Geneva, IL
The Links at Wheeler Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #17 (Taken 8/2011)
-- / --   4 / 282ft.   3 / 282ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Homecourse love

5+    7/20/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: infinategem
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Requires many throws. Beautiful park with good use of trees, yet plays open so novice players dont get crushed (there is room for arrency). Maps and facilities available.
Cons: Tricky layout, it could have been easier to navigate. Packed with novice players especially on weekends! lots of foot traffic like dog walkers and runners.
Other Thoughts: Small to medium course length. Lots of lines available to throw, but doesnt crush your score if you miss them. Worth a stop! And within thirty minutes you can reach five 18 holers,

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better Than Most

1    7/11/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: magoo2x
Played: 85  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful well maintained park with a good mix of shots required. Nothing is too long (165' to 350') making this very beginner friendly. There is a good mix of type of shots with forced hyzer and anhyzer routes combined with some low ceilings. There are facilities at the north and south end of the park with vending machines too.
Cons: The layout is confusing, there are yellow markers on the previous basket to the next tee pad which help immensely, but from basket 3 to tee 4 is a long walk and I didn't even notice the tee box til I finished hole 5. Also you have another long walk past tee 7 to go from 12 to 13. The course also plays over a pedestrian trail a few times creating a safety risk. Even though there are enough obstacles to the baskets, there is no punishment for errant/bad shots and eveything is an easy 3.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is better than most Chicagoland courses (except for everything in Joliet obviously) and is 18 holes instead of most the 9's you find. I enjoyed my round but wasn't challenged enough. Definitely would recommend it and check out Campton Hills while in the area, its super close.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Confusing with potential

1    6/3/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 74  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty course with a few unique shots.

There are a few holes with elevation and a few more with decently challenging and fun angles for drives. A couple drives force you to shoot around a corner and a few others involve hills.

Some of the pin locations are cleverly buried within a grouping of trees or shrubs to make for challenging entry and putting lines (I even unintentionally skipped an approach shot into one of these for a memorable deuce).
Cons: Navigation! I think the course was in the middle of a minor redesign because there were tees to nowhere and a lack of signs all over in the first several holes. The course played differently than some of the reviews below and there were incorrect numbers on some of the tees in the beginning. My group was constantly wandering for the correct tee and hole to shoot to on the first 6 or 7 holes.

We missed 11 and 12 because we didn't know where to go after 10. We went all over the place looking for it, but eventually gave up when we found 13. This goes back to the dreadful course design. There's a course map on the way to the first tee and we all agreed it made no sense and was going to be tough to navigate from looking at it.

Some of the tee pads were unusable and we played from the grass on a few holes because of fear of injury.
Other Thoughts: Basically all my complaints stem from the awful course design. Even simple renumbering of the holes and better signage would be enough.

That said, if that got improved this course would become a very enjoyable 18. The varied shots and challenging (at times) pin locations made it fun once we knew where we were going, but the overall take away was how hard it was to figure out where to go.

There is definitely good potential here with minor tweaking and sign improvement.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    1/11/2012   1/19/2012
Review By: tarzan0608
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course, if you disregard their pars and just play 54, this course offers many challenges. Varied distances, some open holes, some wooded. Also some fun elevation changes (see holes 12 and 16)Obstacles provide different options for a variety of different ways to attack each hole. i dont use rollers or anything, just RHFH and RHBH on everything, and ive shot 2 on every hole here at some point. They changed 5 and 6 around, i guess there was a problem with discs flying into the street, but i like the new layout.
Cons: Tee boxes, tee boxes, tee boxes. I cant stress this enough. its usually better in the summer, but they really need to go concrete, it would really solve a lot. It can be busy at times, with families in large groups (sometimes 8-9, WITH STOLLERS!) who dont understand etiquette. But most people are very cool if you make them aware. It is also a park, so sometimes you have to watch for the usual stray kids, joggers, dog walkers, etc.
Other Thoughts: Overall, i love this course. Great challenge for experienced players, but still a very fun course for beginners. Check this place out

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park, course with potential, fix the tee pads

