Disc Golf Store
Peru, IN 
Maconaquah Park Share
Uploaded By: zud00 Hole #17 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 296ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Huge improvement w/ new baskets

2-4    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: DiscBallGolfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great new baskets, very easy to find with the orange painted on the baskets. Great use of elevation, some blind down hills and some interesting uphills. Will challenge your accuracy off the tee and better be prepared to throw some wicked second shots.
Cons: signage kind of week, first time players may have hard time finding 7th tee after finishing the sixth hole.
Other Thoughts: great little gem along 31 to stop off at if traveling through. enjoyed the course much better this time bc of the baskets and weather being really nice for a saturday morning.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/4/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 415  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set all around this city park, which does play near some shelters, parks, and roads, but it doesn't seem like interference would be a huge problem. Seclusion is right out the window, at the very least.
- Most of the course is set in a hilly, forested area with dirt fairways. There are some very interesting lines to be found out here, starting with #1. The long pin position is a 90 degree RHBH hyzer thanks to a long mando, over a creekbed. #2 is a tricky uphill shot that is either a tight, sharp RHBH hyzer or a sneaky shot diagonally through a wall of trees, over some schule. A very odd hole design... the rest of the holes in the front involve shooting up hills, over hills, down hills, across the creekbed, all while avoiding trees. Some tricky rollaway greens to be found as well; accuracy is important as well as controlled distance.
- Other holes play is less wooded areas, which have more defined fairways, especially holes #13-#15 and #17. Each one plays slightly uphill or downhill to add some challenge, on top of the hyzer or anyhzer/FH route to the basket. #18 is a long shot over the creekbed, which offers a safe hyzer route or a long anhyzer over a bunch of trees.
- #16 stands out as the only real open hole, which is a long valley shot with a pine tree to avoid. A great complement to the wooded holes, although the short pin position can be tucked into the trees as well. The long pin is a good huck that needs decent accuracy to avoid the pine.
- Good mix of hole lengths, there were some shorter ones in the forested areas, and some longer ones in the more open areas. I would estimate that half are over 300', mostly right around there. Bigger arms might not find much use for drivers out here, overall.
- Hand painted signs were spot on, teepads and baskets were good. Some tricky navigation here and there, with no map there might be some guessing going on the first time through. After #12, cross the street to the base of the hill.
Cons: - Definitely some erosion issues taking effect, with some cracked teepads and exposed basket concrete. It is going to be a serious problem sooner rather than later, it seemed.
- A lot of the forest holes didn't have many defined lines, it is just a matter of avoiding the trees. Holes out in the open were extremely defined, so there was only one way to go. Not much of a con, but not much thought is needed for some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I enjoyed this course for some very interesting shots in the forest. With the rugged, sloping terrain, and many hazards like the creekbed and some dense rough, poorly executed shots can see some big-time punishment. Some very good elevation changes to be found here as well, both uphill and down. I felt each hole was interesting, starting off strong with #1 and #2.
- Did seem like the different pin positions will strongly influence how the course plays. Some of the long pins add a lot of difficulty and length. Either way, I would not recommend this course to beginners. Much better suited for intermediate or advanced players.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Balance and Variety

5+    7/31/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Located in a large multi-purpose public park, Maconaquah does a great job of incorporating the best of the park's terrain without interferring with other park activities. Above average variety in terms of elevation, water holes (a shallow creek wends its way throughout the course, coming into play nicely in several spots), distances and shot selection. A trio of unique holes (#'s 2, 12 and 18) stand out in my mind days after playing the course for the first time. Much of the course is moderately wooded, but a few longer holes are open, allowing for the bigger arms to let it rip.
- Great risk/reward. Between the OB water hazards (including an "island green" on 18) and drastic elevation changes (many holes slope downwards towards water), Maconaquah will keep even experienced discers on their toes throughout.
- Above average line-shaping potential exists on some of the more technical holes.
- Dual pin positions, although many don't seem to really change the look much, just add a bit of distance.
- The course loops back to the parking lot after hole #6.
Cons: - Unfortunately, a fair amount of trash was strewn throughout the course. Nothing a day of cleaning wouldn't fix, but it's sad to see such a fine course abused by litterbugs.
- Older baskets of dubious shape. Not terrible, but definitely below average.
- Confusing flow in a few places. No next tee signs where they are needed. Not much of an issue except for first-timers.
- One or two spots could cause safety issues for the mobility impaired (crossing the stream via treacherously wobbly rocks on the way from #12 to #13 in particualar stands out as dangerous).
Other Thoughts: - Overall, Maconaquah provides a great public course. The elevation and water help make it the best balanced and perhaps most rewarding course to play in the greater Peru area, with perhaps the exception of France Park in Logansport (a personal favorite).

