Layout Extinct

Nashville, TN 
Fontanel Mansion & Farm Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Hopefully They'll Keep Working on it

1    7/2/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Biggzipp
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location close to downtown. Hey it's a new course, that's always a great thing. Nice, easy-to-see Mach baskets.
Cons: The majority of front eight holes are extremely boring. They're wide open with no challenge or obstacles. I remember three of these holes being fun, but the rest were lame. At first I was excited for the part of the course that was wooded, but it's poorly designed and pretty extreme for the average player. You continually walk straight up a hill for the majority of these holes. They are highly wooded, mostly short, and still need to be cleared out. If you're wanting to enjoy a round of DG, you will likely find this part of the course exhausting. It's definitely too extreme for "people of all ages and skill levels." There was also a live hornet's nest in the middle of one of wooded fairways, and it wouldn't have been too hard to hit it with a disc and end up getting stung-to-death (not cool!). Once the course leaves the woods again, it's back to booooring.

I can live with carpet tee pads, but concrete is better. The signs are well built, but at times the map is off and needs to be updated.

I'm hopeful that they'll keep working on this course and make it better, but I honestly think the design is flawed, and it will be hard to fix without starting over from scratch.
Other Thoughts: I really wanted this to be a great course, and I'm kind of bummed that it's not better. Fontanel seems to do everything they do really well, but the disc golf course seems to be the exception. I wish they would have poured concrete tee pads, and hired a professional designer.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/2/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played the course on opening day, they've done a lot of work and it appears they aren't finished yet. The course has orange baskets making them easy to see and nice tee signs by each pad. Many of the tees have benches and it looks like they're planning to install more. The tees were extremely large pieces of carpet and were very flat so I didn't have a problem with them. A lot of landscaping work has been done around many of the tees in the woods making them look very nice. Navigating the course is pretty easy and maps are available at the gift shop.

The wooded holes have big elevation changes on every hole and many of them require challenging, technical shots. The course starts and ends in wide open fields. The signature hole has to be hole 14, 420ft with extreme downhill.
Cons: About half the course is completely flat, wide open and boring. Many of the holes are long just for the purpose of being long. And IMHO, holes 16 & 17 are poor examples of holes. With lengths of 475 and 440 only the best golfers are going to birdie them and the other 95% will take a par, boring.

A couple of the wooded holes are so short they're just putter shots. While I liked the wooded holes, a few of them had too many trees in the fairway to call them fair.

There are some safety issues on the course I feel I should mention. Hole 5 doesn't have much of a fairway so the route is over the trees for those with the arm. The problem is that basically makes it a blind shot towards the next tee pad which can be quite dangerous since you can't see it.

Some of the elevation changes in the woods are a bit rough, but approaching 13's basket is particularly hazardous. While hole 14 is very cool, it also crosses a hiking path 2 or 3 times which doesn't seem very safe. A few of the holes in the open cross a road or walking path, but at least you should be able to see if someones coming there.

It appears the course has been changed some since the map was made so it's not completely up to date.
Other Thoughts: It's great to see a course along side so many other activities and I'm happy the Fontanel Mansion was willing to install a course. I think the problem could be the designer was trying to do too much with the course. It's described as a course for all skill levels but many of the open holes are too long for rec players and the woods are pretty tough for them. The open holes are so long and wide open they aren't fun or challenging for better players.

The course is still very new so there could be more improvements on the way, but I have to rate the course as it was when I was here on opening day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fontanel5

1    7/5/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: miller2720
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/14/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multi level multi user course. You can play the flat holes or gointo the woods and fully enjoy the diversity this course offers. The ability to go anjoy a fantastic country breakfast before the round, and a nice cold beer after will bring me back to this course over and over agin!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the hard work and layout design offered in this course. It feels like a combination of several local Nashvile courses. Barfield crescent, Hendersonville, 7 oaks, all wrapped into one very family friendly course. The flat long holes are more than they appear to be and can challenge any level player. I will play this course often. Plus remember that Disk Golf is not the only thing offered at The Fontanel. Just shot my ver first ace on hole 2 yesterday there. The course gets better every day

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice new course

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Franklindisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice and flat for the first few holes and then very challenging in the woods. Should be very good for all skill levels. Very close to downtown Nashville, but you feel like you're out in the country. Only took me 10 minutes to get there. I like what the gift shop has to offer as far as disc supplies, and on-site restaurant has great food and cold beer.
Cons: None.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new 18 hole course. The baskets are sweet highly visible orange Machs.

