Trego, WI 
Heartwood - 24 Share
Uploaded By: TheNatural1 Hole #8
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very decent course

5+    4/6/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: nin1002
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of variety throughout. Each hole presents it's own set of obstacles. Elevation, long holes, short holes, curbing to the right, curbing to the left, curbing left and right, you name it. Most of the holes are easy to find, and most of them have tee boxes/signs. You can expect little to no traffic on the course. Hole 23 is truly one of the most memorable holes you will play at any course. You start at the top of the hill about 200 feet from the hole and the entire hole is straight down at a very steep drop. The view itself is gorgeous, and I must admit, with no water or really any chance of losing your disc, it is a truly intimidating hole to throw your drive from.
Cons: Finding the first hole can be difficult if you are unfamiliar with the property as there are multiple entrances to the facility, and it's not clear where the "shack" is. In the summer, there are MANY ticks/mosquitoes. The locations is way out there, and it is a trek to get to (but worth the drive).
Other Thoughts: There are many geocaches around the property for another outdoor activity option. There is a nice park, tennis courts, basketball court as well. The snack shack is very rarely open (in fact, it has never been open any of the half dozen times I have been there).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Go big or go home!!!

5+    8/20/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: TheNatural1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: The first thing that comes to mind about this course is the magnitude and variety of holes. The fairways are taken care of as well as the foot paths from tee to tee. There is a nice balance between wooded and open shots. The Ace course has nine holes that are perfect. They make for a good warm up before you start the 24. The Snack Shack has icee's, pizzas, satellite t.v., and is air conditioned. It's location in the middle of nowhere cuts down on the amount of people making it seem as if it were your own. No newbs!! This course will make you or break you.
Cons: The bugs can be annoying. No benches. The roughs are just that. A lot of thorny plants, wear long socks or bring a machete like I did.
Other Thoughts: I have shot Highbridge Hills, Mont Du Lac, Kaposia, and Blue Ribbon Pines. These courses are some of the best in the country. Heartwood in my opinion is right up there. Every time I go there I can't wait to get back.

Underated

2-4    7/8/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Mr. Cumstein
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, beautiful grounds, friendly service ,and challenging.
Cons: Can be very buggy (dress accordingly ,and bring bug spray),but what northern WI course isn't. Not for the easily frustrated.
Other Thoughts: Great people run the course and allow you early birds to pay after your round or on the back half. Lengthy holes, have plenty of water to stay hydrated on the hot days of summer. Tees are just fine with me and the ruff isn't as bad as other reviews say. If you 're visiting the area its must play (in my opinion).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Championship Level Course, Beautiful without the Bugs!

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Manimal
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Championship level course-not for newbs
Nice walking paths
Can rent a golf cart
Nice Signs
Nice Tee Pads
Cons: Lots of bugs in the summer months
Very Thick Rough
Other Thoughts: So I see a lot of reviews on here complaining that "the fairways are too narrow" or "the holes are too long" well I don't see that as a con at all, it's supposed to be challenging. If you know your discs, and have a decent arm this course is definitely manageable. Yes, the rough is thick, and you have very limited shot selection once your in, so work on your rollers and thumbers. The whole point of disc golf is that it's challenging, and that's what the designers had in mind when they made this course. If you wanted an easy course, stop whining and go play the 9 hole located at the same facility and leave this 24 hole beauty to the players with the maturity to handle it.

The breadth and range of shot selection was excellent: upshots, down shots, hallways, dogleg left & right, blind shots, this course has it all. The end of the course really demands excellent accuracy and distance, with at least 5 500+ foot holes, which I loved.

The one very distinct downside to this course was the bug population. Unfortunately being in northern Wisconsin, the mosquitoes and gnats were very very thick. When I played this course it was just after a rainfall, it was a balmy 70 degrees, overcast, no wind, and very humid, so basically perfect for bugs. My advice: BRING BUG SPRAY!, maybe even a bug net safari hat, and try to plan to go on a day where the sun is out, it's not wet, and there's a bit of wind to push the gnats away. I wish it would have been nicer that day, as I will definitely play this course again, but it became very difficult to focus on my game dealing with mosquitoes on every throw, and having gnats in your face for every putt.

Otherwise, it's a phenomenal course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/1/2012   4/12/2013
Review By: malarkeee
Played: 68  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 33 holes at one place will make it worth the trip.
Nice variety of shots, mostly wooded but some are more open.
Friendly staff seem to be looking for suggestions on how to improve the course.
Recently widened fairways on a lot of holes.
Resort on site.
Cons: Pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
Fairways are widened which is a big help but still pretty tight in some places. If you get off the fairway you might just have to play out sideways and not think about advancing the disc very far.
Other Thoughts: I've played here twice now and the first time was tough with the super tight fairways. I don't think anyone broke 100 on the 24 hole main course.
Second time was much better with the wider fairways. I think I shot upper 80's which is a lot closer to par.
Overall I would return to the Heartwood next chance I get.
I've found that any course designed by Tim Gill is worth playing if you get the chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hope you can throw long and strait.