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Crime and Punishment

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The variety of the challenges you'll encounter.
Cons:
Course looks worn and minimally maintained - tees, signs, baskets all appear to be steadily deteriorating.
Other Thoughts:
Course is very unforgiving - errant or unlucky shots can be severely punished, as five holes bring water into play, and several baskets are located near very steep, tree-filled slopes - roll down one of them, and it'll be very difficult to work your way back towards the basket.

Course plays up, down, and across three hills, each with its own personality. Hill-A, providing holes 1-6, is thickly-populated with mid-sized trees, has the tightest lines, is a bit rolling, and twice brings the water into play. Hole-2 takes you up the hill, a long left-then-right turner, and hole-6 brings you steeply down the hill, needing a hard left at the end to avoid the creek straight ahead.

Hill-B hosts holes 7-12, with larger-but-more-scattered trees than hill-A. The elevation is gained by straight-up-the-slope number-8, and the next few holes are atop the plateau, fairly straight-n-short, but with the slope always looming nearby. Hole-12 takes you straight down the hill where the basket sits at the end of a gully - with the creek just scant feet behind!

Hill-C contains the largest trees, and is the most open/long. The first few holes take you gently up the slope, with thick woods on the left. Upon reaching the top, hole-15 is a nice challenge - straight for nearly 200', then needing a short-but-sharp right-then-left to reach the basket. The crew with me took turns unloading their bags on #16, which plays across the valley formed by the horseshoe-shaped ridge we were atop. Basket-18 is surrounded by water on three sides, with the rightside being the safest location. The distance from the tee to the water just in front of the basket is probably typical for most int-adv players, so can be quite intimidating.

Challenging course! Don't do the crime (poor/unlucky shot) if you can't do the time (scramble up steep tree-filled slopes, and/or go fishing for your discs). Spotter and/or creek-guarders recommended.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Way fun,lots of water!

2-4    5/20/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a blast and very scenic. Has a beautiful creek running through alot of elevation. There are alot of technical lines that push your talents. If your not on your game you can have a long day here. There is alot of O.B. but very fair because of the short lenghth of most holes. Very hilly with lots of ups and downs and tricky basket placements near water or sloped greens. There are signs but they are a little vandalized. I like the old baskets, they make u throw a good putt. All in all i was amazed at how beautiful this place was in the middle of nowhere. Its definitely worth a play along with pieradise. Has large concrete pads.
Cons: Trash and vandalizm. Its a free park and kids have not tooken care of it. It still doesnt take away from how pretty the landscape is.
Navigation is tricky, after 12 you have to go across the playground and up the hill for the last 7 holes. Also, finding the next hole takes a little time.
Hole #2 confuses me, im not sure how its played and its a horrible setup.
People will complain about the baskets mainly cause they cant throw a putter straight. I dont mind old baskets on a short course, it helps even out the challenge.
Other Thoughts: You have to play this course if your in the area. I played missisinnawa and pieradise and this is by far the most scenic. All the water and o.b. make this course super fun. I shot a 53 the first time through but there were many birdies i missed. Its one of the funnest courses i played. I just hope the locals start taking care of it. A great piece of land. Loved it

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    9/26/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly and wooded section of a large multi-use park. You pass by other park uses, but they don't interfere with any of the holes. There is elevation change on most holes, and several holes have pretty drastic ups or downs making for some fun and challenging shots. Many greens have roll away possibility or water nearby, making for some nice risk/reward decisions around the basket. The woods are thick enough to make you hit your lines and punish you for errant shots, but not thick enough that they eat discs. There are lots of water hazards along the fairways, but most are creeks that are easy to get a disc back from.

The course has a good mix of hole shapes so it never feels repetitive. The alternate pin locations would mix it up even more, though I'm skeptical of how often the baskets are moved. There are some ace runs if you hit your line through the trees, and some longer shots where you get to open up a little more, and the course plays pretty balanced for righties or lefties.
Cons: The design of the course is pretty good, and would normally get a higher rating from me, but the upkeep here really hurts the experience. The baskets are old and in pretty poor shape, many don't stand straight and they don't catch well at all. The tee signage is basic, and most are vandalized, and they don't have any way of marking current pin position (many holes are blind here, so that's a lot of extra walking to know where to throw).

