Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: m0t0rb0atinsob Hole #7
3 / 228ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Looking back on hole #7



Reviews: 199
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 19 20
 love it

2-4    10/1/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: jay roggero
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
6 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: awesome layout .course makes you use all of your throws . beautiful views pleanty of benches . and the layout is friendly no two holes to close awesome rock gardens all over the place theres a donation jar there which everyone should throw in on.someone put all that money into that course for a fun and its one of the best courses around. each hole is different not repetitive just an overall fun course.multiple tees for pros beginners and amatures
Cons: ha!! the only one can think of is its not my house on the land

6 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 hard to top

1    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: great layout, great hike, 24 holes, rocks, elivation changes, super cool guy mowing the lawn (when we got to a tee he would quite mowing that far way and go to another hole, even if he wasen't done), i found a disc and so did my wife,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bring water, make sure you know what poison ivy looks like.

7 of 39 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
13 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Super aesthetics.This course has a storybook layout.
Cons: Only one. Only one course on site, that is.
Other Thoughts: Spiritual. This is what disc golf is meant to be. This course is worth a 12 hour drive.
Seriously.
You can go to an open field and toss you discs over and over. You can play or practice anywhere. This place is unique. This is a place that you will never forget.
I know this offers nothing new to the ridiculous line of awesome reviews this course has garnered...but what does that tell you?
This is a must play course and you wont understand why until you play it.

13 of 34 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Nirvana

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: rooster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Just Beautiful. There is no better place to play. Rolling hills, rock formations, pavilions, great pads and baskets.
Cons: Cons?! Are you serious? This is disc golf mecca.
Other Thoughts: Please be sure to drop a lil cash in the donation box. it takes 40 hrs. to mow Flip.

8 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 WOWOWOWOW

1    9/6/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 73  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Everything. I loved the tee pads, nicely groomed fairways, and variety of approaches. The holes range from very short to very long.
Cons: Nothing, the course is maintained very well.
Other Thoughts: Amazing. This course is a must play for discers of all levels.

6 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Very Challenging! Extreme elevation changes. Extremely clean. I personally haven't seen one cleaner. Beautiful scenery. Plenty of rest benches. Map and score cards are provided. Nice 'bonus' holes in middle of course. An EXCELLENT privately owned and maintained course for all levels of play. Worth a generous donation!!
Cons: Only thing missing would be a water hazzard of some kind. Other than that it's challenging enough with out water! Bring bug spray!

5 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 perfection

2-4    8/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
23 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: One of the top 10 best courses in the world, best Michigan has to offer, and with more top notch courses nearby it sucks if you pass this up.
Perfect disc-golfing landscape of hills and woods, open fields and lots of rocks. Hand-made rock sculptures litter the fairway, but nearly NO trash does the same (found 1 beer can and picked it up, not even the loose cigarette butt).
Design is fair and challenging, mix of easy deuce opportunities and longer par 4's. Tests every shot you can throw at it. Nice baskets, tees (long are cement now). Private but open to everyone whenever makes it better than a public park. Well mowed, better maintained than ANY course you'll ever get to.
Cons: There really isn't anything worth putting here, minimal poison ivy, but not enough to even list as a con.
Other Thoughts: Must play for all disc golfers, not just people on this side of the country.

23 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Sublime Throwing in Northern Michigan!

1    7/3/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained, diverse hole elevations, good range of difficulties and lengths. Plenty of places to rest or wait, beautiful outdoor woodland, plus bathrooms, creative design. Hole 11 was wild!
Cons: No water hazard, some bugs (not that bad considering) and final hole(s) could be a little more "signature" (if you want to be picky).
Other Thoughts: Off on some dirt roads (though not too far off the expressway) about an hour north of Muskegon is this absolute gem. I've played about 40 courses across the country and have never seen one (other than the actual golf course locations) this well maintained! Someone was mowing hole 3 when we arrived! I really loved the rock sculptures and elevation changes. The extra holes were a fun surprise on this most peaceful and beautiful private course that looks to have been created with a lot of thought and love over the years. Well worth a nice donation to play!

