Flower Mound, TX 
Wellington of Flower Mound Share
Uploaded By: McLeod Hole #5
3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Neighborhood course

5+    2/13/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course map by hole 1
- Nice accurate tee signs
- Concrete tees
- Shouldn't lose any discs unless if it is a poor throw into the pond on hole 9 or into someone's backyard on hole 2
- Course is mostly wooded, only holes 8 and 9 have elevation change
Cons: - Short and easy
- The course doesn't force you to use many shots
- Getting to hole 8 can be difficult for first timers
- Thorn bushes
Other Thoughts: - Private course hidden behind the fitness center, but no one will bother you or ask you if you belong to the HOA
- Only need a putter and a mid range to play the course
- Course will stay muddy for about a week after measurable rain

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Private course, but friendly locals

1    11/27/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: ikikazz
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quiet neighborhood, beautiful pads, well kept, short but challenging holes.
Cons: Short holes.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, it was short, well thought out and well designed. The course is fun and a much needed break from the normal "bomb" course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Building a New Course

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: Jimbotten
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Being the only course currently in Flower Mound, this 9 hole course is a good one to take someone who has never played disc golf before. It has short, wooded shots. Good for practice.
Cons: The edges of the fairways are in need of cleanup. Thorns and weeds need to go. Wood chips aren't an awesome terrain for a fairway.
Other Thoughts: Flower Mound announced a new course will be built in Heritage park. I have scouted every park in Flower Mound in hopes of building a course for the town, Heritage is huge and discgolf savvy, However I have found a better course. Me and a team have been planning the course for some time now, letting the seasons pass to view the change in terrain. We finally have all the pieces together now and are putting together our plans to submit to the town. The course will feature a clean creek (as opposed to a drainage creek), a few bomb shots, some lightly wooded shots, a few wooded fairways that will be properly cleaned, and shots across the creek and bridges. This course will feature the world's first water fairway (I might add, the most original and unique hole ever). The water fairway is gently flowing and never more than a foot deep with clean water and many many boulders and stones for the disc to land on and for the players to walk on. It is truly something you have to play to believe. More details to come (distances, difficulties, and photos.)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but tricky

1    6/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Clean park, with nice neighborhood scenery
- Variety of short, but very tight lines, it will definitely test your accuracy if not your power
- Nice concrete teepads
- Good signage, easy to navigate without a map
Cons:
- Hole 2 is a little close to the neighborhood, my friend hit a gust a wind and hit a house. The lady was nice though and gave him his disc back without any flack.
- The little creek is pretty stagnant and dank
Other Thoughts:
- If you want to improve your short game and accuracy, this is a good place to play, if not, it's just another notch in the belt
- Hole 9 is definitely 329', I google earth'd it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Birdiefest

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little course located in a very nice neighborhood community center. Most of the holes are very short, but several have enough trees to make things interesting and force you to make an accurate, sometimes uncomfortable throw. There is a little bit of elevation change on the last couple of holes, my favorite part of the course. The baskets are good, but could use more chains to catch discs....there are open spots to nothing but pole. Concrete tee boxes. Signs with hole number, distance, and diagram of the hole. Very well kept, nice looking course. I really enjoyed playing here.
Cons: The course isn't anything spectacular, but there isn't anything wrong with a short, fun little neighborhood course. It is intended for use by those that live in the neighborhood technically, so it is great for that. The ground was extremely marshy between 7's basket and the pathway to hole 8. However, if you backtrack down 7's fairway you can use a bridge to get to 8's tee box.
Other Thoughts: Hole 9's sign says 329 feet. It is NOT 329 feet, probably closer to 380 feet. It seemed like a couple of the other distances posted were incorrect also, but I don't remember which holes those were.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Notta bad

