Trego, WI 
Heartwood - 24 Share
Uploaded By: TheNatural1 Hole #14
3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Heartwood Delivers A Challenge

1    9/8/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 87  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2016
Pros: Bullet point Review***
* Course has great signage
*Course has concrete tee pads in a wilderness setting
* Course is challenging
*Course starts and ends in same area. As well as half way through.
*Course has a well kept feeling to it.
*Course has terrain...not just a few feet up or down, but winding as well.
Cons: * Course lacks benches
*Course lacks trash cans
*Course plays up and down dirt roads not fairways.
*Course goes from "fairway" to ROUGH. No room for error
*Course lacks the "FUN factor"
*Course Snack Shack isn't always open
Other Thoughts: I will say this about Heartwood 24: As an experienced player I am not knocking the course for being challenging. I mention the lack of the fun factor. Fun factor to me at least is when you can enjoy your round and not have to worry about losing your disc. You should be able to play your round and not worry about throwing your go to disc because you might lose it if you shank or grip lock it. The rough is too rough. The gnats also took some fun out playing the course, but I did not list the bugs as a con. The scenery is gorgeous, and the forests are beautiful. The fact that you have to worry about losing your disc on almost every hole is annoying. On the front 12 you are playing up and down a dirt road. A dirt road is not a fairway. It is a cheap way to make a "fairway" that serves multiple purposes. The property doesn't seem to be hard up for money so I'm not sure why the designer decided to use the road. I was enjoying my round and was scared half to death when a work truck came hurling the "fairway". Again I want to quickly touch on the fact that I loved the challenge of the course.
Another Con that I listed was the fact that the course goes from fairway to ROUGH quickly. And the rough has a significant amount of poisonous plants. Add to that the thorny bushes that will chew your legs if you don't wear long pants. And as with most courses in Wisconsin bugs can be a problem. Gnats especially. I had a cloud of them surrounding my head the entire time. But notice I didn't list that as a con.
Next I'll touch on the fact that course should have a bench evey so often. This course has terrain. You will need to stay hydrated and fueled. Most disc golfers, myself included, carry their own stool or chair. For those who do not a bench would be a welcomed sight.
Since I am a fan of PACK IT IN PACK IT OUT or No Trace I would say that a trash can every now and then on the course would help keep the course clean. Now I will say that course is well kept so I am not talking about a trash can on every hole, but a can on four holes that are the furthest from the parking lot in their respective N,S,E,W corners might help.
Having played courses stretching from northern Wisconsin to southern Texas this course reminded me most of THE BEAR up at Highbridge Hills. You have to be patient and place your shots. This course is not for the big arms. There was maybe two or three holes I had a chance to bust my arm out and rip it. Most if not all shots where placed with a fairway driver almost a mid range. That's the challenge of this course. Being carved out of the woods with hiking trails intertwined creates a beautiful course. Again I would touch on the fact that you need to watch out for poisonous plants.
The property main lodge was a bit surprising to be honest. I wasn't expecting this commercialized "cabin style" lodge. The road leading to the grounds takes you through a rural area of northern Wisconsin. I must admit I even whistled dualing banjos at one point. Not that serious but I did. Again the property was well kept and trimmed.
Not much else I can say about this course. I could definitely see some tournaments going on in the future as well as maybe a festival to go along with a dg tournament. The 9 hole course is a great warm up for your placement game. Get your up shit game on point before hitting up this course. Bring bug spray and wear long clothing. Bring water and snacks. Hope that the snack shack will be open next time I visit. I was looking forward to seeing what they call a "pro shop" Most places say they have a pro shop when in reality they have a small store. Prove me wrong HEARTWOOD!
In conclusion, I must say I really enjoyed my time at the course today. I was pleased that the course didn't have high pars. For being a 24 hole course in the woods out in the middle of nowhere it was surprisingly well kept and trimmed. For those that aren't seasoned players I'd have a spotter. And last but not least in any way... The signage was superb. Never got lost nor did I feel like I didn't know where to go next. Well done Heartwood.

