Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard   (Taken 7/2011)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Interesting Use of Land

2-4    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Some fun tee shots and fast greens due to elevation. Some baskets are near the creek or drainage ditch and they are like disc magnets while being shallow enough that you should be able to get your disc back.
+Concrete tees or sidewalk tees are plenty big and grippy
+Friendly locals, thanks to Dakota and Jay for the fun round and for helping me find my way around the course on my first time.
+Baskets are nice
+Alternate tees offer a longer, if not different, look at the basket. They are usually only on the sidewalk and don't have a sign like the main tee so it is a little harder to play these.
+Signage is helpful enough, I had help finding my way around but I think it would have been just fine by myself. The next tee is either fairly close to the last basket.
+Some ace runs here without being too short. Often, there is some solid risk/reward with either elevation, water, or both.
+Some people play all concrete/roads as OB and that would definitely add challenge.
+There are multiple routes to the basket on many of these holes and it didn't seem to favor any certain type of throw.
Cons: -If you drainage ditch is running, it could eat your disc and take it away for good. Use more caution if the water is flowing.
-Tees are often on sidewalks and these same sidewalks are often populated by runners, bikers, walkers, etc. You may have to wait for them to pass out of your range before throwing.
-I came here just before lunch hour and it was already quite busy. I imagine that this course could get crowded pretty quickly.
-Not a lot of length or variation in hole distance. Most holes were reachable but not too far or too short.
Other Thoughts: -This is the first course that I have played in this type of business park setting. It was a good place for a course. One of the guys that I played with was on lunch from a nearby business.
-They really did use the land here well. To make a course with that kind of fun factor and flow is an impressive achievement. Maybe they should look into putting more courses into the other parks in this large business park.
-You might as well stop here. It isn't a championship course by any means but it is a fun, quick round and it is easy to find near hwy 36.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -cement tees
-slight elevation changes
-some trees for some added challenge
-good signage
-a whole alternate set of tees
-free to play and easy to access
-bathroom right by the parking lot
-decent variety of distance shots
Cons: -only a 9 hole
-quite a few wide open holes get boring
-quite a few of annoying water obstacles
Other Thoughts: Decent course, just nothing that really makes it stand out. Worth playing though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept multi purpose park that is in a nice part of town.

-The baskets are in great shape.

-The course is relatively new so that means it is very quiet and does not see a lot of action yet.

-The course plays quickly as there is not a lot of walking in between holes so you can go in and play in a quick amount of time.

-There are dual tee pads at each of the holes and they each have different angles as opposed to just a longer shot, disc selection is different on each hole. You can end up playing 18 completely different holes.
Cons: -This course is way simple and does not have any holes that really stuck out to me, there was not a whole lot of excitement involved on shots.

-The creek that comes into play is quite tough with newer players. Especially on hole 2 where you have to throw downhill towards the basket and if you over shoot it by even 5 feet it is going to go in the water. It is a raging river and there is a very small chance that you will see your disc again after throwing it in.

-Some of the alternate tee positions were very difficult to find and there were no signs to point you where you needed to go to find the alternate positions.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a few of my cousins when I was visiting who are inexperienced when it comes to disc golfing and we had a bad time with the river, losing two discs on very simple shots.

This course does not have any wow factor and no single hole that stuck out in my mind. In my opinion if you are in the area and want to play disc golf, Westminster DGC is real close by and will give you a bit more excitement then what this course has to offer. It is a passable course but by no means one that I would want to play every day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Park

2-4    10/8/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful well-groomed park
-Nice baskets
-Practice basket and info board near the first hole
-Concrete tee-pads and each hole has an alternate tee-pad
-The alternate tee-pads give many of the holes a different look
-There are tee-signs that show the layout of the hole and give the distance of the holes (though the alternate tee-pads don't have tee-signs for them)
-There is a canal that runs throughout the course and comes into play on some of the holes and hole 7 has a pond off to the right side that could come into play...so there are some water hazards
-There are some fun holes that use the available trees and landscape well
-A few of the holes have slight elevation changes on them
-If it is a windy day out, the wind will definitely come into play on a couple of the holes.
-The course uses the small space available for it quite well
Cons: -There are navigation problems between a few of the holes (Tee-pad for 8 can be a little hard to find when coming from hole 7). I suggest bringing a map the first time you play or taking a good look at the map on the info board at the beginning of the course.
-All of the holes on the course are pretty short (as with the normal tees the longest hole is just over 300 feet).
-While there are some fun holes on the course, a lot of the holes are straight shots and some of the holes (like hole 6 feel like filler holes added just to have another hole on the course).
-None of the holes on the course (at least from normal tees) are that difficult
-The alternate tee-pads can be hard to find if you don't know what to look for.
-The tee-pads are pretty small and about half of the normal tee-pads are on the sidewalks, which could interfere with other park users
-A lot of the holes play over or around sidewalks and a couple of the holes play pretty close to roads and the basket for 7 is right in front of a picnic pavilion. All of these could lead to potential safety hazards if the park is crowded.
-The canal and pond has some nasty water in it if it is full and you throw your disc in it. Also in a few spots some of the grass around the canal grows really tall and could lead to some lost plastic.
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable 9-holer in a small park. The designers did a good job of designing some fun holes with the space they had available. With that said, none of the holes on the course are truly memorable. This course doesn't take much time to play and if you work in the area, it would be a great lunch time break. This course is definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course, but small.

