Disc Golf Store
Nicholasville, KY 
Riney B DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #23 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee: Basket over the crest on the downslope



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  the Marshlands

1    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large concrete pads!
-Awesome markers at each pad.... shows distance, obstacles, and par.
-Some water hazards
-Easy to find every hole.
-A couple of great downhill throws
-24 holes!
- Really liked the several midrange drives here. Definitely bring your midrange game.... or be able to throw over the trees.
-Several really nice holes here.... 7 throws across the creek and a small bridge.... 17 curves right and left.... and my favorite was 23 where you bomb over a ravine and back over a sharp hill.
Cons: -Seems like there is a good bit of vandalism going on. Several of the signs had the glass/plastic knocked out.... one pad had graffiti on it.
-Seems like the marshlands flood a good bit. It would be nice if there was a sign to skip these... I think they were 12-16 that were the wettest.
-Trash everywhere... we tried to pick some up, but would probably help if there were some walking trails or bike trails or something part of the park to keep the litterers in line.
-The rough here is very rough... lots of briars.
-Some of the downed trees and brush will probably harbor snake. This is really only a concern near the baskets, though.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course will end up being pretty good. I think that it would really benefit from some city park features.... like paved walking paths to keep the littering down. We really enjoyed playing here... will have to try it again on a dry day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Definately worth a look

1    4/10/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Long, short, open, tight...a lttle bit of everything. The course sits on a good-sized plot of land, and I'd call the hole design better than average. Very few boring holes and several that are very imaginative. Most holes are interesting and/or challenging.

Teepads were good, and signs were fantastic...I think they were done by the same folks that made Idlewild's signs.

24 holes! Mo holes = Mo betta!
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the land is susceptible to flooding and being marshy. Sadly, I don't know what can be done about this.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling that I'd like this course more the more I played it. Not exactly sure why that is, but it feels like a course that would grow on me.

Update: well, guess what? I played it for a second time yesterday (7/10/2010), and just as I suspected...I liked it even more the second time. The rough was a bit more overgrown than it was in April, but not to the extent that it negatively affected play. I'm adjusting my rating from 3.5 to 4.0. This is a course that is well worth playing. Now I need to find a decent course nearby to play a doubleheader with. I've tried Shillito and Veteran's, and neither was up to the task.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Now with Trashcans!

5+    4/24/2012   3/31/2010
Review By: DSmith
Played: 131  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes and each of them unique.
If you want to shoot par or better you better have every shot in your bag.
All of the elements are present for a great round of disc golf, wind, water, tight woods and big open bomber shots.
Tons of risk and reward on almost every hole.
Beautiful scenery and some incredible holes.
Most of the holes have dual pin positions.
Big tee pads on each hole
Informative tee signs/ directional signs
and now TRASHCANS! (I gave it an extra 1/2 star for this)
Practice Basket added 4/24/2012
#3 and #4 now have alternate pin positions
and
3 new holes have been added. (A is just to the left of #4's new pin placement 270ft spike hyzer par 3, B is a turn over out of the woods then an up shot across a retention pond 390ft par 4, C comes back towards #4s old pin placement with a narrow double hyzer fairway in the woods 425ft par 4.
The new holes are currently using #6,#14 and #15's baskets until new ones are ordered.
The reason for adding the holes was to enable visitors to be able to play a solid 18 hole loop even during wet periods of the year.
Cons: Mid summer the rough gets really rough. Best thing to do is to simply stay on the fairway.

Gets really wet after it rains. All though not muddy per see it retains alot of water due to drainage problems aggravated by the beavers as said above. All of the holes by the creek with the exception of 2, 10, 13 and 17 stay inundated by water even several days after any bit of rain.

Another con is it's length. It can take a small group sometimes more than 3 hours to play the entire course. You can always skip several holes, but really why would you want to do that since you'd be missing out on the full experience.
Other Thoughts: First off let me say that as one of the co designers for Riney I didn't let it influence my rating of the course. Sure I do have alot of love for it but I also know its issues first hand.
Ideally if it was super manicured and all of the drainage issues were solved it might get a 4 or better. But lets face reality, it is what it is.
For me this was my learner course where I had the training wheels ripped off the proverbial bike. I learned alot of aspects of course design on this course and I'd never be where I am now it it weren't for the lessons in design Riney taught me.
My goal at least was to originally make Riney 27 holes, 18 with an additional set of 3 hole loops but that fell through due to beavers and us getting burned out.
The only thing I can hope for for this course is for its increased popularity and maybe, just maybe the locals will step up and take the reigns and make this great course even better.

