Nicholasville, KY 
Riney B DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #15 (Taken 7/2009)
5 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
good

5+    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: davis45
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice change of distances and a variety of shots needed. wind is usually a factor
Cons: holds a lot of water. wish it had baskets on a few of the holes that were taken out.
Other Thoughts: great course to air out some throws

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Monster of a Course

2-4    10/18/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: amryan11
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent concrete tee pads
-signs on each hole
-nice high benches
-plenty of garbage cans
-some good elevation change
-well-manicured course, growth and grass are generally very well maintained
-despite some challenging shots, usually discs are pretty easy to find
Cons: -currently, several baskets are missing (6, 14, 15, for the most part we played to another basket)
-some signs have been vandalised
-a lot of more open holes can get repetitive
-some nasty brambles if you have to push in to the woods to find a disc
Other Thoughts: This is an impressive (and long) course. I always remember it longer than the numbers would show. I think the fact that you play 24 holes makes it seem longer. It's definitely a course to play when you're in the area. There are multiple holes that play over the creek hazard as well as the interesting "donut" OB hole. Just make sure you're up for around 1.5 miles of walking when you go out to play this course. Sometimes I think 24 holes can be too much. I love playing disc golf, but a lot of times more than 18 holes is just a result of trying to cram in a few more poorly thought out holes. This course, in my opinion, does not suffer from that, because the last few holes are actually some of my favorites.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Variety & a good challenge

2-4    10/14/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Riney B disc golf course has variety, elevation, distance, tree lane challenges, and a unique hole with a donut-shaped OB around a hilltop basket. There are 24 baskets (-ish: you now often play from the 6th tee to basket #7, and the #14 & #15 baskets were not in place as of the date of this review) ranging over some nice park land posing a decent challenge for even the intermediate to advanced disc golfer. The shortest hole is in the 175' range, but there is also one over 500'. A very slow, water-filled creek influences your shot selection on about a third of the holes. Maintenance of the course appears to be good and consistent, and there has been some obvious effort put in this year to improve and keep trimmed for a couple of the nicer tournaments they run here annually.

There is an excellent map, and some quality signage (Hiss! Boo! …to the idiot vandals and visigoths who've messed with them!) at each tee, along with trash barrels and benches on almost every hole. The park has no other obvious activities which would interfere with the disc golf. Even the paths seem to go around only the perimeter, except for a spot or two where they might come into play, but only if both parties are being willfully oblivious of the other. The park center is a really nice looking water park, and there is a full scale, classic railroad engine, etc., displayed with signs to stay off (though with steps inviting you to step on up for a look-see!?).

Opening with a diagonal bomb drive off the ridge down to the edge of the woods, this course quickly immerses the player in its trademark hedge-rowed fairways, challenging lines, and baskets teasingly tucked into the woods. There are several holes which demand precision through wooded lanes as tight as 12-15' wide, but all are navigable for the accomplished disc golfer.

But you soon emerge onto a wide open, rolling-hilled bomb, followed by the donut mentioned above. You work around the lower, back end of the course to a tricky S-bending 17th (send a spotter ahead!), and up hill on 18, to one of my favorites: the 19th, where you hyzer (rhbh) across the open, into the woods, and navigate your second shot (hopefully) though a few strategically maintained trees to a pin position at the end of the lane.

Another interesting hole is the 'fish'-shaped 22nd, which has crossing tees and fairways, 290' out around the trees and bushes to a blind pin position. After getting your drive (or more commonly, your upshot) to stay atop the ridge and hole out on 23, you finish coming diagonally back up to the parking lot on #24, for a fairly well rounded, well…er…round. You'll use most of the shots in your bag to complete Riney B.
Cons: A couple of the pin positions seem to be intentionally grueling, where the 'green' has been left with dozens of small guardian trees, making even 'gimme' putts inside of 20' a head-scratcher.

