Grove City, PA 
Grove City Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short course worth your time

5+    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: yokozunapete
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well marked
-Very, very few places to lose a disc
-Easy to walk
-Great for beginners
-Designed around city park facilities (restrooms, picnic, playground, etc.)
Cons: -Tees have eroded to dirt/mud
-Baskets are set oddly low to the ground
-Many holes are very near active roads and walkways
Other Thoughts: The course is in the process of being expanded to 18 holes which is exciting.

If you are in the area, you should play the course. It is a good opportunity to work on your shorter game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get a quick 9 in if you're in the area

2-4    6/13/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautifully maintained town park, no tall grass which is great for this time of the year
-Easy to find successive holes
-Bathrooms
-Designers did a great job using the park layout to set up this course. Couldn't have been designed much better considering what they had to work with
-Plenty of parking
-I was pleasantly surprised to see about ten other people playing throughout the course of time that I was there. That's a good number for a park and an area like this.
-I liked the use of the hill for holes 8 and 9.
Cons: -While there weren't many people using the park later than 7 p.m. (when I was there), I can see foot traffic being a big issue. Course plays near the road on most of the holes.
-Pins were low to the ground, which threw me off at first. While one could argue that this adds variety to your game, I enjoy when pins and tees are "standard". Which leads me to:
-Tees were woodchips but pretty beaten up so were almost dirt tees. They were a little muddy because of the rain that day, and weren't perfectly even
-Can't say too much about the shot selection. While the designers did a good job placing the pins, most of the shots are open, often using a mid. A few obstacles here and there come into play, however.
Other Thoughts: Good to get through if you don't have a ton of time. So even though it isn't the most exciting course, it is worth playing if have a little extra time. Plus, you can hit up Slippery Rock and Moraine if you have time. Only about 15 from Moraine. I had a little tough time finding the first tee, but if you go to the course map kiosk, it will direct you to it.

1-Simple hyzer
2-Straight shot through some trees
3-Most challenging hole on the course. Tough anhyzer with a lot of pine trees into play. I threw over the tall pine trees, which works too.
4-Open, slight anhyzer
5-Same as 4 but pin is surrounded by some trees
6-Open, straight shot
7-Open, slight anyhyzer
8-Slight uphill hyzer, my favorite hole on the course
9-Another fun hole where trees come into play. Downhill



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Small Course

2-4    8/18/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course layout using as much of the small park as they could without getting in the way of other park users. Good signs and a nice mix of long and short holes using trees and other obstacles make for an interesting course.
Cons: Very short course. First hole is a little hard to find. On a crowded day, the other people at the park could get in the way. It wasn't busy when I went so I can't say for sure.
Other Thoughts: Wouldn't go out of my way too much to play this course, but if you are in the Grove City area this is a solid quick 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Nine-Holer

1    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find course with a little variety. This is the first course I played with my own set of discs and I took my wife and kid with me to check it out. I liked that it was pretty wide open with a little variety of holes. The first requires a good hyzer, the second is tucked among some trees on a hill, the third requires a long anhyzer if you've got it, and the seventh, eighth, and ninth are good finishing holes.

The eighth is a nice hole that would be a bit nicer if the little stream/waterfall could have been incorporated. It's good scenery regardless.

The grass was cut to a good height everywhere, allowing for easy finding and retrieval of discs.

The park is easy to find, the holes are relatively close to one another, and there's a lot of parking throughout the park.
Cons: The routing gets a little redundant during the fourth, fifth, and sixth holes as they go back and forth across some fields.

The second hole seems to be a popular hang-out spot, so you may find yourself skipping it or shooing some kids away temporarily so you can approach and putt out.

The first tee and ninth green could be slightly closer to one another, but c'mon, it's tough to complain about having to walk 150 yards. :D

Tees are wood chips and worn out a bit, so the "front" of the tee isn't clearly defined.
Other Thoughts: I'll be back, every time I'm in Grove City, I hope. Nice little course, good beginner course, and yet still challenging to make a bunch of birdies since they're all par threes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Quick Grove City Course

2-4    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The signage was great and was easy to tell how to get from hole to hole. The wood chip tee pads had been worn down so they were basically natural which had enough grip. This course will help you with your mid-range game but there are 2 or 3 holes where you get to drive it far and have an ace chance. It had some technical shots that I liked.
Cons: The park started to get busy around noon time and we had to wait for people to walk through while playing. But it wasn't a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: Even though it was only 9 holes it was a solid nine. It was nothing amazing or something to make a special trip for but if you are 10 to 20 minutes away I definitely suggest playing this course. With two people you can get through a round of 9 in 45 minutes which is nice for after school or work. The park is a very very nicely kept up park.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vertically Challenged Baskets

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is pretty much your standard municipal park course in terms of layout and position within the park--what makes it a little different is the attention to detail on the holes and the immaculate care and attention it receives (at least for now; it's a fairly new course)

- Good signage on each hole. Course flow is pretty intuitive and you won't need a map.

- I thought the course designers maximized the features of the park to make for as interesting round as the land can provide. While many shots are wide open and straight to the basket, the occasional tree or OB road boundary makes the course a little more interesting. In fact, quite a number of holes use the road and paths as OB.

- Can make for a quick round that both beginners and experienced players can enjoy.
Cons: - The pond doesn't come in play! BOOOOOOO!!!

