Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Alt. Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
(Not so) secret gem

2-4    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, and working on short game. A quick round.

Slopes and water make for some good challenges. Give your disc the right lie OR you can pay a price!

Variety of throws to try.

Well maintained and scenic. Wildlife includes coyotes, raccoons, owls, woodhouse toads, carp, catfish, and wolf spiders, among other beasties.

Alternate tees for most holes (some are challenging to find, see if a friendly local can help you locate them). You can reduce the hazard of the ditch on 3 and 4 during the spring and summer when it is running.
Cons: There IS a lot of water. The main irrigation ditch can have a powerful flow, and the potential for significant danger, if you are fool enough to put your foot in it when it is running.

Thorn-bearing trees around hole 8 can puncture a disc, easily. They'll put your eye out, or give you a nasty poke, if you're not watching closely.

A beehive is on the trail in one of the cottonwoods between 2 and 3.
Other Thoughts: I used to chuck my discraft ultrastar at trees and light poles around the property to the south and west, and always imagined having a crew to throw with out here. It is neat to see a formal course around "my back yard".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 if you like geese, this is the course for you

2-4    11/25/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: 3 disc wonder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Signage at each hole
Cons: - Simple hole layout, no challenging holes really
- All holes are relatively short
- Putrid water everywhere. You could lose your disc in 4 inches of water due to how murky the water is. Perhaps mine just dissolved, I'm not sure.
- Lots of geese on the course, so you may need to clean goose guano off of your disc on occasion.
Other Thoughts: This course is only ten minutes from my house and I will never play there again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun little hidden course

2-4    10/23/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: CBass
Played: 79  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees throughout with nice baskets. Signage on the regular tees can help the first timer make their way around and scout out the alternates along the way. Speaking of alternates tees, these are a nice addition and make the course much more fun for an experienced player. Lots of mature shade trees and shelter. A nice variety of shots on each set of tees. Sweet lake teeshot on #7(?) alternate. The trees, lake, marsh, hillsides, and creek will keep you on your toes. Seems like there are more than one route on most holes which more small courses lack. Short course but worth a trip out.
Cons: Alternate tees do not have distances marked, but they are not extremely long to make it a big deal. A couple drainage crossings can be tricky and may be slick so please be careful. Not too many cons really.
Other Thoughts: There is a message board with area info in it. Great course that the area needs and deserves. Keep up the good work guys!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/20/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 113  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept multi purpose park that is in a nice part of town.

-The baskets are in great shape.

-The course is relatively new so that means it is very quiet and does not see a lot of action yet.

-The course plays quickly as there is not a lot of walking in between holes so you can go in and play in a quick amount of time.

-There are dual tee pads at each of the holes and they each have different angles as opposed to just a longer shot, disc selection is different on each hole. You can end up playing 18 completely different holes.
Cons: -This course is way simple and does not have any holes that really stuck out to me, there was not a whole lot of excitement involved on shots.

-The creek that comes into play is quite tough with newer players. Especially on hole 2 where you have to throw downhill towards the basket and if you over shoot it by even 5 feet it is going to go in the water. It is a raging river and there is a very small chance that you will see your disc again after throwing it in.

-Some of the alternate tee positions were very difficult to find and there were no signs to point you where you needed to go to find the alternate positions.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with a few of my cousins when I was visiting who are inexperienced when it comes to disc golfing and we had a bad time with the river, losing two discs on very simple shots.

This course does not have any wow factor and no single hole that stuck out in my mind. In my opinion if you are in the area and want to play disc golf, Westminster DGC is real close by and will give you a bit more excitement then what this course has to offer. It is a passable course but by no means one that I would want to play every day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Park

2-4    10/8/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful well-groomed park
-Nice baskets
-Practice basket and info board near the first hole
-Concrete tee-pads and each hole has an alternate tee-pad
-The alternate tee-pads give many of the holes a different look
-There are tee-signs that show the layout of the hole and give the distance of the holes (though the alternate tee-pads don't have tee-signs for them)
-There is a canal that runs throughout the course and comes into play on some of the holes and hole 7 has a pond off to the right side that could come into play...so there are some water hazards
-There are some fun holes that use the available trees and landscape well
-A few of the holes have slight elevation changes on them
-If it is a windy day out, the wind will definitely come into play on a couple of the holes.
-The course uses the small space available for it quite well
Cons: -There are navigation problems between a few of the holes (Tee-pad for 8 can be a little hard to find when coming from hole 7). I suggest bringing a map the first time you play or taking a good look at the map on the info board at the beginning of the course.
-All of the holes on the course are pretty short (as with the normal tees the longest hole is just over 300 feet).
-While there are some fun holes on the course, a lot of the holes are straight shots and some of the holes (like hole 6 feel like filler holes added just to have another hole on the course).
-None of the holes on the course (at least from normal tees) are that difficult
-The alternate tee-pads can be hard to find if you don't know what to look for.
-The tee-pads are pretty small and about half of the normal tee-pads are on the sidewalks, which could interfere with other park users
-A lot of the holes play over or around sidewalks and a couple of the holes play pretty close to roads and the basket for 7 is right in front of a picnic pavilion. All of these could lead to potential safety hazards if the park is crowded.
-The canal and pond has some nasty water in it if it is full and you throw your disc in it. Also in a few spots some of the grass around the canal grows really tall and could lead to some lost plastic.
Other Thoughts: This is an enjoyable 9-holer in a small park. The designers did a good job of designing some fun holes with the space they had available. With that said, none of the holes on the course are truly memorable. This course doesn't take much time to play and if you work in the area, it would be a great lunch time break. This course is definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Little Nine Holer W/Alternate Teepads!