5+    12/24/2011   12/24/2011
Review By: Gill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a fantastic park that offers a wealth of possibilities. With a few changes, it could get to a near championship level with a rating of 3.5-4.5 from me. As it is, the course offers a variety fun shots (low ceilinged shots, rollers, thumbers, forehand rips, touch putter shots, skip shots, spike hyzers, etc).
The course has a lot of open space, is lightly wooded, and has some small rolling hills. I like most of the holes, although there are a few too many deuce-or-die shots. A delightfully tight and scenic ending hole 18 (which I've yet to play as well as I should) wraps up this course and makes you look forward to the next round. I did have some issues with this course but as a change from the majority of my hometown North Carolina courses, this one was a delight.
Cons: My biggest con with this, aside from the oft-mentioned terribly rutted tee pads, is the par rating. I can't stand increasing a par in order to make newer players feel like they're doing well. This game is hard damn it, and you should have to work at it to get a par or birdie. No hole out there is a par 4. There are some long holes and some very difficult holes with tough lines to hit (see hole 13), but with decent technique and power every basket can be reached with a drive.
Other Thoughts: New courses always have some growing pains. In the southeast, we have to beat down some scraggly foliage because we're inundated with a sea of woods. In somewhat open courses such as this, baskets or pads may need to be moved for the course to achieve its potential. This course really has the stuff for some awesome holes, and maybe even legitimate par 4s. More space along and in the wood line behind hole 12 could be used to pull apart some of the earlier holes and stretch out the course. Some super fun safari holes are possible out here (original #5, hole 12 to 9s basket, 8-16, 1-2, 7-13!! etc). In short, this is a solid 2.99 rated course with room for growth. Get some real tee pads and it's immediately bumped to a 3+ course in my book.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A classic Chicagoland course (and that ain't a good thing...)

2-4    7/6/2013   11/1/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Geneva is a decent recreational course. Most of the holes are lightly wooded, although a couple of holes like # 11 are heavily wooded. The site has good elevation changes for the area; there are some good elevated tee on holes like #8, #12 and #14. Holes #4 and #9 have protected pin placements, and hole # 3 has the basket perched up on a small hillside. #18 has a tree border on each side of the fairway and is a very pretty shot to end on.
Cons: Geneva has two glaring issues. The first is the tees. They are awful. The course is four months old and they are a rutted, washed-out mess. Crushed stone in a border is a terrible idea for tees, and given the affluence of the community there is no reason for the course not to have concrete tees. ***UPDATE: The course now has Flypads, which is an upgrade from the original tees. In some places like #5 the ground underneath is not flat so you have an uneven, undulating tee. However, it is an improvement to the originals.**** The lack of concrete tees might be a blessing due to issue number two...

The course design is horrible. Far, far too many of the baskets and tees are too close together, and it's not uncommon to be in sight of three or four baskets at once. On #16 I threw an accidental hyzer and found myself virtually the same distance from five baskets on a shot where I still pared the hole. There is waaayyy too much stuff crammed in there. The tees for # 2 and # 3 are really close to the previous basket. Either the designer failed to use the available land adequately or they crammed in 18 holes where there was only room for 14. The result is a shooting gallery.

Hole # 5 has already been moved, probably due to people throwing out into HWY 31. Hole # 6 may also be moving, the tee sign is no longer next to the tee. If those holes are moved, the flow in that part of the course is going to be terrible. The flow is already confusing because holes #13, #14 & #16 loop back over the front 9, and with the holes so close together which basket you are shooting for can be confusing. There is yellow tape on the baskets pointing you to the next tee, and that does help the navigation a bit.

Hole # 18 shoots away from the parking lot, so you are closer to your car on the tee than you are when you finish the hole.

Hole #12 has an interesting tee that slopes down dramatically. The entrance/exit point is at the back of the tee, but locals are scrambling up and down the slope. This will cause erosion problems and could get someone hurt. There needs to be directional signs around to the safe entrance/exit point.

