Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 203
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 21
 Dream Course

5+    6/11/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 64  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The beauty of the surroundings is the most obvious thing that makes this course special. The course flows through acre after of acre of gorgeous forest and rolling hills, which offer very scenic views from several spots on the course.
The lay-out of the course is the most important thing to me and the lay-out was great. Every hole offered some type of challenging drive and/or elevation change. Every hole had trees to avoid and landing zones to shoot for, with a steep price to pay for missing your line. Many of the baskets were set on steep hills for even more risk/reward opportunities.
The fairways are devoid of stumps and holes and are well-mowed (which must take forever) making for easy traversing.
The multitude of picnic tables, benches and gazebos placed throughout the course allow plenty of neat spots to take a break.
There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course.
The rough actually has paths mowed through them so you can search for your disc without having to walk through many weeds. I have never seen this before and I can't express how much easier it is to find a disc because of it, saving time, energy, and frustration.
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is that it isn't closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: This course is a four hour drive for me but it is worth every mile.
If you plan to camp, contact Bill ahead of time.
There is no electrical or running water for campers, so plan accordingly. There is a grocery store: fifteen minute drive through gorgeous forest for any supplies you might not have. Thank you Bill, you provide a special place for a lot of people.
Make the trip.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Flip City...WOW!

2-4    5/30/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: sidetrack
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is by far the best disc golf experience that i have had. Because of the peaceful environment that Bill has created, this place cant be beat by any public course. I was allowed to play day and night golf, camp, cook out, and most of all relax....thanks. I am from Texas and i will be back with another group garunteed! Thanks again Bill
Cons: none!
Other Thoughts: When it comes to the overall picture...Bill you rock!

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/30/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 5 star rating on this site is reserved for "The best of the best" and Flip deserves that distinction. Flip plays through the most gorgeous disc golf only land I've ever played, and every hole is its own unique challenge.

A hole-by-hole breakdown would be redundant, as previous reviews have done a good job describing each shot. The difficulty of Flip definitely requires an advanced skill set to score well, but I think for most players coming here to score well is like going to Hooters for the wings. The shorter tees reduce the difficulty, but I think you have to play from the longs to fully enjoy what the course has to offer. Even if the difficulty slaps you around, the experience of playing the course will stay with you as long as you disc.

Aside from the play itself, there is an aura about Flip that helps it earn a 5 star rating. I know it's a completely subjective thing to a rate a course based on its aura, but there's just something about driving down a dirt road in the middle of nowhere to play disc in some dude's back yard that is just awesome. Moreover, the rock structures, gazebos, and benches around the course give you plenty of unique spots to chill and enjoy the scenery between holes. I didn't camp here, but the set up in the front of the property looks like a cool place to spend a night.
Cons: My only beef with the actual play of the course was 3A. I didn't feel like there was a legitimate line to the basket, and it basically feels like you're just throwing into a bunch of trees and hoping to get lucky. 2A is probably the most difficult hole to score well on, so these two back to back can lead to some frustration.

Other reviews mention the lack of stairs on some of the steeper hills. This shouldn't be an issue for most players, but if you're playing with somebody who has mobility issues, this might be a legitimate concern.

The back of the course is pretty buggy so bring some spray.
Other Thoughts: Plain and simple, traveling to and playing Flip is an experience that will stay with you. It's the type of place that warrants the time and money it takes to get there. Thanks to Bill for sharing this course with every disc golfer willing to make the trip.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely AMAZING!

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: KnownKiller
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything is fantastic about this course. Beautiful landscaping, very well kept course, Good variety of holes, camping on-site, Easy navigation from hole-to-hole. The rock formations are so cool! If you go there and don't like it there really is something wrong.
Cons: No water holes. This is probably just me but I like a one or two good water holes. But still just a very minimal con.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time and knowing its not very far from where I normally am it sure won't be my last. The designer sure did know what he was doing. If you go there and don't like it there really is something wrong. There are markings everywhere on the course whether its in the rocks or the shed showing how many people are there and how far they have traveled. Just showing up to "quickly" play this course I would say isn't allowed. It took me almost 3 hours to play after taking my time to thoroughly enjoy the landscape and the course in general.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: trpegr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Best course in the country! The Augusta National of disc golf courses. This course is incredible during the day and even more fun at night.
Cons: Hole #18 is not the most majestic finishing hole but that does not take away from the entire experience that is Flip City.
Other Thoughts: It is a great thing to end your round and be only yards away from your campsite.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: ... blah, blah, blah. GO PLAY THIS COURSE!
- lots of variety