2-4    3/2/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Notta bad little course. The fun factor is just ok but there was alot of work put in here. There are nice concrete tees on all the holes along with nice signage. The course is very easy to follow and isnt too hard on the new players. It is very righty friendly and there isnt really any place to lose plastic unless there is a really BAD shot. The course is a change even for the more advanced golfers as well. The holes are short but there are many holes with trees off the tee that can get ya. You have to be very accurate to score here and if your not your just going to par yourself to death. Hole 9 is purdy!
Cons: The little creek that goes through there is pretty nasty. The drainage looks bad and it is still very muddy in spots even though it hasnt rained in quite some time. Backyards could come into play in certain areas. Not worth the drive alone to go here but if your in the area, get ya some.
Other Thoughts: When I read previous reviews I went out expecting a baby course where there were going to be easy holes that provide no challenge and that was not the case at all. Yes the course is short but its not a birdie fest at all. As I was leaving I noticed a green brick in the ground marking 10's tee, so there are obviously a second set of tees but didnt have the time to look. I'll look for sure if I go back out here and update if I find them, if somone knows where they are let me know.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

fun private course!

1    11/23/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fun layout in a decently large neighborhood park
-concrete tees, brand new DGA baskets, nice signs
-nice mix of short wooded holes and slightly longer semi-open holes
-variety of shots needed but especially accuracy
-great beginner course for the community and school next door
-course map at start
Cons: -creek looks prone to flooding
-thorny schule around holes 4-7
-poison ivy near the creek
-the path from 7-8 is muddy and steeply inclined in one spot, very slippery
-seems to be some trash accumulating already, hope it's not the discers
-needs more trash cans (there are 2: one at tee 4, one after hole 9
-hole 2 has backyards off the left of the fairway. noob-hyzers could easily go over the fence
Other Thoughts: ***Directions***
If you park at the athletic center on Furlong Dr, go between that building and the tennis courts and cross the concrete path to the other side of the pond. First hole in the trees just past the course map.
***

The course is set in a small neighborhood park in a private community. The park was bigger than I expected it to be and has a large man-made pond (in play on hole 9). The course is really well setup with quality baskets, signs, and concrete tees.

The course plays around the back area of the park. Holes 1, 5, 6 play through narrow woods. Holes 4 and 7 are hyzers. Holes 3 and 9 are mostly open and holes 2 and 8 are semi-open. There is a cool overhand window on hole 8.

If you aren't comfortable parking at the main lot, the park looks to be accessible from the back off Burlington Dr. The entrance should put you right next to the tee for hole 2.

The course is easy but fun. The holes are short enough to be beginner friendly on the wooded holes and mostly short in general. The holes are also tricky enough that int/adv players can make some easy mistakes.

A great beginner course for the community. A fun 9 holes if you live or happen to be nearby. Nothing to write home about otherwise.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Make it Challenging

1    11/21/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For beginners, this is a good park to start out at since all the baskets are within a short distance. Very well laid out with beautiful scenery if you like the woods. Great exercise for a mini hike...
Cons: Hole 2 is the worst when it comes to soil. It's very soft and feels like quicksand so watch out for that. Trees are in the way that make it almost impossible to have a good drive but luckily I was able to throw around the trees.
Other Thoughts: Private community park. Nobody bothers you or questions you.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course

1    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice little 9 holes course tucked between a pond, creek and homes.

The holes are short, but not necessarily easy.

the course is very well marked and easy to find your way, after you find hole 1.
Cons: Not very challenging. Short holes and all but one were right to left hyzer shots.

Privet course technically not open to the public.

Other Thoughts: I just parked in the main parking lot and walked over to the course with my putter and Roc. I pretty much had a putt on every hole except the one I hit the tree right in front of the tee pad.

the course was fun enough that I nearly played two rounds. It did only take me about 15-20 to play all 9 holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9 hole course

1    11/4/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: matk26
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of land available on this shorter 9 hole course. It weaves around trees and the fairways are well defined by trees, fences, or other boundaries. The signs help with navigation and while this is a short course, it can be challenging to find your line on some holes. This is also a good course for newbies.
Cons: First off, its private so play at your own risk (more about that later). Also, its near a high school so I saw a few kids walking across the course while skipping school. While its not too close, the course boarders houses on a few holes so an errant toss could end up in a backyard.
Other Thoughts: As other people have said, if you park in the main lot and don't act crazy or have to many people, you probably won't be messed with by the community. While its private, I talked to several people while playing and never was asked about where I live etc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.