Churchville, MD 
Churchville 6 Share
Uploaded By: Soup Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent For Beginners!

1    7/14/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I will always stick up for these type of small, short courses designed for the beginners/students. I firmly believe they have a niche in our sport and will always rate them generously, provided they're designed and built well.
This course built behind the Chruchville Recreation Center, is just that, just six holes because of space constraints, built for beginners and or students.
It has simple wood signs which gives you the hole # and the distance. Nothing more is needed here. The tee boxes could be slippery when wet. The first two holes are flat and open. The # 3 has a tree in the middle of the fairway. # 4 is a 141' tunnel shot while # 5 is a downhill tunnel . Then # 6 finished with a little short 174' uphill.

The baskets have the numbers on them. Why do these simple, little six hole wide open courses always have the numbers on the baskets? And when you play some impossible to navigate, ridiculously complicated 18 hole course in the woods, there's not a number to be found?
Cons: This is not the course for the advanced or even the average intermediate player. It's not designed with them in mind. If you're looking for more of a challenge, go play Scarboro Hills..
Other Thoughts: Nice design and terrain for the family/beginner player. Fun course to come and try to rack up another ACE. Perfect little course for the "Course Bagger" such as myself.

Another course which has hit it's target audience like that 400' shot thrown through a narrow gap in the trees which slams and sticks into the basket for that unbelievable "ACE."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for kids

1    6/1/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 beautifully designed holes at this course were the inspiration for my home course.
One of the best places in Maryland to introduce children to the sport, also a neat place for an ace race.
Cons: No long holes to air out your driver.
only 6 holes
Had a little trouble navigating the first time, but very simple after that, no need for a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: No need to bring anything but a putter, maybe a mid for players throwing less distance who still want to go for the ace.
This course is a 5 star course for what it was built for: 1) to be visible to hundreds of new people who visit the Churchville rec center
2. ) to provide a safe area to teach children disc golf. 3.) to give the locals an uncrowded practice area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent for short game practice on my lunch break

5+    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: BrianCurlee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's easily accessible, never busy, the tees are marked with the distance and the baskets are brand-spanking-new. It's an excellent course for beginners who could easily get discouraged by a lack of arm strength and too many obstacles to deal with.
Cons: 6 baskets is an awkward number. I wish they could've stretched it to 9. The crossover to holes 4 and 5 are swampy.
Other Thoughts: I've seen reviews that site a lack of variety, but for a beginner I disagree. You've got a short open field shot followed by a longer open field shot. Hole 3 introduces a tree or two, Hole 4 is the closest thing a beginner needs to a "tunnel shot," and Hole 5 is a short representation of a "typical DG layout" with no direct line, scattered trees and some thicket to the left. Then you finish it off back in the field with an OB to the right. Seems great to me. I hit this course about twice a week on my lunch break. I take my buzz and my soft banger and play it as a par 12.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/25/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 72  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's clear that this course was intended for the first-timer. It provides a very nice introduction to the sport with nice baskets and nice tee markers.
Cons: Even as an introductory course, there are things lacking here. If the intent is introduce new players to the sport, there should at least be some sort of message board or signage to explain the basics and give some advice for where to find discs.

With just six holes, there's very little variety here. The trees provide a little bit of intrigue, but it's not enough to really make it interesting.

When wet, there are parts that are nearly unplayable. I played this course two days after a rainstorm and was very glad I had hiking shoes on. It was very muddy and with tennis shoes, my feet would've been soaked.

As a practice course, there are limited safari options. Because it's fairly open, and space is limited, it's hard for a more advanced player to get creative in making up new holes.
Other Thoughts: To really objectively review this course, I had to look at it from two very different perspectives. It's intended purpose vs it's overall appeal.

For it's intended purpose, it fits the bill pretty well. It's an easy, low stress way to introduce a first-timer to the sport. It would be great for school groups or families who might be here for another event but can spare a few minutes to try something new. However, even after one or two rounds, I can imagine a beginner getting bored very quickly.

To give this course a numeric rating, I have to look at how it compares to all other courses. With just six holes and a very small target audience, this course doesn't have much to offer over others. It has a couple nice things going for it (nice baskets, good tee posts) that elevate it above the very lowest level, but for any level player, I wouldn't recommend visiting this course unless you're already at the rec center for something else.

The best way I can think of to describe it, is that it's like comparing putt-putt to regular ball golf. While it has it's merits, and gives novices an opportunity to play, a putt-putt course doesn't even compare to a true ball golf course.

This would make a very nice adjunct to an existing course, but it doesn't stack up on it's own.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Record = 12?

1    8/19/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: Crooow
Played: 157  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 27.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets catch very well. Nice park with restroom facilities. Easy to find. If not busy, could make up safari holes that might have some challenge. Tee posts have distance marked.
Cons: Only 6 holes; very short; pretty much 6 baskets in open field. No tee pads but then again, not really needed. Crossover gets swampy.
Other Thoughts: I shot a round and scored a 13 - I hit the only tree on #3 and missed the long putt for my only 3 (and I'm not very good). I hit the basket on #4 which was my favorite of the holes. I'm sure someone has shot a 12 by now if not better. Playing #4 and #5 repeatedly is more fun than playing all 6. I know people are saying that it is good for its intended purpose; I see the elementary school across the road and think it would be great for that target audience. But a review here is to inform disc golfers whether it is worth playing this and I would say that if you are nearby (say cruising down I-95) - sure it's a pleasant 10 minutes. But I wouldn't go off the track to play it. And if the target audience is complete beginners than hole #6 should not play that close to a fenced off area - beginners will not appreciate losing their own disc.
I'm not saying that the course should be dismantled or anything - it is great for people just learning the game. I just want to warn experienced golfers that it is a toy course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Course to Introduce the Sport

5+    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Josh L
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was designed to be used to introduce the sport to the public. It was placed in a very busy recreation center to get interest in the sport, serve as a training course, and to get the disc moving towards future courses in the area.

