Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Surprisingly Cool Course

5+    6/15/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, park grass, technical holes, challenging back 9- can play 18 in 1.5hrs
Cons: the back 9 are all alternate tees to the same baskets, if you throw a disc in the stream or the weeds it is probably gone- the stream is sometimes low enough to get them back out
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really great little neighborhood course. It's fun to play because of the nice grass. There aren't any long holes but it is still challenging enough not to loose discs

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, great use of the land

5+    4/23/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: Dan13LP
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course makes really good use of the land it is on. It offers up a variety of different shots and choices for the thrower.
-Only has 9 baskets, but 18 tee-pads (could be seen as a con, but they really make it work out here). The alternate tee pads (the back 9) gives you completely different shot than the first 9 tee pads, so again +1 for variety.
-The man-made drainage ditch along 2, 3, 4, 8, and 9 (played as OB) makes these holes a bit more challenging. Playing the concrete as OB adds an additional challenge as well for experienced players.
-There is a "natural" stream that comes into play on hole 6 and a decent size pond that runs along the side of 7. On 7A you have to throw over it!
-Some fun ace run shots are scattered throughout the course.
-The overall length is relatively short, but not too short. Some of the alternate tees have solid distance shots. A pretty good mix of long and short, but nothing outrageously long.
-The tee pads are all concrete or are found on the sidewalks that run through the park.
-Tee signs on all of the front 9 holes are in great shape and marked well with obstacles and distance.
-All of the alternate tee pads are marked on the pavement with a number and where the front of the tee pad starts.
Cons: -There are no tee signs for any of the alternate holes. Definitely not a necessity, but would be nice to have for distances.
-4A is the only hole on the course that I feel like is a bit "forced". It's a strange hole that's incredibly short and kind of silly.
-The drainage ditch when flowing with water can be a bit hazardous/slippery, and can carry a disc pretty far in a short amount of time (this could be seen as a pro since it adds more difficulty).
-When the course is crowded, there can be some congestion since there are only 9 baskets.
-Plays through a public area where there are runners, bikers, etc... which usually isn't too much of an issue, but they are definitely around. Some of the sidewalk tee pads can get in the way of these folks.
Other Thoughts: All and all this is a really fun course that makes incredible use of the land that its on and is rarely crowded. Definitely an interesting place to host a disc golf course (in a business park), but they really make it work out there. Keep an eye out for bikers and runners when you are on the sidewalks and tees. Always give them the right of way. If the drainage ditch is running with water and you go in it, sprint up to your disc right away, otherwise it will be swept away quickly! 3A is probably the only "difficult" alternate tee pad to locate, it's over by the pavilion after you cross the bridge from 2. Interlocken is a great public course for all skill levels in between Denver and Boulder!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Use of Land

2-4    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Some fun tee shots and fast greens due to elevation. Some baskets are near the creek or drainage ditch and they are like disc magnets while being shallow enough that you should be able to get your disc back.
+Concrete tees or sidewalk tees are plenty big and grippy
+Friendly locals, thanks to Dakota and Jay for the fun round and for helping me find my way around the course on my first time.
+Baskets are nice
+Alternate tees offer a longer, if not different, look at the basket. They are usually only on the sidewalk and don't have a sign like the main tee so it is a little harder to play these.
+Signage is helpful enough, I had help finding my way around but I think it would have been just fine by myself. The next tee is either fairly close to the last basket.
+Some ace runs here without being too short. Often, there is some solid risk/reward with either elevation, water, or both.
+Some people play all concrete/roads as OB and that would definitely add challenge.
+There are multiple routes to the basket on many of these holes and it didn't seem to favor any certain type of throw.
Cons: -If you drainage ditch is running, it could eat your disc and take it away for good. Use more caution if the water is flowing.
-Tees are often on sidewalks and these same sidewalks are often populated by runners, bikers, walkers, etc. You may have to wait for them to pass out of your range before throwing.
-I came here just before lunch hour and it was already quite busy. I imagine that this course could get crowded pretty quickly.
-Not a lot of length or variation in hole distance. Most holes were reachable but not too far or too short.
Other Thoughts: -This is the first course that I have played in this type of business park setting. It was a good place for a course. One of the guys that I played with was on lunch from a nearby business.
-They really did use the land here well. To make a course with that kind of fun factor and flow is an impressive achievement. Maybe they should look into putting more courses into the other parks in this large business park.
-You might as well stop here. It isn't a championship course by any means but it is a fun, quick round and it is easy to find near hwy 36.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Find

