Nicholasville, KY 
Riney B DGC Share
Uploaded By: dobbins66 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2009)
4 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 The best reason to visit Nicholasville

5+    11/29/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course. It is challenging for 24 holes and requires an unusually wide variety of skills, distances, and angles. It has excellent flow, large tee pads, and excellent signs. The alternate pin locations are significant, making this a very different course when they move. I enjoy the entire course, but the sequence of 14 left, 15, 16 right,17, plus 19 and 20 is as good as you are likely to find on any disc golf course. The beaver dam has been destroyed again. As long as it remains dry, this course will remain awesome. A few bridges have been replaced, which is helpful. And now there are garbage cans at most tees.
Cons: I like beavers - in the abstract - far away from my disc golf fairways. Parks department has tried to evict Riney's beavers, but not all of them would give up their homestead, wreaking havock with trees and flooding fairways. At the moment, the parks department is wining the fight. When/if the beavers make a comeback, a few fairways can get positively swampy after a rain. It is a long course wtih no benches. When the pool is closed, no restrooms are available. The local Boy Scouts and disc golf club have cleared out a tremendous amount of underbrush and briars, but in a few places, the underbrush is still fierce (including large poison ivy patches on 5, 11, and 14).
Other Thoughts: 1. Riney can have a lot of wind and several shots require throwing into or out of the woods. The shifts in wind strength and direction on a single throw can surprise you.

2. There are a number of blind shots with OB water and/or deep trees. Take someone to help you spot.

3. Holes 11 and 14 have small, cement drop-zone tees which you should use if your drive goes OB - which is likely on these two holes.

4. Riney can exhaust you, particularly if you are used to a simple, public-park course. This course is a challenge, and when you hit one of those impossible shots, it's all worthwhile.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Maintenance Nightmare...

5+    6/13/2011   11/19/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety - This course has it and in bunches.

#4 (Hard right dogleg) - Is a great hole, Gives you the option to go over the top but punishes you badly for the misses!
#9 - This slight uphill hole has improved more over the past year than any hole on the course. The fairway is better defined but is still very unforgiving on bad shots.
#15 is a beautiful DG hole - Will be even better once a few of the pot holes in the fairway fill in (these can be rough on ankles & legs). Long shot to a narrow opening with the basket sitting out in the open. (500'+ hole)
#14 is another nice shot - Right to left with a peninsula placement (water on three sides) - Easy to deuce but easier to go OB. Another of my favorites.

This course manages to cater to everyone a little without truly favoring anyone. Forehand, backhand, overhand - You better hope you have at least a little of each. Even if not needed off the pad you will need it WHEN (not IF) you find the rough. And the rough is real rough in places. Keep you tee shots in play and be very selective on you upshots.
Nice mix of open drivers holes and tight lines through the woods. This place will also teach you how to play in the wind.

This course defines Risk/Reward - The openings are there if you have the courage and the shot to go at it.
Cons: A few things that are keeping this course from a higher rating:
1 - Course can be very soggy on multiple holes (1,13,14 & 15 are the worst).
2 - Some of the Brush, Honeysuckle, Poison Ivy, Briars, etc.... really needs to go. Too many players get frustrated with the number of lost discs.
3 - Course seems to have been made big and long (24 holes) without regards for the maintenance issues this would cause. Still think this would be better as a great 18 hole course instead of the 24.
Other Thoughts: Much has been done to fine-tune a few of the more "questionable" holes since the course was opened. Get out the calculator for when you miss your line on a drive. Playing alone will lead to lost discs, spotters on some holes are needed..

Scouts and Local volunteers did some initial cleanup in the area of the first two holes - A little more work like this will really cause a big improvement.

Maintenance has been improving and it looks like it is being mowed(weather permitting) regularly.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

1    9/6/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: Darth Chuckles
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes. Wooded, open, water, island, elevation, doglegs....it's all there. Was well maintained the day I played it, but there was a tournament there that morning. Never had to wonder where to go next, decent signs.
Cons: The signs could use some work as you aren't always sure where you are thowing. We had to walk quite a few fairways, then come back and throw, just to know where we were aiming.
Other Thoughts: If you leave the fairway beware! I do not consider this to be a pro or a con, just a fact of life. You will pay the penalty for an errant shot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't quit before 6.....

