drive but hit a tree somewhere down the way, and see your disc roll 70 ft straight down the hill you just climbed up.

 Unfinished Business

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 new DGA baskets in bright orange that are easy to see. Nice signs at each hole with distance and hole design.

Gift shop, restaurant, bathrooms and ice on premises. Beer allowed and sold on premises.

Lots of open holes if that's your preference.

Hole 11 is a very good, challenging uphill shot of 290'. But it is very steep and plays tough.

The few wooded holes are pretty good and challenging.
Cons: Carpet tee pads are junk and wearing already on this relatively new course. Muddy and tearing in spots. Could use an upgrade to fly pads or concrete.

Open holes are for the most part very dull. Just wide open, flat shots. Yawn.

There are several places where you are forced to throw over the road. Even on a week day there were some cars, trucks and buses that I needed to wait for before throwing.

Transition from 14 to 15 is long and strange. you just walk back through the ampitheater. Course is probably closed during concerts due to the the location of basket 8 right in the middle of where a crowd would probably be standing.

Overall design plan leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Not knowing what limitations the designer was faced with on the property while designing this course makes it difficult to be overly critical. It is a well maintained course on a cool piece of land with a bar and restaurant in site. Even if the restaurant appears to be a little too nice for me when I'm sweaty, stinky and in disc golf clothes. But you could dine and drink, and then go play. This course is Ok, but with some more use of the creek and woods it could be something special. It looks like work is being down now so maybe things will get tweaked as the course designer gets feedback and new ideas.

There are 12 holes that are mostly wide open and dull. #3 tries to make use of some trees, and #5 crosses the creek and makes you miss some trees, but overall the open holes are just flat and boring.

#14 is a gorgeous downhill bomb of 420'. it is steep and fairly tight, but fun none the less.

The climb up the fairway on 11 is tough, and 12 is also an uphill stroll so be prepared. when wet the trails and hills in the woods can get slick, so wear good shoes.

One nice option for this course would be to just use the open holes to practice, and enjoy some cold beverages. Skip the tough hike in the woods, and simply use it as a practice or fun round with drinks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What a Shame

1    3/30/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: etaylor777
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of good potential on this course. Nice layout, beautiful scenery, nice area, and most holes had risk/reward situations.
Cons: I had 2 issues with the course. The fact that it was in the middle of other venues at The Fontanel. During preparation to drive hole #6, a car drove right through the middle of the course. They were working on the stage area and had been driving all through the course. Number 2, it needed some landscaping badly. I almost lost my disc in the middle of the fairway due to the lack of mowing. The holes through the woods were grown up badly.
Other Thoughts: I'm hoping that the landscaping issues were only due to the fact that it was so early in the season, because I definitely want to go back and try it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/15/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets. Orange is a nice touch.
The area is clean, there is a Pro Shop with essentials and a lost and found, Food/Water before or after right there on the spot. Part easy and part challenging. Good Blend.
Cons: Very hot during summer, but hey this is TN.
Be prepared for some sun and a workout as well. I've seen some tough guys sit out the hill which is the only shade. Does not get much play and it's so new that trails are not cleared out yet. Losing a disc in these woods is painful. Briers, ticks, snakes, but hey this is TN and these things are at all of our best courses.
Other Thoughts: The Woods holes here on the hill have some of the steepest/hardest shots i've seen yet and they are very challenging and rewarding.
Run Down
1. easy, flat, warm up.
2. ace run-too far, in the creek.
3. needle-tough one. go right, go in the water.
4. Same as 2, different direction.
5. Under the branch, over the water, through the path, watch out for ob in road, very tough shot.
6. The ripper, just you, your disc, the wind, and 800 something feet. Perfect distance competition spot and practice.
7. hard right
8. To the woods, up through the hole, hard shot.
9-14 woods shots on Moordor-Bring it if you got it. Most don't.
15-18 Last 3 rippers with ob and tough tree line.

I get out here to learn new discs all the time. Great place for competition.
This new course is improving every time i go some shots have changed lately and the trails are looking great. New alternates in the woods are great.

With long distance flat lands like we don't have anywhere else here and a woodsy hill like no other Fontanelle adds a new piece of variety in the wonderful group of courses we have here near Nashville. Right down the road from the new Cloud 9 location and our precious Cedar Hill. Stop Hatin' on this place before we lose it. Another course nearby is better than no course nearby, right. It's somewhere different to throw. Sunday Doubles are pretty fun.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Both sides now

1    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Signage is terrific. There are scorecards in the gift shop and there is a restaurant where you can eat. The course offers a technical challenge as well as long open holes for guys with big arms. The baskets are orange and very visible. I love them.
Cons: For me, holes 9 through 14 are borderline ridiculous. But if you like technical holes with rugged terrain you might just love these holes.
Other Thoughts: 9 and 10 play around the side of a large hill and have very narrow fairways. 11 and 12 play up the side of the same hill. Again the fairway is narrow and the hill is steep. 13 plays around the side of the hill and is down a steep dropoff to the left. 14 is 420 feet down the steep side of the hill with a narrow fairway. 1 through 8 and 15 through 18 are essentially open although there are a few gaps to throw through. Hole 6 is an 885 foot monster. It wouldn't really be inconvenient to play 1 through 8 and then walk to 15 and skip the holes on the hill. That's what I'll do the next time I play it.

