Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 199
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
 Great Course

1    3/16/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Nickdc713
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: The newly added cement pads make this even better. The elevation changes make this a good challenge. I recommend Flip City to anyone from beginners to the pros it is a course that is perfect for everyone! the rock formations all over the property were a nice touch and added an interesting obstacles. Best Course I've ever played.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: if its your first time; bring a camera and make sure you have extra time to sit and enjoy the scenery.

4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in Michigan!

5+    7/24/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15 Years
32 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely fantastic awesome Disc golf course. Dog friendly, people friendly, owner very friendly course located on private land. Run and maintained privately open to the Disc Golfers!!
Lot's of variety, every single shot from short to power well be needed to compete at this course.
Baskets are in great shape.
Tee pads are excellent.
Signs are sufficient as well as an excellent score card located next to hole one.
Ample parking and picnic areas and rest areas.
Very scenic rock formations.
Very challenging and a great workout.
The holes are awesome. It is somewhat hard to describe because each hole is unique and challenging. The best thing about this course is it is very hard to forget. I can go through the whole course in my head and each hole is different but so so excellent.
My favorite part is the beautiful scenery and elevation changes. I have not played a course in Michigan with the amount of hills that come in to play. The only course that comes close to scenery is probably Ludington's the Beast.
The course has long and short holes. Wide open and close wooded holes. Elevation shots where you shoot from the top of one hill to the top of another hill. Outstanding variety only thing missing is a true water shot, but that can be considered a plus because it would be hard to lose a disc on this course (except in the fall with the leaves).
Never busy!!
Cons: 3.5 hours from my home!
Other Thoughts: There is a donation box located on the property that you should give because the owner has put a lot of time and money into this course. Say hi to the course greeter (Bill's dog).
Lot's of outdoor activities to do in this area. Ludington is close by and has an excellent Disc golf course. Manistee National forest is located nearby as well as Lake Michigan, Michigan Adventure (an amusement park), and lot's of camping. I take my family for a week vacation yearly and play Flip as much as possible! So if your coming from out of state this is the destination in Michigan to be!!!

32 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Wanna go to Flip?

5+    11/16/2008   1/20/2009
Review By: Qual
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: 45 mins. from Muskegon, Private, Basically in the middle of nowhere, Cement tees, Pin placement is unmatched, Fairways and rough are very well defined, 24 hole layout, Bill keeps this course looking excellent especially around the time of the Farm Classic in late July early August, Summer Leagues.
Cons: Bring bugspray in the summer.
Other Thoughts: If your on the westside of Michigan, Flip and Ludington (Mason County Park/Leviathan) are where it's at. Flip City Rocks!

6 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 My Fav

5+    1/10/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: adidas1986
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: This course is by far my favorite course out of all the courses that I have thrown in my area. It is a great course for those who are just starting out, or if you are a pro. It's fun and very challenging at the same time. It has a very good selection of holes that span from short, long, blind holes, trees and no trees. This course has just alittle bit of everything to offer. This is the course that I started on when I first started to throw here this past spring. Nice thing about this course is that with being my favorite it is only 10 minutes from me and can go when ever I like.
Cons: Make sure in the summer that you have bug spray, other than that this course is awesome.

7 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    1/10/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: Todd C. Lewis
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.4 Years
14 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This is like everybody's home course. You know the one you could play every day of the week and never get tired of it! Pin placement is unmatched, this is a thinking players course. Beautiful to say the least, it's obvious this has been a lifetime labor of love. Every person who is passionate about this sport deserves to play Flip City at least one time in there lives. I would vacation there myself... Thanks Bill!
Cons: The only con is the price of gas to get there. See a piece of Flip on this video on youtube. Disc Golf Life #1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNuC9tn0csc
Other Thoughts: All the time everytime I look forward to returning to Flip City. It's the Home Sweet Home of Disc Golfers. Isolated in the back country, we is free! No worrys, It's just us disc golfers here.

14 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City#1

5+    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: DAN E.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/14/2009
7 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Lots of open space to learn your discs driving capabilitys,plenty of obsticles,blind holes,pins in the middle of hills,pins behind trees,pins wide open.Good place to learn what every thing in your bag does.Every hole I love and every hole I hate.Well maintained is an understatment.With the choises I have in Oceana,Mason,Muskegon and Newago countys this is my favorite.
Cons: Michigan Weather.
Other Thoughts: Moving 5a ,5, and 14 is a great change.Hole markers are in place,and look great.3 more holes would be awsome.

7 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    10/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: DiscBiscuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 37 Not
Pros: People make the difference.
Bill- Opens his land for disc golf paradise.
Golfers- Contribute work and effort to
create shelters, and other intresting things
to look at.
Cons: Sore legs from climbing hills, jk
Other Thoughts: I hope you can get here.

3 of 40 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/30/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: amusedbum
Played: 271  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 36.3 Years
19 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This is one of the most spectacular courses I have ever played. The pin placements are challanging forcing you to make a risk reward decision on many of your putts.
There are a great variety of shots off the tee with a good ballance for lefties and righties.
This course is also very well maintained. Bill spends an increadable amount of time mowing and manicuring this beautiful gem.
Cons: I have to dive 10+ hours to get there
Other Thoughts: Thank you Bill! I have never felt more welcome at a course in my 30 years of playing this sport.

19 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 Flip

5+    11/2/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: RonRoc
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 30 Not
Pros: Great layout, classic design, variety of shots, well kept, something different over every crest.
Cons: poison ivy in summer....
Other Thoughts: This course is top notch and will get even more exposure with the addition of cement tee's (and this website). Can't wait to play it again.

5 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

5+    9/3/2002   11/3/2008
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.3 Years
14 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Excellent layout with multiple elevation changes. Huge drives, tight approaches, nice baskets! Extra holes! Welcoming host!
Cons: Weather! Not far enough from Lake Michigan Coastline to predict weather. Or course where in Michigan can you? There really isn't anything bad to say about Flip
Other Thoughts: I've attended one of their overnight camping disc golf weekends! Its a must do for any disc golf fan.

14 of 36 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center