Disc Golf Store
Broomfield, CO 
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Impressive Interlocken

2-4    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 70  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: East Interlocken DGC is nestled comfortably within a high-end business park in the foothills of Broomfield, Colorado. Private jets, helicopters and biplanes can be seen and heard passing overhead on outings to and from a small nearby hilltop airport. On weekends, the streets of the business park are scarcely traveled, providing a tranquil atmosphere. The course itself is designed with a certain level of competitive thought, but the main tee-off positions have no intention of stumping the seasoned disc golfer. Less advanced players will find the course an excellent practice ground for learning new shots, since the length and technical skill of each hole varies greatly. Major props to the designer for squeezing in just about every type of hole here: tight & tactical, between-the-trees, long bombs out in the open, a couple water hazards, elevation changes, and both right- and left-hand doglegs. Trees, light poles, a bog, a drainage ditch and a pond serve as excellent obstacles to stir up the game on seven of the fairways, while two of the holes are wide open shots. Alternate, but less obvious tees (see map) offer an entirely different approach to the pins, giving players with a little extra time a valid reason to play a second round to make a full 18. Trash cans, concrete tee pads, quality baskets and legible tee signs all play their part in making this a well-rounded course that earns its rank a few notches above many of its 9-hole counterparts.
Cons: There are a handful of places to lose precious plastic along this relatively short course. These include a cement waterway that often carries a hefty current capable of quickly eloping with your prized putter, a thin marshy stretch of head-high weeds that hide a carpet of thick black mud, and a stagnant pool of opaque disc-sucking mud-water. There are also a couple choice opportunities to toss onto the road, so mind the passing Mercedes, please. The droning highway noise of Route 36 is not the most audio pleasant backdrop to a well-groomed course, but it is tollerable.
Other Thoughts: When visiting East Interlocken Park, think upper-middle class in terms of short, free 9-holer courses. Visit these sub-Hollywood hills on a weekend morning to avoid the hustle and bustle of the Monday through Friday business park shuffle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Beginner Course

5+    7/13/2011   8/1/2011
Review By: O1DMBFan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Paved path for half of the course
- Easily marked holes and signs
- Very well maintained
Cons: - Very short holes (Par 3 Course)
- Many wide open holes, non-technical holes where only drive distance matters
- Water Hazards can literally steal your discs due to fast flowing waters
Other Thoughts: Over all a very decent well traveled course. I will continue to throw this course as I live near it but it will get old fast as there are not many technical throws. This is an excellent course for beginners and I will recommend it to anyone who is new the sport.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, alternate teepads make it better

5+    7/7/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: The Bard
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Alternate tee pad locations. Aside from Hole 8 and Hole 2, the alternate tee pads give you a totally different look at the basket.
-Nice tee signs and new tee pads
-Good course flow and easy to follow
-Some elevation change
-Can play through pretty quickly
-Some decent water hazards to navigate if that's your thing
-Well maintained park
-Good course to introduce someone to disc golf if the canal water is low and slow flowing
-Always parking available
-Can be a good confidence booster if you need it :)
Cons: -Many of the holes off the regular 9 tee pads are either short, wide open, or fairly non-technical.
-The alternate tee pads aren't really pads, but just spray painted on sidewalks. This makes them less "official" in my books.
-If your disc goes into the canal when it happens to have high, fast flowing water, there is a good chance your disc will be lost. It may not be worth trying to look for because it could be anywhere. Especially watch out on holes 2 and 4. One round my short putts hit the basket and then rolled into the canal. If you can, have someone stand between the canal and baskets when putting during times like this.
-Alternate tee pad on #7 can be pretty ridiculous for most people. Unless you are guaranteed to throw 325+, don't bother or you'll lose your disc.
-Practice basket is too close to basket 2 and the canal
Other Thoughts: Others:

[Context helps for reading any review: Ability: experienced intermediate player, Avg drive as of writing: 300', #times played this course: 5, #courses played as of review: 19]

Overall a decent course that I will play often since it's close to where I live. After I discovered the alternate tee pad locations the course went from a 2 to a 2 in my mind because of the variety of a 9 holer. I really do want to give it a 3. But since many of the regular 9 tee pad locations (most "official" ones of the course) are somewhat bland, I don't feel like I can do so. Plus I don't like that you aren't sure before going what the canal water will be like. In the end, compared to other courses it seems fairly average, hence the "Decent/Typical" DGCR rating. Still a decent course that you should check out.

---------

Just as an aside, since North Midway Park is so close (5 min drive) and also a 9 hole, it seems appropriate to compare the two if you are considering playing in the immediate area.

Midway better features:
-Longer holes
-Less disc golf crowds
-Less lost disc potential
-Additional challenge of getting par
-Better to take first time players

Interlocken better features:
-Less dangerous things to hit
-More of a "disc golf course" feel to it
-More hazards to navigate
-At least has a practice basket
-Multiple official tee pad locations adding levels of challenge
-Has some elevation change
-Less distance may be better for newer players

For me if it's between the two, 4/5 times I'll pick Interlocken.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 hole

5+    6/20/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course in a well maintained park. Tee pads & signs for every hole. There are alt. tee pads for most of the holes. It uses the parks features well and the overall layout provides for a nice flow and out of the way of other park users.

Favorite Hole: #4
Cons: The course follows a path that goes through the park and when I played the course last, there were some cyclist riding through and you couldn't see them til it was almost too late. The other con is that there is only 1 hole over 300'. If you use the "pro" tee pads it does add a little length and difficultly to the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, very nice park course. Well worth a 30 minute drive for me. MHDGC tags on Tuesday nights @ 5:30pm. Good course for 9 hole or 18 with the alt. tee pads.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.