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one pretty little course. It's set in the middle of a business park and the course is extremely well maintained. It's green with, lush grass, shade trees, lots of hills and some water hazards. Today our water hazard was the sprinklers. The course weaves it way through the buildings sometimes using sidewalks as the tee boxes. There are a alternate set of boxes allowing you to play this as a full 18. This plays as a fairly easy recreational level course thus making it a perfect venue for bringing that newbie/wife/youngster. There are a few ACE runs. # 7 is the longest hole on the course with water on the right side but it can easily be avoided by playing it more safely and staying left. You'll need to throw both hysers and anhysers here. The shade and the sprinklers both were welcome on this 95 degree July day.
Cons: Advanced/Pro players won't find a challenge here. But I think they'd enjoy a round here anyway. I understand the canal can become a torrent after rain. Today, it was a trickle.
Other Thoughts: Perfect course for me, 60 year old recreational player. Your tastes may differ. Proceed at your own pace.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course, but small.

1    6/3/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: sPinister
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed and well kept. Pretty park. Fun way to kill 30 mins.
Cons: Too small. Not enough obstacles. too many straight on shots. thats pretty much it.
Other Thoughts: I have no thoughts other than these. these are the only thoughts i have.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 East Interlocken

5+    4/16/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. The grass is always well kept and maintenance is done daily. The space available is not extensive but the holes are well thought out and challenging for the distance. The course has nine additional tee pads that add very different looks at each basket.
Cons: Short holes. When water is in e creek there is little chance to retrieve it due to the fast moving water. All of the water and marshy areas boast an extremely distasteful smell so try to avoid them as much as possible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc down fun

5+    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well designed, maintained and clean course
- Friendly local regulars
- Great baskets
- Good signage
- Concrete tee's for every hole - even the alternates.
- Great for beginners to mid level players, fun for all levels of play
- Easy access, plenty of close parking and brick and mortar bathrooms
- Lots of near by shopping and food
- Alternate tee's on #3, #6 - 9 are great holes for all skill levels imo
- practice basket(s) ---** see below comments
- large soccer field allows for driving practice
- water fountain
- if you keep your disc dry, you don't need to be "geared up" to play. Really, 4-5 discs are all you need. I usually don't bring my bag, and you can leave your "get dirty clothes" at home.
- perfect for a quick game (can play all 18 in hour 15-30) or a tune up before Johnny Roberts/Birds Nest
Cons: - can be busy during peak hours, mainly due to smallish course.
- canal can be a mixed bag. Some days, dry. Others, fiercely flowing run off can hijack your disc (looks like it could be fun to tube on during days like that!). Then, there's the in between days where it's just plain stagnant mucky water.
- Tall weeds and marsh on 6. If your disc is submerged, it's pretty much gone for good.
- Lake on 7, if your disc goes in good luck getting it back.
- only 9 holes
- most holes are on the short side, nothing terribly technical here
- park is mostly open. If you're looking for a quiet peaceful day away from everything, this isn't it.
- needs more garbage cans
- like all courses near the foothills, course is subjected to some heavy winds at times
Other Thoughts: I'm here at least 3 times a week and it still provides a challenge, esp from the alt tee's.

I think holes 1/a and 2/a could have their tee's repositioned to elongate and add difficulty

The best improvement would come on hole 6, drain that marsh or some how facilitate easier disc retrieval. Maybe even have someone clean it once a month and return the discs for a $5 fee (those with names)? I have seen this at other courses.

***Others have said the practice basket is too close to #2's basket. Thats true if the course is busy, but when it's not, it allows you to use #2 as another practice basket, allowing you to shoot at one from the other (about 25-30 ft apart). This gives you more practice throws and less time spending setting up for them :) I consider this a plus.

This is essentially my home course, as I live 5 minutes away. As such, please clean up after yourself!!! The park is usually quite clean and I like it that way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Loud Noises

1    9/30/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course that sits in a very nice park setting. The park itself is well maintained though there does appear to be a lack of trash cans. Multiple tees for each hole make the course quite interesting. The regular tee pads are all quite nice and the basket are all quality as well. There is a nice practice basket, just don't get it confused with #2's basket. The course starts right next to the parking lot and ends right on the other side of the parking lot. There are some interesting shots. Signs are descent. All the alternate tees are painted and on cement. There is more challenge to this course that you might think so don't sleep on this course.
Cons: There was some difficulty finding tees, in particular the alternate tees. With just a few people on the course it can feel crowded. Alternate tees contribute to that problem as you cannot always see players on the alternate tees from the regular tees. The tee signs are only good for the regular tees and give you little to no clue about the alternate tees. Not all the alternate tees are in place to provide enough space for throwing the shots that you want, in particular hole 7. There were several occasions when I thought to myself, man that highway right there is rather distracting. The water is nasty in places. I watched one guy loose his disc on hole 2 in a canal that you would think not that difficult to find a disc but the water was not that clear and moving fast so who knows where the disc is now. The lake hole from the alternate tees is not as good as it could be as the water oddly does not really come into play. There is a path that goes through the park which comes into play on a couple of holes. Most of the water holes are not that threatening.
Other Thoughts: I had a wonderful time playing this course with some friends and new friends. It was one of the better 9 hole courses though it still fails with only one or two holes long enough to throw max distance drivers on. Despite holes that look difficult, most of them are still fairly easy holes. I did not see many signs to the park as the directions on this site indicate. Basically you get off of 36 at Wadsworth 121/128, follow 128 and then make a right at the next light and follow that to the park sign. The course is really close to the Flatiorns Mall with lots of good food and shopping nearby. This was a good experience, but the length of the course on the hole kind of takes away from how good this course could be. There really just needs to be more land in this place for the course to get better.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.