Riney is is the Nicholasville Monster.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BOY! what a good course

5+    8/14/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: BOY!!! what a good course... this one really has it all, nice setting, rolling hills and tough woods. excellent use of a creek that makes it way through the middle of the course. there are holes that require every bit of distance youve got and others that require every bit of accuracy youve got. well maintained, and my favorite part about this course is how it seems the creators tried to make it as unique as possible. Some of the wooded holes have perfect and picturesque pin placements positioned precariously between partitions and poignant palisades...... sure there are some dump and pitch 3's, but not a lot. there are a few holes that i've never played anywhere else, and almost all of them are memorable. you will need every different shot you've got.
Cons: sometimes the water level can get a little too high in places and a couple holes turn into marshes if not given time to dry. some of the rough is overwhelming.
I only really had 2 issues with the layout. There are a few holes that are wide open bombs... I like that, but it seemed like they were all generally the same length. 475-525. for someone like me these these all play like straight forward 3's... maybe if one or 2 of them were shortened to give a tough 2 possibility and the others lengthened to make 3 a good score might add a little variety. Also it seemed like you were either in the wide open or REALLY in the deep stuff. Although the designer cant be faulted for topography.
Other Thoughts: its marked good enough for first timers and theres a nice bit of extra entertainment with each hole having its own name. if youre in the area do yourself a favor and check it out...BOY!!! what a good course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge all around

5+    5/20/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 12/16/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most well rounded course in that I have played in Central Kentcky. It incorporates distance, open holes, wooded holes, water, OB, and if your not careful a YMCA Swimming pool. Get your distance arm out on holes 1-3, but you may want a spotter on hole 3 due to the thick underbrush. Holes 4-5 are a little more technical being nice wooded shots. Holes 6 & 7 finally give you good scoring opportunities, unless you end up in the creek. Holes 8 & 9 require accuracy to navigate a lot of trees. Hole 9 can be incredibly frustrating if you do not know where the pin placement is. The beautiful new signs show you the 2 options, but it is best to look before you start to determine the best path.

Starting on the back 9 you have 3 open holes, two of which are great birdie opportunities, as long as you stay in bounds. Holes 13-17 can be really nice holes, as long as it is dry (see cons). After 18, you head back in the woods for the next few holes until you get to hole 23. I really enjoy the course, and tend to get almost every disc out of my bag.
Cons: While this is probably my favorite local course, it can also be the most frustrating. Depending on the time of year, the underbrush can be awful. A lot of work has been done, but nature has a way of fighting back. Watch out for thorns and poison ivy if you occasionally miss the fairway, as friends and I have scars and calamine to prove. And finally the most disappointing part of the course are holes 13-17. I really like these holes, but have only been able to enjoy them twice, once when it was below freezing and the mush was frozen, and the other time in a dry spell. They are nice holes, just in a difficult spot to drain.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy a challenge, and really enjoy this course most of the time. I recommend playing with a friend if possible in case of any errant throws. However if you are in the area, definately come by to play, especially since the addition of the best signs I have ever seen. *As off 12/16/09*, hole 7 "The Bridge" is back to being playable Basket 5 and 24 have been replced, but now holes #14 (which is one of the neatest holes with the winding creak and peninsula green is missing it's basket as well as hole #16. They appear to have been pulled out of the ground, concrete and all.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course w/ Variety

5+    3/7/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riney B is an excellent and challenging course. It has tons of variety and requires just about every shot you have, plus some you don't have. It has just about everything any golfer could want: woods, open holes, wide open bomber holes, tigh, technical holes, distance, and some ace runs.

With 24 holes, there is enough variety to keep everyone happy. The course doesn't really favor any one type of golfer (backhand or forehand, righty or lefty).

The course also has awesome tee pads (6' x 12'), amazing tee signs, and, for the most part, has short walks in between holes. In addition, for variety 12 of the 24 holes have either dual pin placements or dual tee pads.