There is a course here

2-4    9/5/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 106  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality course right here. All the amenities of a Pay to Play. Concrete tees level and pointed correctly, good tee signs, good directive signs, very challenging. I'm especially a fan of the winding fairways and thick brush line shaping the fairways. This course also utilizes some nice elevation. Very peaceful solitude out there. I'll let someone else criticize whether the throws were fair or repetitive. I liked them all. Fairway placement is fun for me. Repetitive or not.
Cons: Your con is my pro. CHALLENGING. Yes, its a 500 ft shot winding down and back uphill through the woods. Yes, you will lose a disc if you go all He-Man on it and can't see where it went. Yes, thick woods are home to bugs and thorn bushes. I did find a potential solution to the bugs. See Other Thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Loved the build up of getting here. Drive through a typical Wisconsin wooded highway. Take a winding gravel road, and come up on a very nice resort type of place. Large expensive looking buildings all on a lake. Multiple activities everywhere you look. Use common sense to find the "Snack Shack" Park by it and you will find the three loops of golf all start right there. So we played it Labor day weekend. BUGS SOLUTION? They had these little gnats that would cloud your face, eyes, and ears. I decided to try using an umbrella! Holding the umbrella seemed to distract the gnats. They would land on it and swarm around the dark structure points and leave my eyes alone. My friend thought it was ridiculous but I thought it worked great. Didn't help while throwing however. Ignore and throw. Or... just come here in the fall. Do come here. My ratings are based on how much fun it is. Very hard (fun), plus amenities, minus that mystery X factor that disc golfers are always looking for. Equals 4.5

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very decent course

5+    4/6/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: nin1002
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of variety throughout. Each hole presents it's own set of obstacles. Elevation, long holes, short holes, curbing to the right, curbing to the left, curbing left and right, you name it. Most of the holes are easy to find, and most of them have tee boxes/signs. You can expect little to no traffic on the course. Hole 23 is truly one of the most memorable holes you will play at any course. You start at the top of the hill about 200 feet from the hole and the entire hole is straight down at a very steep drop. The view itself is gorgeous, and I must admit, with no water or really any chance of losing your disc, it is a truly intimidating hole to throw your drive from.
Cons: Finding the first hole can be difficult if you are unfamiliar with the property as there are multiple entrances to the facility, and it's not clear where the "shack" is. In the summer, there are MANY ticks/mosquitoes. The locations is way out there, and it is a trek to get to (but worth the drive).
Other Thoughts: There are many geocaches around the property for another outdoor activity option. There is a nice park, tennis courts, basketball court as well. The snack shack is very rarely open (in fact, it has never been open any of the half dozen times I have been there).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Go big or go home!!!

5+    8/20/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: TheNatural1
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: The first thing that comes to mind about this course is the magnitude and variety of holes. The fairways are taken care of as well as the foot paths from tee to tee. There is a nice balance between wooded and open shots. The Ace course has nine holes that are perfect. They make for a good warm up before you start the 24. The Snack Shack has icee's, pizzas, satellite t.v., and is air conditioned. It's location in the middle of nowhere cuts down on the amount of people making it seem as if it were your own. No newbs!! This course will make you or break you.
Cons: The bugs can be annoying. No benches. The roughs are just that. A lot of thorny plants, wear long socks or bring a machete like I did.
Other Thoughts: I have shot Highbridge Hills, Mont Du Lac, Kaposia, and Blue Ribbon Pines. These courses are some of the best in the country. Heartwood in my opinion is right up there. Every time I go there I can't wait to get back.

 Underated

2-4    7/8/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Mr. Cumstein
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, beautiful grounds, friendly service ,and challenging.
Cons: Can be very buggy (dress accordingly ,and bring bug spray),but what northern WI course isn't. Not for the easily frustrated.
Other Thoughts: Great people run the course and allow you early birds to pay after your round or on the back half. Lengthy holes, have plenty of water to stay hydrated on the hot days of summer. Tees are just fine with me and the ruff isn't as bad as other reviews say. If you 're visiting the area its must play (in my opinion).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Level Course, Beautiful without the Bugs!

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Manimal
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Championship level course-not for newbs
Nice walking paths
Can rent a golf cart
Nice Signs
Nice Tee Pads
Cons: Lots of bugs in the summer months
Very Thick Rough
Other Thoughts: So I see a lot of reviews on here complaining that "the fairways are too narrow" or "the holes are too long" well I don't see that as a con at all, it's supposed to be challenging. If you know your discs, and have a decent arm this course is definitely manageable. Yes, the rough is thick, and you have very limited shot selection once your in, so work on your rollers and thumbers. The whole point of disc golf is that it's challenging, and that's what the designers had in mind when they made this course. If you wanted an easy course, stop whining and go play the 9 hole located at the same facility and leave this 24 hole beauty to the players with the maturity to handle it.