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Augusta National of Disc Golf

2-4    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 140  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is nearly indescribable. This course is the Augusta National of disc golf. This course is truly a lot of fun. I was able to shoot a 72 on all 24 holes, and I had a lot of fun playing the course. Some courses are designed to beat you down and punish you (Iron Hill in Delaware) and this course is NOT one of those courses. This course was designed with natural beauty and fun in mind. The elevation changes were breathtaking and every hole was unique. There were lots of risk/reward holes which made me think even more about my shot.

UPDATE: I was able to play this course a second time a few months ago. Not much has changed in five years but the main thing that remains is the "timeless" feeling you get when playing this course. The anticipation while driving to this course is also a wonderful feeling. That may sound strange, but this course is so far off the beaten path that the distance from civilization makes the course even more special. My traveling partner was stunned when we finally pulled up to the property off of a dirt road and couldn't believe there was a disc golf course so far out in the middle of nowhere. The drive to the course reminded me of the drive to the Woodshed course in West Virginia.

The rock formations in the course are truly one of the most unique features of any disc golf course in the world. This course lacks water hazards and truly challenging par 4's and par 5's but the character of the course more than makes up for it. When you are playing in and around these rock formations its like you are helping build disc golf history. This is a timeless property with great holes.

The actual course has some truly remarkable elevated shots that are visually stunning. It really makes you want to throw multiple shots to watch the disc fly. One of the biggest pros of this course are the design of the greens. Some of the greens are extremely challenging, which helps offset the shorter length of the holes. Some of the greens are extremely fast and some have mounds to protect the hole.
Cons: There is not a lot to dislike with this course so I will be brief. The best courses that I have played have had epic and amazing finishing holes. The last two holes at Flip City are nothing special. Holes 15 and 16 would have been great finishing holes but the design didn't work out that way.

It would be neat to have some water hazards on the course to add some more variety but that doesn't detract from the overall beauty of the course.
Other Thoughts: Truly worth the drive. I just got back from a vacation JUST to play Flip City. Worth every penny.

NOTE: The bugs were extremely bad when I played the course recently. I think most disc golfers accept this when you are out in the jungle, but be prepared with bug spray. They were swarming us the day we played, but that's what happens when you play a course in the middle of nowhere, The bugs are worth the peace and quiet you get at Flip City where the only sounds are that of chains!

Keep in mind this course is nowhere near a gas station or civilization so bring food and water if you plan on making a day of it. I would highly recommend visiting the beautiful beaches of Ludington in coordination with this trip and playing the wonderful courses in that town. There are also some nice B & B's to stay at!

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Im in heaven and I don't want to leave....