1    8/19/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: FireThrower
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hard to find a 24 In the area.
Nice maps and scorecards provided.
Great Scenery.
Cons: Extremely narrow holes! One was 600' and about 15' wide.
The typical par on a 500'+ hole was 4 leaving you to have to throw 100' or more a throw in a 15' wide lane. Thats just not possible, maybe even for pros. '
Lack of variety. I actually thought i was lost and someone how ended up back at a previous hole but turns out it was just that identical to the earlier one.
Spent more time in the woods then I care for. Had to spot each others throws to even find discs in very dense woods.
Other Thoughts: Skip the 24 and do the smaller 9 hole course they have that runs along the soccer/volleyball field. We enjoyed that course and they let us play it at a discounted rate. It is a par 3/4 course great for beginners and is still fun for seasoned players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots to be done

2-4    7/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: CoopDeVille
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was the only one on the course, got a hole in 1 on the 200ft hole! North woods are amazing!
Cons: Fairways are too narrow (even for pros) I say that in the fact that you need some room to put power on if you are shooting a 600ft hole, with a 8 foot wide fairway with the thickest ruff you can have is not challenging it is impossible. pads are not regulation, and the "pro shop" they speak of is a joke.
Other Thoughts: This course could be one of the best in the U.S. it just needs a better design.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heartwood - 24

1    5/28/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: New concrete tee-pads
Maps on all the holes
Great course for working on accuracy
Nice use of elevation and played on beautiful north-woods country
Clean and well maintained
Located on a resort with all the amenities, even a small 'convenience' store at the clubhouse/bait shop
Cons: Bugs!
Expensive
Narrow fairways run through very thick forests (not really a con, but makes this course very tough)
In the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: This course is very challenging. The fairways are narrow, mostly about 15 feet wide. The forests the course is played through are very, very thick. The course requires a lot of accuracy, and probably is not the best for beginners. A lot of the holes are also quite long with the longest at about 650 feet.
The course is split up into 2 - 12 hole layouts, both start and finish near the clubhouse. Most of the course is played through the thick forests, except the six holes or so at the beginning and end of each 12. There is also a spot that plays a couple holes through some beautiful fields with rolling hills and excellent hole placement. There is one hole on these fields that would probably be the signature hole for the course, hole #19. The tee is on the top of one hill throwing about 450 feet to the basket on the side of another hill. There is a lane through some tree-tops and the hole is placed between some trees. It's quite beautiful and challenging, a very fun hole.
All in all this a great course. It's quite long, and very challenging. Bring your 'A' game for this place. If not for the $10 pay to play and being in the middle of nowhere this would be an easy 4.5. Will definitely play again and highly recommend to any serious disc golfer in north Wisconsin/Minnesota.

 

1    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: adam smitty
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: seems like it has a lot of potential, but just doesnt live up to it.
Cons: so many things need to be done here for this course to actually be fun. heartwood shows why further is not necessarily more fun. the majority of the holes are 400+ feet, but if you want to par it you will be throwing midrangers and putters on nearly every shot. the lanes are barely big enough to fit a four wheeler on, much less attempt any cool/fun disc golf shots. There are 15 or more shots that are basically the exact same thing over and over again which just gets boring. also, this course clearly needs to be played in...the rough is gross and full of painful thorns and given that the fairways are essentially non existent you will be spending a lot of time getting your ankles ripped at. go play highbridge, this place isnt worth the money. at least not yet.
Other Thoughts: blah

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Course

5+    8/29/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging championship course.
12 holes clockwise down cross country trails with a few big open bombers. 4 Par 4's and a Par 5. Very challenging testing your mental game as well as every shot in your bag. Other 12 runs counter clockwise balancing out the righty/lefty options. 2 par 4's on this 12. Excellent elevation changes throughout. Very nice concrete tees with nice signage with distances and pars. Both 12's start and finish at the chalet/clubhouse which has a good selection of discs, snacks and drinks. Pitch and putt course is fun as well and a nice compliment to the big course. The resort has pumped a lot of money and resources into making this a must play destination course. Make a weekend out of it, the resort is first class and fun for the whole family. Another Northwest Wisconsin Gem!
Cons: As with any new course, it's still still not broken in. Use spotters on many of the holes. Not very beginner friendly which is not a con, that's the intent, to have a championship level course.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful resort course. The views and wildlife are excellent. Very challenging yet fun unlike some championship courses. If you are familar with Tower Ridge in Eau Claire WI, it has a simlial feel to the original course, only better IMO.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.