There is obviously going to be an issue with drainage in some of the low-lying areas of this course, which might make you think twice about which holes to play if it has been rainy recently. I've been lucky enough to have played here twice when it was fairly dry, but you can tell by the ruts the maintenance gear has left, that you can spend some time in marshy land, too.
Other Thoughts: Not something the course can control, but: The first time I played here, a train grinded by on the tracks that run along the back of the course, and might have been the loudest, most sustained noise I've heard all year out on a course (folks from the Super Summer Slammer remember that?). I don't think they're all that way, but wow!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  the Marshlands

1    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 43  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large concrete pads!
-Awesome markers at each pad.... shows distance, obstacles, and par.
-Some water hazards
-Easy to find every hole.
-A couple of great downhill throws
-24 holes!
- Really liked the several midrange drives here. Definitely bring your midrange game.... or be able to throw over the trees.
-Several really nice holes here.... 7 throws across the creek and a small bridge.... 17 curves right and left.... and my favorite was 23 where you bomb over a ravine and back over a sharp hill.
Cons: -Seems like there is a good bit of vandalism going on. Several of the signs had the glass/plastic knocked out.... one pad had graffiti on it.
-Seems like the marshlands flood a good bit. It would be nice if there was a sign to skip these... I think they were 12-16 that were the wettest.
-Trash everywhere... we tried to pick some up, but would probably help if there were some walking trails or bike trails or something part of the park to keep the litterers in line.
-The rough here is very rough... lots of briars.
-Some of the downed trees and brush will probably harbor snake. This is really only a concern near the baskets, though.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course will end up being pretty good. I think that it would really benefit from some city park features.... like paved walking paths to keep the littering down. We really enjoyed playing here... will have to try it again on a dry day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rough and Tough

2-4    8/13/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes
Concrete tee pads
Discatcher baskets
Well taken care of
Many different shots
Challenging for all skill levels
Pin placements switched often
Of course, 24 holes
Great elevation changes
Cons: Very thick rough
Poison ivy in certain spots
Some unreasonable mandos
Will flood if it rains
Other Thoughts: As many have stated this course sits in a very suitable spot. It's in the perfect area. It gives you just about everything, when it comes to shot selection. The only big problem is the tendency of it to flood. If it rains, even the slightest it will dolls. When you go just make sure you go on the right day. Another big problem is the bugs. They are everywhere. You will need some sort of repellent. I know it also gets stated a lot, but I have to mention it. The rough here is so THICK. At some parts if your disc goes in, you can just kiss it goodbye. My favorite hole here is the donut hole. It is just really cool how the did that. Although it was not very friendly to me I still enjoyed it. I live up in northern Kentucky, and I still love to come down to Lexington and get some good golf in. They have great courses here. But, I have to say Riney is my favorite. So like they always say, good luck and good shooting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Riney B

2-4    1/25/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well put together with the land that is there. A lot of good elevation changes. Good variety of distance, open vs. wooded holes on the course. Good tees good signs. tees were all in good condition. The course challenges you to use multiple types of shots. The water hazards are there small streams but nothing that you will really loose a disc on, which is an awesome pro if you ask me. This is a great course to play and I do look forward to keep playing because of the challenge it has in the variety of shots needed, the accuracy needed, and the distances required.
Cons: No very aesthetically pleasing, just kind of boring but maybe just because the time of year I played. Just kind of building in and out of the woods where it looks like they just cleared a path.
Other Thoughts: 24 holes makes for a good day, although its not easy to play part of the course such as 9 or 18 and end by the parking lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare to Leave with Battle Wounds

1    7/18/2008   1/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riney B is a very challenging course. It has a nice mix of open holes and tightly wooded holes. There is also a good variety in length from hole to hole- several chances to let those drivers really fly, but there are also several ace and birdie opportunities. There is not major elevation, but there are some hill/mounds that are utilized effectively. The water hazards are in the form of a creek that does come into play. The biggest challenge here is the extremely dense rough, maybe the thickest rough I have ever seen can be found on the first 4 holes. There are many holes that demand smart play and pinpoint accuracy and perfect lines off the tee.