1    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: sPinister
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed and well kept. Pretty park. Fun way to kill 30 mins.
Cons: Too small. Not enough obstacles. too many straight on shots. thats pretty much it.
Other Thoughts: I have no thoughts other than these. these are the only thoughts i have.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loud Noises

1    9/30/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course that sits in a very nice park setting. The park itself is well maintained though there does appear to be a lack of trash cans. Multiple tees for each hole make the course quite interesting. The regular tee pads are all quite nice and the basket are all quality as well. There is a nice practice basket, just don't get it confused with #2's basket. The course starts right next to the parking lot and ends right on the other side of the parking lot. There are some interesting shots. Signs are descent. All the alternate tees are painted and on cement. There is more challenge to this course that you might think so don't sleep on this course.
Cons: There was some difficulty finding tees, in particular the alternate tees. With just a few people on the course it can feel crowded. Alternate tees contribute to that problem as you cannot always see players on the alternate tees from the regular tees. The tee signs are only good for the regular tees and give you little to no clue about the alternate tees. Not all the alternate tees are in place to provide enough space for throwing the shots that you want, in particular hole 7. There were several occasions when I thought to myself, man that highway right there is rather distracting. The water is nasty in places. I watched one guy loose his disc on hole 2 in a canal that you would think not that difficult to find a disc but the water was not that clear and moving fast so who knows where the disc is now. The lake hole from the alternate tees is not as good as it could be as the water oddly does not really come into play. There is a path that goes through the park which comes into play on a couple of holes. Most of the water holes are not that threatening.
Other Thoughts: I had a wonderful time playing this course with some friends and new friends. It was one of the better 9 hole courses though it still fails with only one or two holes long enough to throw max distance drivers on. Despite holes that look difficult, most of them are still fairly easy holes. I did not see many signs to the park as the directions on this site indicate. Basically you get off of 36 at Wadsworth 121/128, follow 128 and then make a right at the next light and follow that to the park sign. The course is really close to the Flatiorns Mall with lots of good food and shopping nearby. This was a good experience, but the length of the course on the hole kind of takes away from how good this course could be. There really just needs to be more land in this place for the course to get better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Beginner Course

5+    7/13/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: O1DMBFan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Paved path for half of the course
- Easily marked holes and signs
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Very short holes (Par 3 Course)
- Many wide open holes, non-technical holes where only drive distance matters
- Water Hazards can literally steal your discs due to fast flowing waters
Other Thoughts: Over all a very decent well traveled course. I will continue to throw this course as I live near it but it will get old fast as there are not many technical throws. This is an excellent course for beginners and I will recommend it to anyone who is new the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, alternate teepads make it better

5+    7/7/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: The Bard
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Alternate tee pad locations. Aside from Hole 8 and Hole 2, the alternate tee pads give you a totally different look at the basket.
-Nice tee signs and new tee pads
-Good course flow and easy to follow
-Some elevation change
-Can play through pretty quickly
-Some decent water hazards to navigate if that's your thing
-Well maintained park
-Good course to introduce someone to disc golf if the canal water is low and slow flowing
-Always parking available
-Can be a good confidence booster if you need it :)
Cons: -Many of the holes off the regular 9 tee pads are either short, wide open, or fairly non-technical.
-The alternate tee pads aren't really pads, but just spray painted on sidewalks. This makes them less "official" in my books.
-If your disc goes into the canal when it happens to have high, fast flowing water, there is a good chance your disc will be lost. It may not be worth trying to look for because it could be anywhere. Especially watch out on holes 2 and 4. One round my short putts hit the basket and then rolled into the canal. If you can, have someone stand between the canal and baskets when putting during times like this.
-Alternate tee pad on #7 can be pretty ridiculous for most people. Unless you are guaranteed to throw 325+, don't bother or you'll lose your disc.
-Practice basket is too close to basket 2 and the canal
Other Thoughts: Others:

[Context helps for reading any review: Ability: experienced intermediate player, Avg drive as of writing: 300', #times played this course: 5, #courses played as of review: 19]

Overall a decent course that I will play often since it's close to where I live. After I discovered the alternate tee pad locations the course went from a 2 to a 2 in my mind because of the variety of a 9 holer. I really do want to give it a 3. But since many of the regular 9 tee pad locations (most "official" ones of the course) are somewhat bland, I don't feel like I can do so. Plus I don't like that you aren't sure before going what the canal water will be like. In the end, compared to other courses it seems fairly average, hence the "Decent/Typical" DGCR rating. Still a decent course that you should check out.

---------

Just as an aside, since North Midway Park is so close (5 min drive) and also a 9 hole, it seems appropriate to compare the two if you are considering playing in the immediate area.

Midway better features:
-Longer holes
-Less disc golf crowds
-Less lost disc potential
-Additional challenge of getting par
-Better to take first time players

Interlocken better features:
-Less dangerous things to hit
-More of a "disc golf course" feel to it
-More hazards to navigate
-At least has a practice basket
-Multiple official tee pad locations adding levels of challenge
-Has some elevation change
-Less distance may be better for newer players

For me if it's between the two, 4/5 times I'll pick Interlocken.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.