1    7/29/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
30 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Flip City - Is it all it's hyped up to be? The answer is absolutely. I recently traveled from Ohio to play this breath-taking course. At first you wonder how could there be a course out here in the middle of nowhere? ( literally you drive down a dirt road for 3 miles, every house I passed people waved at me, it was strange but made me think they barely see anyone, and then thoughts of 'Deliverance' came into mind.) Anyways back to Flip, Bill (Flip City Owner) puts A LOT of time and care into this beautifully manicured course. By Hole #1's tee box there is a donations box and a scorecard box, so be kind and donate at least $5 to play this course considering the time and effort Bill puts into this course ( Trust me it shows). The scorecards are pretty sweet I must say, I will be sure to post a picture of what they look like. Just a little tip BRING BUG SPRAY! mosquitoes were getting me good .There are brooms at every tee pad to sweep away the sand, tables are just about everywhere which is nice cause if you need a breather it's nice to sit , relax, and enjoy the incredible view of this massive course. By the Hole 14 & 8 split there is a really neat shelter with a picnic table, be sure to have your Sharpie ready. So here we go hole by hole ( Pro Tees Only ):
Hole #1: 250' straight shot, there is a 30' long by 6' tall mound that's no more than 20' away from the tee pad so it makes it a blind shot.
Hole #2: 502' Great hole that cuts across the owners front yard. At about 300' you hit the first set of trees, so a low long drive is key on this hole.
Hole #3: 374' Down hill shot, seems easy but you have to have another low right turning drive due to trees creating a ceiling and the baskets location is middle-right fairway.
Hole #4: 293' Uphill shot with basket hidden behind the trees.
Hole #5: 179' Short Uphill blind shot. Pin located to the left of the fairway and with the elevation change be sure to watch your disc. Since the shot goes from uphill to a slight downhill your drive can easily roll down the side ravine by the hole.
Hole #6: 286' Ravine shot that can be deceptive. It may not look far but the pin is set deeper than it looks. A hyzer shot is ideal for this hole.
Hole #7: 303' This hole has a decent dog leg left with the pin located on top of a steep hill, but be careful not to over shoot the hole for the pin location is only about 5 feet away from the woods. Another Long high hyzer shot is Ideal, that is if you make the tiny window gap through the trees.
Hole #8: 252' Slight downhill, Pin is hidden behind a line of trees. Behind the basket it continues to slope down so if your tee shot is long be prepared for a up putt.
Hole #9: 187' uphill shot, basket is straight ahead inbetween two trees.
Hole #10: 180' Uphill shot with a sharp dog leg left. Pin location is on top of a hill so watch your disc and have a good line on it cause it could end up anywhere on this hole.
Hole #11: 344' Beautiful hole, Rock formations, straight shot over a ravine with pin location on the side of the hill, once again be careful of your putts they can easily roll back to your feet with this pin location.
Hole #1A: 260' Fun hole, downhill shot with pin location in the middle of a split tree. Your ok if you go a little long but more than 60' behind the hole you will be in some thick grass and trees.
Hole #2A: 670' Longest hole on the course. Straight shot with a wavy terrain, fairway goes up and down and pin location is hard to see till your second shot and for some their third shot. A line of trees are in the middle of the fairway roughly 250' out. There are 2 gaps in the fairway best shot would be a low hyzer skip shot to clear the tree line and put you in the opening of the fairway.
Hole #3A 306' Tough hole, throwing through dozens of scattered trees, hopefully you get lucky and make a gap. Some brush tall grass behind the hole so try not to go long on your approach.
Hole #4A: 270' Straight shot with rough on either side of fairway. The fairway is roughly 50' wide and pin location is behind a large tree.
Hole #5A 368' Another tough hole, trees guard the pin about 300' from tee pad, there are a few gaps but it would be a great shot if you made one.
Hole #6A 395' Straight shot with a tunnel fairway with ceiling for roughly 120', then it opens up with a pin location on the side of a hill. Also there is a rock formation 250-275' in the middle of the fairway but really doesnt effect your shot that much.
Hole #12 267' Straight shot over a ravine, going long can get you in trouble so keep an eye on it. Just another beautiful hole on this amazing course.
Hole #13 416' Long hole with about a dozen trees scattered around the hole. Trees wont come into play until about 350' so a nice drive that drops into the tree line on the left will put you in good position. Pin location is slightly to the left.
Hole #14 334' Straight shot into thick trees, look at the other tees to find your line, the sets of rocks that show where the Amateur and Jr tees give you a good line at the hole since its hard to see through the trees.
Hole #15 446' Straight shot with two trees on either side roughly 80-100' from the tee, it makes the fairway shorter but doesn't create that much of a ceiling. After that the hole opens up and allows those big drives the chance to air out.
Hole #16 477' Straight shot ( Again ) Large scattered trees throughout the entire fairway with a rough of long grass on the right and a tree line on the left.
Hole #17 172' Uphill shot with a blind pin location slightly to the right. Tee shot is through TALL scattered pine trees, there is a bell you ring to let the group behind you know its all clear.
Hole #18 195' Downhill with a very sharp dogleg right, nice midrange forehand shot for RHBH throwers. Tee shot is once again through some scattered trees.
Cons: Absolutely Nothing.
Other Thoughts: Its everything its hyped up to be and more. I really enjoyed playing this course ( I must of cause when I got home I realized I had taken 97 pictures.) This course is a MUST PLAY.

30 of 35 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.