Nicholasville, KY 
Riney B DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Definately worth a look

1    4/10/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. Long, short, open, tight...a lttle bit of everything. The course sits on a good-sized plot of land, and I'd call the hole design better than average. Very few boring holes and several that are very imaginative. Most holes are interesting and/or challenging.

Teepads were good, and signs were fantastic...I think they were done by the same folks that made Idlewild's signs.

24 holes! Mo holes = Mo betta!
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the land is susceptible to flooding and being marshy. Sadly, I don't know what can be done about this.
Other Thoughts: I have a feeling that I'd like this course more the more I played it. Not exactly sure why that is, but it feels like a course that would grow on me.

Update: well, guess what? I played it for a second time yesterday (7/10/2010), and just as I suspected...I liked it even more the second time. The rough was a bit more overgrown than it was in April, but not to the extent that it negatively affected play. I'm adjusting my rating from 3.5 to 4.0. This is a course that is well worth playing. Now I need to find a decent course nearby to play a doubleheader with. I've tried Shillito and Veteran's, and neither was up to the task.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 When Good Beavers Go Bad!

1    4/4/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
High-quality signs at tees. Lots of imagination demonstrated throughout the twenty-four holes.
Cons:
Susceptible to dampness, and apparently becoming worse. Nature's engineers are having a real go at making the middle of this course a suitable habitat for themselves - and less so for disc golf! When I played the course in early April, 2010, the small footbridge at #7 was partially submerged, water was encroaching the entire left-side of #8, and the tee for #9 had water heading its way, too. Water and very damp ground was also a problem at baskets #10, 13, and 14, and tee #15.
Other Thoughts:
This course provides excellent variation in tightness, from the long, wide-open holes that begin, end, and are scattered about the course to the short-n-tight wooded holes found in spurts throughout. Most holes are on the flat side, but there were a few opportunities to watch your discs glide from a elevated position, or go up-n-over a small ridge. Even blend of straight/left/no-turning shots needed off the tee.

Holes I found particularly interesting were: #4 a 200', straight, tightening wooded shot, that then required a 90-degree right turn and about 75 more feet; #11, about 200' up a hill and its artificial out-of-bounds "moat"; #15, with its very generous fairway to start which squeezed into a funnel a few hundred feet away, where it then opened widely; #16-#17, requiring single/multi-turning shots around a screen of trees - or daring you to try the shortcut up-n-over them; #22, offering you a choice of two tees, depending upon if you prefer to throw a U-shaped right- or left-turning shot

As you enter the park, tee #1 is next to the near left corner of the parking lot, and basket #24 is close to the far left corner. Food and petrol options nearby.

Hopefully the disc golf course will find a way to coexist with the local critters - the work the beavers were doing on a 2' diameter tree near the bridge at #7 was most impressive! Excellent all-around variety, making the most of the available landscape.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Now with Trashcans!

5+    4/24/2012   3/31/2010
Review By: DSmith
Played: 130  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes and each of them unique.
If you want to shoot par or better you better have every shot in your bag.
All of the elements are present for a great round of disc golf, wind, water, tight woods and big open bomber shots.
Tons of risk and reward on almost every hole.
Beautiful scenery and some incredible holes.
Most of the holes have dual pin positions.
Big tee pads on each hole
Informative tee signs/ directional signs
and now TRASHCANS! (I gave it an extra 1/2 star for this)
Practice Basket added 4/24/2012
#3 and #4 now have alternate pin positions
and
3 new holes have been added. (A is just to the left of #4's new pin placement 270ft spike hyzer par 3, B is a turn over out of the woods then an up shot across a retention pond 390ft par 4, C comes back towards #4s old pin placement with a narrow double hyzer fairway in the woods 425ft par 4.
The new holes are currently using #6,#14 and #15's baskets until new ones are ordered.
The reason for adding the holes was to enable visitors to be able to play a solid 18 hole loop even during wet periods of the year.
Cons: Mid summer the rough gets really rough. Best thing to do is to simply stay on the fairway.

Gets really wet after it rains. All though not muddy per see it retains alot of water due to drainage problems aggravated by the beavers as said above. All of the holes by the creek with the exception of 2, 10, 13 and 17 stay inundated by water even several days after any bit of rain.

Another con is it's length. It can take a small group sometimes more than 3 hours to play the entire course. You can always skip several holes, but really why would you want to do that since you'd be missing out on the full experience.
Other Thoughts: First off let me say that as one of the co designers for Riney I didn't let it influence my rating of the course. Sure I do have alot of love for it but I also know its issues first hand.
Ideally if it was super manicured and all of the drainage issues were solved it might get a 4 or better. But lets face reality, it is what it is.
For me this was my learner course where I had the training wheels ripped off the proverbial bike. I learned alot of aspects of course design on this course and I'd never be where I am now it it weren't for the lessons in design Riney taught me.
My goal at least was to originally make Riney 27 holes, 18 with an additional set of 3 hole loops but that fell through due to beavers and us getting burned out.
The only thing I can hope for for this course is for its increased popularity and maybe, just maybe the locals will step up and take the reigns and make this great course even better.

