Broomfield, CO
East Interlocken Park Share
Uploaded By: The Bard Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Interesting Use of Land

2-4    4/8/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Some fun tee shots and fast greens due to elevation. Some baskets are near the creek or drainage ditch and they are like disc magnets while being shallow enough that you should be able to get your disc back.
+Concrete tees or sidewalk tees are plenty big and grippy
+Friendly locals, thanks to Dakota and Jay for the fun round and for helping me find my way around the course on my first time.
+Baskets are nice
+Alternate tees offer a longer, if not different, look at the basket. They are usually only on the sidewalk and don't have a sign like the main tee so it is a little harder to play these.
+Signage is helpful enough, I had help finding my way around but I think it would have been just fine by myself. The next tee is either fairly close to the last basket.
+Some ace runs here without being too short. Often, there is some solid risk/reward with either elevation, water, or both.
+Some people play all concrete/roads as OB and that would definitely add challenge.
+There are multiple routes to the basket on many of these holes and it didn't seem to favor any certain type of throw.
Cons: -If you drainage ditch is running, it could eat your disc and take it away for good. Use more caution if the water is flowing.
-Tees are often on sidewalks and these same sidewalks are often populated by runners, bikers, walkers, etc. You may have to wait for them to pass out of your range before throwing.
-I came here just before lunch hour and it was already quite busy. I imagine that this course could get crowded pretty quickly.
-Not a lot of length or variation in hole distance. Most holes were reachable but not too far or too short.
Other Thoughts: -This is the first course that I have played in this type of business park setting. It was a good place for a course. One of the guys that I played with was on lunch from a nearby business.
-They really did use the land here well. To make a course with that kind of fun factor and flow is an impressive achievement. Maybe they should look into putting more courses into the other parks in this large business park.
-You might as well stop here. It isn't a championship course by any means but it is a fun, quick round and it is easy to find near hwy 36.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Find

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 105  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Teepads 3
Baskets 4
Tee signs 3
Flow 4
Difficulty 3.5 (pending ob rules)
Alt tees 4
I really like this course good chance to refine midrange and putter but don't get me wrong i used drivers on some alt tee. The alt tees really changed the 9 holes i was super glad i played them
Cons: The course is short and packed in. Possible trouble with other park goers. Several tees are sidewalks and basket are right near sidewalks.
Other Thoughts: The course was green and lush. Very cute little park. I say go play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/18/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -cement tees
-slight elevation changes
-some trees for some added challenge
-good signage
-a whole alternate set of tees
-free to play and easy to access
-bathroom right by the parking lot
-decent variety of distance shots
Cons: -only a 9 hole
-quite a few wide open holes get boring
-quite a few of annoying water obstacles
Other Thoughts: Decent course, just nothing that really makes it stand out. Worth playing though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    11/29/2013   11/29/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great little 9 hole course. Great lay out with limited space. Reasonable distances for beginners/ average arms. Right amount of obstacles to keep shorter distances fun but not impossible. Some alternate tees to change it up if you to play 18. Can be played quickly if your in rush.
Cons: Some of the shots along the canal could be intimidating for newb players. Not sure what water is like in summer, but everything can be retrieved right now.
Other Thoughts: Over all a fun course and glad I took an opportunity to check it out. The alternate tees not only add a little distance, but create totally different lines for the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

9 Holes, 18 Tees!

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great Changes in elevation
- Lots of Trees and bushes to add difficulty
- Several holes have decent water hazards
- Alternate Tees make a 9 hole course into 18!
- Well Maintained
- Usually not too busy with DG players
Cons: - Often Times there are company parites that crowd the area around 3A as well as by the pin on hole 7.
- Many places to lose discs with multiple water hazards.
- No bridge to walk across on hole 5 and 5A.
- Many holes are short distance
- Swampy area often smells bad and eats discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to spend an afternoon at by playing both the Alternate and regular tees. The alternate tees are for the most part more technical and have more trees in the way. Weekend afternoons are at times busy but most weekend mornings and weekday afternoons seem to be open. Lots of places to lose a disc on this course so be sure to focus on accuracy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dual tees make this course

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Gumby23
Played: 101  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Dual tees make the course interesting and the "A" tees decently challenging. It is designed wisely, taking advantage of the terrain, water and trees. Easy to follow, quick rounds make for multiple tries. Nice tee boxes and signs. #7 throw across the water is awesome.
Cons: No "A" tee for #5, construction, fairly short.
Other Thoughts: Great redesign!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Improved Design

2-4    7/15/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice piece of property that has water in play down the middle of it, and some minor elevation changes that mix in well with the large trees. The course isn't very long, coming in at just under 2500', but makes up for the length with trees, brush, and water hazards. I like the new #5, its short but the trees make it a marked improvement over the previous layout. Concrete tees for all of the boxes is a nice touch too.

