Disc Golf Store
Geneva, IL
The Links at Wheeler Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   4 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Play!

5+    11/6/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: MarkG
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wheeler park is great. The fact that you get that wooded mixture is fantastic. For the most part, a beginner course.. but still very fun to play. Park always stays in good condition for the most part. In the summer they have scorecards you can get up front at the mini-golf stand. But for the most part this course defiantly goes down in my books for being one of my favorites. At least my favorite locally for me.
Cons: The one thing I don't enjoy about wheeler is that after it rains things can get a little weird on hole 11. There's a humongous hill in which if it has rained prior to the day playing, you will slide right down. Not fun.. But other than that the teeboxes are great and it's just overall a great course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

the links

5+    9/28/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -course is in a very nice park
- course maps and score cards are available at the mini golf concession stand
- has many chances for making a challenging shot
-a few good mature trees that make you plan your shots out bit not so many that you get frustrated
-has one or two good chances to ace
-has several holes that you can let your arm lose
-almost no chance of losing a disc
-solid signs around the course that make it easy to know where the baskets are and tape on the baskets that point you to the next tee pad
Cons: - im not a fan of the rubber tee pads they have here a few are sunken down on the right side from getting so much use
- the park can get crowded some times both on the course and people using the walking paths
the far east side of the course is very close to a busy road
Other Thoughts: -i hate hole 11 so much you tee off from the top of a hill and basically have to throw straight down in order to avoid the tree on both sides and is very unforgiving
- i was there one afternoon a few weeks ago and right around hole 9 or so high school track practice started and i almost took out groups of runners who did not seem to know there was a disc golf course there
- this is one of my favorite courses in the area its a solid play for how close it is to my house

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Most

1    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: magoo2x
Played: 85  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful well maintained park with a good mix of shots required. Nothing is too long (165' to 350') making this very beginner friendly. There is a good mix of type of shots with forced hyzer and anhyzer routes combined with some low ceilings. There are facilities at the north and south end of the park with vending machines too.
Cons: The layout is confusing, there are yellow markers on the previous basket to the next tee pad which help immensely, but from basket 3 to tee 4 is a long walk and I didn't even notice the tee box til I finished hole 5. Also you have another long walk past tee 7 to go from 12 to 13. The course also plays over a pedestrian trail a few times creating a safety risk. Even though there are enough obstacles to the baskets, there is no punishment for errant/bad shots and eveything is an easy 3.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is better than most Chicagoland courses (except for everything in Joliet obviously) and is 18 holes instead of most the 9's you find. I enjoyed my round but wasn't challenged enough. Definitely would recommend it and check out Campton Hills while in the area, its super close.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable course with trees and varying terrain

2-4    7/8/2012   10/6/2011
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varying terrain. Trees can be a factor on most holes. Grass is well-manicured. Most other park activities do not interfere with the course. No more rutted tee areas now that the rubber tee pads are in place. Scenic.
Cons: The course can become very busy with other disc golfers at times. Some park users are oblivious of the course. The trees are even more of an obstacle from the new tee position at #10 that is farther back than the original.
Other Thoughts: It takes me about 55 minutes to play this course solo. Throwing past the new basket position at #15 now results in an uphill shot back. That basket is farther away and farther to the left than it used to be. Hole #1 is also longer. The putting practice basket is now in place near the #18 basket. The ground around the older basket positions is worn, so discs landing near the base of the basket are more likely to skip/roll away than stop.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced and MUCH needed in the area

5+    7/22/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: BoonDockNC
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I got to hand it to the parks and rec people. This course has really taken shape over the 2 years since it opened. Course now has rubber pads for T-boxes and a sign on hole 1 showing the course layout. If you forget to take a photo of the course layout with your phone, just follow the yellow tape on the basket pointing you to the next hole.

They've take out the original hole 5, added a new #14 and cleaned up the wooded holes on the back side of the course.

I'm a really big fan of wood courses that are somewhat secluded from other patrons of the park, so for that reason I still give this course a 3.5 but it's a solid course and one of my favorite locals.
Other Thoughts: Wednesday Night Doubles

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.