The breadth and range of shot selection was excellent: upshots, down shots, hallways, dogleg left & right, blind shots, this course has it all. The end of the course really demands excellent accuracy and distance, with at least 5 500+ foot holes, which I loved.

The one very distinct downside to this course was the bug population. Unfortunately being in northern Wisconsin, the mosquitoes and gnats were very very thick. When I played this course it was just after a rainfall, it was a balmy 70 degrees, overcast, no wind, and very humid, so basically perfect for bugs. My advice: BRING BUG SPRAY!, maybe even a bug net safari hat, and try to plan to go on a day where the sun is out, it's not wet, and there's a bit of wind to push the gnats away. I wish it would have been nicer that day, as I will definitely play this course again, but it became very difficult to focus on my game dealing with mosquitoes on every throw, and having gnats in your face for every putt.

Otherwise, it's a phenomenal course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/1/2012   4/12/2013
Review By: malarkeee
Played: 71  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 33 holes at one place will make it worth the trip.
Nice variety of shots, mostly wooded but some are more open.
Friendly staff seem to be looking for suggestions on how to improve the course.
Recently widened fairways on a lot of holes.
Resort on site.
Cons: Pretty much in the middle of nowhere.
Fairways are widened which is a big help but still pretty tight in some places. If you get off the fairway you might just have to play out sideways and not think about advancing the disc very far.
Other Thoughts: I've played here twice now and the first time was tough with the super tight fairways. I don't think anyone broke 100 on the 24 hole main course.
Second time was much better with the wider fairways. I think I shot upper 80's which is a lot closer to par.
Overall I would return to the Heartwood next chance I get.
I've found that any course designed by Tim Gill is worth playing if you get the chance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hope you can throw long and strait.

1    8/19/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: FireThrower
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hard to find a 24 In the area.
Nice maps and scorecards provided.
Great Scenery.
Cons: Extremely narrow holes! One was 600' and about 15' wide.
The typical par on a 500'+ hole was 4 leaving you to have to throw 100' or more a throw in a 15' wide lane. Thats just not possible, maybe even for pros. '
Lack of variety. I actually thought i was lost and someone how ended up back at a previous hole but turns out it was just that identical to the earlier one.
Spent more time in the woods then I care for. Had to spot each others throws to even find discs in very dense woods.
Other Thoughts: Skip the 24 and do the smaller 9 hole course they have that runs along the soccer/volleyball field. We enjoyed that course and they let us play it at a discounted rate. It is a par 3/4 course great for beginners and is still fun for seasoned players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots to be done

2-4    7/10/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: CoopDeVille
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was the only one on the course, got a hole in 1 on the 200ft hole! North woods are amazing!
Cons: Fairways are too narrow (even for pros) I say that in the fact that you need some room to put power on if you are shooting a 600ft hole, with a 8 foot wide fairway with the thickest ruff you can have is not challenging it is impossible. pads are not regulation, and the "pro shop" they speak of is a joke.
Other Thoughts: This course could be one of the best in the U.S. it just needs a better design.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heartwood - 24

1    5/28/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 55  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: New concrete tee-pads
Maps on all the holes
Great course for working on accuracy
Nice use of elevation and played on beautiful north-woods country
Clean and well maintained
Located on a resort with all the amenities, even a small 'convenience' store at the clubhouse/bait shop
Cons: Bugs!
Expensive
Narrow fairways run through very thick forests (not really a con, but makes this course very tough)
In the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: This course is very challenging. The fairways are narrow, mostly about 15 feet wide. The forests the course is played through are very, very thick. The course requires a lot of accuracy, and probably is not the best for beginners. A lot of the holes are also quite long with the longest at about 650 feet.
The course is split up into 2 - 12 hole layouts, both start and finish near the clubhouse. Most of the course is played through the thick forests, except the six holes or so at the beginning and end of each 12. There is also a spot that plays a couple holes through some beautiful fields with rolling hills and excellent hole placement. There is one hole on these fields that would probably be the signature hole for the course, hole #19. The tee is on the top of one hill throwing about 450 feet to the basket on the side of another hill. There is a lane through some tree-tops and the hole is placed between some trees. It's quite beautiful and challenging, a very fun hole.
All in all this a great course. It's quite long, and very challenging. Bring your 'A' game for this place. If not for the $10 pay to play and being in the middle of nowhere this would be an easy 4.5. Will definitely play again and highly recommend to any serious disc golfer in north Wisconsin/Minnesota.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.