Riney is is the Nicholasville Monster.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BOY! what a good course

5+    8/14/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: BOY!!! what a good course... this one really has it all, nice setting, rolling hills and tough woods. excellent use of a creek that makes it way through the middle of the course. there are holes that require every bit of distance youve got and others that require every bit of accuracy youve got. well maintained, and my favorite part about this course is how it seems the creators tried to make it as unique as possible. Some of the wooded holes have perfect and picturesque pin placements positioned precariously between partitions and poignant palisades...... sure there are some dump and pitch 3's, but not a lot. there are a few holes that i've never played anywhere else, and almost all of them are memorable. you will need every different shot you've got.
Cons: sometimes the water level can get a little too high in places and a couple holes turn into marshes if not given time to dry. some of the rough is overwhelming.
I only really had 2 issues with the layout. There are a few holes that are wide open bombs... I like that, but it seemed like they were all generally the same length. 475-525. for someone like me these these all play like straight forward 3's... maybe if one or 2 of them were shortened to give a tough 2 possibility and the others lengthened to make 3 a good score might add a little variety. Also it seemed like you were either in the wide open or REALLY in the deep stuff. Although the designer cant be faulted for topography.
Other Thoughts: its marked good enough for first timers and theres a nice bit of extra entertainment with each hole having its own name. if youre in the area do yourself a favor and check it out...BOY!!! what a good course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A hole for everyone

1    6/29/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs are very accurate and mark other baskets that are viewable from tee.
-Teepads and baskets are new and in great shape.
-Navigation is very easy to follow without a map.
-The layout is just perfect there is plenty of fun for all types of golfer, start out open hit some moderate woods, then thick woods then open. Great mix of short and long with a couple ace runs.
-Extra six holes make this course even longer with more fun.
-Scenery the course is very well kept and takes you along and over a large creek on many holes.
-Elevation this is a mainly flat course but the design takes advantage of what elevation is there to make some fun approaches on a few baskets.
-Course is very playable for newbies who dont mind high scores and has some challenges for higher caliber players.
-Multiple teepads and basket placements on most every hole.
Cons: -The rough is extremely rough, would be awesome if some of the holes had the area around the creek completely cleared out other than large trees.
-Seemed to have no trash cans on the course.
-A few holes had me scrathing my head, not a huge con but none the less one or two holes seemed like fillers.
-Mandos I am not a fan of mandos if you see a line i say take it.
Other Thoughts: The course was dry when i was there could see how in the spring it could get wet, but dont they all. The innova baskets are not friendly to me, but i dont consider that a con just i need to learn where to hit them. Rinney is first impression in my top three. Behind Idle wild not sure if it better than banklick or not, would have to play it a few more times, which i will everytime i head down to the red river gorge.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge all around

5+    5/20/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: tennissaxplaya
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 12/16/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most well rounded course in that I have played in Central Kentcky. It incorporates distance, open holes, wooded holes, water, OB, and if your not careful a YMCA Swimming pool. Get your distance arm out on holes 1-3, but you may want a spotter on hole 3 due to the thick underbrush. Holes 4-5 are a little more technical being nice wooded shots. Holes 6 & 7 finally give you good scoring opportunities, unless you end up in the creek. Holes 8 & 9 require accuracy to navigate a lot of trees. Hole 9 can be incredibly frustrating if you do not know where the pin placement is. The beautiful new signs show you the 2 options, but it is best to look before you start to determine the best path.

Starting on the back 9 you have 3 open holes, two of which are great birdie opportunities, as long as you stay in bounds. Holes 13-17 can be really nice holes, as long as it is dry (see cons). After 18, you head back in the woods for the next few holes until you get to hole 23. I really enjoy the course, and tend to get almost every disc out of my bag.
Cons: While this is probably my favorite local course, it can also be the most frustrating. Depending on the time of year, the underbrush can be awful. A lot of work has been done, but nature has a way of fighting back. Watch out for thorns and poison ivy if you occasionally miss the fairway, as friends and I have scars and calamine to prove. And finally the most disappointing part of the course are holes 13-17. I really like these holes, but have only been able to enjoy them twice, once when it was below freezing and the mush was frozen, and the other time in a dry spell. They are nice holes, just in a difficult spot to drain.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy a challenge, and really enjoy this course most of the time. I recommend playing with a friend if possible in case of any errant throws. However if you are in the area, definately come by to play, especially since the addition of the best signs I have ever seen. *As off 12/16/09*, hole 7 "The Bridge" is back to being playable Basket 5 and 24 have been replced, but now holes #14 (which is one of the neatest holes with the winding creak and peninsula green is missing it's basket as well as hole #16. They appear to have been pulled out of the ground, concrete and all.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course w/ Variety

5+    3/7/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: lylemccoon
Played: 89  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riney B is an excellent and challenging course. It has tons of variety and requires just about every shot you have, plus some you don't have. It has just about everything any golfer could want: woods, open holes, wide open bomber holes, tigh, technical holes, distance, and some ace runs.