There is also a 19 hole layout that is marked with spray paint throughout the course, but you'll need the map from the links page to truly be able to play this layout. Since being redone a few years ago, there were some minor hole changes like the position of #2 and #4, but the boxes are now easier to find with hallway decent marking. I enjoy that even though #2 was changed, it still retained its pucker effect because of the surrounding water.

BEST HOLE/S: #2, #4
Cons: #6 is still a filler hole, and the soccer field still comes into play, so it can be an issue competing for space with the other park users. The water is great, but just note that if you throw you disc in the drink - it's going to be gone in the fast moving current.

The new #9 pin location is a great hole, but if you overthrow - you're risk going into the parking lot and tagging your car. You may have some minor issues competing with path goers on #3 and #4.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the redesign for this course, and can tell that people in this area care about East Interlocken and its future. It's still not a top course in the Denver area, but it's one of the best nine-hole courses on the 36 corridor to Boulder.

Although I didn't have the 19 hole experience, I love when golfers care about a place, so unlike North Midway Park down the road, I think this course has a bright future. This is also one of those times where I think a 2.75 rating is on the nose, but with all of the improvements I'll give East Interlocken's playability and overall design changes an uptick to just touching three discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Can be great - Must play with hard-surface penalty

5+    4/7/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: ttuff
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to and not very crowded. I know these don't sound like criteria that generally draw you onto a course but I am frequently able to get my friends off of the couch on Sunday afternoons because of those two things. Great facilities: restrooms, trash/recycle, shelter. If played with hard-top surfaces as out-of-bounds then this course is technical, difficult, and fun. If played as a standard park course then it will be just that.
Cons: This course is adjacent to Hwy 36 and you definitely notice. You have a great view of the mountains but everything else feels sterile and suburban. No character or creativity went into anything you see on the course. Cars on the west side of the parking lot regularly get hit by discs. The big field can get really swampy and/or goose pooped, which sucks to walk across.
Other Thoughts: We play this course with all hard-top surfaces and water OB. This makes this course really fun and very technical. I can shoot this course at -6 without this rule but generally shoot +4-5 with the "hard-tip rule". Admittedly, 2-3 of those strokes are penalty add-ons for landing on hard surfaces but the remaining strokes come from the added difficulty that comes along with the rule.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

(Not so) secret gem

2-4    12/24/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for beginners, and working on short game. A quick round.

Slopes and water make for some good challenges. Give your disc the right lie OR you can pay a price!

Variety of throws to try.

Well maintained and scenic. Wildlife includes coyotes, raccoons, owls, woodhouse toads, carp, catfish, and wolf spiders, among other beasties.

Alternate tees for most holes (some are challenging to find, see if a friendly local can help you locate them). You can reduce the hazard of the ditch on 3 and 4 during the spring and summer when it is running.
Cons: There IS a lot of water. The main irrigation ditch can have a powerful flow, and the potential for significant danger, if you are fool enough to put your foot in it when it is running.

Thorn-bearing trees around hole 8 can puncture a disc, easily. They'll put your eye out, or give you a nasty poke, if you're not watching closely.

A beehive is on the trail in one of the cottonwoods between 2 and 3.
Other Thoughts: I used to chuck my discraft ultrastar at trees and light poles around the property to the south and west, and always imagined having a crew to throw with out here. It is neat to see a formal course around "my back yard".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 if you like geese, this is the course for you

2-4    11/25/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: 3 disc wonder
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Signage at each hole
Cons: - Simple hole layout, no challenging holes really
- All holes are relatively short
- Putrid water everywhere. You could lose your disc in 4 inches of water due to how murky the water is. Perhaps mine just dissolved, I'm not sure.
- Lots of geese on the course, so you may need to clean goose guano off of your disc on occasion.
Other Thoughts: This course is only ten minutes from my house and I will never play there again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.