 Conflicting Appeal

1    7/2/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros for this course have to be split up into two groups; those who like completely open, flat holes and those who like technical elevation holes. There really is no in between. All holes have nice level carpet tee pads that are huge and large tee signs so you know where you are going. Brand new orange DGA baskets are easy to spot in the open and on the one huge downhill hole. For those who like minimal underbrush, the opening eight holes and 15-18 are for you. These holes allow for the big guns to come out with little chance of losing your disc. Besides from 3 and 5, there is no danger of getting stuck in anything (trees, bushes, creek). Once you start climbing the hill to number 9, the golf is completely different. Shorter technical holes with plenty of elevation force you to shape your shot to have any chance at birdie. Most of these holes are blind shots as well. These holes could appeal to more skilled players who can stay out of the rough. The holes that are in the floodplain have the option of having everything pulled (tee, signs & baskets) so that nothing will get damaged.
Cons: The open holes don't force anything except a long drive. Being that this portion of the course is in a flood plain, there's a solid chance these holes will be very soggy after flood waters recede and the course is reinstalled. With the wooded holes as new as they are, traversing them is very difficult. Many downed trees have not been cleared and it appeared as though a lot were purposely placed across the fairways for whatever reason. There are no trashcans or benches located anywhere on the course. The former is a big con since this is private land and keeping this course in place could depend on how clean the golfers help keep the grounds. I wrote that this course has conflicting appeal because more skilled players have to wait until the back of the course to find any challenge while beginners will have to throw their arms out before they reach the woods. The balance of the course is very odd and the flow didn't really appeal to any of the other players I talked to while there.
Other Thoughts: The wooded holes have potential and the open ones don't. With the amount of land owned by Fontanel, dual courses could be installed. One open course for beginners/non-wooded fans and one wooded course for more skilled technical players. I don't really foresee myself coming back to this course anytime soon. Unless you're dead set on playing this course, I'd recommend playing almost anything else in the Nashville area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The more I think about it, the more I don't like it

1    7/2/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: lantzsax
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The Baskets - great baskets and nice touch having the orange.
2. Location - not only is it an easy place to get to, but having the bonus of the restaurant and other amenities gives a great feel
3. Hole #3 - In my opinion the best hole on the course. There is a great tunnel that you have to shoot through to get a chance at the basket for a 3.
Cons: It needs a lot of work! Not just in the wooded holes, but half of the holes could stand to be redesigned already.
Hole #1 - Easy open hole 400ish feet, a standard 3 for most everyone.
Hole #2 - Easy open 280ish feet, easy 3 standard 2 for most.
Hole #4 - Easy open 320ish feet, easy 3
Hole #5 - Mando around tree to right and over a creek, then you are caged in by 3 large trees. 350ish feet 3 is most likely what you will get, unless you get in the bushes on the right.
Hole #6 - Pointless! I can understand having an 880 foot hole that is a par 5 of a course that has some obstacles on it, but this is wide open and as long as your disc is going forward you are fine. No risk reward, no mando's, no trees, no nothing. Most will get a 4 many will get a 5 few will get a 6.
Hole #7 - this was a decent hole. 320ish that hugged a tree row. You had to throw a decent anhyzer shot to get it into putting range for a 2.
Hole 8 - another decent hole except for the fences that you have to throw over 20 feet in front of the tee pad. 300ish feet, and should be a standard 3
Hole #9 - some sort of sign is needed to get to the tee. This is probably the best wooded hole 300ish feet. They made great use of some side hill action and they left some good trees to make it more difficult. Standard 3 but could easily see upwards of a 6 if you hit the wrong tree and roll.
Hole #10 - boring! 170ish feet? Down hillish? This seems like a hole that they just had to put in to get to the next hole. Not worth it!
Hole #11 - Now I enjoy playing some billy goat golf, but this was ridicules! 300ish feet at a ridicules up hill angle. This would be a successful 4 likely 5.
Hole #12 - This was better than 11 and what I would call a fair hilly hole. 300ish feet and a hard 3
Hole #13 - Just like hole 10. About 170ish feet and doesn't make much sense. its in a bad place, the only thing is that if you don't park it you are looking at a 3 at best.
Hole #14 - considered the signature hole, and after playing with one of the designers I found out just why it is labled 420 feet (yes he did demonstrate just what 420 means in front of my wife and new born son.) He went on to say that the hole really is not 420 feet, it's more like 408, but he really wanted a 420 hole and proceeded to laugh about it. The worst part about this hole is the fact that it crosses a walking path 3 times. The worst part is that you have no way of seeing oncoming walkers nor do they have any way of seeing you. For a signature hole they really screwed up.
Hole #15 - back out to the open and you get a standard 300ish foot hole out in the open. There is a power line pole that you have to get around, but easy to do. Easy 3
Hole #16 - considered a par 4, but when you're putting from 30 feet out for 2 not so much. There is a large tree "in the way" but easily avoidable.
Hole #17 - WIDE OPEN! 340ish and nothing to stop you or make you throw a good shot. easy 3
Hole #18 - I didn't mind this hole and would call it a legit par 4. You have to navigate through 2 rows of trees, but those trees are on either side of the drive way that they use all day so watch for the bus. good 4.
Other Thoughts: I think that Fontanel really missed the boat on this one. When I heard that the course was going in I instantly thought about the possibilities for some great tournaments to be held there, as it would make an amazing home base. What I believe is that someone went to them with the idea of a disc golf course and led them to believe that they could make a "world class" course and they didn't.
There are so many possibilities our there with the restaurant and scheduling weekly events that either start or end around eating time so people will come out and get some food (and it is good food too). There is no one on staff there that is a disc golf person as well. This would be a huge bonus for them as that person could organize events, plan weekly tournaments, and organize work crews for help with cleaning it up.
I anticipate that within the next 5 years Fontanel will realize that they screwed up and either hire someone to come in and redesign the course, or just pull it all together from lack of use.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.