With 24 holes, there is enough variety to keep everyone happy. The course doesn't really favor any one type of golfer (backhand or forehand, righty or lefty).

The course also has awesome tee pads (6' x 12'), amazing tee signs, and, for the most part, has short walks in between holes. In addition, for variety 12 of the 24 holes have either dual pin placements or dual tee pads.

The land itself is also quite beautiful. There is a lot of wildlife (icluding a beaver family with a huge dam on the creek). And since the park is not really used for anything else, there are no joggers/skateboards/baseballs/etc. to have to worry about.
Cons: Since the course is still relatively new, there are many things that still need work. The course is somewhat beat in, but there remains a lot of schule, some of it pretty punishing.

The course lacks amenities that every disc golfer likes to see: garbage cans, benches, water, bathrooms, a shelter, a kiosk, etc. Many of these are on the way, but as of yet are not out there.

The course also is not for everyone. It is not a beginner's course. It is long, with 24 holes that do not loop in nice pairs of 12. On hot days for rec or novice players, Riney can leave you feeling like you have been beaten up.

Lastly, because the park itself is a retention area for a creek, several fairways are often wet. Compounding this problem are the beavers, whose dams have already forced the redesign of the course once, and are currently busy cutting down trees and damming up a side creek. This has added to the water issues on a few holes (notably 14 & 15).
Other Thoughts: The course is great already, with lots of potential. It is challenging and constantly improving. It adds a great, new element to disc in Central Kentucky.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ice Bowling...

1    1/17/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun. There were very challenging wooded holes were you better have a nice hyzer, and a long anhyzer in your arsenal. The wooded holes have narrow well maintained fairways. If you can toss a nice controlled midrange drive you will be set for a par. If you go for it you can get the bird or double boge. The open field shot are very nicely laid out with good use of elevation changes.
There are some water issues, as said before. Personally I like it, because it is going to change all the time because of the presence of Beavers. You can def see where they have been working on taking down some small trees. This means they will continue to build dams and make their territory bigger for years to come. Stopping a beaver from building is not easy at all. So I would not count on the holes close to the lake getting any better. Luckily the day I was there we did not play several of the low holes and the others with water were thick with ice. The island hole was nice, but not to me b/c of the fat cross wind. Several holes had marked OB and drop points. There was another sweet hole on the back side where the pin is on a levee, over shoot and bubye 30'.
Cons: Water, but anytime you get to see wildlife in action I can not call it a total negative. Beavers a engineers with teeth. Could really use some trash cans. I started to pick trash up but realized quickly I would be toting a hefty bag in a few holes. It is winter, the under brush was pretty vicious, I can only imagine in the Sring and summer, lots of thorns. Just be warned you may bleed a little to get that disc back.
Other Thoughts: Get challenging course. Planning for the expansion fo the beaver lodge and subsequent lake will be a challenge for this course moving forward. Beavers do not go away, they multiply. Go beavers!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/17/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riney B is a fun, challenging and long course with a nice mix of open and wooded holes.

The open holes (roughly 2/3 of the course) are long and range from mostly open to technical curving fairways surrounded by dense rough or a stream. the open holes are generally very long with few of them less than 300 feet.

The wooded holes are very technical with lots of trees, and often times, curves in the fairways. A good skilled shot (or a very lucky one) can birdie or par many of these holes and a poor shot can easily end up as a 5.

The tee pads are in excellent condition and are nice and long. The layout is easy to follow and there are signs pointing you towards the next hole. Some of the holes have multiple pin positions which really change how the hole is played.

**Update 4/16/09** Tee signs have been installed. They are large, very detailed, and look fantastic.
Cons: Holes 13-15 were extremely wet and nearly unplayable on Jan 12 and Mar 30 when I was there. A dam is nearby and is elevated slightly higher than these holes causing them to be soaking wet. There were some standing puddles elsewhere on the course, but nothing that caused any real problems.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend a course of this length and difficulty to newer plays, but advanced players should enjoy the challenge.

Keep up the great work!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lexington Area's Best

5+    1/1/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: cadweezy
Played: 115  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Riney B disc golf course has many positives. The longer holes are made up of elevation changes, punishing rough, and stategic pin locations. The shorter holes are often times heavily wooded and technical, with tough doglegs, more punishing rough, and a couple of the pins are guarded closely by water. The course tests all aspects of your game. Also, the park is on a very large and secluded piece of land, and course designers did well with what they had to work with. Number 1 is a great starting hole, 4 will test your creativity, and 23 is amazing from start to finish.
Cons: Some of the fairways tend to collect water if there has been a fair amount of rain. However, any true golfer won't be bothered by this. Another thing is there are no permanent tee signs yet, so some distances must be estimated, and some fairways must be walked to locate baskets before teeing if it is your first time.
Other Thoughts: Riney B is the Lexington area's best course. It has a fairly nice flow, so if you are a first timer it is pretty easy to navigate. Any player will really enjoy the large teepads, which provide ample room for long run-ups. The course is somewhat strenuous and the 24 holes will leave any player satisfied. If you are up for a tough challenge, its definitely worth the trip. If not, stay in the city limits.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.