Nicholasville, KY 
Riney B DGC Share
Uploaded By: Greg Weleski Hole #4
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Prepare to Leave with Battle Wounds

1    7/18/2008   1/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riney B is a very challenging course. It has a nice mix of open holes and tightly wooded holes. There is also a good variety in length from hole to hole- several chances to let those drivers really fly, but there are also several ace and birdie opportunities. There is not major elevation, but there are some hill/mounds that are utilized effectively. The water hazards are in the form of a creek that does come into play. The biggest challenge here is the extremely dense rough, maybe the thickest rough I have ever seen can be found on the first 4 holes. There are many holes that demand smart play and pinpoint accuracy and perfect lines off the tee.

This course is set on a pretty generous area of land and is spread out nicely. The rough on the wooded holes is so dense you cannot see through it helping to give you the "alone-with-nature" feel.
Cons: Discs are easily lost in the thick and thorny rough, and are difficult to retrieve even if you know exactly where it is. (I finished the course with many bloody scrapes and cuts!) Navigation is more difficult than it needs to be. Poor signage throughout, and I seem to remember arrows pointing the wrong direction (maybe as part of a walking trail or something, who knows.) Many of the holes are also blind (big narrow doglegs) and you spend a lot of time scouting out holes before you tee off. (If you are in a group, using spotters is highly recommended.)

If you were to play in the summer when everything was grown in thick, and there had been little to no maintenance for awhile this course could get close to unplayable. It occupies a rather large area, being 24 holes, but could be a much better course if some improvements were made with more signs and constant grounds keeping.

Some people think the more the better, but my opinion is there are 18 solid holes here, and about 6 that are not that good. These holes need some improvement and are obviously not at the level of the rest of the course. Mainly the first couple and last couple as you play to and from the parking lot to the better disc golf land.
Other Thoughts: I remember thinking after the first couple of holes that this was a terrible course. My group spent more time looking for discs than actually playing. However, once you get accustomed to what the course requires you begin to play accordingly. Also, the holes themselves seemed to improve and open up a little more as the course went on. This course has some potential to maybe be a 3.5-4.0, but there are just too many cons. (*I played the course a couple of years ago, but more recent reviews still bring up the same issues.)

This is a course designed more the experienced player in mind and for those looking for bigger challenges. Newer players may want to play elsewhere, especially if you don't like the idea of losing discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 wow

5+    6/12/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: what can i say about a course that looks like it was designed by the devil? the long fairways are great, but the small hallways and tight turns will screw up any player, beginner to pro. if you like hidden divots, and playing through a marsh/jungle, this course is for you
Cons: i don't think they've ever mowed this course....Mother Nature has taken over, and she's obviously pissed off
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong, this is a good course if you have all day to walk it, but not some place that'd i suggest to newcomers

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Don't quit before 6.....

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Nice location. Baskets are in excellent condition. Bathrooms in the YMCA pool facility. Solid design. The best mix of wooded holes and open holes that we saw on our trip. Most other courses seemed to be one or the other.
Cons: Holes 1 through (approx) 6. I don't remember which one started the better part of the course. The first 6 or so holes need considerable work. The growth underneath the trees is almost unbearable. I don't mind being penalized for an errant shot that is slightly off the fairway and into the woods, but having to crawl through about 100 square feet of thorn and briers is not fun.
Other Thoughts: With some work on the front part of the course this will be a tremendous facility for disc golf. With some work on the front this is easily a 4 but as it is, I think a 3 is most accurate. Above average but not excellent yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  first timer

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: cowboy3829
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a mix of just about anything you could ask for, i did quite a bit of studying up on disc golf before i went out and was very pleased.
Cons: a little rough around the edges, the growth is a little hard to deal with sometimes. (it was my first time so maybe ill change my mind after i get a little more experience.)
Other Thoughts: great course from what little i know about the sport so far, i lost two disc in water, but it was my fault for not being experienced. i will definately return to get my revenge.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 [Update] Improved

5+    2/23/2008   3/1/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] The first 5 holes and the last 3 are creative with their use of woods and water hazards. There are a couple of doglegs (more like 90-degree turns) that you either have to shoot over the trees or sidearm around the bend to get to. Hole 17 has a fun alternative tee/route to the hole. Hole 5 is a shot over a creek into a wooded patch, a fun but dangerous hole.
Cons: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] More bad than good on this course. It's an absolute swamp, and they seriously need to reconsider some hole placements. Another issue--that I think is being resolved in preparation for an April tournament--is that the holes are improperly marked. The last time I went, we ended up having to guess at tees and holes because the numbering was off. Also, the tees are abysmal: a few have some mulch, but most are just chalk outlines. It's hard to get a good drive when you're sliding in mud or you're on uneven ground.

The middle 9 holes are so long that they're almost not fun. I'm an amateur player who's lucky to get a 275-300 foot drive, but regardless it takes 2 drives to get to a couple of the holes. There's one hole that's an "island" (not sure if that's the correct term) and has a poor tee position for both the 1st and for the 2nd.

Don't end up in the bushes, because the bushes at Riney B are vindictive briars.
Other Thoughts: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] Apparently the course has undergone major work since I played it, so the above review may or may not apply. Look forward to playing it again!

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.