- Short holes -- many just top 200, although there are a few in the lower to mid 300s.

- Even though the designers did a good job of maximizing the park's features, the holes pose no real challenge with the exception of holes #3 and 8, which have quite a few tree/shrub obstacles.

- Course can get in the way of parkgoers. There were dozens of people here when I was playing and I had to hold off and wait on a few shots to avoid hitting them.

- Not sure why, but the baskets are quite sunken into the ground. You can notice this from the images. I can't really complain though, as I tend to putt low! :D
Other Thoughts: Hole Summary:
#1: Left dogleg must get past a giant oak. Pin is parked on a little mound about 300 feet from tee.
#2: Short throw to the pin that's tucked in between 5-6 trees.
#3: Great hole. There's a large cluster of pines about 75 feet in front of the tree. You can either throw around the left of the tree, clear a gap on the right side or go over it with an overhand shot another 220 feet to the basket.
#4: Dead straight shot about 350 feet. Pin is about 20 feet from the road to make going for an ace run costly if you go OB.
#5: Shot turns slightly to the right as the pin hangs along the road. Another OB to consider.
#6: Straight shot. Road is OB on right.
#7: Pretty much a straight shot that turns slightly right and is nestled by the aquatic garden.
#8: Must thread several trees to get to the pin on the hillside (uphill shot)
#9: Same as number #8, but it goes downhill

Check out the water garden in the middle of the park; it's quite scenic and relaxing. As far as the whole park goes, I wouldn't mind having this course in my hometown. However, I'm not sure if I'd make another visit just to go here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good short quick course.

1    8/11/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short course. Could easily be played in a half-hour which is wonderful if you live in the area.

The course is laid out in a way that is surprisingly challenging - and on purpose, every tree comes into play because it's supposed to.
Cons: People.

Some of the holes are too close to parking lots or areas where people sit, walk or hang out. There seems to be a need for some warning signage for players, parkers & walkers.
Other Thoughts: Played it with one of the guys who spearheaded it being installed. He and I had walked it a year ago and I have to say that seeing the vision realized is great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Lite Course

2-4    7/24/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: bigdogtoo
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well planned out to fit in the spaces provided
Nice tee markers
Nice Arrows pointing to the next tees which are not near by.
I like the way the baskets are not at the same height which adds a level of challenge
Cons: Wood mulch tee boxes not so great stone or earth would have been better.
Other Thoughts: cant wait to see if they get the go ahead for the back nine

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  GC DGC

5+    7/15/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: AceInTheHole88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Working at the GE plant right across the street, this course is perfect for a lunch-time round of disc golf. It's not too long or strenuous, and there's virtually no risk of losing your disc. It's a nice course for all skill levels. I've been playing for 7 years and my best round is 4 under; my coworkers who've just started playing have managed as good as 2 under. The current 9 are a variety of short and long, lefty and righty holes. Nothing terribly challenging but still very fun.
Cons: Wood chip/mulch tee pads. Quite frankly, I'd prefer plain grass tee pads, but if you move just left or right of the tee pad, that's exactly what you get (and by the worn grass next to the tee pads, that seems like what people are doing). Baskets are a little low to the ground. Running into the course designers, I'm told the Borough of Grove City didn't want to leave the 1" piece of pipe sticking out of the ground if the baskets were removed, so the baskets are dug into the ground a bit. However, the designer(s) said they're aiming to add an extension piece to put the baskets up to the correct height.
If you're looking for a long course with a bunch of obstacles, look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: The course is only 9 holes now, but the designers laid out 18 and are simply waiting on funding for the other 9. If you play this course at all, make a donation so we can have 9 more to play! The current 9 seem to be the more beginner-friendly of the 18 planned holes. Looking at the layout for all 18, one of the other 9 plays by the pond, two play near the pool, 3 play by the wooded area around the monument. Altogether, the 9 that aren't built look pretty cool, so I'd like to see them installed sooner rather than later.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A New Course in GC

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, while short, provides a few unique shot opportunities. All holes are fairly short so this, combined with some odds shot requirements, makes for some great practice. I did notice an abundant number of holes that favor left handers.
We also noticed that the baskets felt huge compared to what we're used to. For the more experienced players who can accurately throw 300-350 feet, this is an Ace Race.
Disc golf aside, there is some excellent scenery near the last few holes that makes for an excellent chill spot out of the sun.
Cons: This course weaves throughout a fairly wide open park. On busy days, this place gets incredibly crowded. This can make for a few agonizing shots in the vicinity of illegally parked cars. Today, we had several cars parked within five feet of one of the baskets and had to use an alternate tee at one where a motorcycle was parked right in front of the tee pad. I think this course does a fairly good job of weaving around the areas that people congregate. A few well placed "No Parking" signs would help a ton.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you're from the area. This place is excellent for practicing your approach shots for longer courses.
All in all, this is a fun course but I would consider playing at times when the park isn't packed.

7/20 After playing this course several times, the course has grown on me a lot. There are several holes with interesting lines and find myself trying different approaches. #3, #6 & #8 are holes I look forward to.#3 & #8 because tricky lines can result if easy birdies if the throw is just right. #6 because it's a wide open hole that just begs you to throw a long anhyzer all the way to the basket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.