The layout of the course starts with a two very strait forward holes increasing in distance. The third hole begins to add difficulty as trees are introduced and forces shaping of a throw. Hole four introduces a roof and creates a tunnel for the player to maintain control and accuracy. Hole five combines all the elements to have the player to choose their line and execute it well. Hole six ends with another very strait forward shot similar to that of one and two.

Summary:
+Good practice for average to above average players
+Excellent course to bring friends, family, children to introduce and begin developing into lovers of the game.
+Good use of a very busy recreation center without too much fear of non-disc golfers being in the way.
Cons: Honestly if you understand the concept of this being a training/introduction course it is what it is. However, an advanced disc golfer may find the course lacking, but they were not the focus of the course. Behind hole 3 and on the left side and behind of hole 5 are some very thick vegetation and can quickly swallow up disc if not careful. Hopefully with time this will get beaten down and back.

Summary:
-Not built for the above average player.
-Some simple shots.
-Vegetation can be very thick on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: With the goal of a future course elsewhere on the recreation complex this course sets the path for future player development. The course has only been in a few weeks and the tee pads are showing wear from use. Plenty of shade and facilities are located near the first tee including a playground (not in play) and makes it an opportunity for the family outing all the more reasonable.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner/Practice Course!

5+    7/27/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: oneeyemay
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Let me preface this post with a disclaimer, I'm biased, I'm the VP of club that installed the course. With that said, the C-ville 6 is great for it's intended purpose: a beginner/practice course. I've been playing for 20 years and I've never come across an actual practice course.

The course is open and flat with minimal obstacles. Perfect for new players to learn to throw a disc flat, straight and to work on their steps and body mechanics. The open spaces allow newbs and advanced players alike to learn every type of shot with various 'bees.

The course allows advanced players to practice the various types of shots and hone their mid-range game. How many courses have that option? I throw a putter or a Roc/Buzzz pretty much on every shot. Longest driver I've thrown is a Star Leopard fairway driver.

The park has everything a great Community Center should have: bathroom facilities, drinking fountains, playground, ball fields, pavillion, grills, b-ball, batting cages.

Seriously, it's a fun course at a great county park/facility.
Cons: Yep, it's short and there is limited space. There are pickers and until I can figure out a chemical that rids the world of the picker bush, that will always be a Con :)

Rte 155 on Hole 3 (to the right) could come into play if righty/backhand thrower gets grip lock.
Other Thoughts: Great place for people of all ages and skill sets. Very very family friendly and oriented. If you love to play disc golf and if you have a family, come out to C-ville and chuck some 'bees, you and your family will really enjoy themselves.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what it is

5+    7/16/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: Natural
Played: 67  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun little course to play. Brand new baskets and tee posts with footage on them. Good use of limited area.
The course does a great job for what it was designed for, the beginner and to introduce people to the game. Great place to bring the kids. Rec Center building has bathrooms and vending machines.
Cons: Limited space only allows for 6 holes. Road runs along right side of hole 3, has pine trees to help prevent disc from entering roadway. But, it's still possible to get one there with a bad shot. Thick underbrush on left side of 5. Tends to get muddy in the wet season.
Other Thoughts: If you're an experienced player, I suggest playing with a Super Class disc. I threw my first round with a Super Class disc here. Have to say that was a lot of fun, a very different experience. Located right behind Churchville Rec, disc golf is in the view of a lot of fresh eyes, some of them with pull in the county. Lots of other activities to do while here, playground, tennis courts, horseshoe pits, baseball and soccer fields, grills, and a pavilion.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Focus Group

2-4    7/17/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
A (relatively) open, flat, and short (141'-226', average ~190') 6=hole course useful for introducing people to disc golf. Nice baskets and good teesigns.
Cons:
As this course is geared towards beginners, there are some "danger" areas:
- Horshoe pit (don't know how often it is used) to left of fairway-1 / behind basket-6.
- Shule, and much farther away, a road, along the right side of fairway-3.
- Thick shule quite close along the entire left side of fairway-5 - a very natural place for a beginning RHBH player to throw. This will probably cause the most problems, i.e. disc searches.
- Fenced-off area along right side of fairway-6.

Bit of a chokepoint as players move from 3 to 4, then 5 to 6, as they all share same path. Players at tee-5 will need to be aware of people exiting the wooded path on their way to tee
Other Thoughts:
This new course, designed by the Scarboro Hills (great course!) gang, should prove quite useful to introducing people to the game of disc golf. While baskets 1, 2, and 6 are completely unguarded, number-3 has a few well-placed small hardwoods and a few pines to force some shot-shaping, number-4 is a tunnel (short distance and generous window) shot, and number-5 has shule to the left, some trees straight/right, to avoid on the way slightly downslope to the basket.. Experienced players should have multiple ace runs and enjoy a birdy-fest.

The on-line map is useful to avoid any confusion as to which basket to throw, and shows how holes 4&5 are on the other side of the narrow strip of woods. Combined with the tall, blue teeposts, the course was easy enough to navigate.

This is a tough course to rate. As a place/way to introduce kids and newbies to the game, it is fine, but it has little replay value, except for maybe glo or safari, for a player beyond complete novice level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.