Cons: only that I wish this was my property!
OK to be a little more more critical the shorter shots are nothing spectacular (this is fixed by the addition of the 6 bonus holes)



Other Thoughts: Kudos to Bill... thanks for the great experiance!

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Wait

2-4    5/21/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, I've been planning a trip to Flip City for what seems like a couple of years now. I finally got the chance to play the course and camp onsite. I've got to join the chorus and say that Bill's the man. The guy's hospitality to total strangers blows me away. And the course is no joke either.

The variety of hole shape and length here is outstanding. Big elevation changes that are used to their greatest potential, check. Tees with good traction and enough room, check. Holes that put a smile on your face each time you step up to the tee, check. Nice baskets (nothing sucks more than a great hole with a junk basket to ruin rewarding birdie ops), check. Easy flow from hole to hole with no navigation issues, check. Scorecards with maps at first tee, check. Onsite camping, check. Remarkably clean port-a-john(s), check. Glow golf, check. Roofed chill spots mid-course, check.

It's difficult to make an 18 hole course where each hole presents a different challenge. Bill has 24 different tee shots at Flip City. Left, right, uphill, downhill, over a hump, over a valley, flat with the pin on an elevated hillside; this place has them all. There are only a few holes that I would call mostly open. Most holes consist of grassy, well-defined fairways through trees. The rock cairns are a great touch and just add to the character of this one of a kind course.
Cons: The main negative for me, and it's a small one, is the lack of informative tee signs. There are low black and white posts, topped with copper caps, featuring the hole numbers. I would prefer signs with basic hole maps and distances, but this is really nitpicking since the distances are listed on the scorecard. There are also a couple holes that I feel are too plinkoesque, and therefore more luck than skill based.
Other Thoughts: Camping at Flip was sweet. It felt very peaceful; there was only one other group camping there the weekend we stayed there. We went to sleep under the kind of starry night that us city folk don't often get to experience; and awoke to numerous birdcalls.
Great course, great atmosphere, great proprietor, please hook Bill up. It costs a lot is gas and time to keep the course in the great shape that its in.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 What hasn't been said?

5+    8/5/2010   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Several memorable holes... 2, 4, 5, etc.

- Great use of landscaping. The course has one hilltop that intersects a couple of holes and there is a nice little bench and chilaxing area.

- Great mixture between long distance and technical holes.

- Pristinely maintained. We're talking boarder line flawless...

- Super friendly privately owned property.
Cons: - Only one flaw, can't get enough! No, but seriously its a pretty challenging course so I would advise beginners to stay away if its your first couple times.
Other Thoughts: Just brilliant. I can't really say much else that hasn't already been said on these reviews.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Chaching92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: A great course that provides the ultimate discing experience. Among the strong points:

A wide variety of terrain allows this course to be one of the most enjoyable out there.

Suitable for beginners or experts. My first time playing here was only my 4th time out and I LOVED IT.

Fun little extras keep the course feeling refreshing, such as the rock gardens and shelters at certain holes.

Friendly atmosphere with no sense of rush among players.
Cons: Not too much. The course can be a little hard to find for the first time but the drive out is part of the experience.
Other Thoughts: Great Course. Worth driving several hours to camp and play for a day.

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  Shelby Nirvana!

5+    8/18/2010   4/7/2011
Review By: Dubbleya
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: What can you say about a course that no matter how you're preforming at the time, you're always happy. The layout is phenomenal! This course flows! The beautiful elevated tee shots and awesome rock piles make for an awesome discing experience.
Cons: Hmmm..... Nothing comes to mind!
Other Thoughts: There's a reason this course is the highest rated on this site!

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 21

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.