There are some rough spots navigating the course, several next tee signs would be really helpful. There's one spot in particular, I don't remember the hole number but right after you play steeply downhill to the creek, you have to walk across the creek, past the playground, and up the hill on the other side to find the next hole. There is a lot of trash and vandalism here, making it feel a bit abandoned.
Other Thoughts: With new baskets and signage, this course has a ton of potential. It's got a lot of the design elements to be challenging and fun, with plenty of variety. Beginners will find it a little tough and punishing, especially with all the creek hazards. More experienced players will love the challenges here, and there's enough fun factor and variety to almost overlook the feeling that the course has been neglected for a while. It's worth a stop as is, and has the potential to be one of the best in the area with some work.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 More rusty chains than a mildewed dominatrix dungeon

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - There are long, grooved, cement tee pads on every hole. And though you can fall to your death from the top of a couple of them, it's nice that these are there and most are in acceptable shape.
- Elevation changes are lovely. And while a ski lift or a rocket booster will be required if you throw off of the side of one of the hills, they do make for interesting shots and provide a lot of challenge.
- there are a ton of different shots to be had on this course. Most of them involved figuring out which chasm my disc had rolled into, but all of them were fun and mostly different from one another.
- most of the signs on the tee pads were present and showed you both pin locations. Some of the locals were even nice enough to add some extra drawings of phallic symbols to the signs, which meant I had to have the "talk" with my son right there on the spot. Don't sweat it, I lied to him and told them that it was a picture of a mushroom leaking spores.
Cons: - The baskets on this course are terrible on levels that don't even begin to make sense. The chains sound like they are made out of recycled paper mache and catch like a blind circus midget who lost his hands in a tragic cotton candy machine accident. on top of that, a couple of the baskets will actually spin or lean over if you hit them in the middle. While "interesting", I prefer that the baskets just catch my disc instead of leaning like an old homeless drunk when I hit them.
- The navigation on this course is just awful . Magellen would have had trouble finding a couple of these holes. And while I am no Magellen, I am smarter than the average 4th grade chimp. It took quite a while to find a couple of the holes on the back and I was tired of climbing hills by the time we got to our destination. And much like the little fella on the Price is Right, I was yodeling on the way to the top of the hills, and fell off of the side.
- Lots of trash and garbage and refuse on the course. Yes, it's all the same thing. What of it? Take better care of your local course and I wouldn't have to write these things out? savages.
- The shelter house on the way to one, which is WAY too far away from parking by the way, looks to have been abandoned some time ago and has now been taken over by mosquitoes the size of raccoons. the bathroom in that place smelled of elderberries. (TM)
Other Thoughts: If I was giving this course a grade, it would be an C- . Meaning, I wouldn't play this course again if given the choice. There are three FAR superior courses in a 10 miles radius of this course, and all of them are funner (my word), better kept and more challenging.
Sure, it's a course. But I could theoretically eat blackboard chalk and survive for some time, but I don't think I would want to.
Does that even make sense? Probably not. Either way, go play one of the other courses in the area instead of this one.
and now, I have to clean the AIDS water from my discs.

and for the record, voting this review as unhelpful just because you disagree with my assessment of the course is bush league. I cover every part of the course in this review. You want to see unhelpful? Check out some of the microsentences that people are attempting to pass off as reviews.
Thanks and big smooches.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 first time in awhile

5+    7/21/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: duckkiller73
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Tee pads for every hole.
-Lots of elevation change for the area
-Good mix of woods (more woods) and open
-Plenty of benches to rest
-A few blind holes (lots of fun if you spot em out first)
Cons: -Baskets are getting old. A couple were kinda beat up
-Missing several signs.
-Needs signs to the next tee on several holes
Other Thoughts: First time I have played here in about 2 or 3 years. It was sad to see how little care this place has had. I know Peru has a lot of courses, but its sad to see how little this one is taken care of. I forgot where a couple of the holes were and it took me a minute to find them.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alot of exciting shots that really take advantage of the areas steep elevation changes. Plenty of those "signature" shots that really define a course. The course is FREE, which is always good! Good concrete t-pads, alternate pin placements, and bathrooms on the back nine. Right inside peru, so its easy to get to.
Cons: Some of the holes were hard to navigate to, in particular on the back nine when you cross the play ground. The signage was ok, some of the holes required scouting to see where to throw.
Other Thoughts: Was a VERY fun course! I had a great time at this one. There were so many shots that required a variety of techniques and discs. Hole 6, I think it was, was one of these, a short left to right down a steep hill with ob not far away was one that comes to mind. The front 9 was pretty wooded with the back opening up and allowing for some drives. The course was alot of fun and I look forward to playin this one next time im in the area!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Its just OK

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Pro Destroyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Elevation changes are a nice challenge.
-Water isnt deep at all
-Most of the courses have a nice display showing two different tees and location.
-Mostly a technical course and is very different from other courses.
Cons: -Some baskets are directly behind a tree.
-A lot of inclines, meaning that if you make a mistake on a throw your disc will likely go rolling about 50 feet away from the basket.
-As previously mentioned, maintenence is a big issue, most of the course seems relatively untouched, which is kind of surprising considering there was a sign saying it was home to a local disc golf club.
-Although the water is low, it is nasty, and there doesnt seem to be a lot good ways to cross it.
-Only one hole that truly lets you test your arm.
-Baskets are ancient, bent and rusty.
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, it just needs some updating, a lot of love could go a long way, i would say to play it at least once.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.