Gresham, SC 
Brittons Neck Community Park Share
Uploaded By: Citadelly Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Small Town Rec Course

1    10/2/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry Level: Par 3 pitch and putt
-Small town rec course
-Got a few distance shots
-Good Beginner course
-Mach Baskets
-Other Activities in the park
-Does make for a nice Safari round, if one were so inclined.
-Easy to find since it's off the main street through town.
Cons: -No maps or signs. It's difficult to navigate, due to lack of directions and a missing basket
- #4 Basket is missing
-Tee boxes are the small sandbox type.
-Play may be subject to other sports since some baskets play on or near a field.
-Course plays near walking path and bleachers.
Other Thoughts: Here's the deal, I'm not going to give a list of what this course is and isn't. It's a small town rec course in a city park. It is a long way away from Myrtle Beach. (It took me over an hour) Everything you need to know, Is pretty much covered. There is just not a lot to this course. Now, having said that let me say this

I'm not going to be too negative about this course, because some people in this town have gotten together and got a disc golf course installed. That alone says a lot! If you live in or close to Brittons Neck, then you've got a nice little setup to play. A local that helped install some of the equipment in the park, told me that an art teacher is the one behind the Disc Golf course. Which is great, because that means there is someone in this community trying to grow the sport! Let us not forget that it's small courses like this, that help grow interest in the sport. This course is for the Britton's Neck/Gresham community. Keep that in mind, before you decide to make the drive out here.

If you do decide to drive out to this course, then come to grow and represent the sport in Britton's Neck. People were watching what I was doing and I even heard someone say. "So that's what those are for!" lol Odds are you are not going to be impressed or blown away. But on the other hand, you can come with the mindset of, maybe I can be an influence in some way, shape or form. I gave away two of my discs to a kid that started tagging along with me. He was excited and immediately ran out and started playing. (I had to be back in town to go to work, or I would have showed him some more pointers) The kid actually asked me if I would come back. Kinda gets ya in the heart. :)

So that's Britton's Neck. It's not much, but it is a starter course. It's a good place for a beginner to learn how to throw. ...and we've all been there!



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up & Coming Course

1    7/11/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Citadelly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 5th hole raised basket pretty cool!
- Open course with minimal hazards
- Free
- Good starter course for beginners

Cons: - Not much around this course. One will have to go out of their way if they really want to play it.
- Nothing directing players where to start or where to go from hole to hole
- 4th hole basket it currently missing (07/2011)
- 6th & 9th hole tees are hard to find
-Tee pad area was very small
Other Thoughts: - Coming from Florence, SC take 501 to Hwy 41 to 908
- Coming from Myrtle Beach, SC take Hwy 378 to 908
(Course is 30 minutes west of downtown Conway, South Carolina)
-Hole #1 is behind the Britton's Neck Community Park sign next to the tennis courts

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not that great

1    6/20/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Hindenburg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: it is open and it has an elevated basket and a sunken baskets. dont see those much.

Hole 2 has two trees very close together right infront of the tee so shooting through them is a challenge.
Cons: hole 4 is missing.

no signs to tell you where to go so you will probably have to walk around for a bit till you figure it out.

most tee boxes are hard to find til you realize what they are.

most shots are pretty straight. with it being open so its not creative at all.


Other Thoughts: goot to play once just to get an idea of how some baskets should/ should not be laid out. but for that reason only

hole 1 is next to a tennis court but its fenced in so its perfectly ok to play

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: turbosteve
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course is next to an elementary school so it is probally an EDGE one.
-There is a sunken basket and an elevated green.
Cons: -It is in the middle of nowhere so it can be hard to find.
-The #4 basket is missing so you have to tee off to the #7 basket until the #4 basket is replaced.
-There are no tee signs to any of the holes so navigation is difficult.
-Some of the tees are not yet complete so you have to tee off next to them.
-1's tee shot is dangerously close to a tennis court
-Several of the tee shots cross a walking path.
Other Thoughts: This course is a pretty typical pitch and putt. I was surprised that the course designer took the time to make an elevated green. Since this course is out of the way it doesn't look like it gets much playing time. I would suggest that people skip this course as it is not worth the drive.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.