The land itself is also quite beautiful. There is a lot of wildlife (icluding a beaver family with a huge dam on the creek). And since the park is not really used for anything else, there are no joggers/skateboards/baseballs/etc. to have to worry about.
Cons: Since the course is still relatively new, there are many things that still need work. The course is somewhat beat in, but there remains a lot of schule, some of it pretty punishing.

The course lacks amenities that every disc golfer likes to see: garbage cans, benches, water, bathrooms, a shelter, a kiosk, etc. Many of these are on the way, but as of yet are not out there.

The course also is not for everyone. It is not a beginner's course. It is long, with 24 holes that do not loop in nice pairs of 12. On hot days for rec or novice players, Riney can leave you feeling like you have been beaten up.

Lastly, because the park itself is a retention area for a creek, several fairways are often wet. Compounding this problem are the beavers, whose dams have already forced the redesign of the course once, and are currently busy cutting down trees and damming up a side creek. This has added to the water issues on a few holes (notably 14 & 15).
Other Thoughts: The course is great already, with lots of potential. It is challenging and constantly improving. It adds a great, new element to disc in Central Kentucky.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lexington Area's Best

5+    1/1/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: cadweezy
Played: 117  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riney B disc golf course has many positives. The longer holes are made up of elevation changes, punishing rough, and stategic pin locations. The shorter holes are often times heavily wooded and technical, with tough doglegs, more punishing rough, and a couple of the pins are guarded closely by water. The course tests all aspects of your game. Also, the park is on a very large and secluded piece of land, and course designers did well with what they had to work with. Number 1 is a great starting hole, 4 will test your creativity, and 23 is amazing from start to finish.
Cons: Some of the fairways tend to collect water if there has been a fair amount of rain. However, any true golfer won't be bothered by this. Another thing is there are no permanent tee signs yet, so some distances must be estimated, and some fairways must be walked to locate baskets before teeing if it is your first time.
Other Thoughts: Riney B is the Lexington area's best course. It has a fairly nice flow, so if you are a first timer it is pretty easy to navigate. Any player will really enjoy the large teepads, which provide ample room for long run-ups. The course is somewhat strenuous and the 24 holes will leave any player satisfied. If you are up for a tough challenge, its definitely worth the trip. If not, stay in the city limits.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The best reason to visit Nicholasville

5+    11/29/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course. It is challenging for 24 holes and requires an unusually wide variety of skills, distances, and angles. It has excellent flow, large tee pads, and excellent signs. The alternate pin locations are significant, making this a very different course when they move. I enjoy the entire course, but the sequence of 14 left, 15, 16 right,17, plus 19 and 20 is as good as you are likely to find on any disc golf course. The beaver dam has been destroyed again. As long as it remains dry, this course will remain awesome. A few bridges have been replaced, which is helpful. And now there are garbage cans at most tees.
Cons: I like beavers - in the abstract - far away from my disc golf fairways. Parks department has tried to evict Riney's beavers, but not all of them would give up their homestead, wreaking havock with trees and flooding fairways. At the moment, the parks department is wining the fight. When/if the beavers make a comeback, a few fairways can get positively swampy after a rain. It is a long course wtih no benches. When the pool is closed, no restrooms are available. The local Boy Scouts and disc golf club have cleared out a tremendous amount of underbrush and briars, but in a few places, the underbrush is still fierce (including large poison ivy patches on 5, 11, and 14).
Other Thoughts: 1. Riney can have a lot of wind and several shots require throwing into or out of the woods. The shifts in wind strength and direction on a single throw can surprise you.

2. There are a number of blind shots with OB water and/or deep trees. Take someone to help you spot.

3. Holes 11 and 14 have small, cement drop-zone tees which you should use if your drive goes OB - which is likely on these two holes.

4. Riney can exhaust you, particularly if you are used to a simple, public-park course. This course is a challenge, and when you hit one of those impossible shots, it's all worthwhile.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

1    9/6/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: Darth Chuckles
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes. Wooded, open, water, island, elevation, doglegs....it's all there. Was well maintained the day I played it, but there was a tournament there that morning. Never had to wonder where to go next, decent signs.
Cons: The signs could use some work as you aren't always sure where you are thowing. We had to walk quite a few fairways, then come back and throw, just to know where we were aiming.
Other Thoughts: If you leave the fairway beware! I do not consider this to be a pro or a con, just a fact of life. You will pay the penalty for an errant shot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.