This course is set on a pretty generous area of land and is spread out nicely. The rough on the wooded holes is so dense you cannot see through it helping to give you the "alone-with-nature" feel.
Cons: Discs are easily lost in the thick and thorny rough, and are difficult to retrieve even if you know exactly where it is. (I finished the course with many bloody scrapes and cuts!) Navigation is more difficult than it needs to be. Poor signage throughout, and I seem to remember arrows pointing the wrong direction (maybe as part of a walking trail or something, who knows.) Many of the holes are also blind (big narrow doglegs) and you spend a lot of time scouting out holes before you tee off. (If you are in a group, using spotters is highly recommended.)

If you were to play in the summer when everything was grown in thick, and there had been little to no maintenance for awhile this course could get close to unplayable. It occupies a rather large area, being 24 holes, but could be a much better course if some improvements were made with more signs and constant grounds keeping.

Some people think the more the better, but my opinion is there are 18 solid holes here, and about 6 that are not that good. These holes need some improvement and are obviously not at the level of the rest of the course. Mainly the first couple and last couple as you play to and from the parking lot to the better disc golf land.
Other Thoughts: I remember thinking after the first couple of holes that this was a terrible course. My group spent more time looking for discs than actually playing. However, once you get accustomed to what the course requires you begin to play accordingly. Also, the holes themselves seemed to improve and open up a little more as the course went on. This course has some potential to maybe be a 3.5-4.0, but there are just too many cons. (*I played the course a couple of years ago, but more recent reviews still bring up the same issues.)

This is a course designed more the experienced player in mind and for those looking for bigger challenges. Newer players may want to play elsewhere, especially if you don't like the idea of losing discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 If u want to battle the jungle this is for u

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This coarse could really grow on me! There are really some challenging shots. Long fairways and good design
Cons: Very damp and flooded areas even when no rain fell recently. Prolly from all those dams the beavers r making. The brush is extremely thick and we lost two discs in places we shouldn't have--- just down the fairway- the grass is just so out of control, we r talking knee think throughout and very damp. U will feel tired after this course because on top of this there r no signs and u have to go explore on ur own to find anything. For this matter alone, I give it a 2.5 since mother nature isn't controlled. If it were, this would easily b a 4 or 4.5--- needs signs too

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice n rough

1    5/15/2009   7/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays through a long strip of park with wooded areas on both sides filled with thick brushy rough waiting to snare errant drives. There is a good mix of holes that play through the open areas with some minor elevation changes and tight fairways through the woods with a nice variety of hole shapes. There is some good length on a few of the open holes, and creative use of the elevation available.

The concrete tees were in good shape, and had enough texture to provide good footing. There were next tee signs where necessary, and though many were misnumbered, they were adequate to make it fairly easy to follow the course. The discatchers were in decent shape and caught well.
Cons: There is some flooding on the lower parts of the course near the creek, even with no recent rain a couple fairways had a couple inches of standing water. The signage needs an upgrade here, with misnumbered signage where it isn't missing altogether. The lack of signage makes for extra walking with lots of blind holes. There are a few of the open holes that feel like filler just to get to 24 holes.
Other Thoughts: Riney B is a fun challenge with a nice mix of hole types. Beginners might find the wooded holes a little punishing and tight, while more experienced players will find some nice challenges throughout the course. If you're in the area, this one's worth a stop despite the lack of real signage and the flooding issues.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 wow

5+    6/12/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: otter420
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: what can i say about a course that looks like it was designed by the devil? the long fairways are great, but the small hallways and tight turns will screw up any player, beginner to pro. if you like hidden divots, and playing through a marsh/jungle, this course is for you
Cons: i don't think they've ever mowed this course....Mother Nature has taken over, and she's obviously pissed off
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong, this is a good course if you have all day to walk it, but not some place that'd i suggest to newcomers

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.