7/17/2008   7/20/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Nice location. Baskets are in excellent condition. Bathrooms in the YMCA pool facility. Solid design. The best mix of wooded holes and open holes that we saw on our trip. Most other courses seemed to be one or the other.
Cons: Holes 1 through (approx) 6. I don't remember which one started the better part of the course. The first 6 or so holes need considerable work. The growth underneath the trees is almost unbearable. I don't mind being penalized for an errant shot that is slightly off the fairway and into the woods, but having to crawl through about 100 square feet of thorn and briers is not fun.
Other Thoughts: With some work on the front part of the course this will be a tremendous facility for disc golf. With some work on the front this is easily a 4 but as it is, I think a 3 is most accurate. Above average but not excellent yet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  first timer

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: cowboy3829
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a mix of just about anything you could ask for, i did quite a bit of studying up on disc golf before i went out and was very pleased.
Cons: a little rough around the edges, the growth is a little hard to deal with sometimes. (it was my first time so maybe ill change my mind after i get a little more experience.)
Other Thoughts: great course from what little i know about the sport so far, i lost two disc in water, but it was my fault for not being experienced. i will definately return to get my revenge.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 IT's ALL GOOD NOW!!!

6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2008
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is one tough cookie! I play Charlie Vettiner daily and gripe about how hard it is. No longer will I do that after playing this course. It flat whooped me. This course reminds me a lot of Idelwild. It has a mix of anything and everything. There are Doglegs(yes they are 90 degree corners, but thats cool) there are elevation changes, tight fairways, Deep (waist) and I mean deep rough, Blind shots, island shots, you name it they built it. The tee pads are wide and long. It also looks like they installed multiple pin positions. In a few years when the sidelines get a little smashed this will appeal to a much larger crowd. As of now this is not for a beginner!
Cons: Could use permanent tee signs, and a few benches. Also the sidelines are cool, but they don't need to be so deep that you loose discs. I lost 2 and that SUCKED!!!!!
Other Thoughts: Is now no doubt one of may favorites. Very, very challenging! I also got to witness an Ace on the Hole 10 Island, Nice shot Wyatt!!!!!!!! Also sorry to the 2 guys who previously reviewed this course but this and Lake Mingo are much cooler than you make them out to be!!

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Muddy and watered down

1    3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: broken_star
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2008
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mix of long and short holes (both open and a few in the woods), Nice changes in elevation, lots of wind, course tests every shot in your bag and your accuracy
Cons: Some fairways still flood but drainage issues have much improved over last year, some of the holes are still kind of hit or miss but they are getting better
Other Thoughts: Course has been completed and shows more and more promise as the season go along. Some new placements have been added along with concrete tee which make this course much much easier to play. On a side note there should be more OB's on some of the holes along with Mando's (there are a few places where people can accidently throw into your fairway)

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 [Update] Improved

5+    2/23/2008   3/1/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2009
8 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] The first 5 holes and the last 3 are creative with their use of woods and water hazards. There are a couple of doglegs (more like 90-degree turns) that you either have to shoot over the trees or sidearm around the bend to get to. Hole 17 has a fun alternative tee/route to the hole. Hole 5 is a shot over a creek into a wooded patch, a fun but dangerous hole.
Cons: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] More bad than good on this course. It's an absolute swamp, and they seriously need to reconsider some hole placements. Another issue--that I think is being resolved in preparation for an April tournament--is that the holes are improperly marked. The last time I went, we ended up having to guess at tees and holes because the numbering was off. Also, the tees are abysmal: a few have some mulch, but most are just chalk outlines. It's hard to get a good drive when you're sliding in mud or you're on uneven ground.

The middle 9 holes are so long that they're almost not fun. I'm an amateur player who's lucky to get a 275-300 foot drive, but regardless it takes 2 drives to get to a couple of the holes. There's one hole that's an "island" (not sure if that's the correct term) and has a poor tee position for both the 1st and for the 2nd.

Don't end up in the bushes, because the bushes at Riney B are vindictive briars.
Other Thoughts: [This was reviewed prior to major changes in 2009] Apparently the course has undergone major work since I played it, so the above review may or may not apply. Look forward to playing it again!

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.