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 110  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teepads 3
Baskets 4
Tee signs 3
Flow 4
Difficulty 3.5 (pending ob rules)
Alt tees 4
I really like this course good chance to refine midrange and putter but don't get me wrong i used drivers on some alt tee. The alt tees really changed the 9 holes i was super glad i played them
Cons: The course is short and packed in. Possible trouble with other park goers. Several tees are sidewalks and basket are right near sidewalks.
Other Thoughts: The course was green and lush. Very cute little park. I say go play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -cement tees
-slight elevation changes
-some trees for some added challenge
-good signage
-a whole alternate set of tees
-free to play and easy to access
-bathroom right by the parking lot
-decent variety of distance shots
Cons: -only a 9 hole
-quite a few wide open holes get boring
-quite a few of annoying water obstacles
Other Thoughts: Decent course, just nothing that really makes it stand out. Worth playing though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little 9 hole course. Great lay out with limited space. Reasonable distances for beginners/ average arms. Right amount of obstacles to keep shorter distances fun but not impossible. Some alternate tees to change it up if you to play 18. Can be played quickly if your in rush.
Cons: Some of the shots along the canal could be intimidating for newb players. Not sure what water is like in summer, but everything can be retrieved right now.
Other Thoughts: Over all a fun course and glad I took an opportunity to check it out. The alternate tees not only add a little distance, but create totally different lines for the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 Holes, 18 Tees!

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great Changes in elevation
- Lots of Trees and bushes to add difficulty
- Several holes have decent water hazards
- Alternate Tees make a 9 hole course into 18!
- Well Maintained
- Usually not too busy with DG players
Cons: - Often Times there are company parites that crowd the area around 3A as well as by the pin on hole 7.
- Many places to lose discs with multiple water hazards.
- No bridge to walk across on hole 5 and 5A.
- Many holes are short distance
- Swampy area often smells bad and eats discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to spend an afternoon at by playing both the Alternate and regular tees. The alternate tees are for the most part more technical and have more trees in the way. Weekend afternoons are at times busy but most weekend mornings and weekday afternoons seem to be open. Lots of places to lose a disc on this course so be sure to focus on accuracy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dual tees make this course

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 102  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees make the course interesting and the "A" tees decently challenging. It is designed wisely, taking advantage of the terrain, water and trees. Easy to follow, quick rounds make for multiple tries. Nice tee boxes and signs. #7 throw across the water is awesome.
Cons: No "A" tee for #5, construction, fairly short.
Other Thoughts: Great redesign!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Improved Design

2-4    7/15/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice piece of property that has water in play down the middle of it, and some minor elevation changes that mix in well with the large trees. The course isn't very long, coming in at just under 2500', but makes up for the length with trees, brush, and water hazards. I like the new #5, its short but the trees make it a marked improvement over the previous layout. Concrete tees for all of the boxes is a nice touch too.

There is also a 19 hole layout that is marked with spray paint throughout the course, but you'll need the map from the links page to truly be able to play this layout. Since being redone a few years ago, there were some minor hole changes like the position of #2 and #4, but the boxes are now easier to find with hallway decent marking. I enjoy that even though #2 was changed, it still retained its pucker effect because of the surrounding water.

BEST HOLE/S: #2, #4
Cons: #6 is still a filler hole, and the soccer field still comes into play, so it can be an issue competing for space with the other park users. The water is great, but just note that if you throw you disc in the drink - it's going to be gone in the fast moving current.

The new #9 pin location is a great hole, but if you overthrow - you're risk going into the parking lot and tagging your car. You may have some minor issues competing with path goers on #3 and #4.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the redesign for this course, and can tell that people in this area care about East Interlocken and its future. It's still not a top course in the Denver area, but it's one of the best nine-hole courses on the 36 corridor to Boulder.

Although I didn't have the 19 hole experience, I love when golfers care about a place, so unlike North Midway Park down the road, I think this course has a bright future. This is also one of those times where I think a 2.75 rating is on the nose, but with all of the improvements I'll give East Interlocken's playability and overall design changes an uptick to just touching three discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Can be great - Must play with hard-surface penalty

5+    4/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to and not very crowded. I know these don't sound like criteria that generally draw you onto a course but I am frequently able to get my friends off of the couch on Sunday afternoons because of those two things. Great facilities: restrooms, trash/recycle, shelter. If played with hard-top surfaces as out-of-bounds then this course is technical, difficult, and fun. If played as a standard park course then it will be just that.
Cons: This course is adjacent to Hwy 36 and you definitely notice. You have a great view of the mountains but everything else feels sterile and suburban. No character or creativity went into anything you see on the course. Cars on the west side of the parking lot regularly get hit by discs. The big field can get really swampy and/or goose pooped, which sucks to walk across.
Other Thoughts: We play this course with all hard-top surfaces and water OB. This makes this course really fun and very technical. I can shoot this course at -6 without this rule but generally shoot +4-5 with the "hard-tip rule". Admittedly, 2-3 of those strokes are penalty add-ons for landing on hard surfaces but the remaining strokes come from the added difficulty that comes along with the rule.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.