The course is mostly flat long wide open holes (#1-8, 15-18). The middle section (#9-14) plays in steep dense woods with very narrow fairways. The open section of the course will appeal to the long-bombers that are looking for a place to throw it far with no obstacles. The woods section will appeal to those that like extreme woods disc golf.

There are a few standard solid holes here (#3- through the gap along the creek, #5 over the creek, and #8 across the concert area) are challenging yet fair.

*Takes me more than 10 minutes to get there. ;)
Cons: The tees are carpet. They are ok for now, but chances of them becoming slippery and lumpy are probably inevitable.

The color signs are nice, but are really only the course map enlarged and zoomed in for that hole, so you don't get any detailed hole info apart from what the map already says. Also, the direction the signs face are inconsistent and in all directions. The signs are also currently paper with no lamination, so these will not last very long.

Navigation was not too hard, but some next tee signs would be helpful, especially for the transistions in and out of the woods (#9 is up the hill past the port-a-potties as soon as you enter the woods and #15 is on the far side of the stage tucked back into the hiking trailhead, just follow the road).

Most of the open holes are very boring as they are nothing more than throwing as far as you can in a wide open field. The woods holes are unnatural as they are forced into the woods on the hill. These holes are also very steep and footing is very tricky both up and down.

#14 is their supposed jaw-dropping signature hole, but it is nothing more than just a tight woods shot down a steep hill. It is fun, but nothing worth traveling long distances to come and is certainly not as advertised. It also crossed the hiking trails 3 times on the way down (I wonder how long it takes before a hiker is hit with a disc flying down the steep hill?)

There are many other safety hazards as well. Holes 11 and 13 has places where it is so steep there is absolutely no footing and is dangerous, and not suited for everybody. Hole 8 will not be possible to play if a concert is going on (I would guess the course would probably be closed during these times anyways). The road is thrown along (#5) or over (#15, 16, 18) many times and tour buses frequently are passing by on peak days.

I agree with the previous reviewer that some holes are for beginners while others are for advanced, however having both styles in one place really makes this course unappealing to all.

*Be sure to check the schedule for concerts. Tried to give this course a 2nd chance with an attempt to play on a Friday morning, but the course was closed and baskets were pulled for a concert that started at 1pm (on a Friday?). My fault for not checking, but be advised that to play here you have to plan around their schedule.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 is behind the restaurant. This course if free to play. Course is closed on Mondays, except for Holidays.

If it has rained, you may need to skip the woods holes (9-14), the good news is that basket 8 is really close to 15 tee and makes for an easy adjustment.

If you are limited, then I would recommend most of the other Nashville courses over this one. For example, Cedar Hill is only a few minutes away, and is considered by most to be the best in the Nashville area.

Keep in mind this is a new course and there is some maturing and possible adjusting that will need time in order to help improve this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Course at Fontanel

1    7/2/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: K_Woodcock
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of potential to be a very diverse and interesting course. There are a few very long wide open shots that would be good for a beginning disc golfer, and there are also some very tough deep woods holes for more advanced players.
Cons: The first eight holes are not very interesting and out in the sun. The holes in the woods are very intense up and down steep terrains. There is a 885 foot hole on one of the holes and it is just straight across an open field.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could be made into a very nice course. They need to plant some trees on the front eight around all the tee pads and some around the baskets. In a few years once this course is more played it will be much better also. It is all very fresh still.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.