Haysville, KS 
Riggs Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: OB water near teepad, OB street long of basket.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

5+    7/22/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: The course is well designed, making interesting holes out of minimal area. Most of the holes are 300 ft or under, so there's a lot of potential birdies on the course, but there's also quite a few obstacles and hazards (water and a few well placed trees) so birdies aren't a complete gimme.

The course is well maintained, always mowed, always busy. There are concrete tees and signs at every hole. The baskets are brand new and all have toppers.

The course offer some pretty fun technical shots.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course, so if you want a full round you have to play it twice.

The park is always filled with kids who will snatch your discs if you leave them out of sight for more than 60 seconds (I've actually had a kid try to sell me one of my discs that I lost in the creek, and this was within a day).

The park is always busy, so you will run into other players, who will probably be kids, and you'll have to wait.

Sometimes the park is closed due to weddings, barbecues, concerts or any other number of town events.

Other Thoughts: Not the best course I've ever played, but still pretty fun. If you're in the Wichita area, you should definitely check it out, it's my favorite out of what's available in Wichita.

Played this course

1    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: A_nonomys
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open areas for beginner players. Entire park appears to be consistently well maintained with mowed grass and Concrete Tee pads. There are also Signs at each Tee Pad showing Distance and general direction of hole. Overall a great course for beginners.
Cons: Course is VERY open and does not offer a lot of challenge.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 5 has a creek next to the basket that consistently has water in it. Other than that hole, if you throw conservatively and are a beginner player this will be a very enjoyable course to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Fast

1    8/23/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Momokahn
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to knock out over lunch. Very quiet in the park since school is back in session. Very clean course with some trees to negotiate during play.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I'm new to disc golf and for a beginner this course is great. There is risk award on a few holes due to water but for a beginner playing within their abilities it isn't an issue. Even though I did have to knock one of my discs out of a tree due to an errant throw.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice variety of shots on this 9 holer

5+    7/19/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 252  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now this course has cement tees and there are also newly installed bag hangers at each hole. The baskets catch well and the course flows logically. You can play multiple rounds here in a relatively short amount of time.
This course offers water threat and has a good amount of trees for such a small city park.
Here are my hole observations:
1-straight shot with the basket up on a mound. Your putt has the potential for rollaway here.
2-dog legs right with the basket thru the gap in the trees. Terrain slopes downhill upon approach to the basket which sits next to the creek
3-shoots directly to the south, open hole
4-longest hole on the course and it shoots into the interior of the park. Has a few trees to navigate around to get to the basket
5-water in play and offers risk reward. Basket is approx 50 ft on the other side of the creek.
6-plays across the creek with the pin being protected
7-blind pin from the tee plays slightly uphill with the basket sitting in a draw
8-decent amount of trees line the left hand side of the fairway and a pond on the right hand side
9-mostly open playing over a berm with the basket out in the open past said berm
Cons: Safety on holes 2 and 3, they pretty much share the same fairway. The walk between #3's basket and #4's tee slows the flow down a bit. This course is often crowded with disc golfers and non disc golfers as well. There are a few walking paths and pavilions that come into play on a few holes so be advised. I've never played this course and it wasn't busy in some shape or form. Riggs park seems to be the local hang out for the youth so be advised before you throw your disc.
Sometimes you will see kids standing on top or inside of the baskets here. The light post on hole #9, that is in the line of fire, is going to get drilled one of these days.
There aren't any trash cans or benches at the holes. This course is very short so benches shouldn't be a huge issue, but for some it could be.
Other Thoughts: This is a multi-use park so be on your toes before you throw. In my opinion the addition of the tee pads really helps this course out. The dirt tees were starting to get ruts in them so I was pleasantly pleased to see this addition.
Also re installing #3's basket(it was gone the last few times I've played here) helps make this course complete again.
This course really does offer a good variety of shots for a 9 hole course. Its a little crowded at times but if you can get past that it is a fun play. Its a lot better than its cross town rival in the variety department that is for sure. If you are in the Haysville area then this is the better choice in my opinion. All in all it a solid 9 hole course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Playsville

1    8/6/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: DD-Smitty
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice to play on Monkey Traps in Kansas. Don't get to do that often.

I really liked many of the holes. For a small park there are some really cool shots.

Hole 2 is a cool blind anhyzer with trouble behind the basket.

Hole 5 is a great looking hole.

Cons: Tees are slicker then a wet booger on glass! I wasn't a big fan of walking across 3's fairway to get to hole 2's tee.
Other Thoughts: I would like to have the water come into play a little more. But understand why it isn't as most of the players are rec. level.

Would like to see hole 3 moved closer to the street and use the light pole as a mando.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I was Expecting

1    7/8/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is in great shape and well manicured. The course flows well with mostly straight-line shots and some minor terrain variation. The water holes are great and #5 is just long enough to make people think twice about going for it. Note that the water is pretty murky, so don't plan on getting your disc back if it gets wet.

The signage and tee box areas are in good shape, and the Monkey Trap pins were interesting with its big red ball. The course basically moves around the central pond although it doesn't come into play, and there are also some pretty big trees providing some nice cover in the molten Kansas sun. There are playgrounds and basic park amenities, as well as two places to park although the far lot is closer to #1.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; & #6
Cons: Usually having a missing pin is a huge detractor, and while still a negative - it's not a huge deal because of how these holes were designed. #3 shoots back into #1 anyway, so although not ideal - shooting back to number #1 pin makes sense and also has an easy transition to #4. First timers need to note the transition between #5 (shooting over the water) and #6 is to the right shooting back over the water.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Even though this isn't a destination course, I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed this quick nine holes. I thought the back half was stronger and the water was a plus, but the course overall is pretty good for the size and land it is on. If you are in Wichita, or just need a quick fix while passing through like I was - then I would recommend this course. You're not going to be blown away, but it was fun and enjoyable for a short round.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course if the time is right

2-4    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: marteh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice park with decent grass cover, even after a really hot summer. several close by water shots and a couple over water. A couple of pretty creative holes use the creek running through the park for variety- two baskets (#'s 2 & 5) are on the bank of the creek and give a good risk/reward. Most of the holes have a good number of tree obstacles.
Cons: I played from 5:00 to 6:15 on a very nice evening. After 6 the park was getting very busy - a number of walkers and families eating on a pavilion about 50 ft from one hole, and two playgrounds are close by - one surrounded by two holes.
Other Thoughts: The course has been changed since the map was included in the listing. A map at the start would be very helpful to find your way around the course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.