The course is short. Given that it is a recreational level course that is not a huge deal, but it should be mentioned that the course is short.
Other Thoughts: Geneva has potential, but the course needs a significant redesign to reach that potential. If additional land in the park is available, that land needs to be utilized. If there is no additional land some holes need to come out. As it stands, it is a below average recreational course. There are far too many courses like that in Chicagoland already. This site has the potential to be something better, but sadly it is not. ***UPDATE: The course has improved the tees and tweaked a few placements, so I'm going to bump up the rating a bit. It's a pretty OK recreational course at this point. I still have safety concerns over how close together the holes are, but it is passable at this point. ***

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable course with trees and varying terrain

2-4    7/8/2012   10/6/2011
Review By: geognerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Varying terrain. Trees can be a factor on most holes. Grass is well-manicured. Most other park activities do not interfere with the course. No more rutted tee areas now that the rubber tee pads are in place. Scenic.
Cons: The course can become very busy with other disc golfers at times. Some park users are oblivious of the course. The trees are even more of an obstacle from the new tee position at #10 that is farther back than the original.
Other Thoughts: It takes me about 55 minutes to play this course solo. Throwing past the new basket position at #15 now results in an uphill shot back. That basket is farther away and farther to the left than it used to be. Hole #1 is also longer. The putting practice basket is now in place near the #18 basket. The ground around the older basket positions is worn, so discs landing near the base of the basket are more likely to skip/roll away than stop.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Picture Perfict!!!

1    8/7/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Disc Jedi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: An amazingly well maintained course, that in my opinion rivials some of the best Ball golf courses I've played. This course offers the perfict balance of challenging holes and long wide open holes to grip and let the disc rip that what ever your favorite part of DG is you will be satisfied. This course is well laid out and for the most part it is easy to follow the flow of the course
Cons: When it rains or right after it rains the mud on some of the more vertical hole becomes very slippery, I myself almost rolled all the way down a hill, other than that No complaints.
Other Thoughts: IF YOU ARE IN CHICAGO this course is a must play!!!!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    8/3/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a public park that has a walking path and some benches scattered about. Might be some waiting on a few holes, but overall it seemed like the disc golf is well separated.
- Majority of the holes are set in more open areas, with a varying amount of mature trees to contend with. There are some different lines to be found, with a few low ceiling tunnelish shots, some groves of trees to navigate through and around, and others with bigger, more mature trees. A wide variety overall, some are extremely tight and almost demand a roller over any "standard" shot. Flex shots and possibly FH's from either side can go a long way.
- Other holes have more forested aspects, with some short RHBH annys into and out of some denser forest areas, a nice downhill shot bordered by forest on both sides, and two in the open that require hitting a tight window to get through a piece of forest to the basket. These last ones are very tight, laying up is a serious option.
- Some good elevation changes to be found here and there, like an uphill approach on #3, decent to good downhills on a few low-ceiling shots, and a shot off a small hill on #16. Helps to keep things interesting.
- Nice variety of hole lengths, with a few over 350' and seven over 300'. Shorter ones as well for reachable, though tough, birdie or ace chances. Overall on the shorter side with an average hole length of 275'.
- Good baskets, nice signage, teepads could be worse. Navigation is easy with the map, and painted wires on the baskets point to the next tee.
Cons: - Some of the holes here seem to be a work in progress; some almost unfair lines are needed to get to the basket. A roller helps big time on a lot of these, but holes like #11 and #13 are just too tight to be considered fair in my book.
- Most of the holes here, on the other hand, can be easily 3'd without much punishment. Even a lousy drive can be good enough, with lots of open area and very few hazards outside of the forest. The lines are definitely tricky at spots, but missing them isn't too big a deal.
- Layout is a little strange, like #2's basket being right by #3's tee, and some fairways or walks between holes that are a little close to each other. Heads up at some places.
Other Thoughts: - All in all a fun course that offers some interesting, different shots throughout. Some are downright nasty with some thick clumps of forest to needle through, or tight groves of trees. Low ceiling shots are common, and some elevation changes are present here and there. Might be a little short for a more experienced player, should provide good challenge for everyone else.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced and MUCH needed in the area

5+    7/22/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: BoonDockNC
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I got to hand it to the parks and rec people. This course has really taken shape over the 2 years since it opened. Course now has rubber pads for T-boxes and a sign on hole 1 showing the course layout. If you forget to take a photo of the course layout with your phone, just follow the yellow tape on the basket pointing you to the next hole.

They've take out the original hole 5, added a new #14 and cleaned up the wooded holes on the back side of the course.

I'm a really big fan of wood courses that are somewhat secluded from other patrons of the park, so for that reason I still give this course a 3.5 but it's a solid course and one of my favorite locals.
Other Thoughts: Wednesday Night Doubles

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.