Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Bill at Flip Hole #4
3 / 246ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 199
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
 Flip City

5+    5/1/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: You can camp at Flip and its also on private property. This place has the best layout of any course I have ever played. Really Really fun.
Cons: There are no cons to Flip this place is famous in the Disc Golf world.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Michigan

7 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City

2-4    9/15/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: This course has everything, by far my personal favorite. Elevation changes, distance and great pin placement gives disc golfers of all shapes and sizes a fun challenging course in a nice quiet forrested area.
Cons: It is kind of in the middle of no where, but definitely worth the drive, no matter where you live. If you're in the state of Michigan and you have not yet shot this course, you have problems.

3 of 25 people found this review helpful.

  Good, but NOT amazing

1    4/17/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: AxleVal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 90 Not
Pros: It is a nice course, looks like it does not get played much
Cons: one dimensional, could use some work
Other Thoughts: other reviewers of flip city must not get out much there are many courses on the east side of the state that I would play any day over that place, sorry flippers

9 of 99 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City (B-Mac's Baby)

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: NateDiscFlip
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
22 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Disc golf courses should have good looks, be challenging, and fair. Flip City has wide open shots for many of its holes, but like those who know the course, don't takes it's beauty as a sign of weakness. Flip City is famous for basket placement on gradual slops, resulting in various risk reward opportunities. Flip also utilizes the specific(not crowding) placement of trees to add to it's challenging character. By far one of the best night golf courses to play, and owner is always welcome to disc golfers showing up at anytime (of course, don't forget to donate a couple bucks...for this exciting and well maintained course)
Designer wants to make course more difficult, so be prepared for additional holes....or longer modified originals in the near future.
Cons: Bugs can be nasty on the option holes at the right time of year. Get good directions, cause Flip City is a quick turn in the middle of no where.
Other Thoughts: Idiots and morons are not welcome to these sacred grounds for disc golf so pick up after yourselves and respect the place or stay home : ^ ) ! You will understand why we(locals) idolize and support the maintenance and preservation of this course when you get there : ^ )
......Also, don't forget to go to Branstrom or Ludington (30mins away)....Open camping at Flip City makes for a great starting point for an unforgettable weekend of disc golf on West Coast of LPMichigan

22 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Now I know what Heaven is like

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
24 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Every hole is different and awesome. Challenging yet still fun with so much variation. Up hill, down hill, long, short, open, tree-filled, this course is the best I've ever played with the most variation.
Places to sit throughout the course, nice little shacks or benches.
No trash at all, seems like people actually uses the trash cans at every hole unlike most courses.
Beautiful scenery even in early spring without the leaves. Awesome rock sculptures, wind chimes, even ace decorated rocks. I just cant wait to see what the course looks like when the leaves start to come out in summer.
Nice cement tee pads with foul lines and brooms to sweep of the dirt.
Baskets are all in tip top shape and have reflective numbering on them so you can see them from far away.
Simple layout, when you don't know where to go, the map works out great but I only needed it once.
Map/Scorecard and Flip City Pencils available at tee 1.
Bells to ring when clear after the blind 17th hole.
Cons: I can't live here. Really there's nothing bad about this course. On the map it says watch out for snakes, biting flies, and poison ivy. I didn't have a problem with any of these but bug spray is a must.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course, I want to live here. Everything was completely thought out, down to the rocks on the stumps so you don't trip. Mesco is the last gas station before the course so stock up there or you'll have to go back. Bring water and food since its a long course if you play the back 6. Play the back six, they are some of my favorite holes and dont forget to donate. This is a hell of a lot of work for one person to do and the course is very well kept.

24 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/8/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: Disc-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
12 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course really is the best of the best! Great variation of holes: long, short, uphill, downhill, dog-leg left/right, blind shots, you name it this course has it. Visually, there is no comparison, you simply have to see for yourself. The course is adorn with landscape art, feel free to add you're own personal touch to one of the many rock piles. There are huts with benches to kick back and enjoy the view, and every hole has some sort of bench. "A labor of love" is damn right!!
Cons: Although every hole was easy to find, more course markers would be nice, along w/ individual hole descriptions at each tee.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is a bit out of the way for many people, i find that this courses' seclusion can be an asset; it ensures that only the disc golf faith full will make the trek, besides, who does'nt enjoy a good road trip.
P.S: a camera is as important as a disc on this course.

12 of 23 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/17/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: h-bomb
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: This course is the ultimate disc golf course. Built by one man who loves his course and puts the care into it every day to make it perfect. There is absolutely nothing that can be done to improve the course. It's almost a surreal experience playing this course. Every hole is perfect in every way. The basket locations, the tee pads, the lengths, the elevation changes, the obstacles, the scenery, everything. I spent the last few days dreaming about playing the course again. Cannot wait to get back.
Cons: Honestly can't think of one.

4 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Heaven

2-4    4/4/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
20 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads for every hole (and if you're a lady, they're kind of shaped like a penis so there's another plus...)
-Very well maintained
-Use of terrain is genius on blind holes. You may not be able to see the basket on a few holes from the tee, but you can see the next tee, so you always know when it's clear.
-Really cool decorations and art. Everything from a whistling bottle tree to mosaics made of beer bottle tops to stone sculptures.
-Challenging holes that force you to use every shot you have and even some shots you don't have.
-Every hole is very well thought out, possibly redesigned over the years to be perfect. That's how they feel....perfect.
Cons: -Dirt roads used to reach the course are in poor condition. I didn't feel safe driving over 25 mph because they're so narrow and the "washboard" effect.

-Climbing the hills that make the course so amazing. Nothing extreme it's just that there are some really steep ones.
Other Thoughts: I played two rounds on this course for a tournament and it was the best time I've ever had disc golfing and one of the best times I've ever had in my life.

If you have a true passion for disc golf, plan a vacation with some friends around this course. It's THAT good.

20 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/4/2008   4/4/2009
Review By: joelinator
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Amazingly beautiful course. Every type of obstacle you can imagine. Every time you play it, it's something different. Another plus is camping is allowed right there on the site. Bring your hiking boots.
Cons: yeah right.
Other Thoughts: Bring a camera.

2 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/24/2008   3/24/2009
Review By: Greater Visions
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a great variety of skill shots. Plenty of open shots mixed with a few wooded ones. Best course in MI. Kept extremely clean with spectacular views.
Cons: Absolutely no negative points of the course.

2 of 34 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.